Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    98
    It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but the amount of care and polish that went into this title is readily apparent.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    95
    Guacamelee! is a fantastic game. It’s funny and well-paced, and even when difficult the combat and platforming never felt unfair, just challenging. Everything is nicely presented, and the game looks, plays and sounds terrific. Although I did encounter one large stumbling block it didn’t dampen my enthusiasm for this gem. Anyone who likes a good 2D platformer should check this one out.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    91
    So I definitely think Guacamelee! is worth picking up if you haven’t done so yet. If you missed out on the PSN version, or hell, just want to play through the game again, it’s well worth checking out. This remains one of the more impressive independent releases this year, and certainly makes me curious to see what developer Drinkbox Studios is working on next.
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    91
    It’s every bit as amazing on the PC as it is on its native PlayStation 3.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    90
    Despite its relatively short length, Guacamelee! Gold Edition is definitely worth your money. You'll enjoy every second of its cartoony style and sense of humor.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! was an excellent action platformer on PlayStation 3 and it is now on PC, plus it comes with some interesting extras.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    90
    Its challenging and exciting brawling action is backed with a unique style and sense of humor, making it easy to recommend.
  8. 90
    Guacamelee is a fantastic fiesta of a game, and Guacamelee! Gold is the definitive version. It has style in spades, charming writing, deceptively deep gameplay, additional content, and is wholly satisfying to play.
  9. Aug 22, 2013
    90
    So where does this leave us? Same great game, extra content, fan made costumes, all on the your personal computer through the magic of Steam.
  10. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! remains one of the most entertaining 2D experiences in a long while, and if you missed out on the Playstation fiesta, the party has now made its way over to the PC without missing a beat. Absolutely recommended.
  11. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    Still, for a price of just ten bucks, Gaucamelee! is definitely a game worth checking out. If only just for the gorgeous design and crazy cartoon yuks, it’s a platformer that pile-drives the competition.
  12. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee does a brilliant job in blending the highlights of the genre's corner stone titles such as Metroid and Castlevania, while still retaining it's own brand of charm.
  13. Aug 9, 2013
    90
    Packs a healthy dose of content in addition to the PC-exclusive modding tools, making it the best version of an excellent game to date.
  14. 90
    Guacamelee! Gold Edition only helps to enhance the rich, fun, free-scrolling action platformer by strengthening the visual art style and adding a bevy of Steamworks features.
  15. Sep 1, 2013
    87
    Regardless of its length, Guacamelee is a fine platformer that is lighthearted and entertaining, with plenty of things to fight and laugh about along the way.
  16. Aug 14, 2013
    86
    Guacamelee! is an action-platform game really funny. A gem in this genre thanks to an amazing combat system, challenging platforms and visual style.
  17. Oct 3, 2013
    85
    The PC edition of Guacamelee comes with all the extra content that has come out since its initial release and with all of that lovely, Mexican craziness.
  18. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    A delight. [Dec 2013, p.95]
  19. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Guacamelee is a very good mix of action and platform game in the vein of classical metroidvanias. The Mexican luchador theme is charming, the pacing is great and the combat and puzzles are challenging without being frustrating. An absolute must for fans of the sub-genre.
  20. Aug 16, 2013
    80
    Guacamelee returns in this shiny gold edition for every PC player who loves metroidvania-like gameplay.
  21. Aug 9, 2013
    70
    A solid Metroidvania brawler with a whole lot of heart and a whole lot of humour.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Sep 14, 2013
    6
    Guacamelee is a well-made game that gets boring quickly. Despite gaining new abilities frequently, combat feels repetitive. Mandatory dialog is frequent and sometimes funny, but also got old quick. I bought the game because I love metroidvanias, but it feels more like a fighting game. There is a lot to like here, but it just didn't hold together for me. Full Review »
  2. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Timeraider's Review Time: Dust 2d sideview platformer/massive fighting Gamplay: 9/10 Graphics: 8.5/10 Performance: 8.5/10
    Problems/bugs/glitches: 8/10
    Storyline: 9/10
    Emotional attachment/ general immersion: 10/10

    General score: 9/10

    Additional comments:
    I am usually not the guy to play sideview fighters, especially chaotic ones. However this game it deserves everything. The graphics are great and fit the gameplay.. not to detailed and slightly cartoony, while maintaining the resolution and graphical advancements found in the newer games.
    The gameplay is great it has nice performance on even weak PC's and the game just feels very smooth. Pressing 30 buttons per second will happen, but it wont show even the slightest microstutter on the screen.. its all fluid and smooth.
    The storyline is very immersive (ive heard people actually pinked away a tear and i myself felt touched at some moments to so far) and the game keeps you in a tight lock im known for never finishing games, which is a trait alot of gamers suffer from. However since ive started playng this game im stuck to the screen and will certainly finish this (will be my third pc game ive ever finished in the last 8 years (others were Trine 2 and.. Star Wars Battlefront 2 i believe)...

    This was my short recommendation. If you want a full review.. sorry but i dont do those.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    5
    Game starts out nicely, but eventually reveals some frustrating flaws. It demands absolute precision from the player, but is pretty sloppy with its own hit boxes and timings. Boss characters are given massive amounts of invulnerability frames, which aren't indicated in any way, that you're forced to learn by trial and error. Conversely, you can be damaged at any time, even during special moves when your character is just a blur, which is maddeningly counter intuitive. Many people are reporting they never get past the final boss, which leaves little incentive for me to play the final quarter of the game. This is a punishing game for 15 year-olds who have the time to play it as obsessively as it demands. I used to have that sort of patience, but now I realized games are supposed to be...fun. On the plus side, it has amazing style and a great sense of exploration. Really unique stuff. But with all these rave reviews, I thought someone really needed to chime in with a reality check. Full Review »