Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guacamelee! is a Metroid-vania style action-platformer set in a magical Mexican inspired world.

    The game draws its inspiration from traditional Mexican culture and folklore, and features many interesting and unique characters. Guacamelee builds upon the classic open-world Metroid-vania
    style of games, by adding a strong melee combat component, a new dimension switching mechanic, and cooperative same-screen multiplayer for the entire story. The game also blurs the boundaries between combat and platforming by making many of the moves useful and necessary for both of these. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    98
    It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but the amount of care and polish that went into this title is readily apparent.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    91
    So I definitely think Guacamelee! is worth picking up if you haven’t done so yet. If you missed out on the PSN version, or hell, just want to play through the game again, it’s well worth checking out. This remains one of the more impressive independent releases this year, and certainly makes me curious to see what developer Drinkbox Studios is working on next.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! Gold Edition only helps to enhance the rich, fun, free-scrolling action platformer by strengthening the visual art style and adding a bevy of Steamworks features.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee does a brilliant job in blending the highlights of the genre's corner stone titles such as Metroid and Castlevania, while still retaining it's own brand of charm.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    90
    Despite its relatively short length, Guacamelee! Gold Edition is definitely worth your money. You'll enjoy every second of its cartoony style and sense of humor.
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    70
    A solid Metroidvania brawler with a whole lot of heart and a whole lot of humour.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    Guacamelee represents all that is good in indie games. It has excellent references, looks phenomenal, and has one of the funnest game play models I've seen in an indie game since Castle Crashers.

    Definitely worth the play. I've had more fun with this than I've had with some of the recent AAA titles that have been released in recent years.
    Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Guacamelee combines a huge swath of the best game mechanics ever devised, stuffs them into a barbacoa burrito and will punch off your head with such velocity that the blood will rocket from your neck and propel your lifeless body all the way to Phoenix.

    No really, it's Cartoon Sushi of the best of everything. Metroid, Zelda, Earthworm Jim, Castlevania, Smash Bro's, Portal, Gunstar Heroes and countless more inspiring titles; there are so many great classics represented here in the most genius subtle tamale pie bake of all their fine elements, I'm left speechless. Yet, it's completely fresh and unique and adds to that cadre with its own twists. It's unbelievably addictive and so much deeper than I ever would've guessed.
    Quick list of amazing traits.

    Art Gorgeous. Samauri Jack meets Nacho Libre. You have to simply experience it. The visual cues are perfect.

    GamePlay Breakneck and satisfying. I can't say more without spoiling it. Attention to detail is thicker than molasses. It takes some skill but jaw dropping things will result.

    Story Classic. Few games can pull off this simple story, hit a grand slam and do it with style to spare. Imagine Zelda Mario Portal Earthworm Jim Okami all smashed together.

    Sound You want 5.1 surround. Crank it. Bring Tequila.

    Control The depth, speed and responsiveness are so well done the only problem I found was remembering how much beat unmerciful you have at your disposal. Definitely my favorite aspect.

    Overall Great wholesome, scream-at-your-screen-in-ecstatic-frustration-because-you-were-so-friggen-close FUN.

    This would've been an instant 90's classic giving the likes Sonic and Crash a run for their money.

    Also, co-op, though I haven't had a chance to experience how insane that must be.
    The only con I have found is it leaves you wanting more. However, replay-ability, yup it's got that. I would wager a bet this would be a smash at parties w/ co-op.

    There are a lot of good side-scrollers coming out these days. This is one of the best.
    Absolute 10/10
    Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Timeraider's Review Time: Dust 2d sideview platformer/massive fighting Gamplay: 9/10 Graphics: 8.5/10 Performance: 8.5/10
    Problems/bugs/glitches: 8/10
    Storyline: 9/10
    Emotional attachment/ general immersion: 10/10

    General score: 9/10

    Additional comments:
    I am usually not the guy to play sideview fighters, especially chaotic ones. However this game it deserves everything. The graphics are great and fit the gameplay.. not to detailed and slightly cartoony, while maintaining the resolution and graphical advancements found in the newer games.
    The gameplay is great it has nice performance on even weak PC's and the game just feels very smooth. Pressing 30 buttons per second will happen, but it wont show even the slightest microstutter on the screen.. its all fluid and smooth.
    The storyline is very immersive (ive heard people actually pinked away a tear and i myself felt touched at some moments to so far) and the game keeps you in a tight lock im known for never finishing games, which is a trait alot of gamers suffer from. However since ive started playng this game im stuck to the screen and will certainly finish this (will be my third pc game ive ever finished in the last 8 years (others were Trine 2 and.. Star Wars Battlefront 2 i believe)...

    This was my short recommendation. If you want a full review.. sorry but i dont do those.
    Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    such a great game i enjoyed this game so much great gameplay great music and great graphics it is actually perfect i played it without the Gamepad and i didn't encounter any problems a great classic game Collapse
  5. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    A great platformer and, like Rayman Legends, another one that achieves the feeling of being a living cartoon. You guide your Luchador (a man at first, but you quickly get the option to swap your protagonist for a female Luchadora) on a quest to rescue the president's daughter. It's one huge interconnected map of 2.5D environments, branching via the doors at right angles to the plane of play.

    It's got a delightful aesthetic, and I can't think of any other game that looks quite like it. There's a lot of humour, and it's a cheerful and colourful game whose very darkest moments are several shades lighter than Scooby Doo.

    I should warn you that it's quite challenging. Customers who are used to easy games, or struggle with accurate timing, could have trouble here. Then again, maybe Guacamelee will train you and turn you into a seasoned platforming expert!

    If I had to choose between recommending this or Rayman Legends (the two best platform games of 2013) then without question I would pick Rayman Legends, but you should certainly play Guacamelee too.
    Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    7
    Played: Feb 2014
    Pros:
    + Very comfortable controls that allow you to move intuitively (with controller)
    + Interesting visual style
    Cons:

    - Feels very short
    - Some enemies get very stale by the end
    - Story starts promising and ends nonsensical

    This game bills itself as a “metroidvania” type platformer, and let’s face it: it pretty much is. Some areas are inaccessible until the correct special movement is unlocked, but ultimately there aren’t that many special moves, so many areas are open to you right from the start. You play as a luchador, so there won’t be any weapons to find, either; the few additional moves you can get in the game are all grapples (a move you can complete when smallish enemies have taken enough damage). The low number of moves contributes to the short feel of the game (probably about 8 hours for the first play-though), but man are they satisfying! Throwing a damaged enemy through a whole crowd of others and sending them flying like bowling pins should bring a grin to anybody who picks up this game.

    On the other hand, there are only a few enemy types, and late-game difficulty increase consists largely of forcing you to take on more of them and introducing some unblockable types (read: fire-based attacks). As you get good, you’ll find that you can destroy many enemie types in 1-2 seconds, which is good, because otherwise you’d get really bored fighting the same 8-10 monsters.

    The story starts out feeling epic, but pretty quickly you find you’re actually just rescuing Princess Peach from Bowser again. The boss minions of the main enemy have very crudely sketched reasons for working with him, nor is it ever clear just why your girlfriend was abducted in the first place. Furthermore, the devil is introduced as a character, then plays essentially zero role. Why introduce a pointless character you might ask? Maybe because the developers just wanted to… in any case this is not a game you should play because it “features elements of hispanic culture”-you won’t pick up any traditional lore at all.

    Overall, the game is pretty darn good, and very memorable in some parts. You may find that you’ll get replay out of it if you go in for additional modes unlocked at the end of a run, but I’d try to get it for less than $10 if possible.
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2013
    0
    Do not buy this game if you are looking to have fun. The story is atrocious. The graphics are cute but nothing special. The music is god awful throughout the entire game. The controls ARE TERRIBLE if you are looking to play without a controller dont even touch. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews