Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    70
    A solid Metroidvania brawler with a whole lot of heart and a whole lot of humour.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Sep 14, 2013
    6
    Guacamelee is a well-made game that gets boring quickly. Despite gaining new abilities frequently, combat feels repetitive. Mandatory dialogGuacamelee is a well-made game that gets boring quickly. Despite gaining new abilities frequently, combat feels repetitive. Mandatory dialog is frequent and sometimes funny, but also got old quick. I bought the game because I love metroidvanias, but it feels more like a fighting game. There is a lot to like here, but it just didn't hold together for me. Full Review »
  2. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Timeraider's Review Time:
    Dust
    2d sideview platformer/massive fighting Gamplay: 9/10 Graphics: 8.5/10 Performance: 8.5/10
    Timeraider's Review Time:
    Dust
    2d sideview platformer/massive fighting

    Gamplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 8.5/10
    Performance: 8.5/10
    Problems/bugs/glitches: 8/10
    Storyline: 9/10
    Emotional attachment/ general immersion: 10/10

    General score: 9/10

    Additional comments:
    I am usually not the guy to play sideview fighters, especially chaotic ones. However this game it deserves everything. The graphics are great and fit the gameplay.. not to detailed and slightly cartoony, while maintaining the resolution and graphical advancements found in the newer games.
    The gameplay is great it has nice performance on even weak PC's and the game just feels very smooth. Pressing 30 buttons per second will happen, but it wont show even the slightest microstutter on the screen.. its all fluid and smooth.
    The storyline is very immersive (ive heard people actually pinked away a tear and i myself felt touched at some moments to so far) and the game keeps you in a tight lock im known for never finishing games, which is a trait alot of gamers suffer from. However since ive started playng this game im stuck to the screen and will certainly finish this (will be my third pc game ive ever finished in the last 8 years (others were Trine 2 and.. Star Wars Battlefront 2 i believe)...

    This was my short recommendation. If you want a full review.. sorry but i dont do those.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    5
    Game starts out nicely, but eventually reveals some frustrating flaws. It demands absolute precision from the player, but is pretty sloppyGame starts out nicely, but eventually reveals some frustrating flaws. It demands absolute precision from the player, but is pretty sloppy with its own hit boxes and timings. Boss characters are given massive amounts of invulnerability frames, which aren't indicated in any way, that you're forced to learn by trial and error. Conversely, you can be damaged at any time, even during special moves when your character is just a blur, which is maddeningly counter intuitive. Many people are reporting they never get past the final boss, which leaves little incentive for me to play the final quarter of the game. This is a punishing game for 15 year-olds who have the time to play it as obsessively as it demands. I used to have that sort of patience, but now I realized games are supposed to be...fun. On the plus side, it has amazing style and a great sense of exploration. Really unique stuff. But with all these rave reviews, I thought someone really needed to chime in with a reality check. Full Review »