Gish PC

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 56
  2. Negative: 12 out of 56

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    7
    Interesting original, quite fun at times but I'm not 100% sure it actually works, The idea of being able to change what the tar is made of and thus how it reacts with its surroundings is great but it doesn't feel dynamic and quick enough so there doesn't ever feel like a "wow" moment.
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    2
    11/11 achievements broken, f*cking nerve-wrecking gameplay, that all from me. but i have to write something more, so ......................go da hell gish
  3. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    I find that the controls can cause the gameplay to feel "grindy" sometimes, and that detracts from the overall experience. Still, after a couple of hours, I got used to the controls to a point where they were no longer a a very noticeable issue for me, and then almost all became enjoyment. Gish as a character is very charismatic. The gameplay, which was innovative back in 2004, still feelsI find that the controls can cause the gameplay to feel "grindy" sometimes, and that detracts from the overall experience. Still, after a couple of hours, I got used to the controls to a point where they were no longer a a very noticeable issue for me, and then almost all became enjoyment. Gish as a character is very charismatic. The gameplay, which was innovative back in 2004, still feels innovative now. The amount of content is also great, with the campaign, custom levels made by fans and the collection game mode. But yeah, it`s kind of a love it or hate it game, it s niche game, so be prepared for it. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2012
    3
    The idea of mechanics in Gish are innovative and creative, but the controls and implementation are absolutely horrible. The music gets repetitive, as it remains the same for several levels without changing. Then, there is the awful pseudo metal music with wailing that is completely unbearable. The game does not fit the entire screen even if you selected full screen in the settings. ThereThe idea of mechanics in Gish are innovative and creative, but the controls and implementation are absolutely horrible. The music gets repetitive, as it remains the same for several levels without changing. Then, there is the awful pseudo metal music with wailing that is completely unbearable. The game does not fit the entire screen even if you selected full screen in the settings. There are additional bonus levels as well as fan made levels that can be downloaded, but there aren't any reasons to bother. Plus, there are the local Versus multiplayer and Collection modes, with multiplayer possibly being where Gish may shine, as two people suffering through the horrible controls, physics, concept, and design might actually be funny. Each level is short but of adequate length because of the horrible controls, mechanics, and the time it actually takes to complete many of them. The story is nearly nonexistent, and the few parts where you are given a bit of background information on the character, it cuts off prematurely, without giving you a real chance of reading it. The level design is not well done, nor is it clever. They rely on the repetition of them for longevity and game play. The more difficult levels will force you to repeat them an extreme amount of times until you are able to get the horrible controls tamed. Once you are able to pass these levels, there is no feeling of accomplishment, and you are not rewarded for any of your success. The artwork is plain and unmemorable, going along with the game's general lack of charm. There is simply nothing interesting to look at while playing. Gish is not a platformer. It is an exercise in frustration and patience. The controls, mechanics, and physics are the worst I've ever experienced in a game. Accomplishing a simple, single jump, is something synonymous with a miracle, or some kind of supernatural phenomenon, if you believe in these sorts of things. The platforming (if you can call it that) is so disastrous, it is comparable to bouncing jello/jelly off of pieces of Legos, and hoping for the best. The controls are outrageous. I have never attempted a game with controls this unreasonable. It's like playing with a severe physical handicap. Gish is nearly unplayable. In the later levels, the only reason why they are able to be completed is almost by pure luck. The skills garnered by playing this game are so unprecise, that they can not be considered actual skills at all. It is a matter of chance that the physics of this train wreck behaved a certain way in order for you to proceed through the levels. I am a veteran of old school platformers, and never have I been so frustrated at the shortcomings of games of the genre before Gish came along. It is an example of game development malpractice and poor implementation of all aspects involved. Gish is quite possibly the worst game I have ever played. There is no excuse for a game of such rotten design to come out in 2004, let alone charge people to play it. Gish is a perfect example of how not to make a game. It took me about 7 hours to complete. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    4
    in gish you are a ball of tar trying to save an emo chick. i think. the story is someone kidnaps gish girl and you are the only one that can save her. so naturally your supposed to do 2d platforming puzzles,when the controls work. one of the major complaints i had with this game is they took technical issues and tried to pass them off as part of the game. like how you cant move from wallin gish you are a ball of tar trying to save an emo chick. i think. the story is someone kidnaps gish girl and you are the only one that can save her. so naturally your supposed to do 2d platforming puzzles,when the controls work. one of the major complaints i had with this game is they took technical issues and tried to pass them off as part of the game. like how you cant move from wall to wall without letting go of A for just the right amount of time. i'm not much a fan of the art style either. overall it isn't THAT bad but i'd wait for it to go on sale before i bought it. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    I liked the idea and the concept, and this seemed to get a lot of positive reaction from critics and players alike, but I found the control scheme in Gish to be... frustrating and unforgiving. Having to time the jumps, jiggle the sticky mode, etc, seemed unnecessary. I wanted to enjoy it, but after the first few levels when most of my emotion was around the frustration around the timing ofI liked the idea and the concept, and this seemed to get a lot of positive reaction from critics and players alike, but I found the control scheme in Gish to be... frustrating and unforgiving. Having to time the jumps, jiggle the sticky mode, etc, seemed unnecessary. I wanted to enjoy it, but after the first few levels when most of my emotion was around the frustration around the timing of the button pushes, it just wasn't fun for me. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2010
    5
    At first glance I though I would really enjoy this game. I had played super meat boy before playing this game, and I thought the character would control similarly to how he controls in super meat boy. This was the one major drawback of this game. I love platformers, but the controls in this game were atrocious for me. I see here that many people enjoyed the game, so my advice is to try theAt first glance I though I would really enjoy this game. I had played super meat boy before playing this game, and I thought the character would control similarly to how he controls in super meat boy. This was the one major drawback of this game. I love platformers, but the controls in this game were atrocious for me. I see here that many people enjoyed the game, so my advice is to try the demo. for what it's worth the game does have some interesting new ideas, and I thought the art direction was quite good. Expand
  8. Kew
    Jan 28, 2010
    8
    An amazing game who's only downfall is it's repetitiveness, but that is still no reason to not pick it up! The only bad reviews it has received seem to be due to people not being able to control it. Which is simply someone unable to master it. It is a tough game and if you can't get the hang of it you'll be left feeling your guy can't do a lot of things. (Which he An amazing game who's only downfall is it's repetitiveness, but that is still no reason to not pick it up! The only bad reviews it has received seem to be due to people not being able to control it. Which is simply someone unable to master it. It is a tough game and if you can't get the hang of it you'll be left feeling your guy can't do a lot of things. (Which he can you just have to be in anyway decent) Expand
  9. MaartenV.
    Aug 11, 2008
    8
    Takes some time to get used to the controls, but they are not hard at all. Overall this is neat little game, with nice physics and addictive gameplay.
  10. RockyA.s
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    Innovative, fun, addictive, and somewhat disturbing. Gish is one of the most innovative platform games I ever played. Its not just like any Super Mario games or Megaman games. This game have a new twist on platform games, were you must use you body "Properties" to finish the scenario. Gish is a blob of tar that can stick on walls, slide through small spaces, increase his density to dive Innovative, fun, addictive, and somewhat disturbing. Gish is one of the most innovative platform games I ever played. Its not just like any Super Mario games or Megaman games. This game have a new twist on platform games, were you must use you body "Properties" to finish the scenario. Gish is a blob of tar that can stick on walls, slide through small spaces, increase his density to dive in water, and use his elasticity to jump higher. This game is Highly recommended for all those who like 2d platform games. Collapse
  11. Bryan
    Jan 17, 2008
    6
    A cool puzzle game.
  12. PeterR.
    Jan 15, 2008
    5
    I wish I could give this game a better rating. For all its ingenuity, the game simply ceases to be fun after the first hour or so because of the frustrating controls. For a game that's entirely about platforming, your little 12-pount tar blob doesn't have a lot of strength with which to navigate the maps. And while I understand that there has to be some challenge, I would prefer I wish I could give this game a better rating. For all its ingenuity, the game simply ceases to be fun after the first hour or so because of the frustrating controls. For a game that's entirely about platforming, your little 12-pount tar blob doesn't have a lot of strength with which to navigate the maps. And while I understand that there has to be some challenge, I would prefer it if it was not in the form of keyboard-pounding aggrivation. Further compounding my poor first impressions were numerous instances wherein I died instantly because I got my little blob membrane pinched in the corner of a moving platform or similar object. There are simply too many situations when the game treats you unfairly, and though I hate to bash an indie game, Gish feels more like a second job than an enjoyment. Expand
  13. ChristianK.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Very funny and intresting game. You should buy it !
  14. EricE.
    Jan 14, 2008
    6
    Nice little game but don't like the controls at all. The controls get in the way of my enjoyment of the game. I was fighting the controls of the game more then the monsters.
  15. ElijahY.
    Jan 11, 2008
    9
    Innovative gameplay, creative character design and fun puzzle. But I would appreciate if the level can be more bright and colorful, but I understand that is somewhat restricted by the gameworld design (underground sewage...).
  16. SomebodySpecial
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    This game is really remarkable. Firstly, I've never even considered the possibility of having a blob of liquid as the playable character. Secondly, applying rag doll physics to that blob along with the rest of the world is equally impressive. The game is very inventive, makes you think a little, is very challenging at times, has great music and has a spooky haloweenie sort of This game is really remarkable. Firstly, I've never even considered the possibility of having a blob of liquid as the playable character. Secondly, applying rag doll physics to that blob along with the rest of the world is equally impressive. The game is very inventive, makes you think a little, is very challenging at times, has great music and has a spooky haloweenie sort of atmosphere that I really enjoy! If you're looking for a game that is a little out of the ordinary, this is it. I guarantee you've never played a game like this before! Expand
  17. B.B.
    Jul 25, 2007
    7
    An interesting idea. Some sections are very frustrating though. Not as in "hey this is challenging", more like "hey this little area that is supposed to be nothing has a slightly bugged design that takes me 5 minutes to squish by."
  18. FelixP-C.
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    This is definately one of the best games i have ever played, if you havn't bought it already BUY IT NOW!
  19. Madness
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    I adore this game. The physics are stunning, it truly feals like you are a blob of tar moving around. The lighting is also very well done. All in all the awesome creativity makes up for the small shortcomings.
  20. JW
    Aug 27, 2004
    8
    Awesome game, superbly original... I only have some minor gripes with the controls... haha... you should get this game if you want innovative games.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 74
    My only real reservation with Gish is the simplicity of the gameplay and the fact that, despite the unique physical properties of the character it is still a 2D platform/puzzle game...But if you do like this style of game then Gish really is a superb piece of work, and the talented folk over at Chronologic will entertain you for a very reasonable sum of money.
  2. One of the most original games released this year, not to say ever, and it’s perfect for those breaks between two "UT2004" deatmatches.
  3. The graphics could use as much TLC as the physics received, the sound and music could be fleshed out, and the controls could use some tightening to work more organically.