Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1615 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    Hearthstone is a great experience for someone who enjoys the Warcraft universe. It really is a casual way to get yourself into the universe,Hearthstone is a great experience for someone who enjoys the Warcraft universe. It really is a casual way to get yourself into the universe, if WoW feels too heavy. The sound engineering is fantastic, the graphics are light and fun, and the game play is engaging.

    They recently released Curse of Naxxramas, which to me was fun, but slightly underwhelming, which is why I gave it a 9 instead of a 10.

    Overall, it's a great game, and worth giving a shot. I've built probably 4 or 5 decks for my Pally, and finally come across a deck that works for my play style. A game that is that flexible and contains that amount of depth deserves a look or two.
    Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2015
    8
    Blizzard lo ha vuelto a hacer. Un juego fácil de jugar y difícil de dominar. Vicio puro. A mí gusto le falta un competitivo más público, conBlizzard lo ha vuelto a hacer. Un juego fácil de jugar y difícil de dominar. Vicio puro. A mí gusto le falta un competitivo más público, con rankings y listas de éxitos por los que alardear. Expand
  4. May 7, 2014
    5
    This game is quite fun to play at first,but after a few days playing,it just turn out to be a really shallow game.Strategics are useless inThis game is quite fun to play at first,but after a few days playing,it just turn out to be a really shallow game.Strategics are useless in playing hearthstone,as the card drawing system is COMPLETELY random.So, no matter how much time and effort spent in building your deck,it just comes down to luck when you are actually playing.

    It is not a typical P2W game as you must invest a vast amount of money to make the difference and i believe only a minority of players are willing to pay a lump sum.This is because this game is based purely on luck.You can have 3 LEGENDARY cards, but they may all be lying right at the bottom of your deck so you may not even see them when you are being crushed and gang bang by your opponents minion.Based on my own experience(i have 1 lvl 16 hero and 5 other >lvl 10 heroes),players with legendary cards are very rare,only about 1 in 10 players possess legendary cards.

    What makes this card game bad is the lack of strategies,all you need is LUCK LUCK LUCK.Anyway, i think this is a fixable problem and Blizzard should make modifications to its game-playing mechanisms,or many players will leave this game after a few weeks of playing as it is getting boring.

    I really hope that Blizzard can make some improvements because this can be one of the best online CCG.I am not giving it a negative score just because the graphics and gameplay are really nice.The cards are also well-designed.
    Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    3
    Casual game for the ever growing casual market.

    RNG based, grindy, if you want to get the cards you need. Arena Fees... Nothing for me,
    Casual game for the ever growing casual market.

    RNG based, grindy, if you want to get the cards you need. Arena Fees... Nothing for me, thought it entertained me for a bit.
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2015
    1
    This game is completly a p2w. I had playing since it lauched, at start it wasn't p2w , but it begins to introduce more and more aventuresThis game is completly a p2w. I had playing since it lauched, at start it wasn't p2w , but it begins to introduce more and more aventures ($$$$$$$$$$$) ,more and more new booster packs......and with the low rewards its imposible to get all cards if you dont pay....
    I had more than 1500wins and 400 arena wins , i know what im talking about. If you want to start play this game, think before , that you wont be competitive if u dont pay
    Boring of this p2w . They will say to you that it isn't a p2w , ofc not if you play 24hours per day 1 year, if you play normal or casual 1-2hours per day , u wont have good cards for being competitive.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2016
    0
    Pay to win

    OOOOOOohhhhhhhhhhhh another legendary op **** and another and another and another matches the company capitalistic **** not a
    Pay to win

    OOOOOOohhhhhhhhhhhh another legendary op **** and another and another and another
    matches the company capitalistic **** not a fair gameplay
    Expand

See all 411 User Reviews