Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guns of Icarus Online is a multiplayer airship combat game where you will attempt to survive and thrive in the post apocalyptic wasteland, moving from town to town, trading and collecting resources, outfitting your ship, and battling deadly pirates.Visit the website for a look at ourGuns of Icarus Online is a multiplayer airship combat game where you will attempt to survive and thrive in the post apocalyptic wasteland, moving from town to town, trading and collecting resources, outfitting your ship, and battling deadly pirates.Visit the website for a look at our beautiful teaser and find out more about the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    87
    Guns of Icarus is an outstanding example of how a kickstarter project can be the new revolution of PC gaming. The skirmish mode is a brilliant teamplay/deathmatch battle arena and we are waiting for the promising adventure mode.
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    73
    Despite its visual beauty and impressive execution, limited gameplay and general bugginess hold everything back. This beast has room to grow. When it does, expect great things. For now, a little turbulence makes for a bumpy ride.
  3. 65
    There is some fun to be had with this game, and there is definitely a lot of potential given how the game is still evolving even though you can play it now.
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    60
    Sadly, the truly unique quality of proper airship-to-airship combat can't justify all blemishes that come with Guns of Icarus Online. It would simply be deceitful for this reviewer to say there aren't better, free, and readily accessible alternatives.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    It's good to see there are still developers who dare to try something different. Because let's be honest..how many zeppelin sims are out there now? Exactly. Guns of Icarus Online offers a fun concept, working together with some random players on a flying fortress, trying to defend it from other, similar foes. Bugs and lag cause major disappointment however. That's a shame, because the idea is great. Let's hope a great amount of patches will deal with these problems.
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    55
    Guns of Icarus Online is in every way, shape and form better than its predecessor, but doesn't escape the fact that its gameplay concept won't stay interesting for long. The slow airships and open levels make for limited tactics and slow-paced fights. It isn't bad by any means, but just isn't interesting for long enough.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    51
    After all the Call of Dutys, Medal of Honors and Battlefields this is… different and kind of interesting. But nonetheless I don't see enough reasons to spend more time with this steampunk sleeping pill than necessary.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 92
  2. Negative: 3 out of 92
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Truly immersive graphics and audio grabs the player and thrusts them into the middle of a explosive steam-punk universe that many gamers haveTruly immersive graphics and audio grabs the player and thrusts them into the middle of a explosive steam-punk universe that many gamers have been craving for. This game shines when it is played with friends as crew. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    An absolutely magnificent piece of work. An original and engaging game, Guns of Icarus Online is an absolute thrill to play either withAn absolutely magnificent piece of work. An original and engaging game, Guns of Icarus Online is an absolute thrill to play either with strangers in its matchmaking mode or with your own crew of steampunk rogues.

    There's really nothing like dashing in and out of pitched battle raining fire in your Squid, opening up a full broadside barrage with a Galleon or dashing in headlong with a Pyramidion, putting your navigational skills and cunning to the test.

    How about dashing to and fro, making your way through the inner corridors of a mighty Mobula, dousing fires and repairing damage as you, your toolkit and your technical ingenuity become the only things keeping the great beast afloat?

    Or maybe that's not your style. No, leave the fiddling about to the wrench jockeys. The gunner's for you. Be it taking your enemies apart piece by piece with the deadly accuracy of the Mercury Field Gun, or simply letting loose with a gatling gun like Reb Brown (screaming optional but encouraged). Break out the big guns and fire off a few dozen missiles with the Manticore Hwacha, or turn their balloon to shredded cloth with the colossal Lumberjack mortar. If you're feeling particularly nasty, perhaps use incendiary rounds. Need one massive blast in a pinch? Let them have it with a single massive Lochnagar blast. The choice is yours, and there's plenty of it.

    Whatever your preference, you're sure to find a role in the best, most cohesive teamwork I've ever seen in a game since the release of Artemis. Make no mistake, though. In the words of Malcolm Reynolds, only a fool don't know that his family's his crew, and if you haven't joined up with your own, you'd best make friends fast, or there's no way you'll survive.

    The only reason I've ranked this a ten is because I can't rank it higher.
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2014
    10
    Played one game so far, and absolutely in love with it.
    Exactly what you want to expect in a airship battle game.
    Control your own
    Played one game so far, and absolutely in love with it.
    Exactly what you want to expect in a airship battle game.

    Control your own airship, fly it the way you want to with a crew in a FPS style and setting.
    Do battle with random people and fight your way with friends.

    If I sound like I am advertising this game, then good got it from the Indie Bundle and absolutely loving it.
    Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Great Game, was concerned at first that i couldn't run it because i have a crappy laptop but it actually runs completely smooth and theGreat Game, was concerned at first that i couldn't run it because i have a crappy laptop but it actually runs completely smooth and the graphics aren't bad either. Will say you need friends to play it, so buy the four pack which is cheaper technically if you can. As far as matchmaking and server stability goes: Firstly, matchmaking works in that you can form your crew before hand and up to four ships worth of people which means you can search for games with a pre-made party of 16 people (ships do not need to be full btw). Finding a Lobby that fills up quickly depends on how many people you brought in but in my experience with usually one boat full of people it can take from being immediate to up to around 5 minutes which is pretty fast. Secondly, the server stability is pretty good, only had a friend lag out once and sometimes i would get a lag spike but it only lasts a couple seconds and maybe happens once or twice every other game (matches are longish, so ten seconds worth of lag in a ten minute game is not too bad).

    Also, if you wanna be a pilot in this game you may want to use a controller (which I use) because according to my friends controlling the ship with keys is incredibly difficult due to the multiple awkward key positions you need to use.

    As far as game-play goes, whatever you thought this game was gonna be by looking at it, is what it is exactly and works perfectly as intended. Teamwork is a necessity for success, and each class gets a different perspective but in the end everyone feels like they were a big part of a victory. The game is a little bare bones at the moment in regards to map variety (only three maps), game modes (only 2 i know of), and the level up system only adds items for your characters aesthetics. However the devs seem to be working on that and a new patch is coming soon with content. Also at the time being. the core of what you want from this game is there, there is a decent amount of class customization options, and a great amount of ships and ship weapon customization to choose from.

    Overall its great game that i would recommend for people with friends to play it with. Definitely try to purchase it now while its on sale.
    Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    Airships battles in a steampunk setting and a focus on coordinated teamwork. Does that sound interesting? Well let me tell you more. There areAirships battles in a steampunk setting and a focus on coordinated teamwork. Does that sound interesting? Well let me tell you more. There are 3 character classes, pilot, gunner and engineer, each which a primary role. Respectively: steering the ship, manning the guns, and repairing damaged parts. Now, when you start playing a match, you can't switch classes anymore (for obvious balancing reasons), but fortunately you get the option to multitask. You can freely run around the ships while you fly and are not stuck doing the same thing every time. If there's no need for repairing, an engineer can for instance quickly man a gun. Each class gets to choose 3 skills or tools for its own specialization, and one for the other two types. For instance, when being an engineer, you can pick 3 engineer perks, one gunner perk and one pilot perk. That way you're never completely useless taking over another role briefly, something which I really like. Now let's talk about the ships, seeing as they're the stars of this game. Each vessel is customizable to a certain degree. There a 6 different types of ship you can choose from. They range from quick but frail to sturdy but sluggish and several variations in between. They're all layed out differently as well, forcing you to learn the pro's and cons and how to get around on each one if you want to get good at the game. This isn't just important for defensive purposes like knowing the best route around the ship to get to a damaged part, but also to know what to aim for as a gunner, and what to steer clear from as a pilot. The goldfish for instance has its heaviest gun on the front. So you have to either try and stay at its side or be able to decommission the main cannon to stay out of harm's way. That brings me to the ship customization. There are a fixed number of weapon slots on each ship, predetermined for heavy or lighter gun types. While you can't just put any heavy cannon randomly on your ship, you do get to choose between various different guns for each slot. A fun setup for instance, is getting a lighter ship and having a heavy lumberjack cannon on the front, which does extra damage to balloons and also put some flamethrowers on the side. That way you can swoop in, cripple your enemy's vessel by forcing them into a descend, and then turn up above and around them and burn the ever living hell out of their ship. This will set their equipment on fire so any repairs are hampered, forcing them to keep plummeting and smash into the ground underneath! This is especially handy to take down the very sturdy but sluggish galleon type ship, as their main guns are on the lower sides and they would have a hard time aiming upwards at you while you burn them. It is well balanced however. This approach isn't going to be that effective when you take on more agile ships. People who complain that this game's not very tactical clearly don't have a grasp of the mechanics. In fact, if you fly into battle with no clue as to what you're doing, you're going to get crushed. But despite the learning curve, it's still tons of fun. Especially when you have a good crew going and have a mic. Another plus is that there's a built in voice chat with two channels: one for your own ship's crew, and one for all ships on your team. Pretty damn handy. I do have some very minor gripes with the game. It tends to crash to desktop every so often. However, the loading times are incredibly short and there's even a quick re-join button on the main menu that gets you right back into the match. If you crash it might literally only take 30 seconds to get back to your crew. Another thing is that the spawning might get a little glitchy for a few seconds, graphically. I think it has to do with the way the game loads. I've had the odd ship part glitching out too, but nothing too terrible. Actually, I've encountered very few game-breaking bugs overall. Another low note is the character progression, there isn't really much to say right now. Since the latest update you can level up your classes by doing various challenges. However, the only thing that you can unlock right now are costume pieces, which means that if you're going into the game as a complete newbie, you're going to have all the abilities and tools that a veteran player has. I can't think of anything more fair than that. I kind of regret not having the possibility to create a more personalized character model though. While you can also buy costumes from the (real) cash shop, there's very little in terms of facial editing. I ended up getting a (admittedly awesome looking) gas mask for my male avatar, because of it. The developers also promised to keep adding more content in the future and up 'till now, they've definitely kept their promises. You can also often see them online in the regional chat in the main lobby, actively conversing with the players. Concluding: I definitely recommend this one! Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    This game is a very good game, that would warrant a ten, if it wasn't for the fun that can be taken out of it by bad/ uncooperative teammatesThis game is a very good game, that would warrant a ten, if it wasn't for the fun that can be taken out of it by bad/ uncooperative teammates

    Graphics/sound
    The game looks and sounds marvelous, little details pop out in the visuals and the sound sounds authentic, this game has some of the best sound effects I have ever heard.

    Gameplay
    Piloting, gunning and repairing all work really well and are fun, and with the right team it can get even more fun, but bad or mainly uncooperative teammates can change that. With an uncooperative teammate on your team, it can ruin the game, because it depends so much on teamwork. if one person refuses to do their job, you're going to lose. But with the right teammates, you can have lots of fun evading and outgunning the enemy.

    Value
    The game has high value, you can play it quite a lot before getting bored with it

    final score
    8 out of 10, i would give it a nine or ten, but bad teammates ruining the game can be quite a problem, which is to big of a flaw to look over
    Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    This game proved to be unplayable. I started it up assuming it was going to work but it kept trying to connect to the server. Then IThis game proved to be unplayable. I started it up assuming it was going to work but it kept trying to connect to the server. Then I troubleshooted. I turned of Windows Firewall, opened the right UDP ports, re-installed the game, and I tried to get in the lobby probably 15 times overall. I looked on the forums. I sent an email to the developers about it (who care about their customers and respond to everyone) but they were unable to help me. They wanted me to do a bunch of stuff in order to see what the problem could be. I have never actually played the game and it has caused me at least an hour of trouble. I don't have ANY time for that, and I never want to set foot on a game made by these people ever again. A game needs to work- and this game won't. Unacceptable. This game deserves my zero star rating. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews