User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    2
    The launch content is woefully inadequate as you can finish the content in about a day of play, combine that with a swag of bugs, an endless list of missing/promised features that were supposed to be the games selling point and the fact it is just another fantasy MMO (but done badly), this game was highly disappointing, maybe in 6 months after they implement the rest of the game (if it lives that long) it might be worth a try, right now it is just a waste of money. Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    I will keep this short and too the point. The game is good, and creative. I think anyone could enjoy it out of the box, however I do not know what max level will bring yet. For the price it is keeping me entertained, more than your average game. The one down side is it seems to be a *ninja* great game. No one knows how good it is because no one is playing it. I am, and I must say I am impressed with the gameplay I LOVE it, but the graphics, and audio need some work. Hence can't give it a 10, older graphics on a new game. But it is fun enough I don't care. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    0
    There's a thread on the GnH forum speculating on the recent addition of so many (unexpected) favorable user reviews, and coming shortly after the company announced "aggressive new measures" designed to attract new users. Looks like it was Heatwave Employee day on Metacritic. Sorry, but desparate measures don't revive a failed launch. These are NOT the droids you're looking for. Fini.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    1
    This game has a unique setting. It's unfortunate that the setting is ALL that it has going for it. It is punishingly buggy and its mechanics and graphics are at least 4-5 years out of date for the MMO market. The developers are some of the most communicative that I've ever seen, yet still manage to be chronically and tragically out of touch with what their players want and need. This game could have done respectably well in a free-to-play market, but because of their constantly tone-deaf responses, they will find it near impossible to regain even a neutral word of mouth with most MMO-playing gamers. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    I'm surprised that folks think this game doesn't have enough content. It has thousands quests to do at launch, plenty of zones, instances, abilities, skill trees, and a nice long character progression time (if you solve this game in 24 hours, you're insane or just know the game extremely well). I give it an 8, due to graphics issues and sporadic bugs, which most likely will be fixed over its lifetime (there are many less graphics issues than in beta). Collapse
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    If I was to sum up this game in one word it would be â
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    2
    This title doesn't include enough content at launch to justify its cost. I expect more than a week's worth of activities from a modern subscription-based MMO, especially one at this price point. While the content was reasonably engaging along the way, there was just absolutely nothing for my character to do one it reached the maximum level of 30. This took me less than 24 hours of actual game-play time. There's a lot of room for improvement here, and if the game hadn't been released so prematurely with so many crashes and bugs, my opinion would likely have been better. Expand
  8. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    The unusual setting of ancient Rome is a welcome break from the traditional fantasy settings of most MMOs. I like the look of the game. So far the gameplay is pretty traditional for an MMO, but the minions and estate system bear promise.
  9. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    So I've been playing this game for a week now and I have to say it's been cool to play with my friends in a space that's not a rip off of WOW...it does have it's flaws...but over all it's a nice change of pace...I've only been playing PC games for a year now so I'm new to the space but from what I've seen so far this is pretty cool.
  10. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    The game fits its niche well. I feel like the foundation is all there (solid gameplay), and the extra polish and content (presumably in the works) will make it a really great value in this space.
  11. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    God's & Heroes has been a long time in the making; I've been following the development of this game for the past few years with Perpetual and now Heatwave Interactive. Having played it now for the last week I have to say it does live up to all my expectations. The quests are fun, gameplay impressive, graphic and audio as good as I have seen in any game within this genre. Yes there are some minor bugs, but show me an MMO game that doesn't have bugs; and from what I can see the dev team are closing these out quickly.

    I highly recommend this game to any MMO gamer - you will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  12. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    No doubt, the game looks a bit dated, but I stopped noticing that pretty quickly. The story line is interesting - having everything taken from you and starting from scratch while seeking revenge. Many of the quests in the epic story arc make the impact feel more personal to my character. Managing minions and developing my estate are welcome novelties in this MMO. The developer has announced some upcoming features I'm looking forward to like crafting and a new hybrid class. I guess the bottom line is this game has captured my attention and held it in spite of its imperfections. Expand
  13. Jul 24, 2011
    3
    This game would have been amazing if were to be released 3 or 4 years ago, it has a very unique feel and great gameplay. At the state it's in now you really can't expect half as much.. If enjoy games with many crashes, bugs and memory leaks this game is topped with it. It's worth the money if you want to try something new, nothing else.
  14. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    Right now, the metacritic score is at 5, and that's unfortunate, because although it's technically true that the game is about of "average" quality, the game has been getting better at a pretty good pace. I worry that nobody will ever see a review of the game 5 months from launch, which I think would have a much better score. The game is pretty good, and it does have some wrinkes, like all MMOs do. The combat is cool, with enemy specific animations for some special moves. Its not always just an animation with a spark on the end. The story is refreshing, given that we don't see many non-fantasy style MMOs. The minion system is awesome. Its sort of Final Fantasy 12-ish the way you basically play a group rather than just your main (but with a bit less control over the party) . The plans that Heatwave have announced to the community involve some pretty cool stuff, from the way your home estate works and evolves, to PvP, new content, and new character
    classes. In fact, take one look around the game's forums and you'll probably notice that the dev team themselves are one of the best things about it too. They're very open about what they're doing and incredibly helpful if you need something. The community around the game is currently small, but also skews older, and are far more mature than you'll find elsewhere. Its so refreshing to be apart of it. I find a lot of the bugs that were pointed out in a some of the professional reviews were actually ironed out about the same time that those reviews actually went up. Again, a little frustrating with the way we review MMOs. There's a lot to like here, but unfortunately it you just couldn't say that at launch, and hopefully some people will give it a shot now that things are getting smoothed out and improved. If you're the kind of person who has ever enjoyed a game that wasn't the technical marvel of it's kind, then you should really consider giving
    G+H a shot. It has some great ideas, as I've mentioned, and the ones coming down the pipe sound like they'll really help push the game even further. Again, at launch, the aggregate review score isn't terribly unfair, but as things go on, they're getting much better and I hope the game finds its way into people's eyes again, because it deserves a look. At the time of this writing, I'll honestly give the game a 7. I'm telling you, by the time most people read this, it will be even better than that. The dev team is cranking away on it and right now, I think they're doing an excellent job fixing up a game that was probably very broken when they got it from Perpetual, the original developer.
    Expand
  15. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    This game has two things going for it:(1) There is an active, vocal community feeding the developers a constant source of feedback, and (2) The game is backed by a dedicated group of professionals who are actively listening to customer feedback and making constantly improvements. From open beta to last night, it has been fun to watch the game grow in its many dimensions. I personally know of no other game where an entire company from management down to the front lines of support and development are actively listening to the customer base. While the game does have its problems, glitches and bugs, the foregoing give the game more potential than its polished counterparts. Expand
  16. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    Game has an authentic feel to it. Heatwave did a very good job of taking a game that is kind of old and enhancing the artwork and graphics. Their work on the Estates is particularly appealing. I'm learning to control the minions but I also think that is a neat part of the game. The price is a little high considering some of the bugs, but I'm comfortable that all that will get fixed. I like the way the game is layed out and the different locations within the game. I look forward to waking up every day to see what new things Heatwave has added to the game. Looking forward to gettting to the next levels and the additional content forecasted for the game. Expand
  17. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    I think this game has a lot of potential! I have a subscription all set up and am ready to be here for the long haul. I'm excited about the improvements that have already been made and look forward to all the new stuff that they can do. Does anyone remember a game ever launching that was completely polished and perfect? I also have to say that I love feeling part of their community. The support is wonderful and I like knowing that any issues I may have (crash every once in a while) is helping the devs figure out the problem and they use the information I give to make the game run better. Expand
  18. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    I have enjoyed playing this game since back in open beta. The minion system is cool, and gives a lot of flexibility for quick casual play sessions or more serious instances that require quick thought and action.

    It's a very polarizing game. It's unpolished, there are bugs and (even though I don't feel this way), many people think it's too short. Now for the good stuff: it has an
    amazing team behind it who communicates with the community and makes them a part of the game's growth. It has great writing, decent graphics, but most importantly, it's simply a lot of fun. All told, there's something about this game that grabbed me and made me want to keep playing. I would definitely give it a shot, especially if you like MMO's that bring a little bit of challenge to your questing. Expand
  19. Jul 27, 2011
    3
    Not really good game, for a game based on a monthly subscription. At least, there is many MMORG which you can subscribe with much more gameplay quality. So, that is not a choose for true gamers.
  20. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    I'm surprised that folks think this game doesn't have enough content. It has thousands quests to do at launch, plenty of zones, instances, abilities, skill trees, and a nice long character progression time (if you solve this game in 24 hours, you're insane or just know the game extremely well). I give it an 8, due to graphics issues and sporadic bugs, which most likely will be fixed over its lifetime (there are many less graphics issues than in beta). Collapse
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    66
    Doesn't wander far enough from the path to make it worth picking up over the other, more content-filled MMOs. [Oct 2011, p.88]
  2. Aug 31, 2011
    50
    At first I planned to turn my whole review into a vivid description of all the bugs that Gods & Heroes charmed me with, like holes in textures, missing descriptions on the map, misguiding signposts, running through lava rivers unharmed, fighting hand to hand against an owl that was floating 30 feet above the ground or chasing a snake that managed to climb on top of some shed. What's even worse, God & Heroes looks awful. It should have never been dug up and resurrected by Heatwave Interactive – it reeks and its jerks poorly imitate life. [September 2011, p.66]
  3. Aug 8, 2011
    40
    Might not have been built in a day, but sure feels like it at times. [Sept 2011, p.66]