Half-Life 2: Episode One PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2286 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2017
    7
    Le jeu principal souffrait de longueurs, ce qui n'est à l'évidence pas le cas de cet épisode certes court mais très dense. La jouabilité un peu "vieux jeu" pour ne pas dire "vieille école" demeure encore assez efficace tandis que la technique est assurément des plus présentables. Un ajout digne d'intérêt bien orchestré à Half-Life 2.
  2. Nov 20, 2016
    7
    The game doesn't bring too many new mechanics, I couldn't name even one but I approached to this game keeping in mind this is a DLC. Should I though? It was released two years later and nothing really changed, of course it's very well written, interesting, it doesn't lag behind Half Life 2 but one could expect some improvement and because there isn't I lowered my rate by one.
  3. Nov 15, 2016
    8
    Геймплейно - это всё тот же HL2. По-скольку игра проходится за 3,5-4 часа, то она не успевает надоесть. Экшн, который в HL2 ближе к концу начинал навивать скуку, здесь делает это наоборот в начале. Но ближе к середине играть становится только интереснее. А вот сюжет... Его тут крайне мало, вопросы остались, а концовка хоть и эпичная опять, но так же обрывается на полуслове, прям сериалГеймплейно - это всё тот же HL2. По-скольку игра проходится за 3,5-4 часа, то она не успевает надоесть. Экшн, который в HL2 ближе к концу начинал навивать скуку, здесь делает это наоборот в начале. Но ближе к середине играть становится только интереснее. А вот сюжет... Его тут крайне мало, вопросы остались, а концовка хоть и эпичная опять, но так же обрывается на полуслове, прям сериал LOST какой-то...
    Вообщем получился крепкий боевик с неплохим экшеном и небольшой частичкой сюжета.
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2016
    7
    It's a good game, but it's short and nowhere near the huge greatness of the 2004 original. While the level design is still superb, its shortcomings are where it took what was great from its predecessor and failed to revive them.
  5. Oct 19, 2016
    8
    More of the same Half-Life 2, plus there is Dog. Which means that is great game, and you should definitely play it. I have tested it under Linux, and it runs very well: if you play on such platform, grab it!
  6. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    An amazing sequel to the best game ever made. While, it was little short and didn't added too much to the table, but it's still great. Most memorable thing about this game is the Alyx Vance's enhanced A.I. It was fantastic.
  7. Jun 23, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An interesting little continuation of the second game, but seriously, couldn't the story be a bit longer? You can seriously beat this game in like a day. But even though the story is short it was nice to to go on an adventure with close companion Alyx and develop a somewhat close connection. The sections of pitch blackness increases the fun game play value, and sort of amps up the horror element. So if were left hanging from the ending of Half-Life 2, get ready to play Episode One and be left on another cliffhanger where you escape City 17 and into the woods, but that's a story for Episode 2! Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2015
    7
    The gameplay is freakishly entertaining with new game mechanics and many memorable levels. It's as good as Half Life 2. The story? Unfortunately not as rich and up-to-the-mark as Half Life 2. We simply have to escape City 17, that's all. I expected at least something new once Alyx and we escape the citadel but it's just run-run-run and run. The boss fights and a certain sniper level makeThe gameplay is freakishly entertaining with new game mechanics and many memorable levels. It's as good as Half Life 2. The story? Unfortunately not as rich and up-to-the-mark as Half Life 2. We simply have to escape City 17, that's all. I expected at least something new once Alyx and we escape the citadel but it's just run-run-run and run. The boss fights and a certain sniper level make up for it though. But didn't have the feel and severity of Half Life 2. Made just for fun. Expand
  9. Oct 2, 2015
    7
    This is really really short and pain in the ass to fight the final boss, just play it to kill time or if your high or drunk as **** or just play it when your bored.
  10. Jun 10, 2015
    9
    Even though i played it first 8 years after its initial release, i enjoyed the game thoroughly due to its beautiful marrying of story-telling and pacing. Sounds simple, but most games (almost all) miss this masterful harmony in their gameplay. Half-Life 2: Episode 1 stars off from what seemed to be the end of the prequel and blows it out into a complete and full story of its own withEven though i played it first 8 years after its initial release, i enjoyed the game thoroughly due to its beautiful marrying of story-telling and pacing. Sounds simple, but most games (almost all) miss this masterful harmony in their gameplay. Half-Life 2: Episode 1 stars off from what seemed to be the end of the prequel and blows it out into a complete and full story of its own with skill and eloquence; the game does not let you rest until you finish it - always on the brink, always hurried on, always on the move, and always inside the story - i as a player loved the experience. Expand
  11. May 25, 2015
    9
    Episode One was really great. A nice way to continue the story after the end of Half-Life 2. The longevity was pretty good, and it was fun to complete. However it was clear how it was part of a larger project, and that the best was yet to come. Episode One is only an interlude to what will actually happen then.
  12. May 11, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Picking up where Half-Life 2 ended, Episode One added some crazy events to the game that made it feel like a better game. Was a fun playthrough to extend on the story to end on yet another cliffhanger. Thankfully I have episode two installing as I write this review because I need to play it and see what happens. That is what makes playing Half Life 2 so much fun, the ending and not knowing. Needing to play the next episode....or like everyone else waiting for Half Life 3 ;D.
    Positive: Juiced up gravity gun to start and rollermines
    Negative: Still waiting for that kiss with Alyx! Come on!
    Expand
  13. Jan 6, 2015
    9
    Almost as good as the first half life 2. Spectacular gameplay. The antlion level drags a bit, but who cares, you get to blast bugs in the face with your shotgun! If you want to know what happens after HL2, you won't be disappointed.
  14. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    Half Life 2 Episode One is the first episode of the series type game Half Life 2, published and developed by Valve Corporation. The game action is immediately after the events of Half-Life 2 and runs in the city City 17. The game begins immediately after the reactor explosion that occurred in the previous game. You know that Alyx was saved by some Vorguants but you (Gordon Freeman) is leftHalf Life 2 Episode One is the first episode of the series type game Half Life 2, published and developed by Valve Corporation. The game action is immediately after the events of Half-Life 2 and runs in the city City 17. The game begins immediately after the reactor explosion that occurred in the previous game. You know that Alyx was saved by some Vorguants but you (Gordon Freeman) is left in the remains of the Citadel. Gordon is soon rescued by Alyx. Anyway the game is very short, yet is one that brings a lot to the previous game. Expand
  15. Dec 10, 2014
    8
    It's still Half Life, so it's an amazing experience right away. But, for the series standards, it has some down points. Like that underground level, filled with zombies. And it also is too short. But, anyway, it's obligatory for anyone who played Half Life 2.
  16. Oct 20, 2014
    4
    Being a huge Half Life fan, I finally caved & bought Episode 1 on sale in October 2014. I just finished it. I have to say it sucked. The hardest difficulty was barely a challenge, and it was so short it felt like cut unfinished HL2 content.

    The whole "Half Life 2: Episode X" system has in my opinion failed miserably. I'm going to play Episode 2 next, but I don't expect much better.
    Being a huge Half Life fan, I finally caved & bought Episode 1 on sale in October 2014. I just finished it. I have to say it sucked. The hardest difficulty was barely a challenge, and it was so short it felt like cut unfinished HL2 content.

    The whole "Half Life 2: Episode X" system has in my opinion failed miserably. I'm going to play Episode 2 next, but I don't expect much better.

    Extremely linear path, boring puzzles. I also highly disagree with the art direction of HL2. It just feels so rusty & industrial 24/7. I missed half life 1's scientific & top secret feel.
    Expand
  17. Sep 23, 2014
    7
    A good continuation of half life 2. Combat is the same as Half life 2, story is good but not as strong as half life 2. Overall its good and worth getting if you liked Half life 2.
  18. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    Episode One is for me as good as Half-Life 2! And Alyx is a nice character (imagine Episode One and Two without Alyx!). My only issue is the short gameplay.
  19. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 9 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 7 out of 10, Re-play: 3 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
  20. Dec 22, 2013
    1
    Looking back on it, the original Half-Life was the best of the bunch, but later HL games and the spin-offs do have redeeming qualities, though not as much as HL1. That said, I cannot bear HL2:EP1. Why? Because it is nothing but a copy and paste follow- up. Weapons? Copy and paste! AI? Copy and paste! Enemies? Copy and paste! Gameplay? Copy and paste! Character animation and design?Looking back on it, the original Half-Life was the best of the bunch, but later HL games and the spin-offs do have redeeming qualities, though not as much as HL1. That said, I cannot bear HL2:EP1. Why? Because it is nothing but a copy and paste follow- up. Weapons? Copy and paste! AI? Copy and paste! Enemies? Copy and paste! Gameplay? Copy and paste! Character animation and design? Freakin' copy n' paste, son! Also, the character of Gordon Freeman is just as one-dimensional as you can get, and if it was for immersion reasons, it dramatically backfired because he has a distinctive appearance, an established backstory, and MOST PEOPLE AREN'T FREAKING PHYSICISTS! He could have been a sewage worker at Black Mesa and the story wouldn't have changed a lot! Look, I think the HL series is great, but i cannot tolerate this awful, confusing mess of a game. In fact, even watching the Citadel explode as you merrily escape on a train isn't satisfying! It makes absolutely ineffective use of what is one of my most despised movie and game cliches: The hero escaping the millisecond before an explosion, because that is just STUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUPID!!! Expand
  21. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    Episode One is definitely the weakest link in the Half Life 2 series. The main problem with Episode One is that not much happens: you go into the Citadel, Alyx picks up a copy of the Transmission, and then you escape the city. Add in the fact that this game is also very short. In my opinion, the beginning of Episode One (inside the Citadel) is a bit boring. The game does get better onceEpisode One is definitely the weakest link in the Half Life 2 series. The main problem with Episode One is that not much happens: you go into the Citadel, Alyx picks up a copy of the Transmission, and then you escape the city. Add in the fact that this game is also very short. In my opinion, the beginning of Episode One (inside the Citadel) is a bit boring. The game does get better once you leave the citadel and are presented with numerous puzzles. The hospital portion is also quite good and the new zombine enemy is quite humorous. Episode One is not bad by any means, but having played through all the Half Life games, this stands out as being comparatively weak. Expand
  22. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    The Half-Life series is the best FPS series ever made. This game adds to that legacy. Everything good is still present in this game. Its only downfall is it being very, very short.
  23. Jul 17, 2013
    4
    I enjoyed Half-Life 2 despite its flaws. Episode One has precious little of what makes HL2 worthwhile namely, surprises, big setpieces and skilfully constructed levels that funnel you along a path without you realising it. Instead, we have a heavy reliance on infinite enemies streaming out of spawn points, escort missions where the escortees get stuck, and my least favourite featureI enjoyed Half-Life 2 despite its flaws. Episode One has precious little of what makes HL2 worthwhile namely, surprises, big setpieces and skilfully constructed levels that funnel you along a path without you realising it. Instead, we have a heavy reliance on infinite enemies streaming out of spawn points, escort missions where the escortees get stuck, and my least favourite feature arbitrary changes in the rules and physics to force you to do everything in one particular way. So one moment the gravity gun works on vehicles, the next it doesn't, because this particular vehicle absolutely *has* to be defeated with rockets. In a ridiculous boss fight against yet another strider (which forces, once more, you to hang around a particular spot for infinite rockets) there's no consistency at all in what you can hide behind and what you can't. The designers just threw in some arbitrary panels that look much the same as other panels but can shield you for a limited time. How limited? It varies from panel to panel.

    Apart from Alex, allies are absolutely useless again. "Defend us, Gordon!" they shout, pathetically, as yet another squad of enemies is magically teleported in to an area I just cleared. How about you get out of the way so I can do that? Or, OK, just stand there and die while obstructing my view.
    Expand
  24. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    My review is simple.
    Probably, you played the original game Half Life 2 before the episode one (obviously).
    And I played 5 additionnal hours of the original game. Same ennemies. Same guns. Same ambiance. Practically the same place. The episode one is an extension with nothing of new. You like Half Life 2 like that and you don't need smething of new That's for you. You
    My review is simple.
    Probably, you played the original game Half Life 2 before the episode one (obviously).

    And I played 5 additionnal hours of the original game.
    Same ennemies.
    Same guns.
    Same ambiance.
    Practically the same place.

    The episode one is an extension with nothing of new.

    You like Half Life 2 like that and you don't need smething of new That's for you.

    You like Half Life 2 and you want an incredible innovation of Valve's disappointment for you.

    If you dislike Half Life 2, why you played at this ?

    For my rating, the same as Half Life 2 Good FPS, great atmosphere but where is the marking stuff ?
    What makes the game "worship" ?
    I don't find that.

    The game aged so the half life's 2 revolution is past. I expected more for "the game of the decade" but he is pleasurable.

    PS Epic the fight at the end
    Expand
  25. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Don't get me wrong, this game is not a bad game, but its not a good game, either. The sequel to the original half life 2 has come! And is it a good game? Yes, is it better than the original Half-life 2? Not in the slightest. I think the most annoying part of this game is the overloading of enemies. Zombine are the second most annoying thing on the planet next to ant-lions. Do ant-lionsDon't get me wrong, this game is not a bad game, but its not a good game, either. The sequel to the original half life 2 has come! And is it a good game? Yes, is it better than the original Half-life 2? Not in the slightest. I think the most annoying part of this game is the overloading of enemies. Zombine are the second most annoying thing on the planet next to ant-lions. Do ant-lions really need to be a thing in the HL universe? The game is fairly short too, only reaching about 2-3 hours worth of game play before leaving you at a cliff hanger, that at the time pissed me off.

    There are good parts to this game, some of them i had a blast playing through, parts like the hospital, the train station part, and the fact that the game can keep you hooked, and the underground segment was a good idea, but executed poorly with the introduction of zombine and antlions. Overall it is a must have chapter that further develops the half life story with some major flaws.
    Expand
  26. AWG
    Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Short, quick, sudden... and fabulous. This game is from 2006 and still its graphics are better than many nowadays titles. Also, Alyx is hotter than usual and totally into you. Terrific.
  27. sft
    May 22, 2013
    8
    Those darn headcrabs!

    EPISODE 1 starts immediately where Half-Life 2 ended. Basically it’s more of the same, and that’s more than welcome to a fan like me. If you want to know what I thought of HL2 I refer the reader to that review. Suffice it to say I loved it and Episode 1, although not as memorable as its predecessor, is still enormous fun to play. The only criticism I have of this
    Those darn headcrabs!

    EPISODE 1 starts immediately where Half-Life 2 ended. Basically it’s more of the same, and that’s more than welcome to a fan like me. If you want to know what I thought of HL2 I refer the reader to that review. Suffice it to say I loved it and Episode 1, although not as memorable as its predecessor, is still enormous fun to play. The only criticism I have of this episode is that Valve haven’t given the narrative development as much thought as they did in HL2 and will do again in HL2 Episode 2. Still great fun though.
    Expand
  28. May 3, 2013
    10
    If you've seen and played Half-Life 2(like I guess) you already know the deal.

    Episode One is the first in a series of episodes following Half-Life 2. The plot is set where the original ended, right after Citadel's explosion, where the player must re-stabilize Citadel's Core to prevent it from destruction. You're once again fighting your way out of the city, and saving rebels and
    If you've seen and played Half-Life 2(like I guess) you already know the deal.

    Episode One is the first in a series of episodes following Half-Life 2.

    The plot is set where the original ended, right after Citadel's explosion, where the player must re-stabilize Citadel's Core to prevent it from destruction.

    You're once again fighting your way out of the city, and saving rebels and people pinned down in the city.

    For an sequel, Episode One has some flaws, like it doesn't feature new stuff like characters, and weapons, but it continues the story with the same professionalism as the previous game did.

    However, Episode One comes with an updated engine, with advanced shaders, and even more improved AI.

    I can't say many other things, since is a relatively short sequel.

    Like the sequel and original game, the episode has a great value and deserves to be played.
    Expand
  29. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    A short little story, but I explained allegedly happened after the explosion of City 17. Back to the Same, ie same graphics, same characters and same gameplay. This does not prevent is good because if it's the same this never bored
  30. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    The equivalent of a filler episode. You could probably go right from HL2 into episode 2 because of how little happens in this episode. It's still a Valve game and has it's moments but it's plot is stretched thin between predictable puzzles and fights. Worth playing if you get it in a bundle but I wouldn't recommending purchasing it on it's own.
  31. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    This was really good add on. Not very long though and storys not as good but its still a really good and recommend if you loved Half Life 2. Half Life 2: Episode One 8.2/10
  32. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    Date night on the Half Life train. Too bad she had to go home early. Oh well, there is Episode 2 to look forward to. After spending several days with the original Half Life 2, I was disappointed to have completed Episode 1 in just 3 sittings.
  33. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    Even better than HL². If it were possible to give 11, I would do it. This episode has numerous distinct parts, each has its own atmosphere and feeling. Yet everything has been done flawlessly, and you play from the start to the end without realizing it.
  34. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    Valve definitely stepped their game up in Ep. 1, which I didn't think was possible. This game is just simply excellent. The difficulty can still be a bit frustrating at times, and VERY inconsistent, but the game gets so much easier every time you play through it. The music, like in Half-Life 2, is timed perfectly, and I'm not kidding, it plays right into the gameplay. The music selectionValve definitely stepped their game up in Ep. 1, which I didn't think was possible. This game is just simply excellent. The difficulty can still be a bit frustrating at times, and VERY inconsistent, but the game gets so much easier every time you play through it. The music, like in Half-Life 2, is timed perfectly, and I'm not kidding, it plays right into the gameplay. The music selection is also perfect, some rock-oriented music here, some spooky ambience there. The most notable improvement in the game is in the NPCs, namely Alyx. The sense of complete isolation that I felt when I was playing Half-Life 2 is not present in this game. You feel like you're actually part of something, and not someone who just goes around doing everything by themselves, although that STILL happens a great deal. My only legitimate complaint is in the gameplay elements that Half-Life 2 had. Whatever happened to the huge amount of puzzles present in Half-Life 2, you know like physics puzzles? Ep. 1 is mostly combat, which is not a good direction for Valve, because it only makes me think of the features not present in this game that other shooters have. The puzzles were what made this game SO interesting, they need to go back to that. However, I would still rather play this entire episode than play the last few chapters of Half-Life 2. Those were mercilessly hard, and particularly brainless. Speaking of endings...Ep. 1 has to have one of the most epic endings I've ever seen in a video game, and it's all because of the excellent graphics and sound. Seeing such an awesome ending was just what needed to happen after the difficulty in achieving it. Expand
  35. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Valve has done it again. The game is a continuation of half-life 2 and takes place after the final event of half-life 2. Though it does end with a cliff-hanger, it still is very interesting.
  36. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    If you liked the first, is a safe buy this episode, as history is its strongest point. In this episode there are not many new features such as HDR technology is incorporated and a significant improvement in the facial expressions. The campaign can be very short while somewhere a bit dense when we meet again with the zombies, but still very good because it lets you continue the story.
  37. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    After the masterpiece that was Half life 2, Valve seemed under a lot of pressure to make Episode 1 live up to its predecessors. Overall, I found episode 1 to be an excellent, if a bit of a flawed entry, in the series. The story remains although NPC's have a tendency to spout plot points that are already quite obvious even to the daftest of players. Nevertheless, despite a lack ofAfter the masterpiece that was Half life 2, Valve seemed under a lot of pressure to make Episode 1 live up to its predecessors. Overall, I found episode 1 to be an excellent, if a bit of a flawed entry, in the series. The story remains although NPC's have a tendency to spout plot points that are already quite obvious even to the daftest of players. Nevertheless, despite a lack of innovation, Episode 1 is still a worthy follow up to the timeless classic. Expand
  38. May 27, 2012
    9
    Half-Life 2 being my favourite game ever, I loved everything about the first episodic content and think anyone who has not played it should. Excellent game by a great developer!
  39. May 14, 2012
    9
    The is possibly the earliest game in the form of DLC. But a goddamn good DLC unlike the greedy cheap contents offered nowadays. It's short but quite worth it.
  40. Apr 25, 2012
    7
    This is a pretty decent expansio, but it doesn't hold the same standard as the original game. I kind of just wanted to rush through it, and that's how I still feel about it. Still, a mediocre Half-Life game is better than most other games.
  41. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    An good follow-up to its mighty predecessor, altough it was very short (but also very cheap). It doesn't really change much from HL2 rather than just continue the story for a few hours.
  42. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Not quite as well paced as its base game, but still very compelling. The sections tend to blur together, which only a surrealist would appreciate for their representation of a chaotic conflict on the brink of apocalyptic mayhem. The ending hits you like a .22 to the side of your fiberglass placeebo helmet, but it serves its purpose: heading up to the next section in this epic series.Not quite as well paced as its base game, but still very compelling. The sections tend to blur together, which only a surrealist would appreciate for their representation of a chaotic conflict on the brink of apocalyptic mayhem. The ending hits you like a .22 to the side of your fiberglass placeebo helmet, but it serves its purpose: heading up to the next section in this epic series. Though, my favorite part of this one is actually the recap of it in the beginning of Ep.2. Followed closely by the dynamic dialog between you and Alyx. Expand
  43. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    The overall package of this addon could have been bigger but still it is Valve quality from beginning to end. No experiments, nothing too fancy, valve just kept on telling their story further and delivered more of what has already proven as very good.
  44. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    Since you can practically pick it up for a dollar every other month on Steam I don't know why any fan of FPS games or Half=Life would appreciate this game for what it is. A short, cheap, and nice expansion to the original game which continues the story.
  45. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    I admit, HL2: Episode One's biggest flaw is that it's too short, but that doesn't matter. A short game can still be great, providing those 4 hours or so are a blast, and with Episode One that's the case. It wasn't really supposed to be another full game, as Half Life 2, it was only meant to be a small add-on, to show the aftermath events, since the ending of HL2 was way too ambiguous.I admit, HL2: Episode One's biggest flaw is that it's too short, but that doesn't matter. A short game can still be great, providing those 4 hours or so are a blast, and with Episode One that's the case. It wasn't really supposed to be another full game, as Half Life 2, it was only meant to be a small add-on, to show the aftermath events, since the ending of HL2 was way too ambiguous. Episode One takes place over 5 chapters, over a variety of locations. I felt the first two chapters were a bit flat, since you only pretty much used the Gravity gun and picked around the dull ruins, but the next 3 chapters were really great and intense in their own way. Although for the most part Ep 1 doesn't add anything new to what we've already seen in HL2, there is one major gameplay element that it has managed to exploit really well that HL2 only briefly brushed upon, and that is teamwork. As you play throughout the chapters, Alyx is pretty much always with you, helping out, with some parts you not being able to do by yourself. And this is done in such a way that you don't just feel like it's a mindless npc providing covering fire, but actually that you and her are trying to survive and escape the post-apocalyptic city by yourselves. Ep 1 is also designed in so much detail that you can play an entire game without ever having to use a gun weapon. One of the in-game achievements challenges the player to do just that, and I would highly suggest for everyone who enjoyed Ep1 to try that on one of the playthroughs, because it really is fun. Episode 1 manages to continue the story from HL2 well and at the same time opens up more of the plot for the next installment. Expand
  46. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I never understood the relatively low scores on reviews provided by the public for the Half-Life 2 "episodes." Honestly, I thought they were delightfully fun, incorporated the same kinds of enjoyable gameplay elements as HL2, and had a pleasurable-yet-brief single-player experience that added more Half-Life fun to the universe. I look back on Episode One in particular with fond memories,I never understood the relatively low scores on reviews provided by the public for the Half-Life 2 "episodes." Honestly, I thought they were delightfully fun, incorporated the same kinds of enjoyable gameplay elements as HL2, and had a pleasurable-yet-brief single-player experience that added more Half-Life fun to the universe. I look back on Episode One in particular with fond memories, but to each his own. Regardless, I definitely give this addition to the Half-Life saga my approval. Give it a try - it may be short compared to HL2, but it's not too short compared to a lot of FPS games these days, and it has a heck of a lot more interesting atmosphere and story to it than trashy modern FPS games do. Expand
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    I found this episode a very good one, it picks up where the original game stops and as the game its basically the same but somehow i felt bored after a couple of minutes, its mainly because you play almost alone during the chapters, althought i liked it very much.
  48. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Half-Life 2: Episode One is an excellent game. It continues the great story started in Half-Life 2, and improves on the experience in multiple ways, such as the shading, lighting, and AI. Alyx accompanies you the entire time, and it makes for no boring and lonely levels like Highway 17 from Half-Life 2. Its only drawback is the incredibly short playtime, at 6-7 hours.
  49. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    Great fun as a whole and a welcome improvement in graphical quality over HL2 due to the inclusion of High-Dynamic Range and other subtle effects. Valve has worked wonders with the development of Alyx as a character in this game, with the help of industry leading facial animations and voice work. The enemy AI has been improved a decent amount and the level design is tight and intense (notGreat fun as a whole and a welcome improvement in graphical quality over HL2 due to the inclusion of High-Dynamic Range and other subtle effects. Valve has worked wonders with the development of Alyx as a character in this game, with the help of industry leading facial animations and voice work. The enemy AI has been improved a decent amount and the level design is tight and intense (not in a negative way). Unfortunately the game is too short for the standard asking price @ roughly 3-4 hours long, however those 4 hours were some of the most intense and fun I have experienced in a shooter in a long time. Recommend you buy it on special or as part of the HL Pack or Orange Box. Expand
  50. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    Half life episode 1 its like the two first, fantastic, funny, and one of the best games ever, its a bit more short, but it doesn't matter, its just perfect
  51. Sep 29, 2011
    3
    Running through this only firing 1 bullet isn't too bad considering how easy Half-Life is in general, but is helped even more by the extremely short length. Nothing new or exciting here in terms of level design. The game itself doesn't do much to further advance HL2. Be warned though: 1 bullet means pistol not shotgun. Running through the game twice without firing a gun still doesn't makeRunning through this only firing 1 bullet isn't too bad considering how easy Half-Life is in general, but is helped even more by the extremely short length. Nothing new or exciting here in terms of level design. The game itself doesn't do much to further advance HL2. Be warned though: 1 bullet means pistol not shotgun. Running through the game twice without firing a gun still doesn't make the gameplay any more exciting. There's really nothing creditble about this game. Expand
  52. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Half Life 2 has obtained legendary status as one of the most flawless modern games BUT the question does need to be asked: is Half Life 2 over-rated? My answer is Yes as all things are flawed (even Half Life 2), that's not saying the game is not one of the best the industry has provided in recent times, it is however just an interactive game with a lot of copied elements of other scienceHalf Life 2 has obtained legendary status as one of the most flawless modern games BUT the question does need to be asked: is Half Life 2 over-rated? My answer is Yes as all things are flawed (even Half Life 2), that's not saying the game is not one of the best the industry has provided in recent times, it is however just an interactive game with a lot of copied elements of other science fiction, it's not as original as many claim. Half Life 2 has awesome graphics, innovative physics, game play, fabulously designed levels and game moments but my point is that it shows how lacking and unoriginal the rest of the industry is - that many would claim Half Life 2 to be better than it actually is. If Half Life 2 is the best there is in single player gaming - then video games truely are lacking... HL2 is still a real achievement and Valve has something to be proud of.â Expand
  53. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    It's a lot shorter and less inspired than Half-Life 2, but the new stuff including extremely dark rooms, pushing cars into pits, and running around taking cover from a strider trying to gun you down. Worth the $7 if you're a Half-Life fan.
  54. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very very gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood. Expand
  55. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Episode One is in my mind the weakest game in the Half Life series, though still pretty good. For almost half of the game your only weapon is the enhanced Gravity Gun... which is pretty cool but loses its charm after a while. Another third of the game is spent in lightless tunnels full of zombies, which also loses its charm after a while. However the last two chapters make up for the first half's mishaps with a fun and sometimes challenging dash to escape City 17. Expand
  56. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Episode One what can i say, when i first herd of the title i knew it was going to be a long time before Half-Life 3 Arrived and here were are 2011 still waiting, Anyway this is a great game though i think episode 2 was better. Other thoughts, the story continues for Dr. Gordon Freeman and its of Epic Proportions.
  57. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    First Half-life game I got. A very good game! A variety of characters, enemies, weapons, and environments to come across in this game. The story line is amazing, you play as Gordon Freeman who was in the original Half - life( which was amazing too) and was in Half life episode two, and half life 2. This game has a horror,action, and drama like game-play style. I recommend this game toFirst Half-life game I got. A very good game! A variety of characters, enemies, weapons, and environments to come across in this game. The story line is amazing, you play as Gordon Freeman who was in the original Half - life( which was amazing too) and was in Half life episode two, and half life 2. This game has a horror,action, and drama like game-play style. I recommend this game to anyone who wants a good cheap game to play for hours. Expand
  58. Sid
    Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Half life 2 episode one, is the first of three episodes in the ongoing adventures of the silent but deadly scientist from Black Mesa, Gordon Freeman.It starts off right where it left off, with the citadel exploding and the mysterious G-Man pausing time and putting you and alyx in stasis.

    I''ve read many other reviews, and this is what i don't get - so many people are saying that it's
    Half life 2 episode one, is the first of three episodes in the ongoing adventures of the silent but deadly scientist from Black Mesa, Gordon Freeman.It starts off right where it left off, with the citadel exploding and the mysterious G-Man pausing time and putting you and alyx in stasis.

    I''ve read many other reviews, and this is what i don't get - so many people are saying that it's "Just half life 2 all over again!"What?! While i do agree that you don't go to any new locations that you haven't visited before, but I personally prefer this episode to the original one.Don't get me wrong - Half life 2 was amazing, but it was very fast paced according to me.Think about it - One moment you're in te zombie infested Ravenholm, and another moment you're fighting against a stryder.While it was great fun, but it felt a little substanceless.In Episode one, you actually feel like Alyx has an emotional connection with you, and that the two of you will get out of any mess when you're a team.The amount of emotinal connection is what makes this such a great game.I don't think that a FPS has ever made me feel a connection with a NPC.
    Expand
  59. Jan 26, 2011
    6
    Half Life 2 left me wanting more, but this just did not suffice. The "episode" was too short and somewhat corny at times. It just didn't feel like the same game-too short and not challenging enough. Is worth playing though to stick with the story line. Esisode 2 was much better.
  60. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    It's hard to come up with a follow up after making what might be the perfect game (HL2) but this expansion or addon is great in itself and if it wasn't for the hype the ratings would be much higher. I would recommend this to anyone, even people that were not huge fan of the original game.
  61. scottd
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    dont think im hateing, i think the beggining of half life 2 ep 1 is dazzleing and amazeing (and a great way to experience the organic grave gun if you havnt gotten up to that part in half life two) and i think the ending is brillaintly epic, but everything inbetween is just a bland blur and is mostly just rehash of the latter parts of half-life 2 (follow freeman), that and i personaly did dont think im hateing, i think the beggining of half life 2 ep 1 is dazzleing and amazeing (and a great way to experience the organic grave gun if you havnt gotten up to that part in half life two) and i think the ending is brillaintly epic, but everything inbetween is just a bland blur and is mostly just rehash of the latter parts of half-life 2 (follow freeman), that and i personaly did not enjoy bogging through the darkened underground before getting to city 17 topside, good start, epic finish, bland middle! Expand
  62. Epi-1Sucked
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    I'm sorry; but Valve really failed on this one. It's the worst of the series by quite a long way. It's unintuitive; it has nothing new going for it.
  63. ds
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Half-Life, Half-Life 2...quite possibly the best FPS games ever created. Episode One, is just more of the same fantastic game. Plus the added bonus of playing along side Alyx with superb AI. And added bad humor :p
  64. MarshallS
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Episode one, in my opinion had much better game play designs than both HL2 and HL2 ep. 2.
  65. Bozo4154
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    To carry on with the GREAT Adventure is Bliss! Graphics and Gameplay still 100% A Big Clap goes to the Valve team, Imaginative, Storyline, Action, Thrill, With just a few Quid! Hope the trail continues, ESPECIALLY an extension to the Lost Coast, It's short and Sweet and would be a big Punch if there was a continuation to complete it's Adventure. Come On Valve, Give it a Kick To carry on with the GREAT Adventure is Bliss! Graphics and Gameplay still 100% A Big Clap goes to the Valve team, Imaginative, Storyline, Action, Thrill, With just a few Quid! Hope the trail continues, ESPECIALLY an extension to the Lost Coast, It's short and Sweet and would be a big Punch if there was a continuation to complete it's Adventure. Come On Valve, Give it a Kick Start back on trail. Expand
  66. CHarlieD
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    As with all of the Half-Life 2 games I think they are all amazing!! The storyline is brilliant, the graphics are fab and in every HL2 game something new is added: Hunters and Friendly Rollermines in this case.
  67. EddieD
    Aug 5, 2009
    7
    In all honesty, the original HalfLife game is at least twice as good as Episode 1. It was more challenging and had a better plot.
  68. MalcolmN
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    Good Game I think its deserves better than an 8.5 . I really like the Half-Life series and I own all of them so far.
  69. Billy
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    It's not that long nor is it much more than Half Life 2 but It has everything you loved about HL2. This time you are with Alex. She talks WAAAAY too much but she is a bit useful for fighting off the enemies. The story line will be very confusing to you if you do not first play Half Life 2. This not so much an expansion as it is a continuation of the story line, as it begins exactly It's not that long nor is it much more than Half Life 2 but It has everything you loved about HL2. This time you are with Alex. She talks WAAAAY too much but she is a bit useful for fighting off the enemies. The story line will be very confusing to you if you do not first play Half Life 2. This not so much an expansion as it is a continuation of the story line, as it begins exactly where HL2 left off. the game though, finally makes use of the sprint thing early on. Personally i think that this is a great continuation of HL2. Expand
  70. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    3
    Lets start off with the original advertising campaign: "Half-Life 2: Adventures of Gorden Freeman and the Crappy Unnecessary Character" You think that there will be an exciting new storyline extension, enemies, and puzzles. Think again. With an amazing 2 new enemies, a hard to follow story line, and ridiculously easy puzzles, its pretty evident, if you bought our garbage with Half-Life 2 Lets start off with the original advertising campaign: "Half-Life 2: Adventures of Gorden Freeman and the Crappy Unnecessary Character" You think that there will be an exciting new storyline extension, enemies, and puzzles. Think again. With an amazing 2 new enemies, a hard to follow story line, and ridiculously easy puzzles, its pretty evident, if you bought our garbage with Half-Life 2 your sure to buy this garbage too. You think that Alex was annoying before, that was only the tip of the iceberg. Now you have to spend an entire game with this damsel in distress. With this game we hope to emulate the feeling of actual relationship in the Half Life environment. We did as good as a game developer could in making you feel uncomfortable in all situations and you actually have to ask yourself how much more lame and corny can it get? I'm sure that what real Half Life fans are after is.... no not anything that important.... Graphics and sound. Ha Ha you thought game play and level design, how naive. With the level design, we pretty much knew that all you will do is look at the landscape. So now its like your not actually playing a game you are walking in a park with minimal issues that arise. When all these good things combine ( ha ha, its a lame joke, our game is full of them) you get the masterpiece only truly understood by people that can't leave the house. Expand
  71. MicahF
    Jul 16, 2009
    7
    The only problem with Half Life Episode 1 is the fact that it's unlike Half Life 2. What I mean is, having a sidekick is annoying. Especially one like in this game. She gets in the way and talks too much. If the developer had left her out, I would have given this a 10.
  72. DigitalDevil
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Get it now!
  73. KoFF
    May 16, 2009
    10
    Loved the game even though it was kind of short. Liked that you had support from alex throughout almost the entire game. Also loved some of the events that happened such as dogs little car launch at the beginning. The only thing i didnt really like about the game was it felt short and their wasnt really much of a fighting event or boss battle at the end.
  74. unhappychild
    Apr 19, 2009
    0
    As of right now, I've discovered this is probably the most painfully glitchy game I've ever encountered in my life. Worse than trying to run Final Fantasy VII on Vista. I haven't even been able to play the game due to the fact that it crashes every time I open it. This, before I even get to the main menu. Very dissapointed and wildly upset at the waste of good money. As of right now, I've discovered this is probably the most painfully glitchy game I've ever encountered in my life. Worse than trying to run Final Fantasy VII on Vista. I haven't even been able to play the game due to the fact that it crashes every time I open it. This, before I even get to the main menu. Very dissapointed and wildly upset at the waste of good money. Thanks, Valve. No help as of yet, which apparently, I should have expected. Don't get ripped off, friends. The frigging hours of troubleshooting you spend probably wouldn't be worth it anyway. Expand
  75. DanielGaggini
    Mar 11, 2009
    6
    I really have the feeling it's a poor 2nd part of HL2. The levels are often already played and are just a bit retouched. The storyline is poor and a good part of it is boring. Add to that a really short play time and you understand why I think it's really a pure commercial addon. Episode 2 is really better and worthy.
  76. JeradMiller
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    excellent balance of solo work and team work with alex. Never got confused on what am i doing or where am I going like the first game. Good ammo placement, never stocked completely but not hitting zombie's with a crow bar repeatedly. Didn't feel helpless or god like throughout. Keep it up Valve
  77. LeeW.
    Jan 10, 2009
    7
    This is MUCH better than anything Valve has pulled off before. Though it still has all the regular linearity and low-resolution graphics and bland AI of Half-Life 2, and it's still on their heavily (and horribly) modified version of the Quake engine, there are actually redeeming qualities that expose themselves. The best happens to be the HDR rendering, which gives the game some This is MUCH better than anything Valve has pulled off before. Though it still has all the regular linearity and low-resolution graphics and bland AI of Half-Life 2, and it's still on their heavily (and horribly) modified version of the Quake engine, there are actually redeeming qualities that expose themselves. The best happens to be the HDR rendering, which gives the game some atmosphere, and works especially well with the fact that it's set at sundown. The enemies do a little more damage. It's not because their AI has been improved, just because is a less-than-infinite supply of ammunition and med-packs everywhere and the enemies are more varied. They also come in big packs. The puzzles that a blind three-year-old can solve are spaced farther apart with more time for puzzles that may lead to actual harm. The voice acting is somewhat better and the characters seem more realistic, which is very good since the girl follows you around. AND she has infinite ammunition for her weird machinepistol. Some story is added as well, instead of HL2's original idea of the player just running around as some retarded mute with a zappy-gun that moves things. You're still playing the retarded mute. It just has more feeling to it. The levels are still pretty linear. Except this time they don't send you in a straight line. Over all it's still got that regular Valve-trademarked shittiness, but they may have hired some kind of person who actually cared for the game, not just money from kids who never played an actually good game in their life, the kids who think Half-Life 2 was brilliant. Too bad it's DAMNED short. Expand
  78. ChrisDixey
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    Half-Life 2: Episode 1 is just what fans of Half-Life 2 itch for after finishing the game, it's plot driven, it's challenging and it's fun. Admittedly, without being a fan of the Half-Life series the game has little to bring to the table that can't be found in it's predecessor, however, for anyone who has played Half-Life 2, Episode 1 is plot-heavy, action packedHalf-Life 2: Episode 1 is just what fans of Half-Life 2 itch for after finishing the game, it's plot driven, it's challenging and it's fun. Admittedly, without being a fan of the Half-Life series the game has little to bring to the table that can't be found in it's predecessor, however, for anyone who has played Half-Life 2, Episode 1 is plot-heavy, action packed and really gives more of a focus on everyone's favourite side kick, Alyx. Expand
  79. AS
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    Episode 1 is pretty disappointing. HL2 was an awesome game in 2004 and everyone was amazed at the graphics and gameplay cause noone had ever played anything like it before. Episode 1 however is exactly the same as HL2. There are absolutely no new areas to go to, nor any new enemies. It's very linear and gets very boring because you've essentially played it all before. I was Episode 1 is pretty disappointing. HL2 was an awesome game in 2004 and everyone was amazed at the graphics and gameplay cause noone had ever played anything like it before. Episode 1 however is exactly the same as HL2. There are absolutely no new areas to go to, nor any new enemies. It's very linear and gets very boring because you've essentially played it all before. I was expecting new stuff but didn't get any. All the gameplay has been experienced in HL2 with same environments and enemies....and so it doesn't deserve to be Episode 1...it feels just like part of HL2. Episode 2 however added new places and enemies and deserves the 'Episode' title. It's also only 4 hours long and whatever story they tried to add doesn't add anything at all...just as Computer Games Magazine said "It feels like exactly what it is: a small and perhaps insignificant part of something much larger"....which is 100% true cause it's more of a lead up to the exceptional Episode 2. So all up Episode 1 feels exactly the same as HL2 which you may think is good because HL2 is good but it's bad in the sense that it's no different from HL2. As strange as that sounds, I'm sure you know what I mean. When you've played HL2 for the 10th time and then play Episode 1, it feels like you're playing HL2 for the 11th time. That's how I felt. Expand
  80. NickZ.
    Oct 5, 2008
    8
    It was nice to play some more HL2 and see the story continue. The game play was entertaining and gave me a fright sometimes. The game ended short and lacking, now downloading EP 2 to continue the story. Hopefully EP 2 gives a longer game play experience for the money.
  81. SkeatSkeat
    Sep 28, 2008
    4
    Well I wasn't impressed. It was too short. Glad I have the orange box because I would have been pretty upset. I did like the fact that you really have to think towards the end and it wasn't just a straight though shooter. BUT thats about all. Well Graphics were great.
  82. ElieserT.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games ever, beautifully done, chossing the weapons is a bit tricky, thats about the only bad thing. You will get scared and your heart will beat fast at times, it gets verry intense, verry adicting. The cinematics are the best because you can move around and look at stuff while its going on, dont go to far or you will not hear the info. I cant wait for the next one.
  83. HalfAdicted
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    WOW! Great game, I heard the there is the final episode just about to be released, that is the episode 3 and Valve is also preparing the next game: Half Life 3, this one will include awsome graphics, so you better update your machine for a chance to play this game.
  84. JagdeepS.
    Aug 4, 2008
    8
    Half Life 2 original was better, I was so much more drawn into the game. This just doesn't have the sametype of story that was instantly catching you and you not wanting to quit playing.
  85. DevonS.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Unlike a lot of people out there, I thought this game was on par with Half-life 2. It had witty points, it was a shorter game (but it was supposed to be), and it delivered what was expected with much of the same as we've come to expect.
  86. Doesnotmatter
    Jul 17, 2008
    2
    This was probably the most boring game I have ever played in my life. Repetitive game play to the maximum, boring random lines by (also blocking) NPCs. Missing sounds for some reason since some update. I give it a 2 for the only interesting part in the game and we know which one that is. It bought it in 2006 and finished today 2008 with cheating because I simply wanted to get it over with.
  87. EricoT.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Great game with better looks than HL2.
  88. MantasK.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Very good game, in which sometimes you use your brain.
  89. TenshihanQ.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Fantastic lighting and framerate all throughout the whole game. Tons of action and physical puzzle-challenges as well. An excellent follow-up storyline to the epic HL series - as could be expected from author Marc Laidlaw of the Valve-Team.
  90. BenF
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Realy good game, but short only reason it is not a 10... most of you people say that you dont get a gun till late in the game well you start off with a grav GUN!!! and the best bart is you can kill people with it just like a GUN very good game just short
    P.S. it was funny seeing people rosting humans on a fire :)
  91. MatthiasS.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    The storyline playing on and you'll find new quest in the tradition of HL2. But in my mind playtime is too short!
  92. EddieI.
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    This is becoming one of my favorite games to play over and over.
  93. RandolphG.
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    First: this is an EPISODE not a complete game, so it's short as a chapter of a book leading to the next chapter (Episode 2). It's an experiment of sorts by the developers to break up a big long game into episodes so that if one episode has problems & complaints they can fix it for the next episode. Ok, now for me it was a bit too difficult and had one point that seemed First: this is an EPISODE not a complete game, so it's short as a chapter of a book leading to the next chapter (Episode 2). It's an experiment of sorts by the developers to break up a big long game into episodes so that if one episode has problems & complaints they can fix it for the next episode. Ok, now for me it was a bit too difficult and had one point that seemed impossible to get through, however my rating is based on that there was not so much storyline involved in this one and the site was not my favorite (The Citadel). Episode 2 promises to be fantastic from what I've seen in terms of action (and hopefully story). Love the series though! Expand
  94. AlessandroS.
    Mar 20, 2008
    9
    Though there are no new elements such as weapons, environments or enemies the fascinating story and characters get you banned until the spectacular new adventure for traveling outside of city 17 has found his spectacular ending. The source engine has been slightly improved, so there HDR effects available which looks quite neat!
  95. DG
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    It's an E X P A N S I O N - not a NEW game! I was satisfied, except for the wierdness never intended to even have an answer. True, Alyx and Dawg were annoying and slow to catch up, but overall, I think it was fun. I'm looking forward to affording Ep 2. I do hope the environments change a bit more in Ep 2...
  96. FlavioM.
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    Two times better than HL2, a full earned 9/10 with cleverer puzzles, more satisfying combats and a very good realization of the Alyx companion.
  97. AndreB.
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    Episode One comes and gives again the good experience that HL2 gave. But it's way too short. The company of Alyx Vance is very pleasant through the game and makes it different from HL2. It's great to finally see what happens after the "time-freeze" and to play the city 17 from the end to the beginning. From the Tower to the Station, it's a great experience. Unfortunately, Episode One comes and gives again the good experience that HL2 gave. But it's way too short. The company of Alyx Vance is very pleasant through the game and makes it different from HL2. It's great to finally see what happens after the "time-freeze" and to play the city 17 from the end to the beginning. From the Tower to the Station, it's a great experience. Unfortunately, the game is cheaper in US than in Brazil, where I happen to live... Here it's about 60 bucks! Expand
  98. Wildsnail
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Perfection! Probably the most entertaining 5 or 6 hours I have had playing games. I rated Half-Life 2 as one of the best games I have ever played and this just distills the HL2 experience - removing the slower parts, increasing emotional attachment to the characters and ramping up the adrenaline. It may be short, compared to a full-price, full-length title but it seems to me that all Perfection! Probably the most entertaining 5 or 6 hours I have had playing games. I rated Half-Life 2 as one of the best games I have ever played and this just distills the HL2 experience - removing the slower parts, increasing emotional attachment to the characters and ramping up the adrenaline. It may be short, compared to a full-price, full-length title but it seems to me that all Valve have done is strip Episode One of all that is unnecessary and leave an incredible gaming experience that I'll never forget. Expand
  99. ChazC.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    I'm highly disappointed in every person that BELIEVES an expansion pack is about bigger and better. Let valve tell the best story anyone has ever experienced and quit whining!
  100. RexN.
    Jan 31, 2008
    3
    Too many repeatitive tasks and infinite monsters from same type. It's just a boring duplicate of HalfLife2, which is way more fun to play than this.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Just like the original Half-Life 2, Episode One keeps the player entertained almost the entire time through perfect pacing and by being inventive, surprising and getting the basics absolutely right. It's a wonderful advert for the excitement that true episodic content can generate when approached the right way.
  2. Episode One is a memorable romp through the Half-Life universe, with gameplay that's even more satisfying than that of "Half-Life 2." The only downside is that, due to its episodic nature, it's over far too soon.
  3. 85
    A brief, stylistically claustrophobic experience whose polish and personality manage to keep things moving.