• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Heritage of Kings: The Settlers Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Heritage of Kings: The Settlers is a world-building strategy game with fully rendered 3D visuals and unavoidably addictive gameplay. Players can dive into a detailed medieval world offering a unique mix of RTS and simulation gameplay. A fully functioning community can be created, new advancements can be discovered, and enemy forces will be repelled! [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. It is almost a management sim, like "Majesty" was...and it is almost a military sim, like "Starcraft" or "Age of Mythology." But it is unique in its design and only suffers from a few design flaws.
  2. Heritage of Kings isn’t a bad game, although it doesn’t offer a whole lot more then other resource driven real time strategies that are available.
  3. Addictive and compelling are not words that would be used to describe the gameplay.
  4. The graphics are good, but every other feature is just scooped up from a number of other strategy games, and spread thinly.
  5. It's not awful. Just empty. [March 2005, p.106]
  6. While Heritage Of Kings has taken the series in a new direction without completely uprooting itself from the settlement-crafting past, it’s not been a successful evolution. Even the most lethargic and undemanding of gamers will quickly become bored of the gambolling wildlife and labouring peasants. [March 2005, p.87]
  7. Like David Hasselhoff's singing career, Settlers is popular in Germany and just sort of barely tolerated elsewhere. [June 2005, p.96]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 12 out of 22
  1. B.A.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Best game ever played.
  2. DanielE.
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    If the demo is anything to go by this game is going to be worth it's money, Warcraft 3 type of camera which is a bit crappy otherwise best played in a long time. Expand
  3. Th-WB
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    I do like the graphics and the music, but the building of a city costs a lot of time and the AI is dumb. I get stuck as a rule around level 7 or so but I reached the end without any difficulties. Each level is roughly 1.30 hours building and 1 hour slashing. Expand
  4. AndyR.
    Dec 17, 2004
    3
    If you're a fan of the settlers series you'll be gobsmacked by this effort, it's NOTHING like the settlers AT ALL! it's more like a mix of empire earth crossed with stronghold. Sure the graphics look nice, but since when has settlers had a currency!? any what is with buying settlers!? The whole game has just shattered the original settlers economics. Having said that, if it wasn't titled as part of the settlers series, it would be a rather good game. Expand
  5. KobraC.
    Feb 26, 2005
    3
    Absolute garbage.. No AI in Multiplayer/Lan, butchery of the Settlers name. This game is destined for the bargin bin - within a week!
  6. Jam
    Feb 25, 2005
    2
    Playing this game was very boring. After 8 hours of playing retail version I simply uninstalled it, because there were no fun. Game is not interesting for me as old settlers fan, but for RTS strategy fans too. .I would rate: Graphics 9 of 10, GamePlay 1/10. Expand
  7. Color_42
    Feb 26, 2005
    0
    This game should not be called settlers even! Im happy I didnt buy it borrewd it from a friend that got borred in a day I couldnt belive it at first but now after 5missions Im unistalling it HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE GOOD OLD SETTLERS which i played since the first one :( Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews