Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    75
    Gashasp: The Monster Slayer reminds me a little of each Prince of Persia, God of War, and Conan the Barbarian, all mixed together to make a pretty nice combination. Once you get a hang of all of the controls, and are able to recognize intractable objects, or even avoidable situations, the game plays so smoothly it's like watching a movie. With its mix of strategy, faced paced action, and attractive visuals, this game is a great buy.
  2. May 12, 2011
    70
    Garshasp is an immature but good game. It's a beginning title with some production problems, but overall worth his cost.
  3. May 18, 2011
    55
    Garshasp shows some sign of promise, but these are soon worn thin as you trudge your way through bugs, frame rate issues, camera hiccups and only about 3 hours of gameplay. With a little more care and attention this could have been a pleasant surprise. Instead Garshasp: The Monster Slayer will leave you feeling out of pocket.
  4. May 20, 2011
    54
    This game is short, and it pales in comparison to bigger-budget titles.
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    52
    Garshasp: The Monster Slayer has nothing to keep you playing for hours. The camera sucks, the fights are boring and there is not enough story.
  6. 50
    If it weren't for technical issues, such as the troubled controls and occassional coughs from the graphical engine, Garshasp could have been a decent copy of games like God of War, which we rarely see on the PC. But the game is filled with beginners mistake, and feels like a developer's first attempt at making a game, which is exactly what it is.
  7. Jul 10, 2011
    50
    A Hobbesian God of War clone: nasty, brutish, and short. [Aug 2011, p.72]
  8. Jul 1, 2011
    50
    Garshasp emulates some of God of War's traits quite successfully but it's the core elements of the gameplay – like collision detection during combat – that the developer stumbled over. [June 2011, p.70]
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    50
    Dead Mage Studio took on a huge challenge in creating a compelling combat action game. They succeed in picking an interesting and mostly untouched mythology, but it's a shame that it's bogged down with a lack of polish and glitches.
  10. Jun 1, 2011
    50
    Everything they've thrown in says "look what we can do" - and that' a sentiment New Zealanders can probably appreciate more than most.
  11. May 31, 2011
    50
    The story is where the game had an advantage, but unfortunately it drops the ball with the weird narration, lack of dialogue, and limited cutscenes.
  12. May 12, 2011
    50
    Garshasp: The Monster Slayer has monstrous ambitions, but it doesn't deliver where it counts.
  13. Jun 11, 2011
    49
    Only the fact that games like this are rare on PC may make Garshasp an interesting game for some people. But we hardly had any fun with it. What did the developers do during the three years of development time?
  14. Jul 14, 2011
    44
    Garshasp falls short of genre standards in nearly every way, and its shortcomings are too numerous to compensate for. [Sept 2011, p.75]
  15. May 24, 2011
    40
    On a good day, it's even approaching mediocre or average. Then you fall into the swamp because the killing animation took you over the edge of your small raft and you die instantly.
  16. May 17, 2011
    40
    Garhasp was developed by a nine people studio, and taking this into account, it's impressive. But that's the only way it is. It's not enough to deliver 3 hours of gameplay with poor production values, especially considering its current price.
  17. Jul 13, 2011
    35
    There are average hack & slash games that have their faults, like Conan or Viking: Battle for Asgard, but fans of the genre can usually overlook them in favor of having fun. Garshasp, however, sadly doesn't come close to being one of those games.
  18. Jun 19, 2011
    33
    Dead Mage Studios have said they are going to put out an update to fix these issues but for the time being we will just have to make do. Garshasp shows potential but it needs some fixes to make it worth that $19.99. At only three and a half hours of gameplay and with all the constant bugs and glitches, I can't condone the pricing when you are going to be regretting it more and more as you play through.
  19. May 24, 2011
    25
    Rather than a careful exposition of Persian themes and stories we get a shambling mess of a game that fails to deliver on any front. What's most disappointing is that rather than making the classic text accessible, Garshasp's narrative just mires too deep in forgotten lore to be interesting to anyone who doesn't already know what it's about. This is definitely a game about Persians and by Persians but it lacks the fundamentals to be enjoyed by anyone, including Persians.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. May 26, 2011
    4
    The game plays well for me so I have no issues with the gameplay, however, the camera angles are sometimes ridiculous and I'm currently at on point where I cannot progress any further in the game as I cannot see where I am supposed to be jumping too due to the camera angle.

    The game has had updates but the response from the devs is poor, I asked one question regarding a changelog as the game was being updated but I had no idea what was being changed and to date I have had no reply to that request, this is my first and last game bought from this dev.

    It's a shame as the game could be great with a few camera tweaks and a little more feedback from the devs but I refuse to support a game I cannot complete due to issues.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    It's very good, i like this game for simple texture with good scenario. i think this game can goes better with enhancing graphical scene. the story is really fascinating. Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2011
    8
    For an indie team of just 9 people this is really great.
    Graphic: One of the best looking indie games, and some sort of uniqueness about art
    style, Persian mythology looks interesting in this title for me.
    Gameplay: There is nothing new in this title, but combat and other mechanics are good enough for 4-5 hours of gameplay time. Not so bad for an indie game.
    Sound and Music: SFX is good enough too but music sounds interesting for me.
    Overall: The game was some sort of fun for me to play, this hack n slash type games are new for PC and I think a price cut can help to sell better.
    Full Review »