Gears of War Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 513 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gears of War thrusts gamers into a deep and harrowing story of humankind’s epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet. With Gears of War, Epic returns gamers to the massively scoped worlds, memorableGears of War thrusts gamers into a deep and harrowing story of humankind’s epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet. With Gears of War, Epic returns gamers to the massively scoped worlds, memorable characters, co-operative gameplay, and hyper-realistic combat that gamers have come to expect from the franchise, plus a few new surprises. Gears of War features locations that are unique to the franchise and the genre. Players encounter all of their favorite foes from the Xbox 360 version; however, these intense encounters take place in some new environments and allow players to manipulate the new game modes and technology found only in a Games for Windows title. Boasting three new multiplayer maps, a new multiplayer game type, game editor, five new campaign chapters, and DirectX 10support, Gears of War, challenges and pushes the limits of the PC gaming experience and provide an unparalleled visual presentation. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The 360 game's soul shines just as bright now as it did a year ago, and so the PC version, with its improved visuals, lengthened campaign, more multiplayer maps and a game editor at least matches it, and perhaps even exceeds it.
  2. Gears of War on the PC is still the same ground breaking game it was a year ago just now on the PC. The same innovative gameplay and breathtaking events are included along with five new campaign levels exclusive to the PC.
  3. In the end, Gears of War isn't perfect, but it does what it does so incredibly well that you just can't help but love it.
  4. If you were expecting an Oscar story and dialogues that would show you the meaning of life on earth, you’re in the wrong place. But if you want non-stop action, uglier than death enemies, visceral fights and the possibility, in multiplayer, to execute your adversaries in the most barbaric ways ever known, please, do come in.
  5. Gears of War on the PC is an excellent "port" by seasoned industry veterans and a testament to PC gaming. Everything transitioned smoothly, and there's no awful leftovers -- only delicious desserts.
  6. While Gears of War for the PC is a good game, worth playing if only for the collective experience, it will make you angry more than once during your fight to save the world.
  7. 70
    Gears is most likely to appeal to console gamers already in love with the game, who can now see it in glorious high-res detail and at superfast framerates -- with a muscular enough PC, that is.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 67
  2. Negative: 29 out of 67
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Вот из-за такихВот из-за таких занудных рецензентов, декларирующих, что мол "эта формула не работает на ПС", мы похоже и не дождемся продолжения серии. Игра отличная, собранная - нет ничего лишнего. Проходить одно удовольствие. Collapse
  2. Felix
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    I agree. The single player is repetitive and boring. However, multiplayer is where the game shines. People almost never take cover in I agree. The single player is repetitive and boring. However, multiplayer is where the game shines. People almost never take cover in multiplayer. However...it works really well on the 360. Just not the PC so much, because the animations make it WAY too easy for headshots. Expand
  3. DanyT
    Feb 4, 2008
    8
    I was not sure to try this game since my experience with games ported from console to pc is not really good but I'm glad I did.
    I like
    I was not sure to try this game since my experience with games ported from console to pc is not really good but I'm glad I did.
    I like this game a lot, loads of action and nice graphics even on my dell laptop with a GEF7950 gtx and 2 gig of ram on windows vista 32.
    The way you can hide and shoot is really nice.
    The third person view is not too bad even if I dont like it normaly in this kind of game.
    Expand
  4. CampbellL.
    Mar 11, 2008
    5
    This game truly is a console gamers paradise. However, unlike console gamers, PC gamers have skill, and therefore it would have been This game truly is a console gamers paradise. However, unlike console gamers, PC gamers have skill, and therefore it would have been advantageous of Microsoft to release this game with a more PC-style killing system. PC gamers have the ability to aim at something smaller than an entire body, like for instance, the head, and I have to say emptying entire clips into basic enemies gives my hardcore character with his nasty looking gun a very overestimating look indeed. Expand
  5. FistroD.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    Boring game, nice graphics but too dark and repetitive for me. Nothing changes the first impression of gameplay out of ideas, to make things Boring game, nice graphics but too dark and repetitive for me. Nothing changes the first impression of gameplay out of ideas, to make things worse aiming is awful. Bottom line: mediocre. Expand
  6. Rob
    Jul 14, 2008
    2
    The atmosphere and environments are really cool but thats about all thats good about this game. It plays like a kiddy console game. I mean The atmosphere and environments are really cool but thats about all thats good about this game. It plays like a kiddy console game. I mean there is ammo laying around everywhere and none of your squad can even die. There are lots of invisible barriers reminiscent of older low budget games. The stuttering, crashing and loss of game saves are inexcusable for any game. Too bad Epic doesnt give a crap. Expand
  7. MessiahLee
    Nov 8, 2007
    0
    Oh, look at that. All of the critics aren't hyping this one up anymore despite their claims that it's superior to the 360 version...Oh, look at that. All of the critics aren't hyping this one up anymore despite their claims that it's superior to the 360 version... Gee, I wonder why? Maybe it's because the game wasn't so hot in the first place? Possibly one of the most derivative shooters ever made... Wait for the bargin bin. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews