Hearts of Iron II PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 90
  2. Negative: 4 out of 90
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    This game is not flashy, but the combination of historical accuracy and strong online community can turn this game into anything you want it to be. Out of the box, it is difficult to get the hang of, but after a few games you will really feel like you can conquer the world. If the vanilla game gets boring, there are numerous different patches and alterations made by the community to makeThis game is not flashy, but the combination of historical accuracy and strong online community can turn this game into anything you want it to be. Out of the box, it is difficult to get the hang of, but after a few games you will really feel like you can conquer the world. If the vanilla game gets boring, there are numerous different patches and alterations made by the community to make it more difficult or more realistic. The community adds leaders, events and countless other features. Everything about this game is great, and there are relatively few bugs for such a huge game. Expand
  2. BlakeT.
    Feb 1, 2005
    9
    Amazing! If you are interested in a detail oriented simulation of World War II, this is your game. However, I caution anyone who is looking for another Command and Conquer game to look elsewhere. This isn't an "action" game - it is pure strategy. Don't buy this game expecting to "blow stuff up." On the positive side, the level of detail is fantastic. You can play ANY country in Amazing! If you are interested in a detail oriented simulation of World War II, this is your game. However, I caution anyone who is looking for another Command and Conquer game to look elsewhere. This isn't an "action" game - it is pure strategy. Don't buy this game expecting to "blow stuff up." On the positive side, the level of detail is fantastic. You can play ANY country in the world and control just about every single decision that will have an impact on the country's future. One game could easily take weeks to complete. However, I couldn't give it a 10 for a few reasons. First, the sound, music, and graphics are all circa 1989 - nothing fantasic here. But, it wasn't why I bought the game anyway. Also, the game is phenominally difficult. The tutorial, though good, doesn't go into enough detail and leaves you hanging. Thankfully, the game's manual was written by a fan and fellow gamer - so, if you can read, you will figure it out. I'm also impressed with the game developer's website and forums. There is real sense of community among players and lots of help. The company also releases patches frequently. If you are a strategy guru and don't mind getting a little overwhelmed, buy this game. Expand
  3. H.Lokesz
    Mar 16, 2005
    9
    This is a unique game that makes it possible for you to play a major country in the WW2 conflict. It is not only about war but also about diplomacy and economics which should drive the war-machine. Newbies to the Paradox game engine must realise that it takes weeks of study to master the game. There are some nice 'small' campaigns to have some fun while you are studying. It is a This is a unique game that makes it possible for you to play a major country in the WW2 conflict. It is not only about war but also about diplomacy and economics which should drive the war-machine. Newbies to the Paradox game engine must realise that it takes weeks of study to master the game. There are some nice 'small' campaigns to have some fun while you are studying. It is a game for the armchair-generals among us. Collapse
  4. Sajer
    Mar 22, 2005
    8
    The game by which all past, present and future Grand Strategic scale games will be judged. FPS and RTS fans need not apply.
  5. AlexeyS.
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Addictive. Interesting. Historical. Well... it gives you at least knowledge of world map and WWII history.
  6. SimonL.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Having played all of the Paradox Europa engine based games I can honestly say there is as much tension in them as a good FPS or RTS title. Nothing beats those carefull war plans that go "pop" when the action starts!
  7. Kris
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The game's not easy to learn, but once you do, it's by far the most impressive strategy game available, stressing on realism and historical fact.
  8. Chimp
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    Ive never played the first one, and im usually not a fan of wargames, but when I got the demo, my mind changed. The demo has no tutorial-so I didnt understand everything, but I can tell if I learned everything I would be hooked. But the best part is the amount of detail. You can play as ANY country that existed in 1936-1950. Plus, they each have their own generals with photographs and Ive never played the first one, and im usually not a fan of wargames, but when I got the demo, my mind changed. The demo has no tutorial-so I didnt understand everything, but I can tell if I learned everything I would be hooked. But the best part is the amount of detail. You can play as ANY country that existed in 1936-1950. Plus, they each have their own generals with photographs and real names and real government people. Plus, you can fight anywhere in the world. You can play as Peru and go to war with Brazil if you want! Or anything. Plus, the multiplayer mode is gonna support 32 people! thats alot for a strategy game. Expand
  9. MikeD
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    The most intense, historically accurate and most complex strategy game ever created. Multiplayer games and the possibility to play as the leader of any WWII country(yes, even Paraguay or Luxemburg etc. who either got rammed completely/didn't take any part in the war) make the game even better. The reason for the rating 9 instead of 10 is the fact that towards the end of a game the The most intense, historically accurate and most complex strategy game ever created. Multiplayer games and the possibility to play as the leader of any WWII country(yes, even Paraguay or Luxemburg etc. who either got rammed completely/didn't take any part in the war) make the game even better. The reason for the rating 9 instead of 10 is the fact that towards the end of a game the massive amount of land, air and naval units will be tough for you computer and the game might get laggy. The other reason is that it has some minor glitches like naval fleets that don't really exist. Most of the glitches are very small and rare and can be fixed by saving and loading the game. Expand
  10. AaronH
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Obviously intended for a more methodical, intellectual gamer, Hearts Of Iron II is unmatched in the genre despite a number of troubling technical problems. Whether you wish to entertain a personal vision of world domination, twist the events of history as a lesser power or immerse yourself in the complexities of strategic and tactical warfare, this is the culmination of your desires. One Obviously intended for a more methodical, intellectual gamer, Hearts Of Iron II is unmatched in the genre despite a number of troubling technical problems. Whether you wish to entertain a personal vision of world domination, twist the events of history as a lesser power or immerse yourself in the complexities of strategic and tactical warfare, this is the culmination of your desires. One can only hope that the sequel well be more of the same with fewer technical issues. Expand
  11. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    The game is very good but it's hard to learn how to play and do the things but if you want a game who tell the story this is not the best game because you can change everything but the game is good. There is something that you need to know Hearts of Iron 2 is better than Hearts of Iron 3, but the money that you are going to spend is your.
  12. RolandM.
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    Best WW2 game ever!!!
  13. Joe
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Hard to get the hang of at first, but once you do I don't think you'll ever put it down!
  14. Jack
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    An intellectually stimulating, historically accurate game that does not use pretty graphics to hide lack of depth, this is HoI II. The focus of the game is to provide a more accurate RTS. No "great commander" that produces factories on a tactical map, rather a strategic view, this is more akin to what a general would see. Learning the game may take a game or two before you can fullyAn intellectually stimulating, historically accurate game that does not use pretty graphics to hide lack of depth, this is HoI II. The focus of the game is to provide a more accurate RTS. No "great commander" that produces factories on a tactical map, rather a strategic view, this is more akin to what a general would see. Learning the game may take a game or two before you can fully appreciate what you can do. While this may not appeal to those who would rather control a beautifully rendered Sherman and successfully engage five or more Koenigtiger, those who have a true interest in strategy will be captivated. Expand
  15. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    This game gets a 10 to show that I don't have a special hatred of Paradox interactive. It's worth a 9, but we go to 10 to make the point. While this is NOT the best WWII game ever. It is possibly the best grand strategy WWII game. The best WWII game BY FAR is CCV (Invasion Normandy) modded version Gold Juno Sword, played versus a human opponent. HOI2 meanwhile is still a great game, andThis game gets a 10 to show that I don't have a special hatred of Paradox interactive. It's worth a 9, but we go to 10 to make the point. While this is NOT the best WWII game ever. It is possibly the best grand strategy WWII game. The best WWII game BY FAR is CCV (Invasion Normandy) modded version Gold Juno Sword, played versus a human opponent. HOI2 meanwhile is still a great game, and far more accessible, functional and user friendly than its bloated decendent HOI3. HOI2 has a far better balance of detail and playability. HOI2 has a much more accessible and enjoyable research system. HOI2 has such obviously useful tools as a way to find units by type, which inexplicably disappeared in the latest game. The only problem with this game is that it needs to be patched or modded with new graphics options so that it can scale properly on present-day monitors. Paradox should swallow their pride and stop making expansions for the HOI3 turkey until they have rebuilt and improved this older but far superior game. Reading the reviews its hard to stop laughing at how seriously Paradox fans take themselves. There is nothing hard, deep, or intellectually challenging about this game. It's easy. It's fun. And it was designed by guys who want to imagine that the Germans could have and should have won the war, which should be a hint as to which faction you want to choose if you want to enjoy yourself. Enjoy yourself. this is a great game. And unlike most Paradox strategy sausage machines you don't have to cheat to win. Expand
  16. AndyK.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    Best WW2 game ever. Only lazy or stupid people won't love it.
  17. RobertM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    This game blows all others out of the water. To be fully successful, you must master all aspects of the game. Force composition, support firepower and technology are a must before the battles ever start. Thank you for this game!
  18. May 28, 2011
    10
    This may be just about one of the best strategy games of all time. It has a rather steep learning curve, though, and it took me 3 years, on and off to fully get to appreciate it and learn how to play it successfully. That being said, it's rather hard beating Germany in any case, but that is what makes this game even better than most - it actually challenges the player. Definitely highlyThis may be just about one of the best strategy games of all time. It has a rather steep learning curve, though, and it took me 3 years, on and off to fully get to appreciate it and learn how to play it successfully. That being said, it's rather hard beating Germany in any case, but that is what makes this game even better than most - it actually challenges the player. Definitely highly recommended for all historic strategy nerds, such as myself! :) Expand
  19. May 27, 2011
    10
    For those that want a World War 2 grand strategy game, look no further than this, or at least, look no further than the latest Armageddon version.

    Micromanagement set just right at the divisional level. A relatively simple tech tree and a diplomatic system that works just right. I always used to say that Civilization II was the best game I'd ever played, but I was wrong. It's this one
    For those that want a World War 2 grand strategy game, look no further than this, or at least, look no further than the latest Armageddon version.

    Micromanagement set just right at the divisional level. A relatively simple tech tree and a diplomatic system that works just right.

    I always used to say that Civilization II was the best game I'd ever played, but I was wrong. It's this one and six years later I am still playing it almost every day.
    Expand
  20. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Absolutely amazing game offering so much to you and very challenging. Shape the world how you want and either come out on top or be crushed. Still a great game.
  21. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    Hearts of Iron 2 is more than just a game, its a simulation of events that have or may have happened during the history. The game features a very deep and engaging game play with high attention to details to historical events, people and places. Combat is more than just "kill everything that is not you", alliances are lasting, economics is is adequate and actually strategic planning onHearts of Iron 2 is more than just a game, its a simulation of events that have or may have happened during the history. The game features a very deep and engaging game play with high attention to details to historical events, people and places. Combat is more than just "kill everything that is not you", alliances are lasting, economics is is adequate and actually strategic planning on part of the player is needed to win. The game does have its flaws. One of which is the very steep learning curve as the tutorial was severely lacking in information. It might take you 2 to 3 restart of the campaign until you get the hang of it. Overall the game focuses more on it's gameplay rather than the graphics, it's fun and enjoyable to both gamers and history buffs. Mods are highly supported that has yielded extended game time and re-playability. I would highly recommend this game to people who like historical games but not to people who like fast paced and graphics based gamers. Expand
  22. Jan 8, 2016
    10
    Strong 9 + 1 for nostalgia.
    I literally loved this gamestill like to play.
    Very historically accurate
    Good combat mechanisms
    Just amazing.

    I will try HoI 3 soon - HoI 4 is comming, no point in delaying that
  23. Jun 15, 2016
    8
    This game has a high learning curve as the tutorial is pretty much useless but when you get use to the game it is fun to play I just did not like the fact that you can glitch the game if you conquer Germany as Poland
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. One of the most in-depth strategy games around. There are so many different things you can do during the course of one game it is almost baffling.
  2. 87
    Undeniably fantastic and a considerable improvement over the original game.
  3. Few will tire of the almost endless possibilites available to England, Germany, Russia and so on. There will probably never be a more realistic and detailed WW2 game for the PC, and if this is the sort of thing that floats your boat, go buy it now.