Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising PC

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    If I was to sum up this game in one word it would be â
  2. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    So I've been playing this game for a week now and I have to say it's been cool to play with my friends in a space that's not a rip off of WOW...it does have it's flaws...but over all it's a nice change of pace...I've only been playing PC games for a year now so I'm new to the space but from what I've seen so far this is pretty cool.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    Right now, the metacritic score is at 5, and that's unfortunate, because although it's technically true that the game is about of "average" quality, the game has been getting better at a pretty good pace. I worry that nobody will ever see a review of the game 5 months from launch, which I think would have a much better score. The game is pretty good, and it does have some wrinkes, likeRight now, the metacritic score is at 5, and that's unfortunate, because although it's technically true that the game is about of "average" quality, the game has been getting better at a pretty good pace. I worry that nobody will ever see a review of the game 5 months from launch, which I think would have a much better score. The game is pretty good, and it does have some wrinkes, like all MMOs do. The combat is cool, with enemy specific animations for some special moves. Its not always just an animation with a spark on the end. The story is refreshing, given that we don't see many non-fantasy style MMOs. The minion system is awesome. Its sort of Final Fantasy 12-ish the way you basically play a group rather than just your main (but with a bit less control over the party) . The plans that Heatwave have announced to the community involve some pretty cool stuff, from the way your home estate works and evolves, to PvP, new content, and new character
    classes. In fact, take one look around the game's forums and you'll probably notice that the dev team themselves are one of the best things about it too. They're very open about what they're doing and incredibly helpful if you need something. The community around the game is currently small, but also skews older, and are far more mature than you'll find elsewhere. Its so refreshing to be apart of it. I find a lot of the bugs that were pointed out in a some of the professional reviews were actually ironed out about the same time that those reviews actually went up. Again, a little frustrating with the way we review MMOs. There's a lot to like here, but unfortunately it you just couldn't say that at launch, and hopefully some people will give it a shot now that things are getting smoothed out and improved. If you're the kind of person who has ever enjoyed a game that wasn't the technical marvel of it's kind, then you should really consider giving
    G+H a shot. It has some great ideas, as I've mentioned, and the ones coming down the pipe sound like they'll really help push the game even further. Again, at launch, the aggregate review score isn't terribly unfair, but as things go on, they're getting much better and I hope the game finds its way into people's eyes again, because it deserves a look. At the time of this writing, I'll honestly give the game a 7. I'm telling you, by the time most people read this, it will be even better than that. The dev team is cranking away on it and right now, I think they're doing an excellent job fixing up a game that was probably very broken when they got it from Perpetual, the original developer.
    Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    Game has an authentic feel to it. Heatwave did a very good job of taking a game that is kind of old and enhancing the artwork and graphics. Their work on the Estates is particularly appealing. I'm learning to control the minions but I also think that is a neat part of the game. The price is a little high considering some of the bugs, but I'm comfortable that all that will get fixed. IGame has an authentic feel to it. Heatwave did a very good job of taking a game that is kind of old and enhancing the artwork and graphics. Their work on the Estates is particularly appealing. I'm learning to control the minions but I also think that is a neat part of the game. The price is a little high considering some of the bugs, but I'm comfortable that all that will get fixed. I like the way the game is layed out and the different locations within the game. I look forward to waking up every day to see what new things Heatwave has added to the game. Looking forward to gettting to the next levels and the additional content forecasted for the game. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    66
    Doesn't wander far enough from the path to make it worth picking up over the other, more content-filled MMOs. [Oct 2011, p.88]
  2. CD-Action
    Aug 31, 2011
    50
    At first I planned to turn my whole review into a vivid description of all the bugs that Gods & Heroes charmed me with, like holes in textures, missing descriptions on the map, misguiding signposts, running through lava rivers unharmed, fighting hand to hand against an owl that was floating 30 feet above the ground or chasing a snake that managed to climb on top of some shed. What's even worse, God & Heroes looks awful. It should have never been dug up and resurrected by Heatwave Interactive – it reeks and its jerks poorly imitate life. [September 2011, p.66]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 8, 2011
    40
    Might not have been built in a day, but sure feels like it at times. [Sept 2011, p.66]