Grim Fandango Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 364 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Something's rotten in the Land of Dead and you're being played for a sucker. Meet Manny Calavera, travel agent at the Department of Death. He sells luxury packages to souls on their four-year journey to eternal rest. But there's trouble in paradise. Help Manny untangle himself from a conspiracy that threatens his very salvation. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. If the Academy Awards opened themselves to video games, Grim Fandango would be looking at a sweep. Best acting: Grim Fandango. Best script: Grim Fandango. Best cinematography: Grim Fandango. The game’s creators wouldn't have to leave the podium.
  2. Everything in the game reeks of excellence. The characters are good, the story is intriguing and the Land of the Dead is a wonderful place.
  3. This is what other adventure games only aspire to be. It is extremely well-written, well-executed, and above all, fun to play.
  4. I particularly liked the consistent film noir theme (especially a bit of homage paid to "Casablanca" in Year Two).
  5. In addition to being a very good adventure game, it features great writing and beautiful art direction.
  6. A sure bet for the adventure crowd and anyone who appreciates a great story. [Jan 1999, p.186]
  7. GF doesn't really go anywhere new so don't expect too many surprises in that field, where it does excel is in keeping to the tried and tested Lucasarts formula of comedy and logic combined to give you the most senseless fun you can imagine.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 2 out of 67
  1. PedroZ.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Without any doubt THE best game ever done, not only among adventure games, but among all game genders (action, adventure, startegy, etc...). And yes, I'm writing this on April 2006 (8 years after its release) having a top of the line gaming system that allow me to play all the newest games (including half life 2) in all their glory. But still they fall short when compared to Grim Fandango. It is just simply a masterpiece. Expand
  2. WilliamN.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    Not the most beautiful, not the most challenging, but quite simply the most FUN of this genre.
  3. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    12 years old and i still enjoy playing this game. Probably one of the best lucas arts games of all time. A sequel would be legendary. A definite must have for any pc gamer. Collapse
  4. JonathanR.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most immersive and innovative games ever made. I hadn't heard of it until seeing it on the PSN store, and I was blown away by the demo. I knew I had to buy it, and I'm so glad i did :D. I have the PSWii60 and this is the only game I have played since I bought it and everyday I can't wait to come home to play it! Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    I could detail the premise, of how this is about Manny and his journey through the land of the dead, but I don't want to unveil any spoilers whatsoever. Simply put, this game is just... sensational.

    I can't write enough superlatives for it. It's timeless too - every bit as enjoyable to play in 2014 as it was upon release. No game has come close to being as atmospheric, as complete an experience since. The definitive title in a golden age of PC gaming. It took the foundations laid by the exceptional Monkey Island series and expanded on it to create a storytelling experience that is as close to faultless as gaming can get. The art style is sublime and perfectly pulled off, utterly timeless, and the ambient soundtrack is as good as anything you can imagine. The whole thing is just seamless, a work of absolute genius from a very talented game studio. You are pulled into the world from the onset and it doesn't let you go.

    The puzzles are excellent, if sometimes a bit contrived but not overly so as to detract from the gaming experience. Everything is logical without being too easy, whilst managing to be challenging yet not impossible. The sole issue with the title is that you look at all other games in an unfavourable light next to it. As in it can ruin gaming for you in the long term, as you end up using it as the benchmark for everything else. An insanely, impossibly high benchmark.

    Make no mistake, this is the quintessential PC gaming experience. You owe it to yourself to pick this game up. The hype doesn't do it justice. Just... get it, seriously. Make it work on a modern system, do whatever you can to invest your time into it. It's a life changing title, one of the greatest of all time and I wouldn't argue with anyone who calls it the single greatest game ever made. So good, that no other point and click adventure could measure up to it afterwards. So good, that at certain times you can't help but actually applaud it. I mean physically clap. Incredible.

    If you've ever played a FPS and thought, "is there something a bit more to gaming than this?"... well, here's your answer. Please, please, please play this game.
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    Virtually all LucasArts Games at the time this title was released are amazing. Grim Fandango is no exception. Incredibly creative, funny and challenging. It creates its own atmosphere and you miss it as badly as you miss playing the game itself. A work of art! Expand
  7. May 27, 2011
    8
    A very entertaining game.
    IF you can get it to work that is... There is a hyper-threading (whatever that means) issue reported by some multi
    processor users, including me, causing crashes and such, and it's a bit of a headache - but once you get past that! you will be glad you did;
    It's a very funny portrayal of the afterlife - narrated by the comedic hero Manny as you guide him through his adventures in the Land of the Dead.
    I played through this game years and years ago, popped it in again just recently for kicks :D and it still kicks hard.
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews