Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 8644 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. B'chandrasekarB.
    Aug 4, 2007
    7
    the game has high quality but the game play isent as great as they say it is . Still it is one of the top games out there
  2. SteveJ.
    Jan 19, 2005
    7
    The Steam set up is so annoying for anyone on a modem that I'll never buy another Valve/Steam product again. For the game, if you're lucky enough to get it running, it is beautifully done as far as the environment goes. The gameplay is fun and the graphics are the best out there, except for Far Cry. (Make sure you have a fast GPU) I found the game to work well and to be The Steam set up is so annoying for anyone on a modem that I'll never buy another Valve/Steam product again. For the game, if you're lucky enough to get it running, it is beautifully done as far as the environment goes. The gameplay is fun and the graphics are the best out there, except for Far Cry. (Make sure you have a fast GPU) I found the game to work well and to be enjoyable. The story line was good too. Overall I enjoyed this game, but feel the overhyped accolades by most review sites are caused by their fear of not fitting in. The game falls flat on the absolute linearity of the gameplay. There's only one way to go. It is so well done that I didn't mind it for the most part, but there is really no ingenuity involved to play the game. You just slog from one sequence to another. Still a pretty good game that would be much better without Steam. Expand
  3. JaneDoe
    Jan 9, 2005
    7
    Overrated. Can't compare with Far Cry, Deus Ex, Call of Duty, or Medal of Honor.
  4. JoeD.
    Jun 27, 2005
    7
    I don't know why people are so enamoured with this game. It definitely is not worth 10. Why? Far too linear. There is hardly any reply value. The game isn't that much different to Doom 3 gameplay wise. Just has better scripted events, more varied enemies and slightly better AI. Why couldn't Valve spend more of their time developing superior AI? The enemy AI is below average I don't know why people are so enamoured with this game. It definitely is not worth 10. Why? Far too linear. There is hardly any reply value. The game isn't that much different to Doom 3 gameplay wise. Just has better scripted events, more varied enemies and slightly better AI. Why couldn't Valve spend more of their time developing superior AI? The enemy AI is below average at best, no where near as smart as the AI in Halo 1/2 or Far Cry. The graphics are great, although Doom 3 still looks better. The story needed more work, it's still all too shrouded. WIth games as linear as this the story has to be very strong, and it's just too weak and vague here. Real shame, this could have been outstanding, especially with the engine used. The whole experience, even despite some very memorable moments, was for me a little empty once i'd completed the game. Expand
  5. BobI.
    Aug 1, 2005
    7
    The game is great but it is confusing at times given so little company support. I purchased the game from CompUSA and it came with no manual and a very small player Quick Reference Card. What makes it a great game is the depth of environmental control the player has. You do a lot more than shoot the enemy. You must use your environment to get out of predicaments. Whether it be using The game is great but it is confusing at times given so little company support. I purchased the game from CompUSA and it came with no manual and a very small player Quick Reference Card. What makes it a great game is the depth of environmental control the player has. You do a lot more than shoot the enemy. You must use your environment to get out of predicaments. Whether it be using gravity and pullies to get a ramp to move into place or operating a crane to move your vehicle, there are a variety of problems that go far beyond the shoot-em up experience. Graphics are excellent and play is not bad even on my mid-level system according to game recommendations. The story line is not always clear or even presented in depth but it is there. Battles get intense and require numerous re-loads that are slow at times. The use of Internet connectivity is not clear or explained so installing this on your computer and then registering leaves one feeling anxious about what goes on in the background both when playing and when not playing. As I said before support is weak from my experience. I sent an email to support asking some of these questions and received no reply. Expand
  6. AW
    Nov 16, 2006
    7
    This game had breakthrough physics, and it was awesome watching the guys collapse or get tossed around like dolls. The gravity gun was a unique weapon and really drew away from mainstream guns put in games today. However, this game also failed in a lot of aspects. While the potential and hype was driven up after years of suspense and waiting, the game just did not deliver. Though it kept This game had breakthrough physics, and it was awesome watching the guys collapse or get tossed around like dolls. The gravity gun was a unique weapon and really drew away from mainstream guns put in games today. However, this game also failed in a lot of aspects. While the potential and hype was driven up after years of suspense and waiting, the game just did not deliver. Though it kept my attention long enough to finish the game, I just was not impressed by it. The levels were pretty cool, though the city did get a little old after a while. The haunted city was probably the best atmosphere created in the game. But here's the biggest kicker: The weapons SUCKED. Yes, though the grav gun was unique, I ended up not using it for much of the game, because there aren't always objects to pick up and launch at people. Instead, you are stuck with a bunch of the same boring weapons as the first game - WITHOUT the aliens weapons. The only new gun I can remember besides the grav gun is the other combat rifle that also has a powerful (but generally unused) secondary fire. The random bullet pathing did not make it any better as you often waste a lot of bullets firing any of the smg/rifles from a distance any other than what you'd call short (which is a lot of the game). The boring weapons combined with a so-so story line was not exhilirating in my book. Top it off with the same gameplay as the first game, and you've got HL2 - which had the potential to be so much more. Expand
  7. RossH.
    May 6, 2006
    7
    Thought the graphics and physics were incredable for a game. However, i dont think valve worked hard enough on the gameplay and storyline such as on hl1, every level was something interesting. hl2 is to predictable in most cases.
  8. Jag
    May 2, 2008
    7
    Half Life 2 is an FPS that is announced by many magazines as ''Greatest game ever made''. Personally I think that is had well balanced gameplay. You can run and gun but its not recommended. Its always good to take cover but not all the time. I've heard some talk about the A.I being so good but it really didn't seem like anything real special. The combat zones Half Life 2 is an FPS that is announced by many magazines as ''Greatest game ever made''. Personally I think that is had well balanced gameplay. You can run and gun but its not recommended. Its always good to take cover but not all the time. I've heard some talk about the A.I being so good but it really didn't seem like anything real special. The combat zones were kind of limited so enemies would come out and shoot and maybe grab some cover in the process. Normally you will kill them before you see them doing something truly eye catching. The A.I isn't bad its just not amazingly impressive. The graphics are great. Reflections on the floor move as you do and texters are high rez. Character modles may not be impressive at first but if you take the time to see the lip synchronization and facial expressions. Characters are great and well developed. One of the icons of Half-Life 2 is the gravity gun. This unique weapon lets you pick up any object man sized and under and fling it at enemies. A but what would this weapon be without wicked good physics? These physics are very good. every thing not bolted down can move with the proper amount of force applied to it. However the only thing bad that came out of these physics is the puzzles you will encounter throughout the game. There are just a little to many. I personally didn't like it because this lead to an annoying lack of combat and the ability to move on. I had no problem solving most of them and it is satisfying when you do but when you look back on it it seems like a waste of time. One every now and then is fine but they went a little overboard here. sometimes you'll end up stopping you vehicle every five minutes because of there. Speaking of the vehicles the sequences were pretty cool apart from what was mentioned in the previous sentence. Even though you will end up having to stop look around and find a path. this can be really annoying after a while especially when you are being chased by a chopper. The story was a bit disappointing at the end and was slow moving through out the game. But now for some good things. The game does a real good job of immersing you. You really feel like you want to help the people and have a pretty good idea of whats going on. The arsenal was a decent size and had some unique stuff in it. overall this game is worth picking up. Expand
  9. J.J.
    Nov 17, 2004
    7
    Good game bad story.
  10. AnonymousMC
    May 11, 2006
    7
    The physics, graphics and audio are great, but the story and the gameplay is nowhere near the standards set by Half Life 1. The world is also nowhere near as wide, even though the previous environment was only a government facility, the city is a more restructive environment with less outside interaction. A disappointment as far as replayability.
  11. JustinF.
    May 16, 2006
    7
    Not bad - a little disappointed in the ending - I felt that there was another slice of tense action necessary to fulfill my needs. Also, a bit easy!
  12. NaitZ.
    Jun 18, 2006
    7
    Its a great game, but some stuff aint just exellent.. it should be more realistic, and the teamplay is bad, I see one problem about it, You always play alone in battles in singleplayer, theres never npcs to help you, its much funnier if you always can get support.
  13. vidman
    Oct 17, 2007
    7
    The most overrated game in existence. I give it a 7; everyone else gives it a 10. I bought this game off of Steam and encountered zero problems. I beat this game in 3 sessions. For the first 7 hours, I was pretty happy and couldn't wait for the story to unfold. Then next 5 hours was fast paced and still left me waiting for the story to unfold. It felt like I was only 1/3 to 1/2 way The most overrated game in existence. I give it a 7; everyone else gives it a 10. I bought this game off of Steam and encountered zero problems. I beat this game in 3 sessions. For the first 7 hours, I was pretty happy and couldn't wait for the story to unfold. Then next 5 hours was fast paced and still left me waiting for the story to unfold. It felt like I was only 1/3 to 1/2 way done with the game because so many questions were unanswered. Then finally, the last 3 hours of left me disappointed. It didn Expand
  14. DaveK.
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    Honestly, aside from the physics engine, it's nothing revolutionary. Grav gun is fun, but underutilized. The game progresses very linearly compared with some modern shooters like Far Cry, but is still a very entertaining experience. A solid followup to one of the top 5 games released at this point. A cliffhanger ending opens up for episodic content well. Of course, CSS makes this Honestly, aside from the physics engine, it's nothing revolutionary. Grav gun is fun, but underutilized. The game progresses very linearly compared with some modern shooters like Far Cry, but is still a very entertaining experience. A solid followup to one of the top 5 games released at this point. A cliffhanger ending opens up for episodic content well. Of course, CSS makes this worth buying 10x over. Expand
  15. OliverM.
    Aug 3, 2007
    7
    im choosing to vote 7 for this, not so much the game, but the engine. Its worth buying the game and putting up with steam jsut to have access to the various mods that have been produced. On my try of the game (after a day installing, no joke, non broadband and various problems calling for reinstillation) i was amazed by the opening sequence in the train and shortly after the station and im choosing to vote 7 for this, not so much the game, but the engine. Its worth buying the game and putting up with steam jsut to have access to the various mods that have been produced. On my try of the game (after a day installing, no joke, non broadband and various problems calling for reinstillation) i was amazed by the opening sequence in the train and shortly after the station and city 17. I didnt want that bit to send, the city so lifelike, the cps bullying you, being able to peep into houses to see peoples gettin beaten up, people talking quietly about their supressors and various scanners looming the town. I carried on playing enjoying the long sojurn of the airboat, being different from the footsloggin before then. Ravenholm was impressive, the atmosphere created was nice, although over use of traps and the ability to get well and truly lost along with at one point a perminant spawning of zomibes. It was at this point where my family lost the internet... no internet, no steam, no halflife 2. So for a long time i went back to games like deus ex (deus ex being my favourite all time game). when my family got broadband i started playing hl2 again, finally realising how to get passed the respawning zombies n out of ravenholm. The mines wernt very impressive, they could have done better and the spinning blade cart at the end is... unusual to be round in a mine. The buggy part was fun being able to stop at place but antlion sandtraps wernt impressive, my pc isnt powerful, i get low fps and its hard for me to control various props, as such i noclipped passed the sandtraps. Nova prospekt fun until the point where over 50 troops attack you... the city 17 fighting was nice, i would have like dit if the citizens helped a lil more tho. The citadel at the end is stupidly easy, it seems more like a kiddys play gorund than a gran finale for such a game, being able to kill entire squads of combine elites in 1 shot isnt fun. Over all throughout the game some areas are lacking finishing touches, making them look bland and pointless (most of the blk mesa place) also throught the game you are constanly forced to comprehend wiht pointsless annoying and trivial physics puzzles, wat makes this worse is that most of them involve cinder blocks which have a habit of either a) sliding nicly off or b) knocking all the other cinder blocks then sliding off. so on my replays i often noclip past the various jumping and physics puzzles. The ai is somewhat dissapointing, from the reviews and teasers i was expecting npcs ot take cover, neil, grenade, supply covering fire and find alternate routes. For some scripted squences this does happen but youll often find in the way of self preservation and npc will stand still for a few seconds then either die of shift slightly sideways out of view, only to come bk into view to die, i mean shoot you. The city at the end was particularly nice, with the striders causing lot sof damage, it can be annoyign when you get lost in the rubble or cant find ammo crates to dispell the multiple striders on your tail. Some points are confusing wiht little differnce between them giving the impression of goign round in circles when really your on the opposite side of the building and while being fun the characters are far and few. I woudl have prefered to see more variation in the npcs behavior, more subplots woven in (like maybe jsut discovering a couple trying to escape), less physics puzzles, less steam and situatiosn where the character cna have an impact on the world instead of the same things happening everytime you play. Conclusion, amazing on first try, quickly looses freshness but some of the mods created are uttly superb (notably garrys mod and insurgency) its also worth triyng out counterstrike source. A warning to any who are interested tho you need constant inernet access better pc than mine and alot of pacience to put up with the evil steam. thnx 4 reading Expand
  16. jamesr
    Dec 28, 2009
    7
    Its a good game, but not the best of all. I dont understand why that much people rate it with 10... A lot of games are better than this
  17. LysanderS
    Dec 2, 2009
    7
    I really don't understand what all the fuss is/was about, i mean it's a mediocre shooter, with a below average storyline. The only parts which stand out are the physics puzzles. It's probably worth your time, and like i said, the physics can be fun, but aside from that, it's just another FPS.
  18. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    7
    I consider 7 to be average. I mean compared to the first half of half-life the puzzles and enemies of half-life 2 are laughable and unimaginative. The only good qualities of this game is that it has good graphics and sound but that is a flaw in trying to make a lasting impression because, in the future( I can't believe it either) graphics and sound will be better than this, thus, in I consider 7 to be average. I mean compared to the first half of half-life the puzzles and enemies of half-life 2 are laughable and unimaginative. The only good qualities of this game is that it has good graphics and sound but that is a flaw in trying to make a lasting impression because, in the future( I can't believe it either) graphics and sound will be better than this, thus, in essence, this game is no more than a technological demonstration because its not really that imaginative. Expand
  19. MickT.
    Nov 18, 2004
    7
    Very good production quality but the story bites. i prefered halo 2 over this. now before all u halo haters come and beat me up i have one very simple explanation. i did not feel involved in the story as much as i have other titles( eg. zelda oot and halo) i appreciate the (mostly) good reviews on this site. as aposed to halo 2 where a million people gave it a hundred. deserved 98 at most.Very good production quality but the story bites. i prefered halo 2 over this. now before all u halo haters come and beat me up i have one very simple explanation. i did not feel involved in the story as much as i have other titles( eg. zelda oot and halo) i appreciate the (mostly) good reviews on this site. as aposed to halo 2 where a million people gave it a hundred. deserved 98 at most. i give this game 7/10. Expand
  20. DanielC.
    Jan 14, 2005
    7
    A good game, although only just average to today's standards. The excellent physics engine and awesome pixel shader effects make this game a real treat to play, but the overly-scripted events, insufficient AI, and bad plot ruin the overall experience. Having been spoiled by Far Cry, Call of Duty, Doom 3 and other shooters I can only give this game a score of 7.
  21. TheMagicalHippieKiller
    Nov 29, 2006
    7
    It is very rare for a game to have a story that people actaully care about. But I kinda stopped caring after I entered City 17. Half-life! Kinda Crazy, a little Creepy (little), pretty inventive (it's great that people will state how much they hate the orginal, but how many games have since added its elements to their own. How many heros can you name with a super suit with shields?) It is very rare for a game to have a story that people actaully care about. But I kinda stopped caring after I entered City 17. Half-life! Kinda Crazy, a little Creepy (little), pretty inventive (it's great that people will state how much they hate the orginal, but how many games have since added its elements to their own. How many heros can you name with a super suit with shields?) The gameplay is ok, but I wasn't interested in being a lame knock-off of neo from the matrix in glasses, i wanted to shoot aliens. Instead, we get the stupid ai combine, who will run from a grenade and straight into your fire. The puzzles are also just them showing off their new physics and gravity gun. By the way, the gravity gun is stupid. There. I said it. Shotgun rules ( even though it was downgraded... actually, ALL the weapons were downgraded) because this game is not much differen than the original: run forward, solve puzzles, and you'll rarely fight in large arenas, just close quarters. The dialouge scenes are annoying and way to long. Other than that, good graphics and pretty gripping gameplay, save the lack of variation amongst the enemies. Wait! There is one more bad thing. Ravenholm=not scary and pointless. This level was just an excuse for the gravity gun, but a handy crowbar, shotgun, and .357 are actually the best weapons, at least for me. Hopefully they will be more creative in the future and stop trying to make another bad post-apocalpyse-revelution-thing that we've all seen 1,000 times over. The game is very intense at points. Really intense. Ever try fighting a helicopter with a pistol in a radiated canal? Well, life gets a helluva lot worse for Mr. Freeman later on, but for us, it's pretty damn fun. Keep making stuff like that. Expand
  22. GarrettW.
    May 23, 2006
    7
    Awsome game, awsome story but playing it makes me nauseous just because it's very fast and with alot of movement.
  23. FilipO.
    Nov 24, 2007
    7
    Nothing special, really. Quite the disappointment actually. The puzzle were mediocre and the game itself was good - but not a masterpiece.
  24. EeroS.
    Jan 11, 2008
    7
    Good looking, but pooring fps. Better story than most of fps, but not so good that I could say that it was even medicore.
  25. PaulW
    Nov 16, 2008
    7
    How odd that people talk about being emotionally moved by a game that, whilst leaving you to your own defences like Metroid Prime in parts, doesn't have the moments of stunning beauty, accentuated by a beautiful score, such as when you walk into Phenandra Drifts. Half Life 2's best parts are Route Kanal and We don't go to Ravenholme which is a brilliant reminder of overall How odd that people talk about being emotionally moved by a game that, whilst leaving you to your own defences like Metroid Prime in parts, doesn't have the moments of stunning beauty, accentuated by a beautiful score, such as when you walk into Phenandra Drifts. Half Life 2's best parts are Route Kanal and We don't go to Ravenholme which is a brilliant reminder of overall better games with an almost surreal film noir feel (like Max Payne 2) crossed with the survival horror of Resident Evil and Silent Hill. To its credit, this game has more moments of bleak surrealness such as disengaging from a hovercraft, after a very lonely trek, only to find yourself in a camp of headcrabs. If the game had been marketed and regarded as a surreal masterpiece rather than as just one all about AI, physics or character expressions, records that it could only hope to keep for a short time (it never had the best character expressions- the Gamecube Resident Evil remake did by far) then I would have scored it a bit higher. Apart from the sections I have mentioned, the game's graphics never seemed impressive to me on the Xbox and seem relatively prehistoric now. The hyperbole about this game is ludicrous- I had much more fun and emotional investment in playing Metroid Prime, Resident Evil (the remake), and Uncharted- Drake's Fortune. Expand
  26. RichK.
    Nov 17, 2004
    7
    As far as first person shooters go, it's certainly one of the best. But simply improving another idea (no matter how much) does not mean original. It's basically a better version of every other FPS. Quite an accomplishment but only to the FPS genre. Not to mention it'll cost you a few hundred bucks to upgrade your computer if you wanna run it.
  27. ChrisO.
    Dec 15, 2004
    7
    The game is good, but I don't think it's the second coming that everyone seems to think it is. The graphics are good, but inferior to Doom 3's and even FarCry's, level loading occurs way to often and takes way too long and pulls you out of the mood, Steam sucks badly, disappointing multiplayer (yay! more Counter Strike!!), no variety in enemies, too linear single The game is good, but I don't think it's the second coming that everyone seems to think it is. The graphics are good, but inferior to Doom 3's and even FarCry's, level loading occurs way to often and takes way too long and pulls you out of the mood, Steam sucks badly, disappointing multiplayer (yay! more Counter Strike!!), no variety in enemies, too linear single player component, and while the physics system is very, very nice, without the grav-gun, it'd be a non-issue. Good game, but I thought Id did better. Expand
  28. DanM.
    Dec 21, 2004
    7
    Great game, some bugs, but Steam is really what killed my vote. If not for steam i'd give it a nine.
  29. JonahR.
    Nov 12, 2006
    7
    Great looking engine, but the single player is only fun once. The lack of co-op play, and a really poorly delivered story separate this game from the truly great games.
  30. Nov 22, 2016
    6
    This game might have been very good at release, but it's showing it's age:

    + Idea
    + Innovation
    + Level design

    - Too Linear
    - Repetitive

    It's a decent game, but don't expect too much of it.
  31. Nel
    Dec 1, 2016
    7
    Played this game when it came out, and I was surely impressed by how it changed the gaming world. THe game itself is a great first person shooting game that is still today consider to be one of the better games ever made.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]