Hitman: Codename 47 PC

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 189
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnD.
    Mar 12, 2002
    7
    Good game and lots of fun. Keeps you hooked. Down side is lack of game save. When you have advanced a long way in the game (after 10 missions) each mission can last up to two hours at a time. When I took on the drug lord in the jungle I managed to kill him and virtually complete the level only for my PC to crash. This happened several times. Two hours into the level and having to start Good game and lots of fun. Keeps you hooked. Down side is lack of game save. When you have advanced a long way in the game (after 10 missions) each mission can last up to two hours at a time. When I took on the drug lord in the jungle I managed to kill him and virtually complete the level only for my PC to crash. This happened several times. Two hours into the level and having to start again. Game save option is a must for any follow up. That besides I would recommend the game. Should be higher up this list though. It is better than "Anachronox." Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    5
    This game was terrible. Stealth didn't work, gives little help what to do. There is almost no plot. Terrible graphics. Steam overlay didn't work and wouldn't let you minimize the game, unlike anything I've played before. There was also a problem with not being able to run for some reason. The game is fun the few times it works. But that is few and far between. There is a game this has theThis game was terrible. Stealth didn't work, gives little help what to do. There is almost no plot. Terrible graphics. Steam overlay didn't work and wouldn't let you minimize the game, unlike anything I've played before. There was also a problem with not being able to run for some reason. The game is fun the few times it works. But that is few and far between. There is a game this has the worst user and critic rating of them all. It was poorly made. Expand
  3. JohnG.
    Aug 11, 2001
    5
    It's too delayed.
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    The best Hitman ever made, as well as the probably best stealth game. I wonder if will be there another game like this one, but I'm sure it won't. Great, funny and competitive gameplay, there's a lack of story (although the final missions are epic, especially the last 2 ones), but this game doesn't need it, because it's already great.
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    an OK game the graphics are a bit dated but it doesn't matter the sound and the gameplay is so fun it is a very hard game and yet there is no save game making it a really frustrating game but with good story it is not bad
  6. May 15, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2016
    6
    Definitely an original game that puts the player in the shoes of a hitman. At first the game has you killing Hong Kong Triad members and drug lords, but that all eventually leads to the awesome conclusion of your origin. Despite the lack of in game saves and A.I. problems, the atmosphere and tension in this game are second to none.
  8. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    Codename 47 was a classic game and really good for 2000. The rag-doll physics seemed perfect with the blend of a classic storyline and good features, including moderate graphics and a vast choice of weapons. All of this under one genre, stealth.
    It could have added a few more options like in-game saves, 2-3 more missions and create a more interactive environment.
  9. Feb 29, 2016
    5
    Well, it's hard to be objective. The game's from 2000 but playing it I had hard time with my eyes. It hurt me so much so I got myself cheats to play it through quicker.
  10. Oct 5, 2011
    0
    Yes the graphics were terrible, you can't save the game and some missions can be long and tedious, but I prefer the "work it out yourself" approach, which beats Blood Money's endless clues and hints on how to play the game. Sure, Codename 47 isn't interactive as such, but the arcade-style gameplay means you're not restricted. The game is punishing if you try shooting through everything-Yes the graphics were terrible, you can't save the game and some missions can be long and tedious, but I prefer the "work it out yourself" approach, which beats Blood Money's endless clues and hints on how to play the game. Sure, Codename 47 isn't interactive as such, but the arcade-style gameplay means you're not restricted. The game is punishing if you try shooting through everything- ublike Hitman 2- even on Normal difficulty. This Hitman feels a lot more exciting and more fun to play than other Hitmans. It certainly has its flaws, but because you can't save and the missions can be long, it's definitely the most rewarding than other games in the series. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. I would not hesitate to recommend it to other gamers, but with the caution that you should be prepared for a game that probably won't fit neatly into any mental box you might have prepared for it.
  2. Daily Radar
    100
    One of the coolest and most absorbing games we've played all year.
  3. 77
    I really had been looking forward to this one and it let me down in so many ways. If only it had been longer... If only the camera had been different... If only it had been a bit more mentally challenging.