User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 236
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time.. There is a great deal of work when you want to play it so if you are not serious about playing it then it may be a bit to much for casual gamers. Saying that, the game can be overwhelming but if you give it 100% of your attention it can be really great. They added the ability for the computer to control certain micromanaging which is aThis is one of the greatest games of all time.. There is a great deal of work when you want to play it so if you are not serious about playing it then it may be a bit to much for casual gamers. Saying that, the game can be overwhelming but if you give it 100% of your attention it can be really great. They added the ability for the computer to control certain micromanaging which is a welcome change from the previous edition. Expand
  2. PeterI
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    This is written under patch 1.3 and I will not really focus on bugs. I have played HOI2, and find HOI3 to be a good upgrade of this game. It's got an all new game engine (which I assume will be used by Paradox for various games for several years = addons) The game is complex, very complex. It does not really hold your hand either so be prepared to spend a lot of time reading strategy This is written under patch 1.3 and I will not really focus on bugs. I have played HOI2, and find HOI3 to be a good upgrade of this game. It's got an all new game engine (which I assume will be used by Paradox for various games for several years = addons) The game is complex, very complex. It does not really hold your hand either so be prepared to spend a lot of time reading strategy guides, forums, manuals and pressing buttons to see what happens. You can do research, building units, managing economy, espionage and diplomacy and a whole lot of other things a world leader must cope with. But this makes for a serious WW2 game where you can change the history if you want to (another review makes this a problem, a real simulator is boring as we KNOW Nazi-Germany lost) Some of the fun playing a small country is to see whether you can avoid the historical fate. The game has serious replay value since you can play all the different countries of the time, and even the same country can be played differently. Pros: Lots of details, lots of sliders and options to be micromanaged You can play as any country of your given starting time. AI will do the things you don`t, so you can choose the level of micromanagment you want to do. Cons Runs slow, not really optimized No windowed mode, I play on dual screen, and the need to read manuals and guides makes the alt+tab really painful. Conclusion A game for the serious, not a casual game, but it will reward you for being persistent and learning the game. Great WW2 strategy game with lots of detail. Expand
  3. NickR
    Dec 13, 2009
    8
    Impressive up step from HOI2. Chain of command is awesome , intelligence and espionage improved, research is improved (epically like practical/theoretical bit about it). Have had some bug troubles with supply in 1.3 , hopefully they will be resolved.
  4. Lucian
    Sep 9, 2009
    8
    Once again Paradox have delivered an absoulutly emense game in both sheer physical size and depth. The learning curve for those new to the series has been flattend, although the game still demands a lot of the player the effort to reward ratio is very well matched. It can be said that palying with history is fun and Hearts of Iron 3 makes it so. Hats off to Paradox for delivering a game Once again Paradox have delivered an absoulutly emense game in both sheer physical size and depth. The learning curve for those new to the series has been flattend, although the game still demands a lot of the player the effort to reward ratio is very well matched. It can be said that palying with history is fun and Hearts of Iron 3 makes it so. Hats off to Paradox for delivering a game ON TIME and well developed. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    I'm playing this game with all the major DLC in 2013. I had played some other more popular paradox titles and figured this one was worth a shot despite some of the harsh reviews. I think if you can get to grips with this game, it's a very satisfying grand strategy experience. While the game lets you play as any nation you want, most of them are a very boring experience, play as any of theI'm playing this game with all the major DLC in 2013. I had played some other more popular paradox titles and figured this one was worth a shot despite some of the harsh reviews. I think if you can get to grips with this game, it's a very satisfying grand strategy experience. While the game lets you play as any nation you want, most of them are a very boring experience, play as any of the majors and you'll have as much as a hundred or more hours of fun. A lot of time has to be spent organising and preparing things, a casual gamer who just wants to jump right in and play is going to be in for a disappointment I feel.

    I will say that I had some minor performance issues to begin with but they were resolved quickly via the tech support forum.

    Scoring this game a 10 might not seem accurate but if a game provides me with a hundred or more hours of entertainment, it deserves a 10.
    Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    Even though the game had a near disastrous launch, it is a pretty good game now with Semper Fi. From the Motherland should raise it to excellent. This was a very ambitious project from a middle market game developer so I am inclined to be somewhat more understanding as compared to Firaxis and the piece of crap Civ 5. Hopefully Paradox has learned from their lesson and continues to put outEven though the game had a near disastrous launch, it is a pretty good game now with Semper Fi. From the Motherland should raise it to excellent. This was a very ambitious project from a middle market game developer so I am inclined to be somewhat more understanding as compared to Firaxis and the piece of crap Civ 5. Hopefully Paradox has learned from their lesson and continues to put out quality products in the future. Expand
  7. MikeH
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    The great Grand Strategy war game I've been waiting for since the Apple II. Minor bugs here and there that will get fixed don't dilute the fact that running a true World War, and delegating items that bore you to the AI, is like a history time lab. You can see how the world could have turned out very different. I am loving this one.
  8. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    best game with this timeline. there is nothing else outhere, with this kind of complexity. if you love great strategy games you should give hoi III a try.
  9. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    It has taken a LOT of time for the team to get this game in shape. But as it stands presently, this is a really good game and the best WWII grand strategy game available. Be prepared to invest hundreds of hours into learning how it all works, for it isn't easy to get all the parts flowing together. Once you are in war it's an overdose of continuous micromanagement of EVERYTHING in theIt has taken a LOT of time for the team to get this game in shape. But as it stands presently, this is a really good game and the best WWII grand strategy game available. Be prepared to invest hundreds of hours into learning how it all works, for it isn't easy to get all the parts flowing together. Once you are in war it's an overdose of continuous micromanagement of EVERYTHING in the national war effort. Fortunately this game is still being developed and improved. It's not quite perfect but hats off to the team for lots of unceasing effort to make it work as well as it does. Keep the DLC coming! Whatever it takes! Expand
  10. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    The game teach us a lot and allow us to understand more about world war 2 if you dont know well about WW2 its the perfect game !
    you also can change the facts for example as Holand i can attack my neighbors and other more stuff u can do its ur country your decisions !
    they Devol did great job with the game and i really hope them the best specially that they are working on new game
    The game teach us a lot and allow us to understand more about world war 2 if you dont know well about WW2 its the perfect game !
    you also can change the facts for example as Holand i can attack my neighbors and other more stuff u can do its ur country your decisions !
    they Devol did great job with the game and i really hope them the best specially that they are working on new game which i will buy to support their work.
    Expand
  11. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    I always wanted a game where you can control an entire nation to greatness. I played Civ (to my shame), whose crappy excuse of combat and diplomacy soon drove me away. Then I discovered HOI3. I have to say, it is a really satisfying game. Once you actually understand at least some of the control system, that is. Having not played the previous games in the series, I was a "n00b", and evenI always wanted a game where you can control an entire nation to greatness. I played Civ (to my shame), whose crappy excuse of combat and diplomacy soon drove me away. Then I discovered HOI3. I have to say, it is a really satisfying game. Once you actually understand at least some of the control system, that is. Having not played the previous games in the series, I was a "n00b", and even now, some aspects of the game still eludes me. This probably would have been alleviated to some degree if the devs had actually thought to give some hint boxes on certain screens to help newbies like me understand the game. My gameplay, while not afflicted by bugs, seemed to be marred by some weird game mechanics. Naval combat, for example, often tell me that I had lost no ships and sunk over a dozen of the enemy's, thus somehow losing the battle. The diplomacy is also annoying, in that everyone joins the Allies, and the fact that you cannot trade land. I mean, i wanted to have the power to negotiate with my powers over how to divide up land so that New Zealand will not randomly have a pathetic province in the middle of my territories.
    That aside, overall the gameplay is fun, but atrociously slow. I have yet to use the two fastest options for the game speed for fear that I might some back and find out that I had lost half my provinces. it takes ages to go one year, especially when you are at war. In conclusion, good game, but with some very very complex gameplay. (There is an official manual for it, and it's almost 100 pages) The payoff is good though, despite some odd mechanics and the occasional bugs.
    Expand
  12. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    After a few years of patching and expansions, HOI3 has become the gold standard in WW2 grand strategy simulation (surpassing HOI2 before it). Deeper and more complex than anything else by a wide margin, nothing else can bring you closer to realistically controlling a nation in a sandbox WW2 setting. It's obviously not for all audiences and has a cliff-like learning curve, but anyone withAfter a few years of patching and expansions, HOI3 has become the gold standard in WW2 grand strategy simulation (surpassing HOI2 before it). Deeper and more complex than anything else by a wide margin, nothing else can bring you closer to realistically controlling a nation in a sandbox WW2 setting. It's obviously not for all audiences and has a cliff-like learning curve, but anyone with an interest needs to give it a serious try. The poor reviews here remind me what a shame it is that Paradox releases their games in such unplayable states. Considering they always patch them into much better games, the bad initial reviews just leave a horrible impression to potential newcomers. HOI3 is leaps and bounds better than it was on release. I hope PI adopts a paid beta model for the hardcore fans to help them work out the bugs and balance before a general launch. Expand
  13. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    the game has come through a huge change. all the patches and the DLCs make the game one of the best world war two game that there is out there. i had a lot of fun with the game.
  14. YermakirumY.
    Apr 26, 2010
    9
    Very good game.
  15. OliverK
    Aug 13, 2009
    9
    A great game when it is patched up to 1.4. A few bugs and optimization issues, but nothing that can't be fixed. The structure upon which to build is rock-solid. Gameplay is addictive, absorbing, and, most importantly, a lot of fun. Buy this game if you have any interest in grand strategy.
  16. YsyB
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    first thing i'm not an english spoker so sry for my bad english.I think the game deserves a 9 cuz it's great game i think, i've played stratedy games for ever.The level of realism of the AI is very good!i've tryed many triks to see enemy's capacity attaking flanks cuting regions...etc and wow the enemy was answering with flankings,,,tryng to cut my supply road first thing i'm not an english spoker so sry for my bad english.I think the game deserves a 9 cuz it's great game i think, i've played stratedy games for ever.The level of realism of the AI is very good!i've tryed many triks to see enemy's capacity attaking flanks cuting regions...etc and wow the enemy was answering with flankings,,,tryng to cut my supply road strategic bombings on my industry ,and tryng to circle me very nice!I enjoy a game where the Ai puts me in dificulty.BUT the performace is very bad....the game is perfect and very very realistic and everything but i think i wasn't necesary to offer the possibility to play in China Africa new zelland Australial....to complex i think the performance is bad for that reason...i enjoy the first 20 min then i lose fps....I've played even ver 2 very smoth unlike this one.I'm waiting for 1,4 hoping that will render the game better! Expand
  17. TM
    Aug 8, 2009
    9
    Hearts of Iron 3 is the most in-depth strategy game i have played. however it is like unfortunately most new games coming out now and is full of brutal errors and bugs. So the rating i give it is really based on the future potentional of the game, as after a few patches will be the game everyone wants it to be
  18. HåkanG
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    The game is a great step forward from HoI2. The command chain is impressive and the modular divisions give the player a lot of room to customize their armies. What many people don't really grasp is that the research system is very realistic. You are neither looked in historical options, nor can you disregard the traits your nation have. You start out with both theoretical and The game is a great step forward from HoI2. The command chain is impressive and the modular divisions give the player a lot of room to customize their armies. What many people don't really grasp is that the research system is very realistic. You are neither looked in historical options, nor can you disregard the traits your nation have. You start out with both theoretical and practical capacities in a wide range of areas, and the more you focus on thiose areas the better you become. But the reverse is also true, for example. Germany is good at submarines at the start of the game, but if you as Germany don't build a single submarine or even research submarine technology, then your capacity in both submarine research and building subs will dwindle. The game is very playable with the current patch 1.3, and it will be supported further. Expand
  19. EliasO
    Aug 11, 2009
    10
    Great game - once the game has ironed out some bugs and fixed performance issues as Zach G already said. Hooowever, just because a developers name isn't Blizzard doesn't mean that they don't have a feeling for quality. (WoW has faced many issues..) Blizzard, however - have alot of money and can basicly decide their own development time - other have to work quickly, maybe Great game - once the game has ironed out some bugs and fixed performance issues as Zach G already said. Hooowever, just because a developers name isn't Blizzard doesn't mean that they don't have a feeling for quality. (WoW has faced many issues..) Blizzard, however - have alot of money and can basicly decide their own development time - other have to work quickly, maybe even stressed and release it... This game is definetly worth my money (supporting Paradox) and the value will grow over time. 10/10! Expand
  20. RobertE
    Aug 12, 2009
    9
    Amazing game in spite of a shaky release. If it was another company, I'd give the game an 8, but I have faith that Paradox will fix the bugs, AI and map problem, and add content, as they have done so with their past games. The actual mechanics they have made for the game though are nothing short of brilliant. The system for land, air, and sea battles are by far the best simulated in Amazing game in spite of a shaky release. If it was another company, I'd give the game an 8, but I have faith that Paradox will fix the bugs, AI and map problem, and add content, as they have done so with their past games. The actual mechanics they have made for the game though are nothing short of brilliant. The system for land, air, and sea battles are by far the best simulated in a Paradox game. The ability to create a command structure and customize brigades and the like is amazing. The tech system is once again, the best in any Paradox game, from Hearts of Iron 2 to Victoria. Diplomacy needs work, mostly AI work, as do events, but as long as Paradox addresses these problems this will be the epitome of World War 2 gaming for a long time to come, and for a much wider audience too this time, as it is very intuitive and much easier to play than their past games without losing anything in complexity. Expand
  21. AndreasL
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    This game has the potential to become the greatest strategy game ever. Right now, it has some severe bugs, and the AI needs tweaking, but Paradox is working hard to iron out all the bugs.
  22. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    COMPLETELY DISREGARD ALL OF THESE NEGATIVE REVIEWS! IT IS NOW 2011 AND THE GAME IS NO LONGER BUGGY OR S****TY! If you are looking to buy this game, go on youtube and watch some gameplay vids first, before you buy it. This game is very complex, and takes awhile to learn. I absolutely love it, and have spent 220+ hours on it. It makes you feel like the commander of a country during WW2, andCOMPLETELY DISREGARD ALL OF THESE NEGATIVE REVIEWS! IT IS NOW 2011 AND THE GAME IS NO LONGER BUGGY OR S****TY! If you are looking to buy this game, go on youtube and watch some gameplay vids first, before you buy it. This game is very complex, and takes awhile to learn. I absolutely love it, and have spent 220+ hours on it. It makes you feel like the commander of a country during WW2, and I love how you can play as anyone. The only downside is that nobody plays multiplayer, and whenever you try to connect to someone it doesn't work. And the AI gets frustrating to play with after 50+ games, because it is quite repetitive. But besides those two things, its a great game. Expand
  23. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Finally after all of the major expansion packs and a decent mod for you historical players, HOI3 is not only playable but enjoyable as a very nice WW2/early cold war simulator. If you like grand strategy, definitely pick it AND the expansions up.
  24. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Great game but only with all expansions. With such complicated game you can't avoid bugs. The only downside is that after new add-on developers are patching newer expansion so you need to get them all. Right now game is playable, fun as hell and there is 100000000 mods for it on official paradox forum.
  25. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    I love this game, so much detail, every brigade in WW2 is modeled with their appropriate commanders, and the sheer detail on the map.I believe it gets pretty close to being the perfect model for a WW2 strategy war game.
  26. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    This game is addicting, pure and simple. It took awhile for the Hearts of Iron 2 fans to jump onto this wagon, but trust me, they did. The game is a huge improvement over its prequel. More provinces, a more advanced tech tree, in-depth OOB and a prettier interface. Don't pass HOI3 up, because you'll be missing out.
  27. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    I think its a solid 8/10 game. It requires a lot of effort to learn how different aspects of the game works but overall its very worth it to get into. Just make sure you buy the expansions as Paradox isn't known for its willingness to patch games after release unless its in the form of an expansion.
  28. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I think, Hearts of Iron is a great franchise. Perhaps the best strategy genre, but I like Supreme Ruler Cold War, also.
    What I am slowly realizing is, that Hitler saw the devil in the details. What if the theory tabs were researched to the latest date and beyond, pertaining to 'naval theory', 'infantry theory', etc.? It seems, that if pure science keeps on advancing, and people are not
    I think, Hearts of Iron is a great franchise. Perhaps the best strategy genre, but I like Supreme Ruler Cold War, also.
    What I am slowly realizing is, that Hitler saw the devil in the details. What if the theory tabs were researched to the latest date and beyond, pertaining to 'naval theory', 'infantry theory', etc.? It seems, that if pure science keeps on advancing, and people are not taught other branches, then every person who learns pure science, applies the science to practicality, pertaining to the personal. Seemingly, if the theory of naval science is advanced, then as and when it is pertaining, the science can be applied, in the degree that is required. This teaching of science might make the human more free, and not more interdependent, but less.
    In short, if the theory of an aircraft carrier has been recognized as a practical option, then, if aeronautical engineering is advanced to levels in 1943, in the year 1938, the aircraft carrier, if one has been built, should be effortlessly upgraded to the levels of technology in 1943. But, the more we crystallize technology into a process, the more it binds us. Science is seen to be progressing, but we can also see science to be regressing, to the origin of the meaning of the discipline. We want to know what the meaning of science applies to itself.
    Expand
  29. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hoi3 is all most the grand daddy of WW2 strategic games. For those looking for improvement of TOAW series this is it, with only the transportation scheme lacking in realism. Railroads not introduced with 25-30 mph speeds. Fighting uprisings becomes somewhat annoying but improves your planning and creates highly experienced units. Unit creating is diverse and battles can unfold into victory with the right units at hand. Air combat is somewhat lacking. Naval combat must be monitored very closely with air support and reinforcements. In my 1st game as Germany I took over Allies and USSR by Feb. 42' with USA not issue'ing DOW. The planning and managing aspects of this game make for a different game experience every game. Expand
  30. Jun 1, 2016
    10
    An all around amazing game with more features and on a larger scale than any game I have ever seen.
    It's a good game, but for people new to the series it might seem a little hard to get in to.
    It was not for me but it is a really great game that i suggest anyone to play. If you're having issues learning the game and you feel it is too hard. Then search it up on YouTube, and you are
    An all around amazing game with more features and on a larger scale than any game I have ever seen.
    It's a good game, but for people new to the series it might seem a little hard to get in to.
    It was not for me but it is a really great game that i suggest anyone to play.
    If you're having issues learning the game and you feel it is too hard.
    Then search it up on YouTube, and you are sure to find very good and helpfull videos and also a very helpful community on their forums
    "In Paradox We Trust And They Shall Deliver" - Me may 31 2016
    Expand
  31. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    This game is literally the best strategy game I have ever had the pleasure of playing, if you suck a the game, chances are, it's out of your intellectual league. I understood the game after watching a few tutorials and a quick failure by trying to use mannsteins sicklestroke plan, when the schliefen plan was much better for the game. I had a great understanding of all of the mechanics andThis game is literally the best strategy game I have ever had the pleasure of playing, if you suck a the game, chances are, it's out of your intellectual league. I understood the game after watching a few tutorials and a quick failure by trying to use mannsteins sicklestroke plan, when the schliefen plan was much better for the game. I had a great understanding of all of the mechanics and the limitations of the game afterwards. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Hearts of Iron 3 is by far the most complicated and in-depth strategy game I’ve ever played. My big issue with it is that I didn’t have much fun with the game after delving through hours of menus: it wasn’t until I actually experienced some combat that the game stopped feeling stale.
  2. 70
    Everything is in place for an absolutely great game that's unfortunately bogged down in a mess of bad design decisions, bugs, and some odd gameplay changes.
  3. Reduced micromanagement and streamlined automation make Hearts of Iron III an absorbing game of grand strategy.