User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 423

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GuG.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    This game is my personal pick for game of the year, yes, I actually think it is a better game than Oblivion(definitely second). If you thought previous Hitman games were pretty good or so-so(or even bad) this one is completely different and better in every way. Amazing levels, great (although simple) story, PERFECT music, the customization, and the multiple ways to kill people. In This game is my personal pick for game of the year, yes, I actually think it is a better game than Oblivion(definitely second). If you thought previous Hitman games were pretty good or so-so(or even bad) this one is completely different and better in every way. Amazing levels, great (although simple) story, PERFECT music, the customization, and the multiple ways to kill people. In previous hitman games, it never really felt realistic, even in Contracts were there were multiple methods, there wasnt as many as there should have been. Each level is insanely replayable, so much that I started a new game RIGHT AFTER I beat this. There are some bugs, but they aren't really noticeable and don't get in the way. Oh, and this game has easily the best ending in any game I've ever seen (although you might miss it, you have to do something). Expand
  2. ZachP.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, but only those with patience and a brain should play. For those that are just looking to shoot things up, you may find the game difficult. For those of you used to playing Splinter Cell, you may find this game to be a little linear. For those of you with an open mind and a little background in the Hitman series, there's plenty of replay value. You can keep going back Excellent game, but only those with patience and a brain should play. For those that are just looking to shoot things up, you may find the game difficult. For those of you used to playing Splinter Cell, you may find this game to be a little linear. For those of you with an open mind and a little background in the Hitman series, there's plenty of replay value. You can keep going back to try a different way to accomplish a mission. There are 2 major ways to accomplish a mission: A sneaky, your-own-way sort of approach, and then there's the cool way: For example, in one level, few players realize this, but the huge chandelier above the theater can be "detached" from it's winch. A carefully timed explosion at the top can cause the chandelier to crush your target, leaving minimal evidence behind. Try it sometime! Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    It's funny how this game is still as enjoyable as it was at it's release. Stealth games simply don't get better then blood money and,granted, this game is most certainly underrated. This sort of gaming equivelent of "Dexter" is nothing short of brilliant. The missions are special, each in their own way. There are, literally, dozens of possible ways of completing a mission, and if youIt's funny how this game is still as enjoyable as it was at it's release. Stealth games simply don't get better then blood money and,granted, this game is most certainly underrated. This sort of gaming equivelent of "Dexter" is nothing short of brilliant. The missions are special, each in their own way. There are, literally, dozens of possible ways of completing a mission, and if you replay missions, you'l find more and more hilarious possibilities of kiling. You can be slyish sneaky, or a psychopath, whichever suits your mood. But the game never tells you to do things in a certain way and There are multiple paths and choices for every mission. The story is surprisingly good, and quite subtle as well. You don't get bombing production values, but with every mission you feel like things are getting more complicated and interesting. In short: An overlooked stealth game with personality and high replay value, that is fun as heck. Hands on for Absolution. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    this game is the f **** just like the other hitman game (Y)
    in the other hand absolution is crap i **** that game out. that game F the whole hitman series its hitman not a drama queen he wants money and kill people for that not turn on the agency **** splinter cell convition bull****....
  5. Sensi
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    This is the best hitman of the serie to date, i don't understand why it have a 8/10 average rating like the first one, it deserve far more than that. But when you see the average rating of half-life 2 on metacritic (96%) while this is one of the most boring game that i have bought in my decades of game pratice, you relativize... To Jack J. reviewer that gave it a 0 because he This is the best hitman of the serie to date, i don't understand why it have a 8/10 average rating like the first one, it deserve far more than that. But when you see the average rating of half-life 2 on metacritic (96%) while this is one of the most boring game that i have bought in my decades of game pratice, you relativize... To Jack J. reviewer that gave it a 0 because he doesn't know how to make his PC work, you should be ashamed... I have a middle range PC, loading times are about 3 seconds to load a level, i had not any single crash, nor visible bug if you except the movies wrong size that occured before patch 1.1 -released the same week than the game- and performance is excellent with all the eye-candy stuff turned on and with a more than decent resolution (1280x1024)... In a word, learn how to use or maintain your PC instead of whining that it is the game that doesn't work. This game deserve something equal or over a solid 9/10 - 90% rating, period. Expand
  6. LysanderS
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    Only lowered it to a 9 because of the number of graphics glitches, and because each mission plays out in the exact same way each time.Every character has a scripted routine which they follow, and it gets all too repetetive. And as for graphics glitches...*shudders*...the most prominent and annoying one has to be the way the fibre wire goes through every characters' neck when you try Only lowered it to a 9 because of the number of graphics glitches, and because each mission plays out in the exact same way each time.Every character has a scripted routine which they follow, and it gets all too repetetive. And as for graphics glitches...*shudders*...the most prominent and annoying one has to be the way the fibre wire goes through every characters' neck when you try to strangle them. Really ruins the atmosphere. Other than that, fantastic game. Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    This game never gets old. It's fun to take out your targets whether its running in there and using your weapons, environment etc. There's a lot of ways to do it.
  8. May 28, 2014
    9
    while not a particular breakthrough from HM2, Blood Money was still fantastic and an experience I'm glad I can play at any time with steam. **** hell I might just.
  9. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    2011 and still coming back to this game. There are stealth games then there is this. I put this in its own category because unlike other stealth games in which you either hide in shadows/boxes/etc., in Hitman: Blood Money you can hide in shadows or "hide" in plain sight. Taking you full control of playing any type of hit man you desire to be. Of course the option of getting the biggest2011 and still coming back to this game. There are stealth games then there is this. I put this in its own category because unlike other stealth games in which you either hide in shadows/boxes/etc., in Hitman: Blood Money you can hide in shadows or "hide" in plain sight. Taking you full control of playing any type of hit man you desire to be. Of course the option of getting the biggest gun and shooting everything is sight is always there. Every time I play this game i find a new way to complete the objective or paths to take that it feels fresh. Great mechanics, great music, great environment, each level being completely different. Though of course it is not perfect. The NPC are not the smartest in the world and though the character models look good seems like they had only one male and one female model for the whole game. They just added new skins. Last thing I can complain about it is the controls, a bit of a learning curve. Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    The best stealth game I have ever played. The graphics are still pretty great, even 5 years on. Makes all other Hitman games obsolete. I also love how many different ways there are to complete each mission, and how it's possible to complete the game without firing a single shot. There's no better feeling in a game than killing your targets by making them all look like accidents, andThe best stealth game I have ever played. The graphics are still pretty great, even 5 years on. Makes all other Hitman games obsolete. I also love how many different ways there are to complete each mission, and how it's possible to complete the game without firing a single shot. There's no better feeling in a game than killing your targets by making them all look like accidents, and walking back out past security as though you were never there. The level of weapon customization is also pretty impressive, you can upgrade guns more than you can in CoD games. My only criticisms would be towards the quality of some of the character's faces (the game's also a few years old now, so that's understandable). I also found the main story to be not very compelling and weird, and above all, unnecessary. I mean, it's called Hitman, you don't really need more of an explanation for why you're doing the stuff you're doing. I also did find occasional errors where I would be detected even where there's no logical reason for it happening, and civilians being credited as witnesses, even though there were none. But again, these are just minor flaws in a pretty impressive package. If you even mildly liked the other Hitman games, you will LOVE this. Collapse
  11. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    Highly highly recommend this game! It really is an improvement on the previous titles, the sheer number of ways to carry out your goals is brilliant, the locations seem realistic and lively and the backstories and settings for your target add wonderful fluff to the game. The 'infamy meter' is also a fantastic addition to the gameplay, giving a sense of continuity to the missions andHighly highly recommend this game! It really is an improvement on the previous titles, the sheer number of ways to carry out your goals is brilliant, the locations seem realistic and lively and the backstories and settings for your target add wonderful fluff to the game. The 'infamy meter' is also a fantastic addition to the gameplay, giving a sense of continuity to the missions and possible penalties for messing up a mission can bite you on the ass really is well done. The way the ranged weaponry is done could be improved however but if you're intending to go through running and gunning I think you're doing it wrong. So perhaps it is meant to deter you from doing that.
    Great game, get it.
    Expand
  12. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    I think this game is the best hitman game to date because it added many innovations to the series like the accidents and the ability to buy weapon upgrades. It has a very good story but not as good as Hitman 2 Silent Assassin which in my opinion had the best story in the whole series.The graphics are good and the AI is one of the best AIs. The only bad thing I can find is that you can'tI think this game is the best hitman game to date because it added many innovations to the series like the accidents and the ability to buy weapon upgrades. It has a very good story but not as good as Hitman 2 Silent Assassin which in my opinion had the best story in the whole series.The graphics are good and the AI is one of the best AIs. The only bad thing I can find is that you can't upgrade the weapons you find during the playthrough but it's not important.I recommend this to every one. Expand
  13. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    Loved this game! Especially by comparison with Assassin's Creed - this is far better! I mean, common, just look at the variety of missions (not gonna spoil all the fun) as compared with Assassin Creed's boring one-liners!
  14. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    I played this game a few years back, beaten it multiple times on different difficulties to get the ranks on the levels, that was on my PS2 but now i'm back for more with the PC version, yes, I didn't want to own the same game in 2 platforms before. I'm making an exception with this one, and it's definitely worth it.
  15. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    There's a lot more focus on interaction with the level's environment in this Hitman than any of the others. The AI aren't randomly sparked off like the previous games either. If you've calculated your methodology, the execution is a piece of cake. You now get money for each mission and can use this to upgrade guns, rather than just buying them for each mission like in Codename 47 or notThere's a lot more focus on interaction with the level's environment in this Hitman than any of the others. The AI aren't randomly sparked off like the previous games either. If you've calculated your methodology, the execution is a piece of cake. You now get money for each mission and can use this to upgrade guns, rather than just buying them for each mission like in Codename 47 or not buying at all in Hitman 2 and Contracts. Soundtrack- as always with Hitman- is very suspensful and creates the desired atmosphere perfectly. The only real issue with this game is that there isn't enough ways to approach each mission. Having said that, the levels of difficulty and online leaderboards (which don't work anymore) make up for it. It's definitely a 7th generation Hitman. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Although the curve can be a little offputting at first, it is easy to figure out once you get into it. Also quite worth it. It is hard to learn because it gives you so many options! Every Level is different, and replayability is almost infinite! Finished the game blasting through everyone? Try being sneaky! Or :O try it on a harder difficulty. In Hitman Blood Money the difficulty actuallyAlthough the curve can be a little offputting at first, it is easy to figure out once you get into it. Also quite worth it. It is hard to learn because it gives you so many options! Every Level is different, and replayability is almost infinite! Finished the game blasting through everyone? Try being sneaky! Or :O try it on a harder difficulty. In Hitman Blood Money the difficulty actually makes a difference! Loved every second of this game, and am still loving it starting all over. This game has an amazing story, pretty good graphics, especially for when it came out, great variety, challenge, and lots of potential to get...... creative! This game inspires a unique sense of morbid creativity the likes of which very few other games will let you experience. Your marks are certainly going to die, but how, when, and where they do, is only limited by your imagination. Expand
  17. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Really well designed game where you can be messy or you can be clean. Being clean and perfect can be an incredibly difficult and yet rewarding task. No hand holding, no objective markers, use your brains.
  18. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    It may be several years old now, but first ever experience with a Hitman game made me wonder why I managed to miss this gem. Obviously, the graphical fidelity isn't what we're used to from a modern game, and it does feel clunky at times, but it's still immensely playable. First off, you genuinely can take multiple approaches to your kill-targets and be stealthy or loud and brutal. As manyIt may be several years old now, but first ever experience with a Hitman game made me wonder why I managed to miss this gem. Obviously, the graphical fidelity isn't what we're used to from a modern game, and it does feel clunky at times, but it's still immensely playable. First off, you genuinely can take multiple approaches to your kill-targets and be stealthy or loud and brutal. As many of you have said on this forum, the game doesn't hold your hand, you have some simple weapons, a target-list and the rest is up to you. I suppose it this were 2006, I would be giving this a 9. Expand
  19. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is still, and will be the best Hitman game ever. The mechanic is great, the map is great, 47 in Blood Money is great. A better purchase than Absolution.
  20. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Hitman Blood Money gives you an epic feeling and is by far the best stealth game ever made. Alltho there is some glitches and random bugs, this game is fantastic with you're choice of weapon and you're choice of dealing with the bad guys.
  21. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    The outstanding level variation is similar to games like Tony Hawk's Pro Skater. I don't think many games have done something that radical in getting a bunch of wildly different scenarios packed into one tense game.
  22. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    People giving this game low score got to be joking. This is not only a squel to a successful series, this is so far the best one. Its different somehow, because there is no more "special services" mission when you make 10 missions to the same client, its much more focused: you get in, get the guy (its not that easy) and get out. What happens inside- thats up to you. whether or not you killPeople giving this game low score got to be joking. This is not only a squel to a successful series, this is so far the best one. Its different somehow, because there is no more "special services" mission when you make 10 missions to the same client, its much more focused: you get in, get the guy (its not that easy) and get out. What happens inside- thats up to you. whether or not you kill innocent people, whether you leave withnesses, if you shoot the target, poison it, or give him "accident", thats up to you, and its effect last: If you leave withnesses or get caught on security tape (and not destroy it on time) people might recognize you in the following missions (unless you bribe them). You get money for each mission but lose part of your cut if you leave mess that need to be cleaned, even if you just left your famious toxido or pistol in the scene and it need to be picked up. And its always fun to read your "stats" in the news paper in the end of each level, where they describe your assassination, depening on how you did it, of course. I did not expirience any bugs with the game. For the no mid-game savings issue- This is halarious because the game does offer savings, for easier difficulty levels- So if you rather save every few minutes than carefully planning, Just pick up easy difficulty, there is nothing wrong with it, sometimes I run out of patience too, just dont pick up the hardest and complain about it, because the game would never be hard enough if you could save- It was the same with previous hitman titles as well.
    Another good aspect is the story- Most missions are seperated from the others but there is a good story behind the game and a big and thrilling twist in the very last missin
    I think it deserve a 9, but I wanted to balance the not good enough score
    Expand
  23. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    In my Top 10 Games of All Time, Hitman: Blood Money EASILY goes down as a 5th or 4th.
    Everything in the game just works perfectly, it almost flows like a ballet.
    Literally, everything down to graphic visuals, story, gameplay and soundtrack is top notch. Of course, that doesn't mean it's 100% perfect, for example the ragdoll physics and animations look a bit sloppy and every female and male
    In my Top 10 Games of All Time, Hitman: Blood Money EASILY goes down as a 5th or 4th.
    Everything in the game just works perfectly, it almost flows like a ballet.
    Literally, everything down to graphic visuals, story, gameplay and soundtrack is top notch. Of course, that doesn't mean it's 100% perfect, for example the ragdoll physics and animations look a bit sloppy and every female and male character in the game shares the same body model. But ignoring that, it's one hell of a ride.

    I think what I enjoy most about Hitman: Blood Money, is the fact that it makes you FEEL like an assassin. Like a highly professional HITMAN. Every mission is unique and will keep you occupied for quite some time while you wander around in the area, thinking how you should kill your target. It's like being Sherlock Holmes, that is, if Sherlock Holmes was a homicidal brute.

    Music is great, exactly what you would expect from Jesper Kyd. Have to say, that opening with the raven sitting on a dead tree with Ave Maria playing in the background sucked me right into the game.

    Others may say that you have the choice of going in guns blazing, or being a silent sneaky murderer. Well, I have to say that's not quite true. When Eidos made Blood Money, I think they expected everyone to go in as a silent assassin and not shooting everything that moves. Trying to go into an area just roughing stuff up will prove quite difficult and will definitely kill you on the first 8 tries.

    Anyway, no matter how you twist it, Hitman: Blood Money is perhaps one of the most well-crafted video games ever and if you like stealth-based games, this one will be a 10/10 for you.
    Expand
  24. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    First off... you you havent played this game then: GO BUY IT, INSTALL IT, PLAY IT! This game is not generic stealth action game. It's a game in its own rights. The hitman series have been innovative since the beginning. Blood Money is more accessible than previous titles, yet it stills keeps the core of previous titles, only more hints for beginners. You can also buy intel about yourFirst off... you you havent played this game then: GO BUY IT, INSTALL IT, PLAY IT! This game is not generic stealth action game. It's a game in its own rights. The hitman series have been innovative since the beginning. Blood Money is more accessible than previous titles, yet it stills keeps the core of previous titles, only more hints for beginners. You can also buy intel about your targets but you are not forced to. This game also features a notriety system so after each level you an read in a newspaper about your latest hit and your notriety is affected by your performance. It also allows you to modify and buy parts to your guns and choose your inventory for each hit. This game places you in a level. Then its up to you to find and kill your targets. Due to the fact that it is not focused on story and scripted events, there is many, many, many different ways to kill your targets, which makes the replay-value high. The best hitman game since hitman 2 in my opinion! Despite a few bugs and glitches. Expand
  25. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    This kind of game is the reason why I play them at all. I gave it a 9 because I know it can be even better... Looking forward to the next one...
    Love it! :)
  26. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Agent 47 is back with his merciless killer instincts intact in the latest installment of hitman. The game stays faithful to it's roots with gameplay improvements for the good. The graphics and textures are slick, the cutscenes adhere to the main story and the number of ways you can kill your target are enormous..The satisfaction you get on perfect execution of a mission is worth experiencing...
  27. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Blood Money is THE classic stealth game. Polished masterpiece it isn't - it's hilariously bad in a lot of ways, the animations and ragdolls, the voice acting and models, but all that is rendered irrelevant. This has near infinite replayability, going through a level a thousand different ways, changing what you do only slightly. You owe it to yourself to play this atleast once, you won't be sorry.
  28. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    A good game, pretty much on the level of the previous games in the series. Just make sure you play it on highest difficulty level so that it were more of a puzzle game rather than a mediocre shooter. Nice ending
  29. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    This game was incredible. It had everything to it with it's sneaky atmosphere, it's tense moments, and it's outrageous fun. Moments when you would be caught dragging a body, those tense moments when that happened to me added more fun to the game completely. I entirely believe that this is the best Hitman game I have ever played, it's fantastic. Nothing lacked in this game, everything wasThis game was incredible. It had everything to it with it's sneaky atmosphere, it's tense moments, and it's outrageous fun. Moments when you would be caught dragging a body, those tense moments when that happened to me added more fun to the game completely. I entirely believe that this is the best Hitman game I have ever played, it's fantastic. Nothing lacked in this game, everything was perfect and spot-on. No "ifs", "and's", or "or's" about it. The ending of the game was a bit of a twist, which once again, added more fun to the game. I seriously hope someday Hitman is recognized for how well they made these games and not for just "I'm a spy, I'm just going to go murder people and try to finish the game with a good rating", try to play the game on it's hardest level, and try to be completely sneaky. It gets a bit irritating, but I think you will manage through it. Highly recommended for anyone interested in games where you need to be sneaky, or a spy-like game. It is completely amazing. Expand
  30. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Blood Money starts off by showing off it's own game engine, a beautiful-looking world that can be compared to modern games. The Glacier engine's mechanics also impressed me, a lot.

    Following a rather linear storyline, Agent 47 travels internationally to eliminate its targets on a contract by contract basis. The A.I isn't too great or awfully bad, for example, sometimes they will
    Blood Money starts off by showing off it's own game engine, a beautiful-looking world that can be compared to modern games. The Glacier engine's mechanics also impressed me, a lot.

    Following a rather linear storyline, Agent 47 travels internationally to eliminate its targets on a contract by contract basis.

    The A.I isn't too great or awfully bad, for example, sometimes they will start to attack you for no reason.

    One thing that i find unique about Blood Money (or maybe in any Hitman game), is the variety of ways you can take out your target. You can make it look like an accident, a cold gun battle or silent takedowns with the fiber wire.

    To end it off, it feels solid and maybe the best in the franchise. Titles in the series before Blood Money felt bitter and awful to me, so please start off with this game if you plan on buying.
    Posted: 25 January. Last edited: 28 January.
    Expand
  31. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    The best stealth game I have ever played. The graphics are still pretty great, even 5 years on. Makes all other Hitman games obsolete. I also love how many different ways there are to complete each mission, and how it's possible to complete the game without firing a single shot. There's no better feeling in a game than killing your targets by making them all look like accidents, andThe best stealth game I have ever played. The graphics are still pretty great, even 5 years on. Makes all other Hitman games obsolete. I also love how many different ways there are to complete each mission, and how it's possible to complete the game without firing a single shot. There's no better feeling in a game than killing your targets by making them all look like accidents, and walking back out past security as though you were never there. The level of weapon customization is also pretty impressive, you can upgrade guns more than you can in CoD games. My only criticisms would be towards the quality of some of the character's faces (the game's also a few years old now, so that's understandable). I also found the main story to be not very compelling and weird, and above all, unnecessary. I mean, it's called Hitman, you don't really need more of an explanation for why you're doing the stuff you're doing. I also did find occasional errors where I would be detected even where there's no logical reason for it happening, and civilians being credited as witnesses, even though there were none. But again, these are just minor flaws in a pretty impressive package. If you even mildly liked the other Hitman games, you will LOVE this. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. There's so much to do and see in this game, so many possibilities. It suits the careful player, but caters for the psychopath in you as well. You simply won't find a better executed execution game. [June 2006, p.86]
  2. With Eidos' latest foray into professional assassination, players will have to dig deep, wading through mission after mission of trial-and-error gameplay to hunt down a series of targets. [June 2006, p.49]
  3. While there's a lot to love about this series, and this entry in particular, Agent 47's world still foesn't offer the subtlety necessary for this great premise to really be satisfying. [June 2006, p.110]