User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 7713 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MeranH.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    its the best reality game i have ever played. its more than a game, you must play to find out what i mean.
  2. Quinn
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    My god, this game is absolutely perfect. It completely gives you the experience that everybody needs. While it gives you that cool adrenaline rush that many action games give you, it also gives you the perfect amount of time to take a break. Basically, it's not too complex, yet it's not easy to beat for the first time. It makes you have that feeling of "Woah, that was f***ing My god, this game is absolutely perfect. It completely gives you the experience that everybody needs. While it gives you that cool adrenaline rush that many action games give you, it also gives you the perfect amount of time to take a break. Basically, it's not too complex, yet it's not easy to beat for the first time. It makes you have that feeling of "Woah, that was f***ing awesome," and after playing five minutes of it, you cannot stop playing it, you just can't. This is definitely a game for both players who like massive explosions and gore and for players who like to see beauty in a game. I have read so many reviews that said this was only a 7 or a 6 and I could not analyze why they would give this game such a vague rating. This game absolutely deserves to be played. I can't find anything that needs to be changed about it. Expand
  3. KakHome
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    This is an awesome game, but I think it's just a notch over-rated. The graphics are awesome from start to finish. There are many cool sequences as well. The game is generally very good in the gameplay department, and loads of fun overall, but I've found a couple of weak points in the game. For one, the first 2 chapters are all introduction chapters with no monsters, which I This is an awesome game, but I think it's just a notch over-rated. The graphics are awesome from start to finish. There are many cool sequences as well. The game is generally very good in the gameplay department, and loads of fun overall, but I've found a couple of weak points in the game. For one, the first 2 chapters are all introduction chapters with no monsters, which I thought was a bit too much introduction. Most of the Ravenholm chapter seemed to be rather short on ammo, which often frustrated me, though this may have been intentional. The first half of Anticitezen One seemed to be rather empty in terms of bad guys and offered little challenge, which made me a bit bored until the escitement returned later on in that chapter. Finally, the ending is a bit weak, with not much of a truely climatic fight, and what seemed to be somewhat of an incomplete closing scene. However, the rest of the game is virtually perfect. I thought the car and boat chapters stood out even more - I had about as much fun in these chapters as I've ever had in a game, period. Definantly a classic, despite a few drawbacks which I mentioned above, and a game no FPS fan should be without. Expand
  4. Bobbobbo
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  5. AidanM
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best games I've played (I'm including HL2 and episodes 1 and 2). The action is priceless, the story in magnificent, the characters are engaging and interesting and the graphics are a work of art. What I love most about this game is it's increadable story and characters. I love how the story is extremely interesting and suspensful at all the right This is by far one of the best games I've played (I'm including HL2 and episodes 1 and 2). The action is priceless, the story in magnificent, the characters are engaging and interesting and the graphics are a work of art. What I love most about this game is it's increadable story and characters. I love how the story is extremely interesting and suspensful at all the right times and how the characters develop beautifully over the corse of the game. Valve, you have truly made Video games an accpetably art that SHOULD stand along the likes of other media such as movies and literature. Thank you very much and looking forward to episode 3. Expand
  6. HijallfS.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing, really scary to when played on a laptop
  7. Wildsnail
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played in over a quarter century of gaming! Graphically beautiful (in my eyes), well-acted, well-scripted and, mostly, finely balanced with decent enemy AI. BUT it's not quite perfect - some of the driving sections are over long and there are a couple of nasty difficulty spikes (THAT sentry gun defence part!). Overall, though, the game as a whole is One of the best games I have ever played in over a quarter century of gaming! Graphically beautiful (in my eyes), well-acted, well-scripted and, mostly, finely balanced with decent enemy AI. BUT it's not quite perfect - some of the driving sections are over long and there are a couple of nasty difficulty spikes (THAT sentry gun defence part!). Overall, though, the game as a whole is a tremendous piece of entertainment and a benchmark with which to test the whole genre. I was tempted to drop a point for it's couple of flaws but that would be too harsh for such a seminal title. Expand
  8. wacko992
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    How in gods name can someone give this game a zero? this game was one of the best experinces i've had with a video game in a long time. you have to play the original to understan the storyline fully.
  9. NeilF
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    It's hard to explain what makes this game so great, you play it and you just can't stop!! The greatest FPS of all time, people get pissed that the game leads you around, and I don't know why they are pissed, it's called a linear game, and just because it's linear doesn't make it bad. This game is 100% gold in every aspect. So much stuff you can do with the It's hard to explain what makes this game so great, you play it and you just can't stop!! The greatest FPS of all time, people get pissed that the game leads you around, and I don't know why they are pissed, it's called a linear game, and just because it's linear doesn't make it bad. This game is 100% gold in every aspect. So much stuff you can do with the gravity gun, mods, and so forth. If you think this is just another overrated FPS, just give it a try, and make sure to strap yourself to your chair, cause it's gonna blow you away!! Expand
  10. GabeM.
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    Pure, beautiful graphics backed with an epic storyline, awesome gameplay, and the greatest weapon ever (Gravity Gun) make this game awesome! The greatest thing is the super gravity gun. I won't reveal anything about how you get it or anything, but it was fun picking up Combine to throw at their comrades.
  11. JimM.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    I find it to be a very good game. Needs a half life 3 next sequel. Look forward to playing one when it comes out.
  12. AnonymousMC
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    After playing through this game over 10 times i have decided that this sis indeed the best game ever made. I have next to no complaints on this game and they are: the shadows arent accurate and it had to end. seriously if it were possible i would want this game to never end. Gordon Freeman rules, Half life rules, Valve rules!
  13. WolfWolf
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Good history, good game, good grafics.
  14. KevinT.-
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    Great game with a very realistic physics engine and crazy graphics.
  15. vainvain
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    I'm absolutely impressed by this game and i think it's a fabulous fantastic and wonderful game!! I'm playing to half life 1 and 2 on multiplayer game every day and i enjoy it!!!
  16. Kent
    Apr 25, 2008
    9
    I was seriously amped for Half Life 2 when it first came out, I thought Half Life 1 was one of the best games ever and I was really excited about the sequel. I wasn't disappointed, it's a great game, with a good physics engine and nice graphics (that are even acceptable today) Interesting storyline and good gameplay made this a really fun experience. If you look at Half Life 2 I was seriously amped for Half Life 2 when it first came out, I thought Half Life 1 was one of the best games ever and I was really excited about the sequel. I wasn't disappointed, it's a great game, with a good physics engine and nice graphics (that are even acceptable today) Interesting storyline and good gameplay made this a really fun experience. If you look at Half Life 2 for what it is, its an excellent game. I did not however prefer it to Half Life 1. Firstly it was drastically different from HL1 (which is understandable due to the new circumstances) it just didn't hate that same note that HL1 did. It is still a great game and one of the best FPS experiences out there, not to be missed. Expand
  17. JanneJ.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    It`s great fun! And it even works with older computers but still looks amazing. When you have bought the game you will just enjoy looking the skyline of city 17 - It`s safer there.
  18. TeodorIkonomov
    May 12, 2008
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  19. DylanF.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    This game is a perfect example of what Valve software can do. 10. 18 if it was possible
  20. p00berpoob
    May 31, 2008
    9
    Great play, great mods great story!
  21. TeodorIkonomov
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  22. AlexG.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This is on of my favorites.. Everything about it makes me want to cry because nothing like it has been done ever in the gaming world.
  23. AnonymousMC
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    True fact, this is one of the best first person shooters ever released.
    Halo may top charts in sales and release "excitement" but content isnt anywhere near as good.

    And as a reply to "Nick C."
    It IS rated a mature game, which is 4 years above your age.

    Great story, great graphics, great physics, best gameplay.
  24. Zephyrh.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    It is brilliant, the story is the best part.
  25. MarkusP.
    Jul 26, 2008
    10
    I think it´s one of the best games in world. The story is really great and interesting, the graphic is wonderful and the atmosphere is excellent.
  26. JakeS.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    As a modder, mapper, texture artist, and voice actor I must say this game has a great name already. The first game created a powerful foundation, and the second created much more room to really immerse yourself into the gameplay. Bravo guys good work!
  27. jeanbernard
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Exelent
  28. StefanS.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    This game does not need scoring, this game needs a monument.
  29. RoyD.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Half-Life 2 was a truly enjoyable experience from beginning to end. It was long, but never boring, like a good movie. I loved the new gravity gun which in many cases added a truly remarkable element to the game.
  30. BenJohnson
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    This game is spectacular the graphic are amazing best game ever.
  31. TomR.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    Re-invented first person shooters just like the original. Re-playable, provocative...just stunning physics! 11/10.
  32. Food_Mongol
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    This has got to be the best FPS I have ever played in my life, right next to HL1 and the original DOOM. Though by no way perfect, it sure hits close to the dot with the immerse storyline and amazing interactivity. The puzzles and challenges are everywhere, and by no way can you get bored with every one. I've never seen to much character be put into a simple NPC. I mean, A random guy This has got to be the best FPS I have ever played in my life, right next to HL1 and the original DOOM. Though by no way perfect, it sure hits close to the dot with the immerse storyline and amazing interactivity. The puzzles and challenges are everywhere, and by no way can you get bored with every one. I've never seen to much character be put into a simple NPC. I mean, A random guy feels like he's real, not some two-dimensional dude who likes to pick his nose. However its the main characters who really carry it, with character development I've never seen in a game before. Its almost like an interactive book, and when you go to Episode One and Two right after you beat this, its even better. The gameplay is extraordinary, and I felt that I could just jump into it in a snap. I didn't have to look at controls or anything, and I was hauling ass! As a given, the physics is amazing, and to add to that, the Gravity Gun adds more excitement in randomness. I recommend this game to everyone, hardcore or newbie casual. This is one you want in your collection. Expand
  33. MikeM.
    Sep 23, 2008
    9
    Gameplay: 10 The gameplay in Half-Life 2 is simply amazing. If you aren't completely used to the controls of PC First-Person Shooter controls, don't worry. This game manages to make a first level without any weapons fun! It lets you get accustom to the controls and experience the amazing physics engine this game has to offer. While I was playing through this game for the first I Gameplay: 10 The gameplay in Half-Life 2 is simply amazing. If you aren't completely used to the controls of PC First-Person Shooter controls, don't worry. This game manages to make a first level without any weapons fun! It lets you get accustom to the controls and experience the amazing physics engine this game has to offer. While I was playing through this game for the first I was simply stunned, just by the fact that you could actually pick up objects in the game. The only other time I was ever able to do this in a game was when I played a demo of Deus Ex 2 (for Xbox) at my local Play N' Trade. As for the level design, it just simply blows my mind. I actually felt as if I was Gordon Freeman (protgonist of Half-Life 2). The whole game felt like an interactive movie, mainly because of the fact that you never leave the view of the main character (this means that there were no cutscenes). Graphics: 8 The graphics in this game are nothing special, pretty much average. Although the rare polygonal shapes (such as valves or steering wheels) can tend to be an eyesore at times. There can also be annoying glitches, such as getting stuck on an object while playing. But the great thing about the graphics is that when people talk, it looks realistic, making the game even more enjoyable than before. Audio: 9 The audio in Half-Life 2 actually feels believable. I found myself looking over my shoulder from time to time when playing through Ravenholm, to make sure there were no zombies behind me. Also, when you are stuck in the middle of an ambush and are shooting blindly at you're enemies, how can you be sure that you've killed one? Half-Life 2 fixed this problem. Whenever an enemie is killed a certain sound is made, such as a squeel or beeping sound, this way you know if the coast is clear. Replay Value:9 I have completed this game at least 20 times, and enjoyed it every single time. My two favorite missions had to be Ravenholm and Highway 17. Also, if you get bored with the singleplayer campaign, why not try the multiplayer component of Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Deathmatch. This delivers hours of solid multiplayer fun, with the gameplay and weaponry of the original game we know and love. Overall: 9 out of 10 Half-Life 2 is a great game, you should buy this game if you get the chance. Expand
  34. EmersonB
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Just another really good game that should be played by anyone. If you like a good storyline this is the game for you, you always want to know what is going to happen next. But to every good thing there is a bad thing, the AI are bad. They are so easy to kill, they just stand in one spot shooting at you
  35. TooTHPik
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    Absolutly the greatest game ever made!!! Immersive and truly riviting story. Halo Cannot compare... Mass effect can't nudge... nor can bioshock stray the awesomeness that is gordon freeman and Half life 2!!!! YOu cant be a hardcore gamer and never play half life 2.
  36. Marek
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    Great game with great physics, good story, good difficulty. Still, it has some bugs and I don;t want to play it again. 9/10.
  37. ChristianD
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    I got this game with the Orange Box, more caring about Portal and TF2. I had no idea that I got a masterpiece of a game until I played it.
  38. AndrewW.
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    Simply the best FPS I've every played. But I hate to pigeonhole such a masterpiece as the HL2 series is so much more than just an FPS. Engaging narrative style, almost perfect pacing, ingenious level design, addictive "gamefeel", and the atmosphere in and around City 17 is simply stunning. It's feels like a first person movie and the gameplay requires thinking but will never Simply the best FPS I've every played. But I hate to pigeonhole such a masterpiece as the HL2 series is so much more than just an FPS. Engaging narrative style, almost perfect pacing, ingenious level design, addictive "gamefeel", and the atmosphere in and around City 17 is simply stunning. It's feels like a first person movie and the gameplay requires thinking but will never stump you. I simply love this game. Expand
  39. SimonH
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    The history was good, nice about not getting too stuck cause of the one-way build-up, but a bit boring at some few egdes I belive episode three could be perfect :)
  40. MattL
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    This game still stands up to shooters of today.
  41. BennettM
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. I thought half-life 1 was great when I played it, and now you bring me something that amazes me even more! I have played it at least 5 times, and I am still not bored of it. The graphics are amazing, the physics amazing, character expressions amazing, and the story line is amazing as well! The best game I've played in 2007.
  42. LanzerM
    Feb 12, 2009
    10
    Okay, the game is awesome in all aspects, and I want to make this fast. If you're going to review Half Life 2 for the Xbox, do that all you want, but just remember that the computer version is 10x better in pretty much every aspect. So if you're going to review the game because of the Xbox's cons, might as well be reviewing a different game alltogether.
  43. AnonymousMC
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Half Life 2 is an amazing game. It combines (no pun intended) strategic combat with puzzles and difficulty. As you escape from city 17 you can feel the adrenaline kicking in, with the music and sound effects creating this scary mood. It is a relatively old game, but has tons better graphics and gameplay than Call of Duty 4. The game has so much to think about that you are immediatelyHalf Life 2 is an amazing game. It combines (no pun intended) strategic combat with puzzles and difficulty. As you escape from city 17 you can feel the adrenaline kicking in, with the music and sound effects creating this scary mood. It is a relatively old game, but has tons better graphics and gameplay than Call of Duty 4. The game has so much to think about that you are immediately immersed in Gordon Freeman's life. Half Life is one of the few games that is a classic. Expand
  44. Frostcredit
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    Poor game with a classic charachter they should have rejected all the previous games and made a superoir one.
  45. BlakeC
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    It ROCK's
  46. RonitC.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Does Half Life 1 proud...buy this game.
  47. S.S.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    it's about time, and it's FREAKING unbelieveable.
  48. Flanders
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    I love the texture resolution in this game.. things look almost real. As for gameplay, I was able to rip the TV out of the wall, walk it down the hall, and chuck it in the face of the guard... awesome!
  49. JayL.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Everything that Doom 3 in all it's disappointment wasn't. Simply amazing.
  50. ArenM.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Excellent gaming experience. My only beef is the long load times throughout the game. This however can be overlooked due to the perfection of every other aspect. BUY IT!
  51. EricW.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    A beautiful piece of art, perfection in it's purest state. Half-Life 2 set the new bar for game devolopment. The mod community will insure your investment for years to come.
  52. LokeszHarm
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    Very impressed with the emotional expression of the human characters. Bit disappointed with sound quality. The same tech problems as hl1, this time on my totally upgraded super turbo PC! Maybe they have still the same sound programmer?
  53. MyP.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Half-Life 2 is near perfect. You simply can't compare a pc game to a console game. Anyone who thinks Halo 2 is better doesn't even know how advanced Half-Life 2 really is. Does Halo 2 have mod support? Is Halo capable of supporting 128 players? Are Halo 2's graphics at all improved from the original? There are countless reasons why Half-Life 2 is better. When I bought Half-Life 2 is near perfect. You simply can't compare a pc game to a console game. Anyone who thinks Halo 2 is better doesn't even know how advanced Half-Life 2 really is. Does Halo 2 have mod support? Is Halo capable of supporting 128 players? Are Halo 2's graphics at all improved from the original? There are countless reasons why Half-Life 2 is better. When I bought Half-Life 2 Silver for $60, I didn't just get Half-Life 2. I also got Counter-Strike, Counter-Strike: Source, Half-Life, Half-Life: Source, Day of Defeat, Day of Defeat: Source, Deathmatch Classic, Opposing Force, Natural Selection, The Specialists, Sven CO-OP, Digital Paintball, Earth's Special Forces, Zombie Panic, Firearms, The Battle Grounds, Vampire Slayer, Hostile Intent, The Trenches, International Online Soccer, Half-Life Rally, Adrenaline Gamer, Science and Industry, Action Half-Life, Frontline Force, The Ship, and hundreds more you can download, and even more that are in developement as Half-Life 2 mods. Expand
  54. Cyberxero
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Wooooohoooooooooo!!!This game is by far the probably the best FPS ever to be made.The graphics are beautiful, the sound is great, A.I is simply awesome, physics are a real treat and gameplay is just awesome. It for sure beats Doom 3, Halo 2 and even Farcry as an FPS. The story line is perfect just as the first Half-life story line was. The game is frantic, intense and almost scarily Wooooohoooooooooo!!!This game is by far the probably the best FPS ever to be made.The graphics are beautiful, the sound is great, A.I is simply awesome, physics are a real treat and gameplay is just awesome. It for sure beats Doom 3, Halo 2 and even Farcry as an FPS. The story line is perfect just as the first Half-life story line was. The game is frantic, intense and almost scarily real.Over all if you saved up enough for a FPS dont hesitate and go for HL2. Truly the best FPS out there. PLus if your done with the campaign,there is a multiplayer mode sort of like tactical-ops but wayyyyyyyyy better!! So go and buy HL2 now! =) Expand
  55. EricH.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    While I wish there were decimals between 9 and 10 (after all, it wasn't perfect), this has definitely been the most enjoyable First-Person Shooter I have ever played. The levels are very linear, but that didn't stop the gameplay from being amazing. The AI, despite what some have said, is pretty good. You can sneak up behind them, there isn't any of that "line of sight" While I wish there were decimals between 9 and 10 (after all, it wasn't perfect), this has definitely been the most enjoyable First-Person Shooter I have ever played. The levels are very linear, but that didn't stop the gameplay from being amazing. The AI, despite what some have said, is pretty good. You can sneak up behind them, there isn't any of that "line of sight" crap. In conclusion, this game comes with my unqualified recommendation... if you make it through steam. Expand
  56. Mickj
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    I'm sorry, u probably wont want to post this but i didnt know how else to get in touch with u [Ed] . how many of these user reviews to do have to look at every day and does the one person do all of them for all of metacritic? [Ed: A bunch, and yes, it's just me.]
  57. LindenC.
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    Awesome but not perfect, not sold with half life source and all that without paying more thats bullsh*t.
  58. SteveA.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    All incredible, but what's up with the ending?
  59. TomV.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    It's refreshing to see that not as many people are attempting to earn some sort of geek-cred by dissing this stupidly fantastic piece of gaming artistry. J.J. either has not played the game, or is droolingly stupid. Giving a game like this anything below an eight doesn't make any sense. The art, the technology and the game design are all unprecedented, and that's all there It's refreshing to see that not as many people are attempting to earn some sort of geek-cred by dissing this stupidly fantastic piece of gaming artistry. J.J. either has not played the game, or is droolingly stupid. Giving a game like this anything below an eight doesn't make any sense. The art, the technology and the game design are all unprecedented, and that's all there is to it. It's not counter-culture to disrespect the faultless and flawless, it's just criminally stupid, and anyone who does it ought to be ashamed. Expand
  60. Batmanactually
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    I played this game like crazy its so awesome!!!!!! beat it like an hour ago...I wanted to play more...I didnt want it to end!!! everyone giving it under an 8 just dont know anything about fps games...this game had tons of work put into it thats why it is so great...and Cray Horse you said that Half-Life 2 got repetitive...and you said Doom 3 was a better game...Doom 3 is the repetitive I played this game like crazy its so awesome!!!!!! beat it like an hour ago...I wanted to play more...I didnt want it to end!!! everyone giving it under an 8 just dont know anything about fps games...this game had tons of work put into it thats why it is so great...and Cray Horse you said that Half-Life 2 got repetitive...and you said Doom 3 was a better game...Doom 3 is the repetitive and worse game...I beat Half-Life 2 in 3 days...I havent even bothered to beat Doom 3 even after 3 months... Expand
  61. B.G.
    Dec 16, 2004
    9
    Brilliant game. The action is fast paced and involving, the environments (let alone the graphics) are superb, and most importantly it takes more than an afternoon to beat it. Unfortunately the story makes you long for a HL 3, the AI is a cool but easy to defeat, and I would have like 1 or 2 more guns. All in all its a fantastic game but not quite a 10.
  62. MattB.
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    Cant get much better than this people! (Once you get past Steam) It is the best game I have ever played when it comes to the fps genre. Hopefully expansions in the same vein as Opposing Force are forth coming soon! Thanks Valve....
  63. AnonymousMC
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    I played Half-Life the original when it first came out. So I do know what i'm talking about. Half-Life 2 is a revolution, just as good as an advancement in the gaming world as the first. Get it, all the other user's who rate it low are people who just played cs on the original, never the game. Hl2, deathmatch and single player, are utterly amazing.
  64. ScottF.
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Just like it says on the back of the box,"... the best game ever made". I happened to download it month's in advance through steam. so to all you people buying it in stores, tough shit. i just had to hit play the day it came out. the game is breathtaking, from its opening sequence all the way through. forget doom 3, forget far cry... this is the game you'll tell everyone about. Just like it says on the back of the box,"... the best game ever made". I happened to download it month's in advance through steam. so to all you people buying it in stores, tough shit. i just had to hit play the day it came out. the game is breathtaking, from its opening sequence all the way through. forget doom 3, forget far cry... this is the game you'll tell everyone about. ive been addicted to counter-strike for the past 4 yrs and to see what theyve done with that is simply amazing. im hooked all over again. amazing game. Expand
  65. ms
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Do you know why I give this game a ten..because I played it front to back as much as I could on each difficulty level with as many different stradegies and as many different opinions on how to play as possible. each time proved better than the last..but what I don't understand is..why ones? why twos? why zeros? What is the point to giving a game that obviously has some of the Do you know why I give this game a ten..because I played it front to back as much as I could on each difficulty level with as many different stradegies and as many different opinions on how to play as possible. each time proved better than the last..but what I don't understand is..why ones? why twos? why zeros? What is the point to giving a game that obviously has some of the strongest points in gaming such a low score...I'll tell you why..BIAS! The people who give this game a bad review are either too obsessed with just one FPS (Far Cry, Doom, Quake etc...) or don't like FPS games in the first place. Either that or there are way too many opinions based on positive bias such as those who give it a ten simply because its half-life..both are wrong ways to judge and I can definately say as an all around game fan that this game has earned this 10..do you know why? Because I'm NOT biased..do you think the game critics upstairs are thinking about Doom, Quake, or Far Cry when they give this game a review..absolutely not, which is why they work for their publications! You guys aren't even close to fair or reasonable so get real and actually play the game for all its worth and then we'll see how terrible it is. Expand
  66. Sna696
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    The best game in the world! Amazing graphics and sound! Supreme history and marvelous physics!
  67. MartinO.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    A fully enjoyable game, from graphics to gameplay. Difficult enough on easy to challenge, yet not make you want to pull your hair out. Excellent storyline. 10/10
  68. BuckyD
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    If a game can make you forget that your playing a game, its a damn good game. This is one of those games.
  69. ErnstR.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    I think this is and will be the best and will shoot the rest!
  70. ToniD.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Gordon Freeman must survive... Only 10.
  71. KillingM.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    HL2 is the best game I've never played.
  72. SergioA.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    The only thing I can say is: i can't wait for the movie, because the game is impossible to rating! Best Game made Ever!
  73. PeriklisS
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing in nearly every single. It took my breath away from the very begining. For a five year old game, it is graphically stupendous, and from a narative standpoint, it is the best. In the words of G Man, "This is where I get off..."
  74. rajg
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    This game exceeds every FPS ever made, including newer ones like Halo and COD, in every way, shape, and form. It crushed the competition, crushed previous standards, and set the bar so high that I the only game to possibly have reached it is Portal, which, of course, is another Valve game. In conclusion, Half Life is the best game series ever created, Valve is the best game This game exceeds every FPS ever made, including newer ones like Halo and COD, in every way, shape, and form. It crushed the competition, crushed previous standards, and set the bar so high that I the only game to possibly have reached it is Portal, which, of course, is another Valve game. In conclusion, Half Life is the best game series ever created, Valve is the best game developer/publisher in existance, and anyone who has not played half life, or at the very least a Valve game does not deserve the title of gamer or hardcore. GG. Expand
  75. Bobbobbo
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  76. DanR
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Valve set the bar with this game. Between the involving problems, the charisma of the silent hero, and the captivating storyline; this game has to be one of the best of all time.
  77. StefanK
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    The claim Game of the Year should be awarded more than once for this game. It´s a well thought through game with interesting dialoges and an awesome storyline! Cant get enough of this and the episodes!
  78. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Half Life 2 is the very first FPS that I've played. It has probably been the best game that i have ever played in a long time. I started playing platform games, so Half Life 2 took some practice, but it was the best game since Super Mario World. The level design is perfect, the enemies are balanced, and it is long. This game will definitly keep you busy.
  79. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    When I played HL2, I remember it was like being in a strange dream that seems so real. The design, graphics and sound is epic. What a masterpiece of art. It's simply the best game I have ever played.
  80. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    Half-Life 2 was a masterpiece for its time. High points of the game included gravity manipulation, the NPC companion (so far unsurpassed in the pure FPS genre) and the sense of scale. The source engine is still going strong though user mods never really seemed to live up to the creativity and diversity of original Half Life ones.
  81. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    Been playing this game since 2004, and after 6 years, I still have a blast playing. I love how interactive the enviorment is. If you are debating weather to buy this game, do it! You wont be disappointed!
  82. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This game is one of my all time favorites and I've been playing games for a while. I am not a big pro FPS player but I've always enjoyed them and this game was incredible and even playing it again for the 12th time this day it feels great and to this day not many games can come up to it's level.
  83. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    .....................Still the only game in history (yet) worthy of a 10................................. Bravo Valve...................................
  84. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    I've played through this game ten times by now. Every time I do, it's like the first time all over again. The gravity gun makes some of the greatest kills you can have (especially in Ravenholm.) Its graphics are still very impressive when compared to modern games (except Crysis.) Great story, better than solid gameplay, great graphics, and the coolest weapon ever created ever. If it wasI've played through this game ten times by now. Every time I do, it's like the first time all over again. The gravity gun makes some of the greatest kills you can have (especially in Ravenholm.) Its graphics are still very impressive when compared to modern games (except Crysis.) Great story, better than solid gameplay, great graphics, and the coolest weapon ever created ever. If it was possible, I would sleep with this game all day, every day. Expand
  85. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Think about your favorite FPS. Now look at this game. Half Life 2 is seriously, no joke, one of the best games ever created. The story is a masterpiece, showing you a world held hostage by the powerful Combine, an alien race who came to Earth after the events of the first game and all but enslaved us. Remember the physics of the first game? Half Life 2 has cranked those up to 11, withThink about your favorite FPS. Now look at this game. Half Life 2 is seriously, no joke, one of the best games ever created. The story is a masterpiece, showing you a world held hostage by the powerful Combine, an alien race who came to Earth after the events of the first game and all but enslaved us. Remember the physics of the first game? Half Life 2 has cranked those up to 11, with beautiful flames that will have you standing by fires and realistic crows that take off when you approach. And then there's the combat. Like the first game, it is executed perfectly, but I noticed that many of the guns are almost exactly the same. You get the standard pistol, the crowbar, the shotgun, the smg, the rpg, the grenades, and the crossbow. The only weapons that seemed new were the assault rifle and the gravity gun. Oh man, the gravity gun. I could write an entire review just about that, how you can pick up and push items, solve puzzles, etc. Throughout the game you'll visit a number of locales, from the Antlion-infested beaches to the city of Ravenholm, which is positively crawling with zombies. If you like to play video games, then you must play Half Life 2. Expand
  86. May 20, 2012
    10
    Fairly ironic that even Half-Life 2 now stands in the halls of nostalgia like its predecessor. It took the innovation of Half-Life and ran wild with it through more modern means like detailed character development and puzzle elements. Some people do not like the differences whatever they may be from Half-Life. I object in the sense that I am glad both of these games exist even if they areFairly ironic that even Half-Life 2 now stands in the halls of nostalgia like its predecessor. It took the innovation of Half-Life and ran wild with it through more modern means like detailed character development and puzzle elements. Some people do not like the differences whatever they may be from Half-Life. I object in the sense that I am glad both of these games exist even if they are different. A good metaphor being you can have chocolate cake and brownies and both be able to enjoy them in different ways. Expand
  87. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    The best FPS the world has ever come to witness. Half-Life 2 brings you through a torrent of different settings, enemies, and events that will leave you on the edge of your seat. Nothing too much should be said as no game of this caliber should need an introduction, but it is suffice to say that if you are a fan of FPS, this is not a game to be missed in your entire life.
  88. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    I love it, end of story. The story keeps going and changing. When you think you got it something changes and keeps you in the game. Graphics are great and the story is compelling. I cant wait for the next installment.
  89. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    A good game done well in every way, I honestly can't think of any critism for the game, Don't read this play it now!
  90. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    This is basically video gaming at it's best. People who say this game is overrated and bad simply have no idea of what makes a great video game. The game adds a minor scare factor that adds to the enjoyment and keeps you wanting to play more. The music is an absolute amazing addition to this game, with soundtracks coming into the game at the right moments (driving sections of the game). IThis is basically video gaming at it's best. People who say this game is overrated and bad simply have no idea of what makes a great video game. The game adds a minor scare factor that adds to the enjoyment and keeps you wanting to play more. The music is an absolute amazing addition to this game, with soundtracks coming into the game at the right moments (driving sections of the game). I thought I was going to spoil this game by playing a large amount of Garry's Mod before playing and making the main characters look silly, but boy was I wrong. If you think there is no story or it is a horrible story, once again you have no idea. The storyline is another excellent dystopian story which is made clear by the Rebels and Citizens trying to survive in this horrible world. And if that is not enough for you, the game is riddled with challenging puzzles to make the game experience even more enjoyable. This game is not a "generic FPS" simply because it is a masterpiece where only Bioshock comes close to being as good. I was first very skeptical about critics saying this was the greatest PC game ever made, but now i have played it I can see why critics have regarded this game so highly. You cannot afford to NOT play this game. Expand
  91. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    This game is art truly amazing. half life 1 was great but this is awesome!!! i have always been a fan of valve but this brings them to a all new level,and i love the felling of bashing heads with crowbars.every time you play it, it gets better and better and better!!
  92. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    Simply amazing...Seeing is believeing. I myslef had heard of half life through the grapevine but had never got around to playing it as I was formally on a console. Well since seeing the light and switching to the pc I started looking into epic pc titles and within the first few minutes of my internet search quickly saw how revered Valve's Half Life series was. I jumped right into Half LifeSimply amazing...Seeing is believeing. I myslef had heard of half life through the grapevine but had never got around to playing it as I was formally on a console. Well since seeing the light and switching to the pc I started looking into epic pc titles and within the first few minutes of my internet search quickly saw how revered Valve's Half Life series was. I jumped right into Half Life 2 for 10 bucks on Amazon and let me tell you it has changed my expectations of games completely. Even though the game is dated as of 2010, the well thought out game play coupled with the superb plot, facial animations, and voice acting goes to show that graphics is NOT the be all end all. If by chance you are reading this and have not played Half Life- please, treat yourself and give it 5 minutes-you won't look back. Expand
  93. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great game and I absolutely love it! The combine are great to kill. And I found it amusing to make the guards angry in the first level. I love the new zombies and the new poison head crabs and zombies are awesome! There are also the funny yet annoying fast zombies! Overall A masterpiece Expand
  94. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Playing this still makes me speechless, regardless of the graphics "being too outdated" or what-not Half Life 2 has an amazing storyline and the characters actually have an effect on people and arent cheesy.Eitherway, this game made history.
  95. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    It's quite simply impossible for me to find fault with this game. The story is thoroughly engrossing, the level design is superb, the gameplay is varied and interesting, and it's available at an insanely cheap price point. This is, and probably always will be, my favourite PC game of all time.
  96. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Actually I overgrown most of the games, but I still love HL2.. It has a unique art. A cool mix of technology, urban culture and a lot more that other games just don't have. A very strong visual identity.

    Environment - whether you are on the street, alien outpost or sewer system seem unbelievably real and you feel present. It's not just realistic graphics and textures, it's the spontaneus
    Actually I overgrown most of the games, but I still love HL2.. It has a unique art. A cool mix of technology, urban culture and a lot more that other games just don't have. A very strong visual identity.

    Environment - whether you are on the street, alien outpost or sewer system seem unbelievably real and you feel present. It's not just realistic graphics and textures, it's the spontaneus architecture.

    Usual shooter gameplay is spiced up with gravity gun (oh, the stuff u can do with it :D ) .. and versatility of enemies that demand a different approach.

    I feel this is just too big part of pop culture to miss.. like the big movies, series or music.
    Expand
  97. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Best FPS game I've ever played. Great character development, deep story, great combat sequences and amazingly immersive environment. Game still looks and performs fantastic today, years after its release. Great replay value, you can play through the game several times and catch bits of story you didn't get the previous time. Great attention to detail, polished setting and original design.Best FPS game I've ever played. Great character development, deep story, great combat sequences and amazingly immersive environment. Game still looks and performs fantastic today, years after its release. Great replay value, you can play through the game several times and catch bits of story you didn't get the previous time. Great attention to detail, polished setting and original design. A great breath of fresh air from copycat games and run and gun mindless shooters like COD(1-6). Expand
  98. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Half Life 2 is an amazing game. It has basic mechanics and it is still being awesome. I mean, the system to change your weapons is the same than the original, and that doesn't matter! It is a memorable game. Every dialog, every scene, is still in your mind after SIX years!
    The guys at Valve are genius. They put in your hands a game which has a main character that don't speak, and despite
    Half Life 2 is an amazing game. It has basic mechanics and it is still being awesome. I mean, the system to change your weapons is the same than the original, and that doesn't matter! It is a memorable game. Every dialog, every scene, is still in your mind after SIX years!
    The guys at Valve are genius. They put in your hands a game which has a main character that don't speak, and despite that, the whole series of Half Life has a really strong history.
    It is still amazing me. An absolute masterpiece
    Expand
  99. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Best first person shooter I have ever played. There were a challenging array of scenarios, some cool puzzles, and stellar graphics. Each weapon is particularly helpful in different situations for a variety of different enemies to use them on. This was a very fun game!
  100. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    "Best Game Ever Made". Yes it is! And just one part is boring "driving with car". Ending was done quickly. Graphics were best at that time. This game is a legend.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. 100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]