Ground Control PC

Ground Control Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two political factions have gone to war over a distant world and the secrets it holds in Ground Control, a visually stunning and frenetically paced action/real-time strategy game from Sierra Studios and Massive Entertainment. [Sierra Studios]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The best thing to come out of Sweden since meatballs and tall, big busted, long legged blondes wearing high heels.
  2. Currently the best real-time strategy title I have played since "Homeworld."
  3. It sparkles with polish, detail and originality.
  4. Daily Radar
    88
    A fine game from most perspectives, it's also excellent in ways that will raise the bar a little higher for others making the attempt in this genre.
  5. Despite its few shortcomings and frustrating design issues, you'll find that "Ground Control" is not only one of the best-looking games to date but also one that's suitably challenging and rewarding.
  6. CheckOut
    80
    Whether you've never played an RTS before or if you're diehard fan of the genre, "Ground Control" will keep you sitting in your own filth for hours on end just to get to the next mission.
  7. A difficult game to control as you try and keep the camera and all your units going in the right directions with the mouse and keyboard.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    Best graphics strategy series.
    Always in my memory. I don't think about gameplay because of its really stunning graphics (good optimised
    Best graphics strategy series.
    Always in my memory. I don't think about gameplay because of its really stunning graphics (good optimised either).
    Graphic measure. Iconic.
    I regret this game series died.
    Expand
  2. GeorgeD.
    Apr 7, 2002
    9
    It's quite nice :)
  3. HarrisK.
    Feb 8, 2003
    9
    Really enjoy this game.
  4. Mike
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    Great Game! The graphics are good, it is challenging, and yet it is easy to use. I only wish that the characters didn't use so much foul Great Game! The graphics are good, it is challenging, and yet it is easy to use. I only wish that the characters didn't use so much foul language. Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2015
    9
    For a game released in march 2000!!! yes 2-0-0-0 (it means it was DEVELOPED IN 1999!) this game is amazing... really... handsdown amazing...For a game released in march 2000!!! yes 2-0-0-0 (it means it was DEVELOPED IN 1999!) this game is amazing... really... handsdown amazing... try to compare it to the competition up to that date... you simply can't... but it was linear and simple and that makes it a 9/10.

    Please disregard infants who can't elaborate a contextual, logical review like CarcerC or Pandarve... seriously guys... pre 2000 NOTHING was this hot
    Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Talk about revolutionary... some half a year after the release of another "best selling" C&C clone we get this game. While the image qualityTalk about revolutionary... some half a year after the release of another "best selling" C&C clone we get this game. While the image quality is dated, this game is by no means revolting to play even 13 years later AND it beats many of the more modern genre options in the way it implements combat and accounts for relevant combat variables such as lighting, visibility and terrain elevation AND features plausibly looking aircraft (all the modeling work errs on the side of realism). Great game. Collapse
  7. CarcerC.
    May 10, 2007
    6
    Fun, but only while it isn't being amazingly frustrating. The pathfinding AI is woefully incapable of dealing with obstacles in the form Fun, but only while it isn't being amazingly frustrating. The pathfinding AI is woefully incapable of dealing with obstacles in the form of other units, and there seems to be no pattern to which sections of near-vertical cliff infantry can or can't climb. Sometimes enemy units can be spotted and engaged from a long way off; other times my squads seemed completely unable to target the enemies who were just on a slope on front of them, making mincemeat of my units as I try to pull them back and they all get stuck on each other. That said, ruining someone's day with the artillery units is entertaining to say the least. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews