Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 9004 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PhoneBooth
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    This game looks just about as good as anything out there. Gameplay will leave you longing for more even after you have finished the very delivering, long game. An instant classic that is just as great as half-life 1(but not better :) ). The multiplayer, C:SS is one of the most played games and is considered by many "The #1 action online game". Sound and graphics are done with such care This game looks just about as good as anything out there. Gameplay will leave you longing for more even after you have finished the very delivering, long game. An instant classic that is just as great as half-life 1(but not better :) ). The multiplayer, C:SS is one of the most played games and is considered by many "The #1 action online game". Sound and graphics are done with such care and accuracy that you could think you are there, and thank god the voice acting is good! Expand
  2. Jan
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    The ostensive emptyness and silentness in this well created and good looking half life 2 universe boosts the atmosphere of this "end of the world scenario" to a new level in a very cunning and reliable way. I just love the way how this Game works and how it is played. Clear 10/10 for me.
  3. JBW.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    This is the perfect game, in every way. First, anyone who has a problem with Steam should not be downgrading half-life 2, because you are rating the game, not anything else (although I do admit that it does not make sense that you have to be on the internet to play a single player game). The graphics are amazing, better than F.E.A.R., better than PREY better than DOOM 3, better than This is the perfect game, in every way. First, anyone who has a problem with Steam should not be downgrading half-life 2, because you are rating the game, not anything else (although I do admit that it does not make sense that you have to be on the internet to play a single player game). The graphics are amazing, better than F.E.A.R., better than PREY better than DOOM 3, better than Resistance, better than any thing I have ever seen.EVER. because the environments are beautiful, technology-wise and artistic-wise. Nothing feels over shiny, and they do not use any cheap texture tricks (DOOM 3). Everything is just as gritty or as polished as you would expect it to be. The gameplay is amazing..........absolutely amazing. It ranges from just curiosity of discovering phun with physics in City 17, to intense and gripping gameplay in Ravenholm, to running away franticly from a strider in the later levels, to OH MY GOD the gravity gun is now freaking awsome in the last chapter.The weapons are not necessarily diverse, most from the first game, but with the gravity gun, you don't really need many more diverse weapons.(although the little antlion food thing is cool too.) The enemys can be soldiers, helicopters, bugs, or even 3 story tall STRIDERS. And they all interact well with you and the environment. Few games make you feel for the characters like this one, especially with excellent voice acting. Last I would like to say that I just don't get how people could give this game a 1, i mean, we are all entitled to our opinion, but a 1, on a game like this, come on, do you have a grudge? are you a halo fan that doesn't want any game to steal its flare. i mean be fair, if you think that some movie knockoff deserves a 3 or a 4 how can you seriously say that Half-Life 2 deserves a 0? There, I put that out there I'm done, I hope you at least found this review to be fair, because I tried my hardest not to go crazy and verbally punch you guys. Expand
  4. LeeD.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    A very good game from valve....the kind of shake up the gaming industry needs.... A worthy purchase indeed....if you don't already have it you should!
  5. FrankT.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. great story, great graphics, great audio. In fact, great EVERYTHING. The only thing I disliked was steam, but that was alright.
  6. AlexM.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    I can't believe I neglected to buy this outstanding game for so long, Its hard to decide which is the best game of all time, until now, I was debating The battlefield series and Halo, but now that I have played HL2 and its expansion, my thoughts have been wavered.
  7. JonathanK.
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Wonderful story and gameplay. Beautiful graphics. Valve's commitment to keep the game current with updates and chapters is awesome.
  8. BillyS.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    The best game yet to come out of the crafty thinkers at Valve utilizing every advancement to put together a fun addicting game.
  9. SeanT.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    This game rocks.
  10. ChristianZ.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game play with even better graphics and sound. The ultimate Game experience!
  11. AlfredG.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    Truly the best game I have ever played. If you have never played Half-Life 2 you have been living under a rock.
  12. JasonP.
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    Mainly the ONLY reason I upgraded my PC from the dinosaur that it was. I wish I'd upgraded much, much sooner. The gravity gun is just awesome! Currently playing Episode 1. When is Episode 2 comming? A few ideas perhaps. BlueShift 2? Episode 2. Play as Alyx? ( She's more nimble than the venerable Dr Freeman. Maybe an interesting slant on the game perhaps?
  13. LukeM.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  14. BryanH.
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    What can I say I absolutely played the hell out of the first episode. And all the runoff extensions like Counter Strike, Blue Shift. Now i am really excited about HL 2. The graphics are out of this world, There is not to many other game companies that even come close. You do have to have a kick ass computer to get true quality game play and add all the awesome updates and maps. But hey What can I say I absolutely played the hell out of the first episode. And all the runoff extensions like Counter Strike, Blue Shift. Now i am really excited about HL 2. The graphics are out of this world, There is not to many other game companies that even come close. You do have to have a kick ass computer to get true quality game play and add all the awesome updates and maps. But hey thats what I do! I build the most kick ass computers. And then play Half Life 2 on them. I'm a true GEEK that loves good quality gaming. Expand
  15. Goldfritter
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    Awesome. Technically, no other words are needed, but I like talking, so: Graphics are pretty good, if not perfect. This adds to the game: no-one wanted, expected or needed a beautiful game. It helps create the dark feeling of discomfort. The fact that it seemed linear was totally canceled out by the ingenious story. It enthralls you, it captivates you. You ALWAYS want to know what comes Awesome. Technically, no other words are needed, but I like talking, so: Graphics are pretty good, if not perfect. This adds to the game: no-one wanted, expected or needed a beautiful game. It helps create the dark feeling of discomfort. The fact that it seemed linear was totally canceled out by the ingenious story. It enthralls you, it captivates you. You ALWAYS want to know what comes next, even if you know it'll scare the pants off you. AI is a bit easy to exploit, but can get entertaining, and is usually up to scratch. Physics and Gravity Gun are a great enhancement, without becoming too obvious or repetitive. You can realy manipulate the environment to your advantage. Steam, as annoying as it is, helps ensure that you get the optimal experience - and what an experience. An absolute masterpiece. Expand
  16. TomC.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    One of the best shooters I've ever played. Immersive, interactive and entertaining from beginning to end. HL2 is a series of cult moments that will leave you craving for more in an alarming way.
  17. AlbertG.
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Best fictional first person shooter out there. Blows Halo off the map.
  18. MitchelM.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Possibly one of the best first-person shooters ever made. Simply amazing Graphics, physics, AI, and game play. Valve set the bar higher, as it always will.
  19. JoshuaW.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    This really is "the best game ever". It never ceases to amaze me how much work was put into this game. People complain about release delays but with Valve quality is paramount.
  20. BoyanT.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    The Game is the best I have ever seen, is not just beautiful graphics, you can't stop play it until it end.
  21. JulienS.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    One of the most breathtaking games I have ever played. At times you almost wonder if you are still playing a game or if what is happening in front of you is real. All around surely this is the game of the year.
  22. PerroL.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is hands down the single best computer game I have ever played. The potential for customizing is awesome. Even after repeated gameplay I keep coming back for more... and more... gimme more!
  23. Matt
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Honestly the best game I ever played. Valve continuously releases patches, fixing any bugs as new hardware comes out.
  24. TerranceH.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Great game, loved it so much, I finished it 3 times. Now for Episode 1, 2 and 3.
  25. NathanS.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    One of the best games Ive ever played
  26. TeodorIkonomov
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  27. LukeM.
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  28. JohnR.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    I can't call it perfect, but it comes pretty close. Every problem I had with the original half life was fixed in this new one. The game play is fun, the choice of weapons is good, and the game time is pretty decent. Most games I can finish in 1 day. This one takes several, even if I spend all day on it. It's still fun to play even after you've completed it several times. I can't call it perfect, but it comes pretty close. Every problem I had with the original half life was fixed in this new one. The game play is fun, the choice of weapons is good, and the game time is pretty decent. Most games I can finish in 1 day. This one takes several, even if I spend all day on it. It's still fun to play even after you've completed it several times. Some of the levels, like Ravenholm and Nova Prospekt, brought out the part of the original game that everyone loved the most. Expand
  29. JonathanA.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best games ever.Its AI is by far the best and the graphics and sound are brilliant. The game itself is very original and it has none of its predecessor's problems, Yet there were two things i liked most:a)when the music starts up you know why this is the best game ever and b) the game's story is subtle, it rewards those who pay attention to the clues, also This is one of the best games ever.Its AI is by far the best and the graphics and sound are brilliant. The game itself is very original and it has none of its predecessor's problems, Yet there were two things i liked most:a)when the music starts up you know why this is the best game ever and b) the game's story is subtle, it rewards those who pay attention to the clues, also it's worth saying that this game is an allegory. Expand
  30. MrRogers
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    This is the best game ever created. Period. The graphics are amazing, the sounds a perfect and the storyline is what the game is about. Buy HL1 first though (not HL1:Source - its the same but slower) or you will understand less. People have been complaining of problems with steam, bugs ect. Most of them are sorted out and the game works on all good pcs from about 2005. Basically it all This is the best game ever created. Period. The graphics are amazing, the sounds a perfect and the storyline is what the game is about. Buy HL1 first though (not HL1:Source - its the same but slower) or you will understand less. People have been complaining of problems with steam, bugs ect. Most of them are sorted out and the game works on all good pcs from about 2005. Basically it all works now so download it or buy it on dvd. The best thing by far is the mods. Hundreds of free mods have allowed me to extend the already massively long playing time so that im still plying today. Garry's Mod 10 is particually good. As well as buying hl2, you should also buy Episode 1 and the others Episodes when they come out. Counter Strike:Source and Day of Defeat:Source are also amazing; you can buy them all very cheaply in the source premier pack deal. Expand
  31. PutinVladimir
    May 6, 2007
    10
    COOL!!!
  32. JoshG.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    With the power of source Half-Life2 is is easily the best game ever made. The physics puzzels were something I have never seen in any other game and I loved them. The charcater AI was great and so were the facial graphics, the best I've ever seen. You were also never doing the same thing over and over again which made it playable for hours.
  33. JackP.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Wonderful! Great story and memorable gameplay. Amazing graphics overhaul and physics. Online ins't bad either.
  34. NorrecV.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Second Best Game On PC! (First... Fallout ;] )
  35. OriZ.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Great physics , great game , great story i loved it!
  36. LukeM.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  37. LoganR.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    One of the most thrilling games I have played in a long time.
  38. NickM.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Best game ever! Awesome Graphics! Awesome Physics! And Gravity Gun is the best weapon ever!
  39. Bobbobbo
    May 21, 2007
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  40. RobH.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    This is my all time favorite single player game I have ever played. I have played episode 1 and liked it, and cannot wait until episode 2 comes out!
  41. ThomasC.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Good game but it loads 2 much the Grafics and gameplay are great and the story is amazing.
  42. KristianK.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    It is the best game in the WORLD :P
  43. LukeM.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  44. DanB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    After so many months from the original release still the best multi and single player game. I was playing Half Life from his first release a few years ago and I think I will play all the future versions.
  45. KevinM.F.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    I got this game when it first came out. It exceeded my expectations and the graphics were beyond what I expected. I didn't write until now because of spare time and that I didn't really cared to leave a comment until now. But with more episodes comeing out and with new graphic cards and DX10 becoming the next gen standard. It is apparent that this game will still rock the boat, I got this game when it first came out. It exceeded my expectations and the graphics were beyond what I expected. I didn't write until now because of spare time and that I didn't really cared to leave a comment until now. But with more episodes comeing out and with new graphic cards and DX10 becoming the next gen standard. It is apparent that this game will still rock the boat, and expeal peole expectations onward. Expand
  46. RobR.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This game is hands down the greatest game of all times. The storyline follows a traditional path. You as the hero of all time, is thrown into a mysterious (and may I say beautiful) world where you must learn about what has happened. The voice-acting for the characters was top-notch, and they were all beautifully designed. The main difference from Half-Life 1 has got to be the characters. This game is hands down the greatest game of all times. The storyline follows a traditional path. You as the hero of all time, is thrown into a mysterious (and may I say beautiful) world where you must learn about what has happened. The voice-acting for the characters was top-notch, and they were all beautifully designed. The main difference from Half-Life 1 has got to be the characters. With the new upcoming "episodes" you're eager to see the characters develop, to see what happens to them. I'm reading all these comments and ratings left by people that have stormed on here after getting a little frustrated with Steam, have their panties in a bunch, and simply decide to wail on this great game because of it. I have one thing to say, GET OVER IT! These comments are about the game, not steam. The weapons you use are diverse and incredibly interesting to use. LIke said in a previous review, I cried, I laughed, I screamed, I sat in awe, I came close to wetting my pants. Also, the ending is by far the best of any game, with its true epicness. What a great game. Expand
  47. JohnY.
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    An absolute classic... again. The first Half Life game introduced us to so many new aspects in FPS, and HL2 takes it to a new level with wonderful graphics, that may I say run extremely smoothly due to the ever wonderful Source engine, insane gameplay, realistic appearances, a really hot lead female character (Alyx Vance), and amazing AI. Although controlling your team is a little bit An absolute classic... again. The first Half Life game introduced us to so many new aspects in FPS, and HL2 takes it to a new level with wonderful graphics, that may I say run extremely smoothly due to the ever wonderful Source engine, insane gameplay, realistic appearances, a really hot lead female character (Alyx Vance), and amazing AI. Although controlling your team is a little bit hard. Oh, and not to mention the absolutely gripping storyline. EPISODE 2 SOON!!! :D Expand
  48. MattL.
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    This has to be the greatest game ever made. I have never seen such a great game in my entire experience as a gamer. I can't believe the idiots who gave this a 0 or less than a 7. This game deserves better than a ten, because the AI is NOT stupid, the phyiscs pwn any other engine, and the ingame cinematics just top off the icing. I don't understand how this game can be so This has to be the greatest game ever made. I have never seen such a great game in my entire experience as a gamer. I can't believe the idiots who gave this a 0 or less than a 7. This game deserves better than a ten, because the AI is NOT stupid, the phyiscs pwn any other engine, and the ingame cinematics just top off the icing. I don't understand how this game can be so horrible. I downloaded and played this in less than 15 minutes and beat it within a day. I loved the ending by the way. I can't wait to get Episode One. Expand
  49. Aaron
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    If you could only play one game, this is probably the one you should play.
  50. HughM.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played.
  51. TeodorIkonomov
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  52. AlstonB.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, I love it, can't wait for HL2 E2, just wish I knew when to expect it.
  53. LukeM.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  54. LuizM.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    I just finished this game, and it is simply amazing! No words can describe it! It's just beyond any FPS game! Just wow! If you are a fan of Half-Life, or even just someone who likes to play FPS games, you just HAVE to try this. It's challenging without being obscenely dificult, and it's hard where it's supposed to be. And the physics! This game feels amazingly real! I just finished this game, and it is simply amazing! No words can describe it! It's just beyond any FPS game! Just wow! If you are a fan of Half-Life, or even just someone who likes to play FPS games, you just HAVE to try this. It's challenging without being obscenely dificult, and it's hard where it's supposed to be. And the physics! This game feels amazingly real! Again... Just WOW! Expand
  55. GypsyD.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    Hard to be as good as Half Life 1, but it made it! The river ride was tremendous fun, even the third time I did it.
  56. Krillan
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    Fantastic!!!
  57. DillonC.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    The game is perfect. To hardcore FarCry fans, accept it. You've been beaten. The engine is best out there, unrivaled. The physics, also the best. Why do you think FarCry has no physics puzzles? Half-Life 2 is by far the best of the best.
  58. CiobanuS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Perfect game. Nothing to say... Graphics, audio, physics, story all 10. PS: Dont understand why people gives low ratings for the long loadings. If your computer is old it doesent mean that the game sucks.
  59. RyanG.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    I could play this game for days if it was that long. The mods for are some of the best I've ever seen and I cant wait for episode 2!
  60. SamJ.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    LOVE it!
  61. MikkoA-F.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Half-Life rocked when it came out, now Half-Life 2 rocks, bigger, cooler and better. Good going Valve!
  62. NableS.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Awsome! Linear, but the best programming of any game I've played. It always changes just before you get tired of it.
  63. JoeS.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Only Doom 3 is better, and only in the technical sense.
  64. JulioR.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Gamer who don't play Half Life 2 can't called himself a true gamer.... Is a masterpiece of art of game. Not only is a game is drama that include you to feel you are in the screen.
  65. AdamR.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game, one of the best i've ever played, and reaches into the region of best game ever made.
  66. NortonD.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. What they were able to do with the engine of this game and the graphics set a new new high for this style of gaming. Hopfully you have a computer that can run smoothly this all settings maxed for this game because then you will be in "awwwww" the whole time playing and the steam alone is just a brillant program.
  67. desthlfan
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Well I really liked this game because it's so "scary" and so "hard", with the "Hard" difficulty level it's very very hard, I really liked the moments I must think and think that what I should do... The problem is when you finish the game , if u wanna play again you don't like because you know what to do. But there is a HalfLife2 Deathmatch that you can enjoy if u want :) Well I really liked this game because it's so "scary" and so "hard", with the "Hard" difficulty level it's very very hard, I really liked the moments I must think and think that what I should do... The problem is when you finish the game , if u wanna play again you don't like because you know what to do. But there is a HalfLife2 Deathmatch that you can enjoy if u want :) Uh, and sorry for my bad english, i'm Spanish. C-Ya! Expand
  68. CharlieB.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Beautiful visuals, a polished interface, flawless physics, intelligent AI, immersive storyline, and audio that would make a deaf man sell his soul to hear. What more could anyone ask for?
  69. Yanko
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I just finished the game, and IMO it's the BEST I've ever played in my life(I played a lot of games through the years!)
  70. AexK.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Just awesome. The game runs in front of you like a book. Great storyline, great charachters, great gameplay. I would rate it 100 out of 10 if I could.
  71. AlexC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    If you don't like this game there's something wrong with you or your computer. I've heard loadsa gripes about Steam and the long loads and buggy game. My reply is get a better computer and a good connection. For God's sake if you don't read the system requirements it's not the games fault. And those of you who feel that it jusdt isn't a good game. Get If you don't like this game there's something wrong with you or your computer. I've heard loadsa gripes about Steam and the long loads and buggy game. My reply is get a better computer and a good connection. For God's sake if you don't read the system requirements it's not the games fault. And those of you who feel that it jusdt isn't a good game. Get out. Just get out. Now. Expand
  72. ReidS.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Wow this game is amazing the picture, the storyline, everything is perfect. What more could one ask for?
  73. ThorbjørnW.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Stunning graphics and an brilliant storyline - I love this game!
  74. JayR.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This majestic work of art should be played by gamers the world over, as it is THE gaming mastermind of not only 2004, but 2005, 2006, and even today, in 2007, it is still the best game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. And just when I thought I was finally done, had finished it for good, it called me back once again to give it another play. And to my joy, there are now This majestic work of art should be played by gamers the world over, as it is THE gaming mastermind of not only 2004, but 2005, 2006, and even today, in 2007, it is still the best game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. And just when I thought I was finally done, had finished it for good, it called me back once again to give it another play. And to my joy, there are now many more mods out than there were last year, and I'm having a ball testing them out. My current favorite is SMOD Tactical: Delta 4. If you're like me and have bashed the shit out of the combine in every way possible, give Tactical a try, it's a definite wake-up call for all gamers. You think Half-Life 2 was hard on Hard? Please, try beating SMOD Tactical: Delta 4 on Easy, you'll be sorely mistaken if you think it'll be a walk in the park. Back to regular ol' HL2, though, I don't think there will ever be a game to best it. I've never played anything better. The graphics are stunning, and it's an absolute joy to play it maxed out. You become immersed in the story, dug into the battles, and enthralled with the characters. The sounds are resounding, I still get chills up and down my spine when I hear the howl of a leaper echo through the level. I dare you, no, I challenge you to find a game that can suck you in as much as this one can. I haven't found one, not even Halo, or Halo 2 can even come close to this. I love this game, I love the characters, and I love the story. My heart races, eagerly awaiting the release of Episode 2, so that I may see the next chapter in the story of Half-Life. Expand
  75. ValdeW.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    The best game in the woarld, its graphic is one of the best I ever seen, and I love Alyx Vance.
  76. CharlieK.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Best graphics I have ever seen, this game delivers a brilliant story line! Seriously, in my entire life, i have not seen a better FPS than this game! Some parts are frightening, I admit they even scared me a couple of times. But, a lot of the time its pretty funny. Yes, Steam may be a drag, but, HL2 is worth messing with Steam for. A long with the multiplayer version of Half-Life 2 Best graphics I have ever seen, this game delivers a brilliant story line! Seriously, in my entire life, i have not seen a better FPS than this game! Some parts are frightening, I admit they even scared me a couple of times. But, a lot of the time its pretty funny. Yes, Steam may be a drag, but, HL2 is worth messing with Steam for. A long with the multiplayer version of Half-Life 2 Deathmatch, this game is really fun, at the same time scary, and you need a lot of strategy to beat the singleplayer, a long with having some friends battle against you in Deathmatch. Just like the 1st (but way better of course) (and new monsters) The AI system is just perfect. Nothing beats this game. I give it a 100/100 or a 10/10 possibly a 10000/10? Source engine also helps the game, giving it possibly the most realistic graphics you can get in one game. P.S. it is SO worth the money. don't worry. Expand
  77. BierW.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    This is the best game, I've ever played. The physics engine is plain unbelivable. it out scores HalfLife 1 big time! The end is a bit awkward though, but due to HL1 this seems to be normal.
  78. DieterS.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    Very nice Game, Animations and Grafics.
  79. FernandoF.
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    brilliant.
  80. SamN.
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    Wow.
  81. LukeM.
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  82. AlexK.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    An absolutely fantastic game. the only games that will beat this one in terms of playability and graphics will be the sequels.
  83. Craig
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    For the first few weeks of playing this I though I *was* Gordon Freeman.
  84. IsaiD.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most awesome game i have ever played... excelent!
  85. LukeM.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  86. BorisG.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Ok, I read all the people who voted zero and I have come to a conclusions. The main reasons people this game is horrible is A. They cant figure out how to install a simple program. B. They cant read the box and see that Internet Connection is required. C. They somehow think a FPS GTA such as Far Cry and a story driven FPS are two games that should be compared. D. They turn off automatic Ok, I read all the people who voted zero and I have come to a conclusions. The main reasons people this game is horrible is A. They cant figure out how to install a simple program. B. They cant read the box and see that Internet Connection is required. C. They somehow think a FPS GTA such as Far Cry and a story driven FPS are two games that should be compared. D. They turn off automatic updating and the complain about why there is bugs with stuttering. E. A popular game being liked is now its main cause for being horrid, if you like a game and its popular - then you're wrong. But if no one cares about an averagely rated and you somehow think its godly - well then you got the best game ever. Go ahead and read all the people who voted 0, there is no different reason as to what I already listed. I'm not including the unrealistic physics arguments because that is just an all around lie, and the AI? Heh, yeah I guess it is horrible that they throw grenades back at you? Last but not least, the people complaining about the story are just not trying hard enough. No - this isn't a pop out book where the story is all laid out for you, but is rather a puzzle where you have to actually look into it and find out stuff for yourself. The only reason I can think that it doesn't appeal to you is that you have no imagination at all. Expand
  87. JonathanM.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Technical issues due to YOUR slow and erroneous dialup line and issues due to STEAM (read, NOT HALF LIFE 2) should not factor into your rating. Rate the game, not the other factors. --For whoever said they want to see Half-Life with the same graphics, you're in luck. A mod team is working on "Black Mesa" a total conversion mod of HL2 to HL1. Not out yet, but eagerly anticipated.
  88. BatalovB.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Half-Life 2 is the best FPS ever. The physical engine are fabulous and of course the scenario too.
  89. JamesB.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Awsome Game,I loved it! I got the Steam version and the people that say they are haveing problems with it need a new brain lol. There is a way to play the game with out the internet,just take some to read up on it instead of being so lazy. The graphics are Awsome,The Gameplay was awsome,not sure about music i always turn off music in any game i play,it frees up resorces. The ones that Awsome Game,I loved it! I got the Steam version and the people that say they are haveing problems with it need a new brain lol. There is a way to play the game with out the internet,just take some to read up on it instead of being so lazy. The graphics are Awsome,The Gameplay was awsome,not sure about music i always turn off music in any game i play,it frees up resorces. The ones that gave this game a score of 7 and below really have no taste at all. Expand
  90. RobyZ.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Great game, amazing graphics, great phisics, great AI.
  91. AlanL.
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, superb attention to detail, amazing in game physics and excellent story, can't wait for further installments
  92. Pete
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    Awsome on-line experience....I have loved and continue to love every sec. of the game.
  93. xenencore
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    The story , game play and the concept of single level with real time story telling , i think no other game can achieve this.
  94. TeodorIkonomov
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  95. MidgeG.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    This game is swish. I can't wait for HL3, and I know there will be one. Good things come in 3's!!
  96. LukeM.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  97. MattP.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    A truly amazing experience. Beautiful world, both in graphical quality and imaginative design. Lots of fun in various forms; boat, car, gravity gun, lots of shooting. Truly engaging story. Ushers in a new age of story telling. Everyone should have this game on their shelf, even if you don't like the game. The box can just serve as a means to remind you that you're wrong.
  98. MorAvramento
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Great game, maybe the best game I played
  99. doscanasd
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    this game is beatiful and full action
  100. MitchMatley
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Great game! Beat it many times! love playing it!
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]