Hitman: Codename 47 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of this old-fashioned, modern-time assassin, and stay alive long enough to revile your past. Think to survive and learn to plan your hits. Exploit your enemy's hideout in three continents, and go forward to get back to where you started. Enter the world and face your self amongTake control of this old-fashioned, modern-time assassin, and stay alive long enough to revile your past. Think to survive and learn to plan your hits. Exploit your enemy's hideout in three continents, and go forward to get back to where you started. Enter the world and face your self among madmen. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. One of the coolest and most absorbing games we've played all year.
  2. 90
    The combination of "Thief"-style sneaking with smart enemy A.I. and the use of realistic weapons-piano wire, silenced pistols, sniper rifles, and even M-60s-creates an intense experience, though many gamers will be frustrated by the lack of in-game saving.
  3. Great story, missions lack direction, but once you get used to the feel of Hitman it is really a great game.
  4. A fun game that gets fatally sidetracked. I coulda been a contender. [Mar 2001, p.96]
  5. Probably the best game-play design that I've seen in years; the game play is twitchy - if you're a purist you're going to have a conniption playing this.
  6. Hitman: Codename 47 does deliver a fair deal of excitement and suspense. The mysterious assassin, the stress on stealth, and a decent narrative make it well worth playing.
  7. Styled to appeal to the shooter crowd. Unfortunately, it feels as if the developer lavished too much attention on making the violence stylized and realistic, and then just threw a game around it. Great concept, extremely sloppy execution.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. JasonE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    This game is and was amazing, even almost seven years on, maybethe graphics are dated but the gameplay still takes your breath away and This game is and was amazing, even almost seven years on, maybethe graphics are dated but the gameplay still takes your breath away and leaves you thinking, whats happened to the gameplay today? Why has more effort been put into graphics whilst the gameplay gets left behind? Give me second rate graphcs and codename47 state gameplay any day. Expand
  2. TheJackal
    Jan 5, 2002
    10
    Great game!!!!
  3. CboB.
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    This is the best game since gta 4.
  4. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Yes the graphics were terrible, you can't save the game and some missions can be long and tedious, but I prefer the "work it out yourself"Yes the graphics were terrible, you can't save the game and some missions can be long and tedious, but I prefer the "work it out yourself" approach, which beats Blood Money's endless clues and hints on how to play the game. Sure, Codename 47 isn't interactive as such, but the arcade-style gameplay means you're not restricted. The game is punishing if you try shooting through everything- ublike Hitman 2- even on Normal difficulty. This Hitman feels a lot more exciting and more fun to play than other Hitmans. It certainly has its flaws, but because you can't save and the missions can be long, it's definitely the most rewarding than other games in the series. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2015
    8
    Hitman: Codename 47 is the first title of the wonderful hitman series and when it was released 15 years ago it was also probably the first ofHitman: Codename 47 is the first title of the wonderful hitman series and when it was released 15 years ago it was also probably the first of its genre, since Thief, even if stealth too, almost lacked the FPS part.

    This first title of the hitman saga is the one that differentiate the most among them: it's fairly easy to camouflage and there's no breath simulation while aiming but also this is the one that gives you most freedom of choice. Almost every mission can be completed in 3~5 slightly different ways.

    Gameplay aside, the plot is extremely intriguing, graphics are amazing (for a year 2000 title) and music matches 100% the game, sadly voice acting (At least Italian one) is really bad.
    Mission settings are extremely detailed and pervasive and, most of all, you have time to carefully plan and carry out your assassinations.
    Ah, you can't save during missions, this is just awesome if you ask me. I'm a huge fan of games that force you to think carefully before doing things.

    There's a reason if this niche game ended up being one of the most successful videogame series of all time. You won't regret buying it, even after 15 years, worth every penny.
    Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    Codename 47 was a classic game and really good for 2000. The rag-doll physics seemed perfect with the blend of a classic storyline and goodCodename 47 was a classic game and really good for 2000. The rag-doll physics seemed perfect with the blend of a classic storyline and good features, including moderate graphics and a vast choice of weapons. All of this under one genre, stealth.
    It could have added a few more options like in-game saves, 2-3 more missions and create a more interactive environment.
    Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    This game doesn't even deserve a one out of ten. I bought the hitman collection for 11 they DARE to sell this game for 7 They should have toThis game doesn't even deserve a one out of ten. I bought the hitman collection for 11 they DARE to sell this game for 7 They should have to PAY you to play this game. graphics, story, worst AI ever seen in video game history, crappiest level design, no effort put in at all. I am at level 7 and this game hasn't given me ONE mission that I've actually enjoyed. Great work IO!!!!! AN APPLAUSE FOR THIS AMAZING GAME!!!! This game doesn't even deserve to be reviewed... Expand

See all 32 User Reviews