Grand Theft Auto IV PC

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2079 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. bulsajok.
    Dec 8, 2008
    4
    It does not pay to buy pc games before the first patch is released; I had hoped Rockstar's port would be different, more fool me. After a tricky install (why must I be forced to turn off a standard Vista service [not mentioned in the GTA documentation] and sign up to 2 online services- Rockstar Social Club and Windows Live- in order to get through the damned install without it It does not pay to buy pc games before the first patch is released; I had hoped Rockstar's port would be different, more fool me. After a tricky install (why must I be forced to turn off a standard Vista service [not mentioned in the GTA documentation] and sign up to 2 online services- Rockstar Social Club and Windows Live- in order to get through the damned install without it crashing?). I find I can run the game now, but it won't recognize my gamepad (the same one which worked great in GTA-SA) and the control scheme/camera viewmake near impossible to drive properly using just the keyboard & mouse. I'm hopefully these problems will be resolved in the future, but if you are planning on buying this for PC, DON'T, at least not untill a patch is issued. Constantly paying to be a beta tester is going to finally drive me to consoles, I stare at my new laptop with Nvidea 9800GS M video card, and it mocks me- I could have bought a PS3, an XBox 360, a WII, and a heap of console games for what it cost me. Expand
  2. AliA.
    Dec 8, 2008
    0
    Although the installation was easy thanks to Steam, everything you've heard about the graphics and performance bugs are true. My game runs, but with broken light-effects. I'm truly annoyed at Rockstar for prematurely shooting their wad and creating this retarded bug-ridden port.
  3. MichaelG.
    Dec 8, 2008
    3
    No support for any other controller but microsofts...What BS is that?!?! Required to install C0ckstar social network and winblows live just to play single player?? Not to mention i get a fuzzyness with my ati card, and with my current machine crappy performance with low settings!!!! there isnt anything that looks so system intensive!!! I'm very disappointed with Rockstar on this No support for any other controller but microsofts...What BS is that?!?! Required to install C0ckstar social network and winblows live just to play single player?? Not to mention i get a fuzzyness with my ati card, and with my current machine crappy performance with low settings!!!! there isnt anything that looks so system intensive!!! I'm very disappointed with Rockstar on this one.... The only saving grace is the acting is astounding, AWESOME. Cool story and the characters make it believable. Best I've seen in a game so far. Expand
  4. ShauneE.
    Dec 9, 2008
    0
    Quad 2.4ghz, 4850hd,2gb ram, vista. After the long install, issues start, error after error, wtf is xlive.dll? search up, download patch, error. download some full install. works? no, i have to update it. great, more things i dont want installed on my pc. 30 minutes later i finaly have it working, but no, it runs poor, even with a pc which i consider fairly good specs, [runs COD5 max Quad 2.4ghz, 4850hd,2gb ram, vista. After the long install, issues start, error after error, wtf is xlive.dll? search up, download patch, error. download some full install. works? no, i have to update it. great, more things i dont want installed on my pc. 30 minutes later i finaly have it working, but no, it runs poor, even with a pc which i consider fairly good specs, [runs COD5 max 1080p res] cant run GTA4 on 1440x900, low settings? this is riddicolous, the game looks worse and runs worse then the ps3 version, both of which i will be returning as they are terrible, never been so dissapointed in a game, also cant beleive Reviewers that hyped it up saying "frame rate is flawless", ps3 barely touches 25fps verdict is dont waste your time as you will be driving back to the store to return it. Expand
  5. GooneyBird
    Dec 10, 2008
    4
    If not for bugs this rating would be a 9. Poor performance on PCs, even when the machine outclasses any of the console systems the game was released on by orders of magnitude. Graphics glitches abound, you can drive mere minutes before the whole city disappears and you are floating a meter or two over the bottom landscape. Textures totally disappear frequently, happens both on foot or in If not for bugs this rating would be a 9. Poor performance on PCs, even when the machine outclasses any of the console systems the game was released on by orders of magnitude. Graphics glitches abound, you can drive mere minutes before the whole city disappears and you are floating a meter or two over the bottom landscape. Textures totally disappear frequently, happens both on foot or in a vehicle. This game was NOT READY for PC release. Stupid me for pre-ordering. Other than that I love what I've been able to play of the game so far, but quite frankly the graphics glitches make the game unplayable. -Gooney Expand
  6. ColbyA.
    Dec 13, 2008
    4
    I have not played the game myself on PC - though I have on Xbox - but I have done some research on the game, and thought it would be good to explain the likely reason GTAIV has such low scores here. In case you're reading this and haven't done your research, GTAIV for the PC is a poorly executed port and is riddled with glitches and bugs. The game is as good as the 360 version, I have not played the game myself on PC - though I have on Xbox - but I have done some research on the game, and thought it would be good to explain the likely reason GTAIV has such low scores here. In case you're reading this and haven't done your research, GTAIV for the PC is a poorly executed port and is riddled with glitches and bugs. The game is as good as the 360 version, but wait until some patches come out to repair the poor programming! Expand
  7. NormT.
    Dec 14, 2008
    0
    Unplayable, a complete waste of my entire day downloading. Forced to install tons of crap and register for yet ANOTHER spamming social network. Forced to go through hell to get Service Pack 3 installed, all for nothing.
  8. PaulC.
    Dec 15, 2008
    1
    Where is all the stuff we were promised. Another "on rails" shooter. Sanbox ??? Where ?? These is so little to do other than follow the plot. And it seems like hard work to play. Vice City had you having your own pad. St Andreas had you pumping iron etc. This just has you doing samey missions over and over. After 4 hours play I tried to take it back. "Game" wouldn't have it. I'm Where is all the stuff we were promised. Another "on rails" shooter. Sanbox ??? Where ?? These is so little to do other than follow the plot. And it seems like hard work to play. Vice City had you having your own pad. St Andreas had you pumping iron etc. This just has you doing samey missions over and over. After 4 hours play I tried to take it back. "Game" wouldn't have it. I'm REALLY dissapointed. Hell "Bully" was better than this rehashed "on rails" garbage. Expand
  9. JaredJ.
    Dec 16, 2008
    0
    Here is the perfect example of what is wrong with the world today. Titles like this screams; "PLAY ME AND YOU THINK YOU CAN REALLY DO IT!!" And sadly 82% of the time people think they really can. This needs to stop and should have been stopped a long time ago, I will fight Rockstar to the death on "G.T.A. V" but so far it's a rumor that I'm afraid might become all to real. This Here is the perfect example of what is wrong with the world today. Titles like this screams; "PLAY ME AND YOU THINK YOU CAN REALLY DO IT!!" And sadly 82% of the time people think they really can. This needs to stop and should have been stopped a long time ago, I will fight Rockstar to the death on "G.T.A. V" but so far it's a rumor that I'm afraid might become all to real. This offers nothing but meaningless, mindless chaos based off of the world that this garbage started. Expand
  10. ChristopherS.
    Dec 16, 2008
    0
    Unplayable due to bugs on two seperate PCs. My personal review scale is based upon quality of product on release. Of course, even after the first patch, the game still insists I have a XBox 360 controller on my PC, and has a camera that is stuck in a constant rotate mode. That, and 50% of the time, it fails to load textures. This is after a patch. A verify of game integrity on Steam then Unplayable due to bugs on two seperate PCs. My personal review scale is based upon quality of product on release. Of course, even after the first patch, the game still insists I have a XBox 360 controller on my PC, and has a camera that is stuck in a constant rotate mode. That, and 50% of the time, it fails to load textures. This is after a patch. A verify of game integrity on Steam then caused the game to stop starting entirely with a "Failed to contact key server" error, likely some combination of errors from both Activision and Steam servers. Do not buy this game on PC before doing your research. If you have an X-Box 360, purchase it there and save yourself the hassle. This game is fantastic on XBox 360, but PC users just can't get to the content for the ridiculous number of bugs. Buyer beware. Expand
  11. JosephV.
    Dec 16, 2008
    0
    Broken, Does not even work. The game crashes after 3min of playing it, NO fixes. Also the graphics and shadows are terrible and there is no AA, instead you get a blurring effect which like it says just blurs everything instead, making things even worse.
  12. MikeH
    Dec 18, 2008
    1
    Buggy, unoptimised rubbish. Graphics a step backwards in quality due to the poor blending and over-emphasis on realism. The fun in the game that used to exist in previous GTA games just isn't really there this time around. Such a shame, such a missed opportunity.
  13. OveS.
    Dec 18, 2008
    1
    Never got this game to work. No help from support. Bought it through Steam and their forum is full of people with the same problems. The PC port was not ready to be released.
  14. RobertC.
    Dec 19, 2008
    2
    Unplayable. Apparently the "critics" are more than willing to give high marks to a game that barely functions due to bugs. The fix is in between the "professional critics" on this site and Rockstar games...sad.
  15. JJJ.
    Dec 19, 2008
    2
    Game looks bad on a Phenom w/ATI 4850. Same on Rockstar for releasing this game in the state it is. Look around the web and you'll see I'm not alone in having severe issues. I can run Fallout 3 in all its glory on my Samsung 226BW without a hitch but GTA looks worse than a PS2 game.
  16. KurtH
    Dec 22, 2008
    0
    Core2Duo e6600 OC'd to 3.5ghz, 4 gig g.skill RAM, Win XP SP3, 8800 Ultra 768mb. Game runs terribly. Just like everybody else says, this is one of the worst console ports to PC I've ever seen. Ever. I'm not sure what's worse....lazy Rockstar developers or incompetent Rockstar developers...but it's one or the other. Even with low settings, the framerates are Core2Duo e6600 OC'd to 3.5ghz, 4 gig g.skill RAM, Win XP SP3, 8800 Ultra 768mb. Game runs terribly. Just like everybody else says, this is one of the worst console ports to PC I've ever seen. Ever. I'm not sure what's worse....lazy Rockstar developers or incompetent Rockstar developers...but it's one or the other. Even with low settings, the framerates are horrible. I have the latest nVidia beta driver recommended for the game and keep my PC in top condition (no spyware, defragged, etc.) I can play Far Cry 2 with max settings at 1680x1050 widescreen and get consistent 40-60 frames per second. I play this game on minimum settings and get below 20 frames per second? That tells you something right there. Not to mention the fact that the interface by itself looks and feels so clunky, that it's obvious there was absolutely no work done on this game to make it PC friendly. Previous GTA ports to the PC seemed very lazy as well, so I figured they would have learned their lesson and made this one spectacular. I was very very wrong. Rockstar should be completely ashamed of themselves. If a second patch (and probably fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh patch) doesn't completel eliminate the framerate and other issues, it will be completely obvious that Rockstar has given up on PC gaming altogether. Expand
  17. serkanuslu
    Dec 24, 2008
    1
    It is not a PC game. It is the console game emulated to the PC. Do you remember the PS2 emulators and how bad they ran? That is what I am talking about!
  18. DanB
    Dec 24, 2008
    1
    Good game, BAD optimized, CRAP Rockstar support. I give 1 for this. PC games needs attention, not a poor port.
  19. KurtS
    Dec 24, 2008
    3
    The actual game is pretty fun and entertaining, and at this point I expect to continue playing it. I have not had any severe technical problems. However, the overall product is awful and frustrating enough I had to vent by writing this review. The graphics and performance is terrible. Rockstar has claimed this is a "next generation" game and current generation hardware is only capable of The actual game is pretty fun and entertaining, and at this point I expect to continue playing it. I have not had any severe technical problems. However, the overall product is awful and frustrating enough I had to vent by writing this review. The graphics and performance is terrible. Rockstar has claimed this is a "next generation" game and current generation hardware is only capable of playing the game on "medium" settings. If that is true, the game should at least look and perform like a current generation game on current generation hardware, but that isn't the case at all. It uses DirectX 9. There is no anti-aliasing. Shadows flicker and look horrible. Textures and character models lack detail. Frame rates are sub-25 on recommend settings. Options to customize graphic detail is limited. Aside from graphical issues, this game requires you to join two online networks (Games for Windows, Rockstar Social Club) for full functionality. There is no option to turn off "mouse-look" when driving a car, which makes driving extremely difficult. You must manually turn the camera using the mouse at the same time you are steering the car. Loading times are rather slow compared to other games. Purchased through Steam, the game does not include a manual and there is no easy reference for all the instructions, moves, and tips that only come up only one time in-game. To sum it up, it looks, feels and plays like a bad port of an older console game. I'd give the game itself at least a 7, but this as an overall product deserves no more than a 3. Expand
  20. FotisJ.
    Dec 25, 2008
    4
    This is supposed to be a satire on capitalist greed, and it is but not only in the way the creators intended it to be: Rockstar is bent to create its own community channel and everybody who wants to play has to join them. The same goes for Microsoft's Games for Windows live. You cannot even save your game without being logged in both 'clubs'. Not to mention the technical This is supposed to be a satire on capitalist greed, and it is but not only in the way the creators intended it to be: Rockstar is bent to create its own community channel and everybody who wants to play has to join them. The same goes for Microsoft's Games for Windows live. You cannot even save your game without being logged in both 'clubs'. Not to mention the technical problems etc. In the end they will blame the pc as a difficult platform for games instead their own incompetence. Expand
  21. SM
    Dec 27, 2008
    1
    Horrendously bad port. The number of hoops to jump through just to install and play the game is ridiculous, and then the bugs within are numerous and crippling. As yet Rockstar haven't done anything to geniunely help and until they do I strongly recommend passing on this.
  22. FilipK.
    Dec 28, 2008
    0
    It is impossible to play this game! You must have 30 different registrations, but, more important, you must have an insane computer! Critics give it good mark looking only at gameplay. I'd probably give it a good mark too, when it just worked! You have a problem even with changing your own settings. I believe it's stupid thinking from America, because if you set your settings It is impossible to play this game! You must have 30 different registrations, but, more important, you must have an insane computer! Critics give it good mark looking only at gameplay. I'd probably give it a good mark too, when it just worked! You have a problem even with changing your own settings. I believe it's stupid thinking from America, because if you set your settings too high, your computer can burn and you can sue them!!! It NEVER played on my computer. They shouldn't realease it yet. Expand
  23. DorquemadaJ
    Dec 30, 2008
    1
    Look at the comparison of all the scores up here. It's obvious what reviewers obviously BOTHERED to test this port out. Sorry, but when I can run Crysis fine on high settings I expect this game to be somewhat playable on my rig. Somewhat. The lag is so atrocious and the game is so buggy even at low settings that I ended up dropping 50 bucks for an unplayable box. Sad.
  24. nosajman
    Jan 2, 2009
    3
    This game runs like crap on core 2 duo, 4 gb's of ram and a 9800 gts. Having to log into windows live to save is cumbersome and if you want to save and you don't have internet you have to create a new account that's offline. Good luck trying to figure that out I guarantee it will frustrate you. The driving isn't nearly as smooth as the x-box. I wish I could get my This game runs like crap on core 2 duo, 4 gb's of ram and a 9800 gts. Having to log into windows live to save is cumbersome and if you want to save and you don't have internet you have to create a new account that's offline. Good luck trying to figure that out I guarantee it will frustrate you. The driving isn't nearly as smooth as the x-box. I wish I could get my money back. I was a longtime Rockstar supporter but this is ridiculous. Expand
  25. MaikM
    Jan 6, 2009
    2
    Its just a shame what Rockstar did to his good old pc-community. i bought it, but it defenetly was my last gta i paid for. Why are they making that deal with Windows? Why realasing an unfinished port? The game feels old and isnt working smoothly, on a high end system. the steering isnt adjusted to a pc-steering with mouse and keys, u cant really handle the car, because its impossible to Its just a shame what Rockstar did to his good old pc-community. i bought it, but it defenetly was my last gta i paid for. Why are they making that deal with Windows? Why realasing an unfinished port? The game feels old and isnt working smoothly, on a high end system. the steering isnt adjusted to a pc-steering with mouse and keys, u cant really handle the car, because its impossible to control the speed proberly. what makes it even worse is that it just support the x-box controller (Microsoft!!), those bold capitalist doesnt deserve the money! Expand
  26. MarkC
    Jan 12, 2009
    1
    Well, Rockstar really screwed up this one. Rockstar is known for releasing quality games, and this is no exception. However, this game is filled to the brim with so many bugs and terrible optimization, I don't recommend anyone to buy this for PC. My PC is much more powerful than my 360, runs games amazingly. This game, however, runs worse than running every single on my computer Well, Rockstar really screwed up this one. Rockstar is known for releasing quality games, and this is no exception. However, this game is filled to the brim with so many bugs and terrible optimization, I don't recommend anyone to buy this for PC. My PC is much more powerful than my 360, runs games amazingly. This game, however, runs worse than running every single on my computer simultaneously. And, as you all know, I'm not the only one experiencing these problems. I remember when I first booted up GTA 3 on my 98 PC, with 64 MB RAM, 900 MHz Processor, and it ran better than a PS2. Did they forget how to optimize code? Shame on Rockstar. Expand
  27. BrianL
    Jan 16, 2009
    3
    I bought this game on the back of widespread praise from the gaming press and online review sites, where it was a 10/10 game, 5 stars, game of the year etc. Well I don't know if any of those critics actually played this game or were just reviewing the rock star press release, but this is most definitely not game of the year, disappoinment of year perhaps. Lets just start with the I bought this game on the back of widespread praise from the gaming press and online review sites, where it was a 10/10 game, 5 stars, game of the year etc. Well I don't know if any of those critics actually played this game or were just reviewing the rock star press release, but this is most definitely not game of the year, disappoinment of year perhaps. Lets just start with the install, the retail box carries the "games for window" logo, nothing remarkable in that, I guess M$ is trying to lock in the PC games market in a pincer movement against Sony, unfortunately it's we the PC gamers who are being cut down in the crossfire. You need a windows live account to play the single player, you can't even save a game without windows live installed. But I hear you cry, we don't need no stinking windows live account, Rockstar begs to differ, install windows live or else buddy! Also you have a game controller (I personally roll with the Logitech Rumble Pad 2), wrong answer! You can only use the microsoft approved controller, there is a work around but why the constant whoring to the M$ dollar, the PC is an open platform, microsoft may provide the OS but they shouldn't have the final say in what games controllers/multiplayer accounts you may or may not use when gaming? The biggest problem for me though, after I jumped through the M$ hoops, clicked no I don't want to login to Rockstar social club, am I sure, good question, why don't you ask me another million times before you let me start the freaking game? Where was I, oh yes, the number one gripe I have with this game, not the only gripe, but the biggest is the driving physics, how the hell can you make a sandbox game and make getting from point A to point B such an exercise in frustation? Time and time again you're asking to chase someone down, quick he's getting away jump in your poorly handling jalopy! This will crash against every pillar, lampost, and cop car in the course of your pursuit of said fleeing villian who will sail effortlessly into the distance, obviously rubbish car physics are just something for the player to worry about. Playing this game of the past two weeks I'm constanly reminded of the game Driv3r, a game mercilessly parodied by various grand theft auto games in the past, but for all its faults I actually enjoyed Driv3r, sure it was hyped by the gaming press before it's release, was chock full of bugs, the car handling was rubbish, bikes even worse, but it was a laugh, this is something that I cannot say about Gra4d th3ft Aut0. For shame Dan Houser, for shame! Expand
  28. JohnF
    Jan 22, 2009
    1
    While this port of the game is terrible and really a dissapointment when we wated half a year longer than consoles. What really gets me is Valve selecting to show the oddly high ratings for a game that is generally awful. If they don't show real users opion I think they should take the ratings down or move away from metacritic.
  29. DougS
    Jan 24, 2009
    2
    As a software engineer at a company that makes software quality assurance products, I feel I can speak with some authority when I say the PC release of GTA4 is a colossal failure by either Rockstar's QA department or management. The game itself is quite good, but the workmanship is by far the worst I have ever seen on a game I have beta tested, much less a final product.
  30. Clare
    Jan 25, 2009
    2
    Fantastic game. If you can actually play it. Don't dignify Rockstar with paying for this if you can help it. They don't deserve to be paid for such horrendous optimization. "Ah, but I want to play multiplayer!" Says the one whom would rather buy it. Knock yourself out - too bad everyone you'll be playing with will get consistently dropped from the game due to having a poor Fantastic game. If you can actually play it. Don't dignify Rockstar with paying for this if you can help it. They don't deserve to be paid for such horrendous optimization. "Ah, but I want to play multiplayer!" Says the one whom would rather buy it. Knock yourself out - too bad everyone you'll be playing with will get consistently dropped from the game due to having a poor framerate on their quad-cores. Expand
  31. Dave
    Jan 27, 2009
    0
    Even just installing the game i ran into all sorts of problems i kept on getting a corrupt media error message after buying a legitimate version, it happened so often that i just decided to hit ignore and then thought that running the setup again and select repair would fix any issues..wrong!...after about 30 minutes the game crashed and popped up with a fatal error message Zlib20 which Even just installing the game i ran into all sorts of problems i kept on getting a corrupt media error message after buying a legitimate version, it happened so often that i just decided to hit ignore and then thought that running the setup again and select repair would fix any issues..wrong!...after about 30 minutes the game crashed and popped up with a fatal error message Zlib20 which apparently according to rockstar means that i need to reinstall the game!! i did, got install error messages again so figured....i have a mate whos got the same game "i'll just borrow theirs and then just use my key" installed fine no error messages so i figured the game would be good to play....wrong!!....the game crashed before i even got to the second mission with roman!!, I've been patient and reinstalled the game few times (maybe 6 in total). But now i have had enough They have released a 2nd patch already to fix the issues that they (rockstar) added too the game in the first patch! I installed the patch (second one) and now the game just freezes after 5 minutes of being in a car! I really would have liked the game had it have worked im sure of that but the issues, bugs, and problems with it are far to numerous and widespread for me to recommend this game to anyone!... the thing that is frustrating is that the mate i borrowed the game discs from is having no issues with the game and their PC specs aren't as good as mine so no i not only have a game that doesn Expand
  32. turreo.
    Jan 31, 2009
    0
    Come on Metacritic. This game doesn't deserve any near of 89! You should listen what the players have to say, and just calculate the score from players and critic reviews together. Reading these critics' reviews makes me ask did they even play the game, or spend 50 dollars of it!? The game is horrible, including all the problems and the fact that you need a supercomputer to be Come on Metacritic. This game doesn't deserve any near of 89! You should listen what the players have to say, and just calculate the score from players and critic reviews together. Reading these critics' reviews makes me ask did they even play the game, or spend 50 dollars of it!? The game is horrible, including all the problems and the fact that you need a supercomputer to be even able to play it. Finally a game that deserves 0. Expand
  33. SimonM
    Feb 23, 2009
    4
    The appalling drunken heaving of the cars feels like you are riding a heaving hovercraft. The slightest tap on steering on the car lurches about like a bouncy castle. Pretty much destroys the main point of the game. Do not even attempt to play this without a controller. Apart from that it is a reasonable game, not great looking, but the driving is so bad that I just got bored and gave up S.
  34. AlanG.
    Dec 6, 2008
    3
    Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for success, especially so on the harder difficulties. Gameplay revolves between periods of relative calm and times of extreme duress. The most fitting word to describe the latter is intense! No matter the skill of you and your comrades, there will be moments when the survival of your group is far from a certainty, especially given the random nature of the director. The intensity of the game tends to only increase as the level progresses, as wounded survivors are often met with an uncomfortable lack of medkits when they are most needed. The sound and graphics are thoroughly polished, and despite the age of the source engine its upgrades ensure that the game looks great and has plenty of eye candy. Once again, Valve's trademark attention to detail has made for a vibrant and immersing atmosphere. The ability to blow holes in or destroy doors is a fun new addition that also significantly alters the gameplay mechanic. While the story is underdeveloped, in game chatter between the characters reveals a great deal about their personalities, and makes them seem very real. There are some drawbacks, however. The game is relatively short, especially if played on the lower difficulties, and the weapon selection is somewhat minimal. These should not be a major issue, the game is meant to be played on expert in order to prepare a player for the even more difficult versus mode (which is an absolute blast), and the guns that are present are finely crafted and simply feel right. The replayability of this game is excellent, and is only compounded by the director and versus mode. As is, this game is very exciting and will keep many players hooked for an indefinite amount of hours. Given Valve's devotion to updates and the enthusiastic mod community, I only expect this game to improve as time goes on. I give this game a 9.3 out of 10. Expand
  35. Jun 11, 2013
    0
    i really think i just wasted 20 bucks. after having to sign in twice, the game wouldn't let me advance after the first autosave because it wouldn't download my account, and when i chose the option to not autosave, the game got stuck in a loop and took me back to the autosave options. ive played this game on other platforms and loved it, then i download it and noticed microsofts recenti really think i just wasted 20 bucks. after having to sign in twice, the game wouldn't let me advance after the first autosave because it wouldn't download my account, and when i chose the option to not autosave, the game got stuck in a loop and took me back to the autosave options. ive played this game on other platforms and loved it, then i download it and noticed microsofts recent tendency to kill everything it touched.

    i would recommend this for any platform other than the pc. Microsoft had to go messing things up again and totally destroyed the game.
    Expand
  36. Oct 11, 2013
    1
    This game is completely and utterly terrible. Its boring and repetitive and ridiculously frustrating. The only thing I liked was the city. Liberty City breathes and feels real, That's the only thing I like about this game, other then that, it's simply terrible and a waste of money. Even the textures are terrible for its time.
  37. Mar 15, 2014
    0
    Игра нехорошая, некачественно сделана. Начиная с графики на своем ужасном движке и заканчивая миссиями, которые очень сложно пройти и сложность игры нельзя поменять. Они врут, что много денег тратят на игру, они ничего не тратят, они даже движок нормальный для игры покупать не хотят, делают на своем движке. А игру покупают, потому что она популярна и люди деградированы настолько, чтоИгра нехорошая, некачественно сделана. Начиная с графики на своем ужасном движке и заканчивая миссиями, которые очень сложно пройти и сложность игры нельзя поменять. Они врут, что много денег тратят на игру, они ничего не тратят, они даже движок нормальный для игры покупать не хотят, делают на своем движке. А игру покупают, потому что она популярна и люди деградированы настолько, что играют в такое. Expand
  38. Jan 23, 2011
    4
    WARNING: REQUIRES A LIGHTNING-SPEED COMPUTER. I have a Windows 7 from a few months ago. It came with a great video card, which could run almost every game I put on it, like Bad Company 2, COD, and Mafia 2. Every game, except, GTA IV. The file size is like 14GB, and it runs slow as a bad server on COD Black Ops, even on the lowest settings. What's even worse is that you need to get aWARNING: REQUIRES A LIGHTNING-SPEED COMPUTER. I have a Windows 7 from a few months ago. It came with a great video card, which could run almost every game I put on it, like Bad Company 2, COD, and Mafia 2. Every game, except, GTA IV. The file size is like 14GB, and it runs slow as a bad server on COD Black Ops, even on the lowest settings. What's even worse is that you need to get a Windows Live account in order to SAVE. The Windows Live thing hasn't been fixed in over 4 years, and Microsoft doesn't even care about it anymore. DON'T GET THIS ON PC. GET IT ON PS3 OR XBOX 360 Expand
  39. ChristopherB
    Dec 23, 2009
    4
    GTA IV for PC has so many errors its not even worth trying out. I hade over 15 errors in this game and it ended up in me sending this shitty game back to the store saying it was broke. If you whant GTA IV buy it for the PS3 or 360 otherwise its not worth one single penny.
  40. NadalFrancisco
    Feb 6, 2009
    0
    i don't know if the game is good or not becouse simply I cannot play with my computer. and actually i can play to any other game,it's not a bad computer. i would like to know what machines did the people use that sored it as a 10 (or magazines with 100).

    this is not a game, is a no-game.
  41. JohnS.
    Dec 5, 2008
    2
    I have a 9800 GX2 OCX, a Liquid Cooled Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 running at 3.6GHZ. 4 gigs of Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500, and a EVGA 780i motherboard, and i cant seem to get over 14 frames per second. And for some reason the game wont let me use all 1 gig of video memory my card has, it says i only have 498mb?! And it restricts me from putting any of the settings higher if it uses over that I have a 9800 GX2 OCX, a Liquid Cooled Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 running at 3.6GHZ. 4 gigs of Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500, and a EVGA 780i motherboard, and i cant seem to get over 14 frames per second. And for some reason the game wont let me use all 1 gig of video memory my card has, it says i only have 498mb?! And it restricts me from putting any of the settings higher if it uses over that amount. So all i got was a big laggy city with cars that drive like they are airboats. Expand
  42. Aug 24, 2010
    0
    DO NOT BUY IF YOU WANT TO GET RID OF $20 THERE ARE LESS PAINFUL WAYS TO DO IT. I got it off steam installed it and immediately crashed black screen fatal error. Well I wasted some more time I wont get back doing about 20-25 steps off the steam forum(R* doesn't even have their own forum) trying to get it to work. This is completely unacceptable and I wont be buying rockstar games in the future.
  43. Sep 30, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very poor example of a game coming onto the PC port instead of trying to stabilize the games the game company tries to improve the graphics only to make much worse for people with low-end gaming rig, see I'm a person who owns a high-end rig but it still lags to about 15-20 fps I had to turn off all the textures setting only to find out that the game gets about 23-25 fps

    Even then analyzing the story and the gameplay itself is nothing special and that 95% of the mission have nothing to do with the story which is about Niko Bellic trying grab the man who's betrayed his squad in the previous war, the mission feel like a set chores unlike in GTA San Andreas which most of the mission relating to story and trying to get back to the CJ once had in the hood.
    The only other thing about this game that seems like something to praise is the cover-based system and that the only fun thing to do most of the time is to camp at the Bohan safehouse and kill some police officers having six stars but even then you can't do that because this game LAGS to much.
    Lack of variety I see too can't get stronger, ridiculous clothing or getting fat which was the fun part about GTA SA.
    Overall if you have the most powerful gaming rig in the world that us poor can't buy than GTA IV is up your alley but even then so is Crysis.
    Expand
  44. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    Pros:
    -LOT of effort put into making the environment believable (radio banter, TV shows)
    -characters you can empathize with Cons: -missions are repetitive -you have to start all the way from the beginning if you fail a mission, and this includes the tedium of driving to get there or frantically running into the street to hail a cab -despite the vast city, there are very few places you can
    Pros:
    -LOT of effort put into making the environment believable (radio banter, TV shows)
    -characters you can empathize with

    Cons:
    -missions are repetitive
    -you have to start all the way from the beginning if you fail a mission, and this includes the tedium of driving to get there or frantically running into the street to hail a cab
    -despite the vast city, there are very few places you can actually interact with, and that interaction is not compelling in the slightest (i.e. playing pool, watching a cabaret show)
    -AWFUL driving controls (it's supposed to be 'realistic,' but all it accomplishes is frustrating the player)
    -boring, badly designed combat system (both melee and shooting), bad cover system

    Summary:
    On the whole, I felt like I was playing a drama show. I was getting from one story mission to the other as fast as possible so I could watch the next cutscene. I cared for Niko as a character, it's just that the character deserved to be in a better game.
    Expand
  45. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    Grand Theft Auto IV represents one of the worst attempts to make even mildly serious game in completely psychedelic franchise. Good job R*, you just ruined GTA.

    Buggy PC port is also a serious issue.
  46. May 24, 2012
    0
    This port is broken and utterly worthless. Furthermore after you complete the several pages of registration you'll find it would've been easier to pirate the game. Utterly trollish and asinine port.
  47. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    Poorly optimized console port.
  48. Dec 16, 2012
    4
    Very good game, but worst port that has ever made to the PC. Bilions of bugs, very bad optimized, so very "heavy" game, and very bad FPS. The game isn't protected very well from cheaters.
  49. MiguelS.
    Dec 5, 2008
    0
    The game is a total waste of money. If your Rig costs less than 5000 bucks don't bother. I play Crysis on Med-High with around 20-25 fps on my laptop. I can't run this game in LOW with more than 8 fps, it is so buggy it is not even funny. Rockstar, this is a BIG dissapointment, it is one of the worst, or even THE worst game ever ported to the PC. I can say even the port of The game is a total waste of money. If your Rig costs less than 5000 bucks don't bother. I play Crysis on Med-High with around 20-25 fps on my laptop. I can't run this game in LOW with more than 8 fps, it is so buggy it is not even funny. Rockstar, this is a BIG dissapointment, it is one of the worst, or even THE worst game ever ported to the PC. I can say even the port of Resident Evil 4 was better. The graphics s****** big time BUT at least I could PLAY the game FFS!!!! Expand
  50. Sep 14, 2013
    0
    Let's compare this with the 3 previous installments:

    GTA 3: the game shines at causing mess in a sandbox environment GTA VC: a very cool protagonist plus a good story in a beautiful city GTA SA: a large map, and missions are of the greatest variety and good humour Then, what do we get in GTA IV? - A very bad PC port with poor optimization shipped several months later after the
    Let's compare this with the 3 previous installments:

    GTA 3: the game shines at causing mess in a sandbox environment
    GTA VC: a very cool protagonist plus a good story in a beautiful city
    GTA SA: a large map, and missions are of the greatest variety and good humour

    Then, what do we get in GTA IV?
    - A very bad PC port with poor optimization shipped several months later after the console launch
    - Stupid GFWL and other social media program leading to serious random crash and corrupted save
    - Annoying social elements ruining the fun of game
    - Very limited variety in missions, gun-firing to shoot someone nearly all the time
    - The worst driving control of the GTA series

    Overall, poor optimization, pretending to be a society simulator and the lack of creativity in mission design just ruin all the fun of this game.
    Expand
  51. ademills
    Dec 9, 2008
    2
    Game may be good but the crap you have to join and the waste of time working it all out is beyond stpid. Spend an hour loading everything before getting to play, and then it wouldnt save my game becasue something hadnt gone right. Sheer stupidity, though more likely arrogance
  52. Aug 23, 2010
    0
    Horribly ported to pc. Good luck getting it to work. I finally got mine to run fine but the thing continuously kicks me because "Your computer is running too slow". Rockstar is obviously trolling the pc community with this mess.
  53. ChaseEvans
    Mar 5, 2009
    2
    DON'T DRINK THE COOLAID! This game is down right terrible for PC. Does Splinter Cell: Double Agent for PC ring a bell to anyone? If so, then you already know what I'm talking about.
    If not, believe me when Joel and I tell you that this is a terrible PC port of the game. Do not buy it!! I AM WARNING YOU!
    I give it a 2/10. The two goes towards the marketing team for doing
    DON'T DRINK THE COOLAID! This game is down right terrible for PC. Does Splinter Cell: Double Agent for PC ring a bell to anyone? If so, then you already know what I'm talking about.
    If not, believe me when Joel and I tell you that this is a terrible PC port of the game. Do not buy it!! I AM WARNING YOU!
    I give it a 2/10. The two goes towards the marketing team for doing such a great job at over hyping this craptastic game. If it wasn't for marketing doing their job ridiculously well, I would have rated 1/10.
    Expand
  54. TuureO
    Dec 18, 2008
    2
    This game doesn't deserve anybody's money. I had to download 5 different applications, register to many clubs before even being able to play it, and after that i still got a error message. Then when i started the game, and changed the resolution and refresh rate (1600x1200, 85 Hz) The screen went black saying "Sync out of range", so clearly, my screen can't handle that much This game doesn't deserve anybody's money. I had to download 5 different applications, register to many clubs before even being able to play it, and after that i still got a error message. Then when i started the game, and changed the resolution and refresh rate (1600x1200, 85 Hz) The screen went black saying "Sync out of range", so clearly, my screen can't handle that much of refresh rate, but the thing is, i couldn't not change them back since all I could see was black. Absolutely ridiculous. After few weeks when not getting any useful help from rockstar, i had to think of something. Then, i thought maybe i should take few screenshots of the menu, and it worked. The screen was black, but i could take screenshots of it. This way i was able to navigate through the menu with sounds and pictures. The game itself is great, buggy and heavier than crysis, but after that much of trouble, it doesn't matter how good the game is. 2/10. Expand
  55. VinceK
    Jan 16, 2009
    1
    Doesn't work on my PC (a very good one). Much more important than this game though is what the paid 'critics' are saying about how good the game is. Real people think it's junk but the paid 'critics' think it's excelent! Look at the paid 'critics' scores above to see what sites are worth visiting and listening to in the future. As the Doesn't work on my PC (a very good one). Much more important than this game though is what the paid 'critics' are saying about how good the game is. Real people think it's junk but the paid 'critics' think it's excelent! Look at the paid 'critics' scores above to see what sites are worth visiting and listening to in the future. As the 'critics' paid 'reviewers' will 'review' this before it is posted I doubt you'll get to read it. Expand
  56. kcw
    Feb 10, 2009
    1
    Took me 2 hours to get this game installed and the amount of other software you have to sign up to is ludicrous. I've tried to play the game and haven't lasted more than 2 minutes without bsod or lock-up. I've been gaming since speccy days and I've never paid for something so obviously poor and broken as GTA4. I've got a pretty decent spec machine, but what can Took me 2 hours to get this game installed and the amount of other software you have to sign up to is ludicrous. I've tried to play the game and haven't lasted more than 2 minutes without bsod or lock-up. I've been gaming since speccy days and I've never paid for something so obviously poor and broken as GTA4. I've got a pretty decent spec machine, but what can you do with such a poor conversion. I only paid £10 for the game, but still feel ripped off! This kind of thing should not be allowed to happen and I definitely will not be buying another Rockstar game again. Expand
  57. Jul 30, 2012
    3
    If your gonna get GTA IV get it on consoles This game is amazing but frame rate issues due to poor optimization make this the most un-fun irritating experience I've ever been forced to play aside from batman dark tomorrow
  58. Oct 5, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GTA IV was a big step back to me. Look at the massive array of vehicles in San Andreas. Bicycles, dirt bikes, quads, tractors, different types of helicopters and airplanes, the jetpack, etc. Why take all that stuff out?

    GTA IV also completely **** up the physics of the game. Driving is half as fun as it was in the previous games. And people generally respond to this by saying that it's "realistic", but no. It's not realistic in any way. Making it slow paced and boring doesn't make it realistic. It just makes it slow paced and boring.

    The shooting was improved a bit, but still needed a lot of work. The people who defend this game will claim that sticking your arm up while behind cover will cause Niko to shoot inaccurately, but it certainly hasn't worked that way for me. It seems to shoot wherever I point, regardless of the fact that Niko isn't even looking or aiming. Also, when you do choose to aim from behind cover (for whatever reason), it will cause your cross-hairs to move up a bit. Not a serious issue, but it's stupid that you have to keep in mind to aim a little bit below their head.

    The weapon variety was also significantly reduced and simplified compared to San Andreas. Of course San Andreas also had weapons that were just flat out better than others, but GTA IV's weapon system operates by "tiers", where you have tier 1 weapons, tier 2 weapons, etc. One tier being completely better in every way than the other. It leaves no room for options and determining which weapons are best for you personally. Of course, SA had SOME weapons which were flat out better than others, but to a much smaller degree than GTA IV.

    Niko is a walking contradiction, he speaks out against violence, but he's perfectly willing to kill if he gets money for it. Meanwhile, the guy he's trying to track down ends up telling him that he sold him out for $1,000. Niko acts all surprised and offended by this - but he does things like that all the time. The cheesy attempt to include a "2deep4u" story winded up backfiring. Rockstar should have stuck with the classic humor based, light hearted style story, rather than what was the equivalent of a B movie written by some emo kid.

    Ultimately, my dislike for GTA IV can be traced back to one thing - Lack of variety. Look at all of the content from SA that they just flat out REMOVED. Just look at the build up of content and gradual perfection of concepts from GTA 3, to Vice City, to San Andreas. I thought Rockstar would continue that system. I was under the impression that what we saw in SA would be perfected and build upon, just as they had done in the past - Not just completely thrown away. I really thought Rockstar was on to something. I thought they had it figured out. I guess not.
    Expand
  59. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    worst pc port game I have ever played in my life. I have duel GTX 680s and the game wont even let me play with hiccups every 2 seconds. lame. companies sacrificing quality for profit as usual./
  60. May 15, 2014
    0
    This is the most bugged game EVER MADE. This game will not even start for me, even after I called Rockstar and spent 3 hours moving files and such to try to get it to work. It has so many glitches and bugs it is not even fun in any way. I played a console version at a friend's house, and cars still can't turn when going over 5 MPH. This game is a disaster. Don't get it unless it's on aThis is the most bugged game EVER MADE. This game will not even start for me, even after I called Rockstar and spent 3 hours moving files and such to try to get it to work. It has so many glitches and bugs it is not even fun in any way. I played a console version at a friend's house, and cars still can't turn when going over 5 MPH. This game is a disaster. Don't get it unless it's on a humble bundle. Expand
  61. JK
    Dec 13, 2008
    2
    This game is undoubtedly fantastic on XBox 360 or PS3, but don't buy it for PC! It has inane copy protection, no customizable keyboard controls, and ridiculous system requirements to run at a decent frame rate. It is thoroughly disappointing! Don't buy it!!!
  62. SergeyR.
    Dec 5, 2008
    2
    I played this game on xbox 360 but i wanted it to get on pc only beacause of the playability, the highest resolution and the ''more fps'' but i was really disapointed. the game itself is awsome but i currently have xp professionnal 2.5 g of ram a sli 8800 ultra and a quad core 3.6 ghz and i have BIG troubles get more then 40 fps in mid graphic settings. THE GAME IS I played this game on xbox 360 but i wanted it to get on pc only beacause of the playability, the highest resolution and the ''more fps'' but i was really disapointed. the game itself is awsome but i currently have xp professionnal 2.5 g of ram a sli 8800 ultra and a quad core 3.6 ghz and i have BIG troubles get more then 40 fps in mid graphic settings. THE GAME IS MORE HEAVY THAN CRYSIS!?!?!?!? and there is no, even in max graphic settings, comparaison between the two games in term of graphics. Expand
  63. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Don't get the hype, there is nothing "revolutionary" about this game. All I experienced was an extremely dull game with often repetitive missions and monotonous combat.
  64. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Anyone that says we shouldn't complain about the game not working, is a moron. Most of us have advanced gaming rigs, like myself. There are known issues with this game that Rockstar has not patched. Its not like its a rare occasion that the game isn't working. There are tons of reports on the game being completely broken. Its not a hardware problem you idiots, its software. In other words,Anyone that says we shouldn't complain about the game not working, is a moron. Most of us have advanced gaming rigs, like myself. There are known issues with this game that Rockstar has not patched. Its not like its a rare occasion that the game isn't working. There are tons of reports on the game being completely broken. Its not a hardware problem you idiots, its software. In other words, the game was not created to be compatible-friendly to everyone. We shouldn't be expected to fix their mistakes. Play with folders and files. If I wanted to mess around in the folders, I would have pirated it. Also If it was our rigs, then why do all other games work? Literally GTA IV is the only game to not function properly.

    But besides my game not working right. The Social Club DRM is down only on GTA IV, the website will take my login, but not the game, you know, where its intended to be used. But that's fine, we could always play single player, right? Nope, because we can't save the game when you cant login to the servers. Why bother the game. Me personally can't even start up story mode, and I can't login to the servers to play online. We should not accept this garbage. I'm sure the game is fantastic when its working. But I have to judge it as its entirety. Unfortunately a poor interface destroyed a potentially excellent PC game.

    Personally I have to do a 0 because it was not functioning at all. I tried fixing it for hours, tried all the known methods, and had no luck. If I was able to actually play the game then I could have been a little more focused on the game's mechanics.

    ##tl;dr Version##
    1. DRM, servers are down only in game. You can't play online.
    2. DRM also is required just to save local story mode.
    3. Thousands of cases of the game not even functions, and users are on their own to fix them.
    4. Personally in my cause, I couldn't fix them.
    Expand
  65. May 25, 2014
    0
    A Rockstar tem uma falta de respeito muito grande pelos PC Gamers... este jogo é pesado demais... e até hoje em dia, nem todos os PC's rodam esse jogo!! Você terá que desembolsar R$ 2.000 (US$ 2.000) pra rodar no máximo!!
  66. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    No one wants to take responsibility for this travesty, but the fact is Steam continues to distribute this buggy game despite the fact that it does not work for Windows 7. I have Windows 7, but this game was written for XP or Vista, as a result I cannot even get this game to start up. If you have Windows 7 save yourself money and time and just do not buy this game. I have always been a fanNo one wants to take responsibility for this travesty, but the fact is Steam continues to distribute this buggy game despite the fact that it does not work for Windows 7. I have Windows 7, but this game was written for XP or Vista, as a result I cannot even get this game to start up. If you have Windows 7 save yourself money and time and just do not buy this game. I have always been a fan of GTA games, but have never tried to play one on PC before; the experience I have gone through with GTA IV has made me never want to buy Rockstar games on the PC platform ever again. Expand
  67. Jan 7, 2013
    3
    Decent game but wayyyyyyy to many glitches. I find myself redoing missions over and over again because of getting stuck or some weird sh** going on, isn't why there is game tester before you release a game?? I mean seriously it's rockstar shouldn't they know how to flush out these bugs before hand...Also the graphics aren't that great the gun people look choppy I have a great graphics cardDecent game but wayyyyyyy to many glitches. I find myself redoing missions over and over again because of getting stuck or some weird sh** going on, isn't why there is game tester before you release a game?? I mean seriously it's rockstar shouldn't they know how to flush out these bugs before hand...Also the graphics aren't that great the gun people look choppy I have a great graphics card and all gtx 560... car's look good buildings look great as will, story line isn't bad it get real annoying when you gotta pick up your friends and do things with em so often get old... Expand
  68. Feb 2, 2013
    2
    First I had problems installing it, it had a bug in the installation proccess, I 've had to open a support thread. Only then after one month I was told that I was forced to install Microsoft Marketplace manually, I had to create two accounts. One "RockStar Club" and a Microsoft account. It found it very annoying.
    I expected more for this game. I found the controls too hard to grasp at
    First I had problems installing it, it had a bug in the installation proccess, I 've had to open a support thread. Only then after one month I was told that I was forced to install Microsoft Marketplace manually, I had to create two accounts. One "RockStar Club" and a Microsoft account. It found it very annoying.
    I expected more for this game. I found the controls too hard to grasp at first. The graphics is still very good. But I didn't have as much fun as I had with previous GTA. It is for sure a worst GTA. I'd say the experience was bad.
    Expand
  69. Feb 27, 2013
    4
    The game was looking good at first, the graphics and textures are okay, although it's extremely laggy even if you have a PC much above the requirements, which I don't quite understand, so it does not work properly on computers. The cars are cool and the damage engine for them is great. Although there is some bugs with cars such as getting stuck or not seeing any sport cars which oftenThe game was looking good at first, the graphics and textures are okay, although it's extremely laggy even if you have a PC much above the requirements, which I don't quite understand, so it does not work properly on computers. The cars are cool and the damage engine for them is great. Although there is some bugs with cars such as getting stuck or not seeing any sport cars which often happens. The game is quite boring and the missions have no point and it's repetitive, I had no money in this game, then a mission where you rob a bank now I'm rich with nothing to do with the money? The only thing you can buy in this game is clothes and guns. This game is overrated. You are very limited on what you can do, there is no upgrades or level up systems, and it's extremely repetitive, the map is a decent size. The story is very bad, which is linear and repetitive and it's not interesting at all. I would not recommend this game. Expand
  70. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    It's GTA. Nothing terribly new, nothing terribly revolutionary. Not a bad sandbox setup but I expect more from a sequel and not just more of the same old, same old. Missions get pretty boring and repetitive. Gun play is so-so. Sadly this game is marred by not breaking from the herd enough and re-invigorating the series in light of Saints Row and Just Cause coming out and putting togetherIt's GTA. Nothing terribly new, nothing terribly revolutionary. Not a bad sandbox setup but I expect more from a sequel and not just more of the same old, same old. Missions get pretty boring and repetitive. Gun play is so-so. Sadly this game is marred by not breaking from the herd enough and re-invigorating the series in light of Saints Row and Just Cause coming out and putting together similar concepts. Oh, and yes, playing it on PC can be a mess depending on your hardware specs and that it is a half-cooked port. Expand
  71. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    Maybe the console version is a great game, but (for me at least) the PC port is borderline unplayable. The controls are horrendous and the cars drive like greased bricks with an inexplicable tendency to flip over at the tiniest bump in the road. Your character moves like he's 300 lbs and fights like his arms are 2 inches long.
    Really what kills it for me is the control of the vehicles
    Maybe the console version is a great game, but (for me at least) the PC port is borderline unplayable. The controls are horrendous and the cars drive like greased bricks with an inexplicable tendency to flip over at the tiniest bump in the road. Your character moves like he's 300 lbs and fights like his arms are 2 inches long.
    Really what kills it for me is the control of the vehicles (or lack thereof). It's supposed to be a driving game, yet I'm pretty sure no one who developed (or ported) this game has ever driven a car. The cars barely turn at any speed unless you powerslide, at which point you will inevitably over-slide your turn and continue sliding until you hit something or do a complete 180. Also, all the cameras except the on-the-hood one lag behind the turns, making it impossible to see oncoming traffic or obstacles for a few seconds when you make a turn. Oh, and the cars flip over at the slightest hint of an elevation change.
    This may be unnecessarily critical, but one of the things that bothered me the most was the menus. The mouse moves abysmally slowly, even at the highest sensitivity. This is infuriating when setting the GPS: you have to painstakingly move the mouse to the region you want, but when you click, it recenters the mouse and you have to move it back to the spot again to set the GPS. I know this is nitpicking, but when your mouse moves at one pixel per hour, it worsens an already frustrating experience.
    All in all, I was extrememely disappointed with this game, and I don't see me giving it another chance, at least on PC.
    Expand
  72. Oct 17, 2014
    0
    **** Final Mission
    Pc Version have problem but Rockstar cant fix it
    im so fast take Boat and chase dimitri BUT Cant take Jacobs Heli
    15 Times retry same result Mission Failed
    Fuxxcking this game **** programer this mission designer !
    totaly GTA 4 is **** game..
    too many money...cant buy nothing
    and sux framelate and so on
  73. Apr 27, 2013
    2
    The worst entry in the GTA series yet. It completely drops the premise of fun in favor of "WE SERIOUS GAME ABOUT FEELINGS NOW". I'm sure it's very deep to especially dense 6th graders.
  74. Aug 5, 2013
    3
    Don't know about the whole buggy aspect, I ran this for over fifteen hours of gameplay without any trouble on a win7 32bit. It's pretty fun, but pales in comparison to GTA San andreas, or better yet, Saints Row 3.
  75. Aug 11, 2013
    3
    Extremely disappointed with this port. I have a computer that isn't specifically a gaming rig, but it can play Bioshock Infinite on Medium graphics flawlessly and Black Ops on maximum settings. Grand Theft Auto IV plays on my computer as if Bioshock Infinite were being played on a Windows 98 computer. I thought that the game's dated age would allow it to be more accessible and by now oughtExtremely disappointed with this port. I have a computer that isn't specifically a gaming rig, but it can play Bioshock Infinite on Medium graphics flawlessly and Black Ops on maximum settings. Grand Theft Auto IV plays on my computer as if Bioshock Infinite were being played on a Windows 98 computer. I thought that the game's dated age would allow it to be more accessible and by now ought to have been updated enough to fix issues presented in earlier reviews. Boy was I wrong. The frame rates are a nightmare! On the east island the frame rates have mood swings, ranging from unplayable to passable but not appealing. Even when I lowered all the graphical settings to low, I would still have the same frame rate issues. On other islands the frame rate was surprisingly fine, but I was expecting something more when the 360/PS3 versions excelled. The draw distances are also contemptuous. Some buildings from a distance look ok but had very muddy textures. In some circumstances textures didn't appear on walls at all from distances. Also textures would pop in at the last minute, especially when driving a vehicle. Seriously, details on the road will appear when you are 20 feet from them. And this only is from my first day playing, I have yet to find out what other bugs there are. The gameplay isn't bad, but there are so many graphical problems that its near impossible to play. I wish I had looked at reviews before buying this. I hope there's something redeeming about Episodes from Liberty City, because I had unfortunately bought the Complete Edition. Expand
  76. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    GTA 4 is a good game, but by no means 10/10 perfect, game of all years. It is let down by it's clunky cover, shooting and driving controls, repetitive missions, unnecessary plot points and frankly, an overrated story which really only gets good half way through. normally, this game, despite all its faults would have warranted a 7.5/10, but the PC version of the game is absolutely terrible.GTA 4 is a good game, but by no means 10/10 perfect, game of all years. It is let down by it's clunky cover, shooting and driving controls, repetitive missions, unnecessary plot points and frankly, an overrated story which really only gets good half way through. normally, this game, despite all its faults would have warranted a 7.5/10, but the PC version of the game is absolutely terrible. Why? With my relatively recent and powerful GTX570 and AMD 6-core CPU, i expect a game as old as GTA IV (at this point, 5 years old), to be able to run at a decent frame rate on highest settings. Unfortunately, due to the horrible optimization, I manage a meagre 15 fps on highest settings, whilst looking much worse than newer games such as Just Cause 2 or Saints Row 3. On top of this piss poor optimization job, Both the Rockstar Social Club and Games for Windows Live layers just add another layer of annoyance to the game. Clearly, PC is not the platform for this game, and even then it is highly overrated. If you want game similar to this, invest in Saints Row 3, or play San Andreas. Expand
  77. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments are bland, all of which combines to make it difficult to see where you are and where you’re going.

    Second: they jacked up the driving physics of the game so now it feels like everything is moving underwater. Turns that used to be simple now send you sliding into walls, which gets frustrating given the large number of slow, crappy cars you seem to be forced to drive in this game.

    Third: the stale mission-structured gameplay is exactly the same as it was over 10 years ago. It’s so tedious now. You get a mission giver, you have to drive across town to start the mission, then you have to drive to your mission destination, then back to your house if you want to keep your car. Fail the mission and you have to start the commute again. They have even added in “features” like toll booths now, which create traffic on bridges that honestly make you feel like you are commuting to work because if you charge through them you get an automatic wanted rating.

    Oh, and did I mention something about keeping a car you want available? Well, in this game they decided to do away with garages for some reason. You know: the places you used to be able to store vehicles. Now your various pads with have one or two parallel parking spaces out in the middle of the AI-trafficked street and if you park a car there *perfectly* it will be saved. However, if it’s a big car or if the AI traffic knocks it slightly out of place, it will be gone when you reload.

    Possibly the most annoying new “feature” of this series is the dating mini-games. You can hang out with certain people to increase their affection toward you, which reaps you certain benefits, but then ALL of them CONSTANTLY call you to hang out, even if you’re in the middle of a mission getting chased by the cops, or in the middle of commuting to do your next mission, or commuting home from your last mission. Whatever. And if you tell them no, even if it’s your own cousin asking you to go bowling again, though you just went bowling with him two days ago, he will get upset and you’ll lose affection. You can’t tell them no.

    Also, Liberty City is big but incredibly empty. You will not be rewarded for exploring b/c there is simply not much out there. Instead of secret packages to collect, this time around you have to kill special pigeons, which are very frustrating to find even with the help of a guide. I got to about 20 or so before I asked myself why the hell I was doing it, because I wasn’t having any fun.

    Finally, the “story” I keep seeing so many positive reviews refer to is stupid & nonsensical. You’re an illegal alien who begins a career as a professional criminal as soon as you step off the boat. Not much different from any other GTA protagonist aside from not already being a US citizen, right? Except now you’re Borat. AMAZING! There IS NO story! You’re a criminal who makes friends with other criminals throughout the game and then commits criminal acts. *spoiler*

    Furthermore, while there may well be 20 hours’ worth of cutscenes (which tend to go on forever) & dialogue (which also never ends during your mission commutes with NPCs), it seems like it was all written by a 10-year old boy. Penis & fart jokes, characters needlessly dropping f-bombs twice a sentence to be “edgy” (I guess), and all-around lame humor in general that makes you roll your eyes and want to skip through every cutscene you come across. Unless you are a 10-year old boy, in which case I guess you’d be in heaven. Maybe that’s the targeted demographic now?

    But Rockstar will keep making the same game as long as sheep keep buying it. Anyone who wants to see what an improvement in this genre looks like, I’d direct you toward Saints Row the Third. Not the best game ever, but one that is actually, you know, “fun” to play. Something Rockstar left out of GTA4.
    Expand
  78. Sep 16, 2013
    2
    I don't get it. I just don't get it. This game does not deserve the 98/100 critic score on 360, even without the problems of this horrible PC port, the game isn't that great. Is Rockstar paying off reviewers for high scores? This game is boring. Sure the story is engaging, but 90% of the time you're just driving around a city. It takes itself too seriously, sure the world has some goofyI don't get it. I just don't get it. This game does not deserve the 98/100 critic score on 360, even without the problems of this horrible PC port, the game isn't that great. Is Rockstar paying off reviewers for high scores? This game is boring. Sure the story is engaging, but 90% of the time you're just driving around a city. It takes itself too seriously, sure the world has some goofy stuff, but the story of the game is too dark and serious, look at Saint's Row, it's cheesy and over the top, that's funny. And now GTA5 has a 98/100 too, and that's depressing. People go after CoD for this all the time, but every GTA game is the same, you drive around, kill people, do missions. There's so many better games out there that just came out that aren't getting any attention, Rayman Legends for instance, that game tries so many fresh ideas, and it works. But gets no attention. This is truly sad for the gaming community. Expand
  79. Sep 26, 2013
    2
    I tried valiantly to get into this, since I have been a devote fan of the GTA franchise since I first fired up top-down GTA ever so many years ago. However, I have some fairly sizable complaints. And I feel they're likely shared by others...

    While the in-game graphics are lovely, and my rig handles in-game play with ease even at higher detail I noticed immediately that the cut-scenes
    I tried valiantly to get into this, since I have been a devote fan of the GTA franchise since I first fired up top-down GTA ever so many years ago. However, I have some fairly sizable complaints. And I feel they're likely shared by others...

    While the in-game graphics are lovely, and my rig handles in-game play with ease even at higher detail I noticed immediately that the cut-scenes are the herky-jerkiest mess of nausea-inducing graphical horror imaginable. If my machine can handle maxed out graphical settings in-game, why in the world are cut-scenes such a dreadful chore to render?

    Vehicle controls are not just modestly too realistic, they're OVERLY realistic: Making the game feel more like work than an escape probably wasn't the best course to take here. The higher-end cars would seem to be the way out of this quagmire, yet they actually magnify this effect. They're not stogy and unresponsive, no, but they're overly twitchy and even less fun to pilot.

    I've played some disappointing Rockstar games in my time, but this one easily tops the list. I say this only having played for a few hours, but I can't honestly think of anything I'd rather continue doing less than muddle through this fiasco.

    If you're eagerly awaiting GTA 5 for the PC and are seriously thinking of purchasing this to fill your wistful, empty hours until it is finally released to us PC plebs, I implore you not to bother.

    I'd honestly rather replay one of the decent GTA releases, GTA:VC including the impossible RC helicopter missions and ridiculous "try until you want to cry" boat missions all the way through again, rather than continue with this shambolic offering an hour longer.

    For shame, Rockstar. For shame.
    Expand
  80. Nov 3, 2013
    2
    First off. terrible port even with my core i5 4570 and amd 7870 the game lags like The textures are just so bad same with meshes in doors. And the story line is just the same over and over do this go do that bla bla all you do is drive there do that then do it again its boring as hell. I hope they actually optimize GTA V for pc this time instead of spending 2 mins porting it to pc
  81. Nov 20, 2013
    1
    1 point, because of included video editor. When this game was released, I bought it (was the last game I ever bought) and was very, very disappointed. I will not talk bout windows live and social club crappy malware applications, don't worry. Shortly: After Vice city and San Andreas has arrived a called GTA IV. Graphic was ugly, no anti-aliasing, but including disgusting grainy shadows1 point, because of included video editor. When this game was released, I bought it (was the last game I ever bought) and was very, very disappointed. I will not talk bout windows live and social club crappy malware applications, don't worry. Shortly: After Vice city and San Andreas has arrived a called GTA IV. Graphic was ugly, no anti-aliasing, but including disgusting grainy shadows and colors was totally bleached, aka desaturated. Just ugly, absolutely ugly and playable barely at 30 fps on superb PC. Story is also boring as fuk, full of non-sense stereotype missions, all you do is driving a fukin car, and driving a car in this game is like driving a on wheels. When you finish the game, you have like million dollars, but all you can do is buy a million of hotdogs or t-shirts. Where else to spent all those money? It's useless! Remember how you was counting every penny in Vice city to buy Malibu club? Forget that! This is GTA IV, this is You can't even do a taxi missions. No taxi missions in a city situated into pseudo-New York! Fukin scandal, there's nothing to do after you finish story line. Whole city is empty, boring, dull. This game is a of a decade. Oh, and this is great: Your phone is constantly ringing and that fat fuk cousin of yours always want to go bowling, great. This game ruined my Christmas in 2008, thanks Rockstar for this lazy utter crap. Expand
  82. Nov 30, 2013
    1
    I think earlier versions had nicer control and more fluid gameplay on PC. Besides, the ton of copy protection took me hours to figure out (it's really a huge pile of and bugs are abundant, I'll go with Saints Row from now on.
  83. Jan 5, 2014
    3
    Very late review, but I felt a sudden need to say that this game was an utter disappointment. Flat out boring story and characters, but worst of all, I didnt have fun doing the good old GTA about in the world stuff. It just didnt invite me in...
  84. Mar 23, 2014
    2
    Very Disappointed

    They've messed up real life simulation and fun game play. The whole game feels like a drag. Emotionally unstable protagonist which most of the times does not represent what the player wants/feels. Story-wise everything feels schemed. Majority of the characters are being killed/disposed off before you even know them. You play for around 20hours into the story to find
    Very Disappointed

    They've messed up real life simulation and fun game play. The whole game feels like a drag. Emotionally unstable protagonist which most of the times does not represent what the player wants/feels. Story-wise everything feels schemed. Majority of the characters are being killed/disposed off before you even know them. You play for around 20hours into the story to find out the real story behind it all, which in fact, is very poor. Thinking about spending time and building relationships/friendships? Absolute waste of time. Girlfriends are getting discarded like flies through "Storytelling". Constant drama and personal-family affairs are just horrible representation.

    Game-wise. Graphics are mediocre at best. They've pulled this strange, and rather unwanted, dirt-brown filter onto everything, to simulate a dirty (real life?) city. To say the least it all fails. The game was designed for a console. With limited resources and computational power in mind. And this version of the game in just a port, and a cheap one, they didn't even bother implementing anti-aliasing into the game. No matter that, knowing it's 5years old game, and the availability of graphical enhancers around this is all semi-fixable, and can be disregarded by majority.

    Mechanics. The physics, AI, and other inner mechanics are very poor designed, if they were designed at all. Vehicle controls are as crappy as ever. Especially every other car that you aren't driving. Motorcycles flying into the air like balloons on every impact. Inflammable cars with a touch of a finger. Cars no longer have fuel tanks apparently. You have to shoot the rims of the car for it to get a blazed and explode. Forget about flat tires. Firing at tires does nothing. Shoot the rims for effect. which goes in three stages apparently. Flat tire -> broken rim -> car in flames. No purchasable safe-houses. No property ownership with benefits. Just story set crappy apartments forces upon you. I recall parachutes and jet packs in previous game installments, non of that here. No "gang members" recruitment. You can't call out for someone to help. Missions scripts are more broken than ever. Sometimes it feels like you have to perform brain-surgery operation to get in place for mission to progress.

    Overally. Having played Vice City, and getting very amazed back in the day, it was improved and topped up with creativity with San Andreas. But, as it seems, they decided to literally downgrade the game for "reality feel". They've removed so much it is unbelievable this game was in production so long. No car customization, no garage, you can't call a ballet to bring you your car. They've spent so much time and effort into rag-doll simulation and animations things just fly by while you are trying to enter a vehicle. Muscle, stamina have been removed. Character customization is just non-existing. You have Niko Bellic as he is. You can buy him a nice suit. That's about it. The whole experience feels like stripped down game. It is rather ironic that throughout the game there are multiple references and mentioning of Vice City, and how much better things are there.

    Conclusion. This review is based on completing the game. I am not one of those who played couple of hours and made their conclusions. Being GTA fan for a decade it is really a shame that such a franchise ended up in such state. It is all down the hill from now on. I am really afraid even taking GTA5 in my hands. Thinking that it will be just like GTA4 with three Niko Bellics running around. Not recommended.
    Expand
  85. Apr 21, 2014
    1
    Repetitive missions. Forgettable character. Boring storyline. The only good things are the graphic. IMO, I didn't like the music. How professional company rated this as good is beyond me.
  86. May 30, 2014
    2
    Points for the fantastic graphics, but unfortunately, the game is so painfully laggy that it's beyond the point of being playable. Even after trying everything to fix the situation, this game just doesn't want to cooperate with my PC. Hopefully, Rockstar is able to avoid these kind of bugs in future games.
  87. Sep 30, 2014
    2
    It's bad. It's boring. It's broken.
    Now, autumn of 2014, i7-2700 (3,4GHz Quad), 16 GB RAM, Geforce 970 (Maxwell 2), Win8.1-64, SSD: The game does not stutter anymore. Maybe unless you use the X-Box-controller, that is.
    Now, you can see GTA4 in its full glory. And it is bad. Graphics? Dated. Well, they were already dated when the game was released in 2008, but hardly anybody noticed that,
    It's bad. It's boring. It's broken.
    Now, autumn of 2014, i7-2700 (3,4GHz Quad), 16 GB RAM, Geforce 970 (Maxwell 2), Win8.1-64, SSD: The game does not stutter anymore. Maybe unless you use the X-Box-controller, that is.
    Now, you can see GTA4 in its full glory. And it is bad. Graphics? Dated. Well, they were already dated when the game was released in 2008, but hardly anybody noticed that, as nearly everybody was just overwhelmed by the sheer size of the city. Music? No, just awful noise. Dialogues? Do you consider F-words and S-words a bearable dialogue? In that case you do not have a problem with the game. You do have a problem with your life. Missions? Try to navigate a horrible car through a horrible mess of horrible AI and kill someone. Repeat.
    The good news is: The triggers in the game can be broken, so you cannot start the next mission. What about other savegames? It is GfWL - no escape here. The game essentially gives you a "Game over" for free. Thus the game has a useful message after all: Go and play something else.
    Expand
  88. Nov 23, 2014
    0
    OK, seriously, WTF. I'm not even going to write a review on this. When I downloaded this from Steam it really sucked. The graphics were so terrible. Try harder Rockstar.
  89. Dec 10, 2014
    2
    same game play mode in the entire game, you spend more time traveling to the mission than completing it, the only challenge games are the minigames, even the dates are repetitive. Obviously the high rates was for the graphics and free run mode.
  90. Jan 12, 2015
    4
    Grand Lag Auto Bore : Modders Poopy

    In all seriousness, the game is still as bad as it is on consoles, including the fact that anything can go wrong at anytime when you start to install mods.

    The fact that this game lags almost all the time, despite having an expensive video card, brings this game to a 4.9/10
  91. Jun 30, 2015
    0
    Year 2015. Installed my copy from steam after 5 years of having uninstalled it.
    Gtx 780 TI + i7 2600k, that is my config. And still, i'm getting unacceptable framerate, bugs everywhere, and stupid Social Club pesting while i try to play.
    What the hell is wrong with this game??? It's been YEARS, literally, and none of the patches released by rockstar is able to fix the crappy performance.
    Year 2015. Installed my copy from steam after 5 years of having uninstalled it.
    Gtx 780 TI + i7 2600k, that is my config. And still, i'm getting unacceptable framerate, bugs everywhere, and stupid Social Club pesting while i try to play.
    What the hell is wrong with this game??? It's been YEARS, literally, and none of the patches released by rockstar is able to fix the crappy performance. And this is not just on PC. I also got it as a gift for my ps3, and the performance is the same s**t.
    Shame on you, rockstar. I promised myself not to buy another game from you, and i will keep staying away from them.
    Expand
  92. Jul 5, 2015
    2
    not sure about the game, but if you want to play, you have to spend at least an hour getting behind some drm crap, creating microsoft live profile, rockstar games profile, restart the game 5 times, authentize mail and so on. definetely not recommended to anyone who just want to play.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. It's the peripheral distractions of both going out with Roman, and meeting your girlfriends, that really make your virtual life so worth living. Although incredibly simplistic, they're oddly touching...One of the finest videogames ever. [Christmas 2008, p.87]
  2. The most grown-up GTA and the best realised, but it doesn't respect the PC much. Enjoy the multiplayer madness if you can. [Christmas 2008, p.96]
  3. A genuinely ground-breaking blockbuster in videogame history. There were moments playing GTA IV that I thought back to my initial experiences with games, and realised exactly how far we've come. There's never been anything quite like GTA IV in the world. That there makes me genuinely happy to be a gamer.