Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1505 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    Hearthstone is a wonderful card game. Blizzard really hit the nail on the head with this one, and there is so much room for expansions andHearthstone is a wonderful card game. Blizzard really hit the nail on the head with this one, and there is so much room for expansions and growth the potential alone will keep me playing for months and years to come. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2016
    8
    the game is too good but if you don´t play 6 diary hours you will never have good cards and you will lose for ever.
    at least the matchmaking is 7/10
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    5
    How much you like Hearthstone is going to be dependant upon how casual you like you CCG experience to be, or to restate it, howHow much you like Hearthstone is going to be dependant upon how casual you like you CCG experience to be, or to restate it, how favorably/unfavorably you view the word "accessibility" in reference to multiplayer games.

    It should be no surprise for a Blizzard entry to focus on producing a highly polished and user-friendly game that allows for players of all ages and skill levels to play. This is not the easy to learn, but hard to master template, but easy to play, easy to master, with a good deal of luck determining who will win barring glaring errors in judgement.

    It is simple fun, matches are relatively short, and there is a good amount of humorous references to keep WoW players entertained.

    Now if you are looking for something in terms of a CCG challenge to highlight your player's edge, this isn't the real thing.

    For self-proclaimed CCG hardcores - 5 or less (i.e you'll shortly uninstall it)
    For people new to CCG's and/or who want a stress-free, fun way to pass time - 8 or more
    Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2014
    3
    I have played this game a LOT, and there is a LOT of depth in this game, however, there is very little in way of strategy to this game. It isI have played this game a LOT, and there is a LOT of depth in this game, however, there is very little in way of strategy to this game. It is an overly simple game that relies upon 'luck of the draw' than anything else. I have taken all of my characters to 20 and a couple to 35. Regardless of what deck you build, what expert you follow, your 'strategy' WILL fall apart when you do NOT get 'that one card'. I have built decks with only 6 spells, and I HAVE ALWAYS seen the majority of my first 7 or 8 cards to be spells. In a completely random system this CAN happen, but the frequency to which I HAVE seen it tells me that the system is NOT completely random but weighted to spells so as to balance to game out against players with more spells and less minions.

    I wish they would have spent more time on this game and truly developed a strategic system where in people could ACTUALLY USE strategy, but when you have a game where you have to "hope" your card comes up, is NOT hat good a game. There is NOTHING worse than to be at the beginning of a game, you only have 1 mana available and the first card from your deck is 5 mana or higher.

    Due to the current system, they have cards that are literally worthless to have in your deck. Cards that WOULD have strategic use if they used a system of a weighted draws. However, since they allow ANY card to come up, it IS fair, but the decks you will fight against the majority of the time is FULL of cards costing less than 5 mana, and almost ALL decks are a version of a RUSH deck. It makes the game VERY predictable and ultimately BORING. What purpose is there to 'building' a deck, when the cards that you put in there, to FIT the way YOU WANT to play, NEVER show up in your hand until it is past the point that you could use it to ATTEMPT to win.

    Don't believe that hype of people posting "THIS DECK GOT ME TO LEVEL 5!!! I used this build and GOT A 70% WIN percentage." DO NOT believe these people at all. I took one of these so-called Mid-budget 4000+ dust to craft and after 200 games with the deck could do no better than ~50%. I have found, that due to the way the cards hit your hand there is NO WAY that anyone gets more than a 50% percentage win unless they just plain have better luck. The only strategy is in keeping track of how many cards your opponent has that could possibly hurt you, then realizing that you are not getting the cards you need and then losing yet another game.

    I had hoped for an actual strategic card game...this is NOT it. If you like it, now worries, but I do NOT think this is a good game. It is actually rather poor.
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2014
    1
    If you're familiar with Magic: the gathering, this game will be disappointing. This is a good intro to the fun that can be had withIf you're familiar with Magic: the gathering, this game will be disappointing. This is a good intro to the fun that can be had with trading-card-games but is seriously lacking in many areas that make them fun:

    player interaction
    SOCIAL interaction
    tricks
    counter spells

    i'm missing some/if i remember i'll come back and update, this is an okay game, but isn't worth dumping money into.
    Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2015
    0
    Total cashgrab, but what to expect from this insolent company anyway? They are not interested in creating good games anymore, they areTotal cashgrab, but what to expect from this insolent company anyway? They are not interested in creating good games anymore, they are interested in making pay to win s***, that will make them huge amounts of money from stupid casuals.
    This game is either grind to death to get any decent cards, or just buy them for real money. But they are not cheap, packs are random (so you can get bad cards anyway), and you need many of them. Pay to win in its most atrocious form.
    I would call it poor man's MtG, because mechanics are so simplified and casualised, but to be honest you need to be NOT poor to get a decent deck.
    I wont recommend it to anyone, better get real collectible card game, like Magic, or living card game like Game of thrones, Lotr card game, Warhammer conquest or Netrunner. You can also buy a game that is completed from the start and you dont have to buy expansion packs and boosters, like for example Mage wars.
    All these games are awesome and infinitely better than this virtual money-grabbing abomination.
    And if you want game on computer, there are still better options, for real players.
    This is just s*** for casuals.
    Expand

See all 383 User Reviews