Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8916 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BlakeC
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    It ROCK's
  2. MarcD.
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    A well-polished FPS with, both, a strong single and multiplayer mode. Fans of CS will love the new Source version and the people who loved the pacing of the original Half-Life will relive the love affair they had with the first game's single-player campaign. Great stuff.
  3. S.S.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    it's about time, and it's FREAKING unbelieveable.
  4. Flanders
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    I love the texture resolution in this game.. things look almost real. As for gameplay, I was able to rip the TV out of the wall, walk it down the hall, and chuck it in the face of the guard... awesome!
  5. SteveA.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    All incredible, but what's up with the ending?
  6. BrianS.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    This game is without a doubt the best game I have ever played. Storyline, characters, physics, graphics. its all the best ever done in a game.
  7. LindenC.
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    Awesome but not perfect, not sold with half life source and all that without paying more thats bullsh*t.
  8. CrayHorse
    Nov 28, 2004
    8
    Half-Life 2 is good, but grossly overrated. Yes, the graphics are eye-popping on the latest video hardware, and the physics is a lot of fun. But the game has long repetetive stretches which are mind-numbingly tedious. Unlike Halo 1/2, riding the vehicles in Half-Life 2 is so tedious that I've come to dread their appearance. At the end of the day, Doom 3 is a better game and a better Half-Life 2 is good, but grossly overrated. Yes, the graphics are eye-popping on the latest video hardware, and the physics is a lot of fun. But the game has long repetetive stretches which are mind-numbingly tedious. Unlike Halo 1/2, riding the vehicles in Half-Life 2 is so tedious that I've come to dread their appearance. At the end of the day, Doom 3 is a better game and a better gaming experience. Expand
  9. SpankMonkey
    Nov 27, 2004
    9
    Game very good but not best. Starcraft is still better. to TONY THE PIRATE how much did you pay for you're 'copy' of HL2? ;) hahaha my bad.
  10. JakeV.
    Nov 28, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever made and Ctf is kick ass I can't stop Playing... A+
  11. TomV.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    It's refreshing to see that not as many people are attempting to earn some sort of geek-cred by dissing this stupidly fantastic piece of gaming artistry. J.J. either has not played the game, or is droolingly stupid. Giving a game like this anything below an eight doesn't make any sense. The art, the technology and the game design are all unprecedented, and that's all there It's refreshing to see that not as many people are attempting to earn some sort of geek-cred by dissing this stupidly fantastic piece of gaming artistry. J.J. either has not played the game, or is droolingly stupid. Giving a game like this anything below an eight doesn't make any sense. The art, the technology and the game design are all unprecedented, and that's all there is to it. It's not counter-culture to disrespect the faultless and flawless, it's just criminally stupid, and anyone who does it ought to be ashamed. Expand
  12. DaveyZ.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    Anyone who says this game is overrated doesn't know what they're talking about. This game was ridiculously intensely fun all the way through. The game was pretty long and i still cursed and was disappointed when it ended...the ending sequence was so fun. Linear game? Yes...it is a fps (most of them tend to be). If you want a non-linear game play vampire bloodlines...you'll Anyone who says this game is overrated doesn't know what they're talking about. This game was ridiculously intensely fun all the way through. The game was pretty long and i still cursed and was disappointed when it ended...the ending sequence was so fun. Linear game? Yes...it is a fps (most of them tend to be). If you want a non-linear game play vampire bloodlines...you'll come crawling back to hl2 w/in 10 minutes. Best game made up till now. Expand
  13. Batmanactually
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    I played this game like crazy its so awesome!!!!!! beat it like an hour ago...I wanted to play more...I didnt want it to end!!! everyone giving it under an 8 just dont know anything about fps games...this game had tons of work put into it thats why it is so great...and Cray Horse you said that Half-Life 2 got repetitive...and you said Doom 3 was a better game...Doom 3 is the repetitive I played this game like crazy its so awesome!!!!!! beat it like an hour ago...I wanted to play more...I didnt want it to end!!! everyone giving it under an 8 just dont know anything about fps games...this game had tons of work put into it thats why it is so great...and Cray Horse you said that Half-Life 2 got repetitive...and you said Doom 3 was a better game...Doom 3 is the repetitive and worse game...I beat Half-Life 2 in 3 days...I havent even bothered to beat Doom 3 even after 3 months... Expand
  14. InTheBiz
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    As someone who works for EA [Ed: hmm...], and I'm not really supposed to admit that online, Halflife 2 is the most ass-kickinest, corpse-flinginest, physics perfected, polished piece of envy enducing ambrosia to have ever graced my computer. Having just finished it, I need to find a methadone clinic before I start suffering withdrawls. Mad-Props to the Valve crew.
  15. Capiche
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    You idiot jeffthejiff. valve had been working on this game for years and you call it LAST MINUTE? they put years and years of their lives into something that you call LAST MINUTE????? the physics themself warrant years of toying, the graphics arent as advanced as doom but look just as good, and the gameplay is great.
  16. DavidC.
    Dec 13, 2004
    9
    Best first person shooter since.. well, since Half-Life. Not my favourite genre, but I am absolutely _loving_ this. The most visceral experience I've ever had from a PC game.
  17. V.Z.
    Dec 12, 2004
    9
    I wouldn't go as far and give it a ten. in fact, I almost gave it an 8. Half-Life 2 is another Half-Life, so if you liked the first game, you will love playing through the second. ONCE. The game has little replay value, and scripting in general can't be blamed for it. I played the first Half-life a couple of times and had fun. I got the feeling that something aobut the way this I wouldn't go as far and give it a ten. in fact, I almost gave it an 8. Half-Life 2 is another Half-Life, so if you liked the first game, you will love playing through the second. ONCE. The game has little replay value, and scripting in general can't be blamed for it. I played the first Half-life a couple of times and had fun. I got the feeling that something aobut the way this game is put together makes a replay less fun. Is it the story, that starts promising but becomes weaker? Is it the fact that the game is not as revolutional as the first (while Far Cry, sorry to say that, was)? I don't know. Anyway, Half-life 2 is a great, amazing trip the first time round, which would deserve a score of 11. But that's pretty much it. Oh, this score is only for single player, btw. I always wanted to try Counterstrike, but I still never did. Expand
  18. Steinerwarriorhl2
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Best game ever. NO DOUBT. Who isn't a fan, play it and you will be a fan.
  19. SamN.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Wow.
  20. JayL.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Everything that Doom 3 in all it's disappointment wasn't. Simply amazing.
  21. ArenM.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Excellent gaming experience. My only beef is the long load times throughout the game. This however can be overlooked due to the perfection of every other aspect. BUY IT!
  22. EricW.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    A beautiful piece of art, perfection in it's purest state. Half-Life 2 set the new bar for game devolopment. The mod community will insure your investment for years to come.
  23. BuddyLove
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    I bought the DVD version of this game and it totally still rocks. This year's best FPS and the most gorgeous graphics. You will not be disappointed. It also include the first Hlaf Life & Counter-Strike: Source.
  24. DougD.
    Nov 19, 2004
    9
    This game floored me the moment I stepped off the train. It's graphics and physics engine is truly incredible. Although Jon Carmack (Founder, lead developer of id; DOOM) shouldn't lose any sleep over his masterpiece, the SOURCE engine is truly amazing. Eyes follow your moves while their head moves in the other direction, awesome. The physics, like the graphics, are also one of a This game floored me the moment I stepped off the train. It's graphics and physics engine is truly incredible. Although Jon Carmack (Founder, lead developer of id; DOOM) shouldn't lose any sleep over his masterpiece, the SOURCE engine is truly amazing. Eyes follow your moves while their head moves in the other direction, awesome. The physics, like the graphics, are also one of a kind. What brings this review down to a 9 for me is the story. It had so much potential, but ultimately fails which is truly awful because it puts a minor dent in the armor of the best FPS since the original Half Life. Expand
  25. BitBurn
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Installation was brutal. Had to restart like 5 times because one of the file wouldn
  26. DavidM.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    It is the best game ever. I Love it.
  27. Dimi
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    #best physics engine in a fps ever, you can "feel" and handle objects in a way never possible before. #most details textures in a fps ever, extremly detailed walls etc. #rich story compared to other fps. no doubt doom3 and others have a hard time matching the story depth in HL2. i believe that there are to many fps released nowadays, all fps gives you a feeling of quantity rather than #best physics engine in a fps ever, you can "feel" and handle objects in a way never possible before. #most details textures in a fps ever, extremly detailed walls etc. #rich story compared to other fps. no doubt doom3 and others have a hard time matching the story depth in HL2. i believe that there are to many fps released nowadays, all fps gives you a feeling of quantity rather than quality. But this one feels no doubt a as meaningful and supereb release, even tough we have seen much of this before, the above mentioned makes this propably one of the best FPS to date. Expand
  28. RetR.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Amazing.
  29. Cyberxero
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Wooooohoooooooooo!!!This game is by far the probably the best FPS ever to be made.The graphics are beautiful, the sound is great, A.I is simply awesome, physics are a real treat and gameplay is just awesome. It for sure beats Doom 3, Halo 2 and even Farcry as an FPS. The story line is perfect just as the first Half-life story line was. The game is frantic, intense and almost scarily Wooooohoooooooooo!!!This game is by far the probably the best FPS ever to be made.The graphics are beautiful, the sound is great, A.I is simply awesome, physics are a real treat and gameplay is just awesome. It for sure beats Doom 3, Halo 2 and even Farcry as an FPS. The story line is perfect just as the first Half-life story line was. The game is frantic, intense and almost scarily real.Over all if you saved up enough for a FPS dont hesitate and go for HL2. Truly the best FPS out there. PLus if your done with the campaign,there is a multiplayer mode sort of like tactical-ops but wayyyyyyyyy better!! So go and buy HL2 now! =) Expand
  30. K.M.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    You heard all the accolades and rave reviews...so I can't praise this game any further...all I can add, after playing the first few chapters, is that never before have I been so involved as a character in a game. Wow - every bullet I dodge, every hit I take, every inch I fall, it all feels like it's so real...no, it is real, or at least after a while your mind's gonna tell You heard all the accolades and rave reviews...so I can't praise this game any further...all I can add, after playing the first few chapters, is that never before have I been so involved as a character in a game. Wow - every bullet I dodge, every hit I take, every inch I fall, it all feels like it's so real...no, it is real, or at least after a while your mind's gonna tell you so. This in my humble opinion is the greatest achievement in action gaming, bar none. Don't take my word for it, grab your crowbar and step into the world that is City 17. Games like this are few and far in between. Enjoy it while it's here folks. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]