Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 7, 2014
    100
    It's more than stupid, it's so moronic it becomes something almost sublime. [Issue#249, p.66]
  2. May 14, 2014
    90
    Pure, unadulterated, manic fun that speaks to every sane person's desire to really just be a humongous black devil goat, merrily wreaking havoc unto the unsuspecting world of mortals. GOATY 2014.
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    90
    A sandbox of the simplest kind, Goat Simulator is a mental yet uproarious title whose silly antics will put a smile on the dial of even the most po-faced gamer.
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    90
    Goat Simulator is stupid, ridiculous, and incredibly fun. Everything from the hidden areas to the different goats make this game hilarious, and well worth the price.
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    82
    As long as the modders keep doing what they do best, it’s possible to never run out of things for your goat to destroy.
  6. Apr 11, 2014
    80
    One of the most foolish game of the Year. Hilarious and totally crazy, finally something really different and original.
  7. Apr 1, 2014
    80
    Goat Simulator isn’t much of a game, but it’s a hell of a good time. The small but dense map is packed with tons of jokes and bugs that should be seen rather than talked about, and there’s at least a few hours’ worth of entertainment in goofing around with the jetpack alone.
  8. Goat Simulator looks great with bugs. If it didn't have any bugs, this one would be totally rubbish. The only downside is that the game has only one default map. But with Steam Workshop, Goat Simulator has a bright future. We haven't played a game funnier than this. You've goatto believe us.
  9. Apr 8, 2014
    76
    I can’t bring myself to award Goat Simulator an outstanding score because it’s not an outstanding game, by its own admission. There are many, many things wrong with it. Yet I can’t also deny the fact that it’s enjoyable – it’s funny, it’s a ridiculous ride and it (obviously) doesn’t purport to be anything other than a bit of a laugh.
  10. Apr 3, 2014
    76
    Goat Simulator is a little, stupidly fun indie game that you will love, even if it's well far from technical perfection.
  11. Apr 2, 2014
    75
    Goat Simulator is the worst best game you have to play at all costs. It is unique, and definitely will grow thanks to its already active community.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 879 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 235
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    This game has truly given me a deeper perspective of life. It has it all, a magnificent story that speaks straight to your heart, stunningThis game has truly given me a deeper perspective of life. It has it all, a magnificent story that speaks straight to your heart, stunning voice acting (baaaa), and a wide room for exploration. Full Review »
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    0
    This is the death of PC gaming. We could've stopped it. Our standards have become so low that we rate indie games that look like they've beenThis is the death of PC gaming. We could've stopped it. Our standards have become so low that we rate indie games that look like they've been made in an hour 1010. Stop for a second and think about the future of video games, please. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    It's a neat idea, not fixing bugs and making a joke game like this. My problem is it's 10 **** dollars. 10 dollars? Really. for a joke game?It's a neat idea, not fixing bugs and making a joke game like this. My problem is it's 10 **** dollars. 10 dollars? Really. for a joke game? That's like paying $10 for a one-time hand buzzer, and shaking your own hand. If it were free, sure that makes sense, why not make a joke game and have tons of people buy it for free? The thing about this is, it's entertaining for about 20 minutes then you've done everything and it's just another un-touched icon on your desktop. What's worse is that just about EVERY youtube has made a video of this, and playing it doesn't give you any more satisfaction than watching the video does.
    No replay value
    No excitement to play
    No storyline
    This game is just a joke, and I KNOW that's the entire point, but there is no reason for this to cost money other than the designer's greed. $10 for a joke? No thanks.
    Full Review »