User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 128
  2. Negative: 24 out of 128
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    First off, let me start by saying this game does not deserve all the negative criticism it is getting. Those criticizing the game are either playing on systems below specs or with outdated drivers. With even a semblance of a decent rig, the game will be playable with little/no FPS lag. That being said, this game is definitely not for everyone, and there are some problems with CoOp. IfFirst off, let me start by saying this game does not deserve all the negative criticism it is getting. Those criticizing the game are either playing on systems below specs or with outdated drivers. With even a semblance of a decent rig, the game will be playable with little/no FPS lag. That being said, this game is definitely not for everyone, and there are some problems with CoOp. If you're looking for the loot-driven randomness of Diablo or Torchlight, this game will disappoint. For what the game is, which is a hack-n-slash based in an RPG setting, Hunted delivers on several fronts. Battles are challenging and exciting, especially on higher difficulties. The dark mood and setting have been very eerie. Do NOT play this game in a dark room at night! The ability system is somewhat simplistic, so it may disappoint "true roleplayers" who are used to games like Dragon Age: Origins or KotOR. This isn't really a drawback, though, since, if you're playing this game, you just want to smash things to bits anyway. For the PC version, I did not find the graphics "dated", as some users have implied, but there can be some texture tearing even when there shouldn't be. To summarize, if you want a game that will help you let off some steam, challenge you (and a friend!) with epic battles, and make you feel like a hero, pick this one up. Just realize that it may not be what you expect it to be, and that there might be some problems which, hopefully, can be solved with some updates in the future. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    7
    A fun game. I had some display issues, but a graphics driver update fixed that. Others are reporting connectivity issues, but after i opened the ports needed on my router the game has been pretty solid. I expect a patch or two will solve the niggling issues i saw. The game play is very fast paced and can take a bit of adjusting to, but now that i am used to it, my coop partner and i areA fun game. I had some display issues, but a graphics driver update fixed that. Others are reporting connectivity issues, but after i opened the ports needed on my router the game has been pretty solid. I expect a patch or two will solve the niggling issues i saw. The game play is very fast paced and can take a bit of adjusting to, but now that i am used to it, my coop partner and i are having a blast. More character choices would have been nice and that took a couple of points off my score of the game as in a game like this playing the character you like just adds to the fun. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Great Game! Story and Graphic is amazing, The Co-op System Could Be Better , Maybe The Best i have Seen to Date in a Game.

    But the Game Fails When it Comes to The Big Challenge About Fighting Bosses. They are too Easy (No Special Tactics) Not even at final boss Another Big Fail is You Cannot Save/or Load Your Game, Like You Want Because of Autosaving. So if your are missing some loot or
    Great Game! Story and Graphic is amazing, The Co-op System Could Be Better , Maybe The Best i have Seen to Date in a Game.

    But the Game Fails When it Comes to The Big Challenge About Fighting Bosses. They are too Easy (No Special Tactics) Not even at final boss

    Another Big Fail is You Cannot Save/or Load Your Game, Like You Want Because of Autosaving.
    So if your are missing some loot or gold, sry, you need to start all over again from the beginning.

    The Crucible Dungeon Creator Are a Good idea, but worthless (my opinion)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    This game isn't the most amazing thing to ever grace the planet but it gets the job done when it comes to simple entertainment. For console players it's worth a weekend rent to play with your buddies or even just to grind through the solo campaign if you're into quick games. At this point in time the multiplayer community is dead so don't go into it expecting to be able to join an onlineThis game isn't the most amazing thing to ever grace the planet but it gets the job done when it comes to simple entertainment. For console players it's worth a weekend rent to play with your buddies or even just to grind through the solo campaign if you're into quick games. At this point in time the multiplayer community is dead so don't go into it expecting to be able to join an online co-op game. For PC players it's not really worth the 20$ price tag that steam is asking for but if you can find a cheap copy on Ebay or something then you should def try the game. The graphics for the game aren't the best but it makes up for it with a somewhat decent story line and decent game play. The skill system is very simple and easy to understand so veteran gamers and casual gamers alike will find it very quick to get into and the controls are just as easy to learn as eating and breathing. For what it's worth the game is def worth at least one play through with a friend and some beers. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2011
    7
    The game is kinda repetitive, but i liked the story and the comments between both heros are hilarious, its a good Coop game and if you like medieval fantasy games then this one is a must.
  6. Dec 1, 2014
    7
    This was one of my firsts 'long' adventures and one of my favorite, it feels chemistry between Kaddoc and E'lara along with funny and clever dialogues aided by a straight character progression. It has flaws but in this case there is no toolset to polish it with mods, I would prefer at least a character editor to customize my experience, it is ok to tell a story but at the end it leaves meThis was one of my firsts 'long' adventures and one of my favorite, it feels chemistry between Kaddoc and E'lara along with funny and clever dialogues aided by a straight character progression. It has flaws but in this case there is no toolset to polish it with mods, I would prefer at least a character editor to customize my experience, it is ok to tell a story but at the end it leaves me wanting more of that lovely fantasy adventure. Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2011
    7
    Ok. Coming back from having played the game in coop mode i can tell you this. It's hard, and it's fun. There's actually quite a bit of character customization which evaded me in the start. Besides the obvious 6 skills that your characters can acquire each of the 6 skills have 3 upgrades ..making it 18 + 3 modifiers for each of those 18 skills. The AI is nowhere near dumb as i initiallyOk. Coming back from having played the game in coop mode i can tell you this. It's hard, and it's fun. There's actually quite a bit of character customization which evaded me in the start. Besides the obvious 6 skills that your characters can acquire each of the 6 skills have 3 upgrades ..making it 18 + 3 modifiers for each of those 18 skills. The AI is nowhere near dumb as i initially thought. Barely reaching chapter 2 and playing on the 2nd difficulty there have been times when we died in coop. Considering most of the time you can even ressurect your partner (1 res for each vial you possess) that's quite a few deaths. Graphically speaking, the tutorial does no justice to this game. It was horrible and totally uninspired. However once chapter 1 started everything got better. Also the game's visuals can ba vastly improved if you have an nvidia card by forcing AA and Ambient Occlusion. With a 8xAA + performance AO in 1080p gtx 560 ti i stayed in the 60 fps range. And the graphics got way better. Only issue i had with this is once i tried to play coop with AA and AO forced the game crashed. Singleplayer was fine however so im not quite sure what to make of it. To finish this off : if you're expecting a loot-driven hack&slash similar to diablo/titan quest don't bother. However if you want to play a fun coop dark-fantasy setting game similar to gears-of-war system then this might be for you. I'll be giving it a 9 BUT ONLY AS COOP. Expand
  8. Sep 1, 2014
    7
    Certainly underrated, unfairly maligned. What's in the box? An arcadey dungeon crawler. Choose your character: hack & slash oriented fighter or large-breasted she-elf with a bow and get to it. Setting is typical fantasy fare; orc-things, monsters, dark towns besieged by aforementioned orc-things, deep, dark dungeons, a bunch of puzzles... lots of things to kill. In the end, it's fun toCertainly underrated, unfairly maligned. What's in the box? An arcadey dungeon crawler. Choose your character: hack & slash oriented fighter or large-breasted she-elf with a bow and get to it. Setting is typical fantasy fare; orc-things, monsters, dark towns besieged by aforementioned orc-things, deep, dark dungeons, a bunch of puzzles... lots of things to kill. In the end, it's fun to play (I couldn't put it down for some reason), yeah, it's a linear console port, but not a bad game - a few additional features and this would have been golden. Expand
  9. Jun 2, 2011
    5
    This review is completely unbiased- I am just a normal gamer in love with co-op and I'm here in regards to it. I managed to spend four or so hours playing co-op (using Tuungle) as E'Lara last night, and I have mixed feelings. As others have stated, performance is all over the place. Even starting the game can range from 10 seconds to over a minute. Checkpoints can freeze your game upThis review is completely unbiased- I am just a normal gamer in love with co-op and I'm here in regards to it. I managed to spend four or so hours playing co-op (using Tuungle) as E'Lara last night, and I have mixed feelings. As others have stated, performance is all over the place. Even starting the game can range from 10 seconds to over a minute. Checkpoints can freeze your game up (causing the person with the faster computer to wait for you), but if you're patient it comes back.

    Hunted is BRUTAL. Some balance issues definitely need to get some attention. Taking cover (at least from E'Lara's perspective) is essential, and if you get in melee range you're as good as elfburger. The real problem is that the cover system is quite clunky - the controls are clunky in general. It's definitely apparent this was a console port, and keybindings were counter-intuitive to any other FPS game I've played. The one saving grace in combat is the assisted targeting -- if you are behind cover and pop out to take a shot, your 'crosshair' will line up with a mob. This can sometimes point you right at a wall, but it's the only way to successfully survive as E'Lara. Pop out, fire an hour or two, pop down. Enemies fail to miss, and it only takes 4 or 5 hits to down you.

    Which leads me to health/mana potions and rez potions (I forget what they're called). The drop rates for potions REALLY needs balance, as there are at least 5 mana for every 1 health potion dropped. You can hold more potions (up to 3) at a time as you progress through the game, but you rarely have more than 1 health potion. And that leads me to the whole 'partner down' problem.

    Given that it is so easy to die, using one of your health or rez potions is critical in the middle of combat. There are two flaws with this system, the first being you only get (roughly) ten seconds before your partner bleeds out. The second is if you're in the middle of an attack or not facing the person you can't revive them. This can be extremely difficult to overcome if you're under fire or you're the melee character and can't turn around, as the controls are finicky. My friend and I died more from clunky controls than actually having "oops" moments. Checkpoint placement is decent, but not great. We had to replay large firefights we had already finished 2 or 3 times, but for the most part they are placed somewhat okay. Instead of placing checkpoints at the various 'loading' points in the game, they really should have placed them whenever your journal was updated.

    I cannot comment on the graphics as I have a 4 year old laptop and I was running on minimum settings. My framerate would drop to 15-20 during firefights, which is manageable and no fault of the game, but graphics still looked fairly good. I'll agree with other people here and say they did a poor job of utilizing the U3 engine. There are quite a few invisible walls and areas you should be able to access but cannot. The game promotes exploration through text while loading areas, but my friend and I have yet to find access to a huge deal of areas with hidden objects. The game is also very inconsistent about objects and level design - you can break a barrel here, but not on the other side of the pathway. You can break this wall, but not that one.

    The sound design, especially the soundtrack and voice acting, were probably the most impressive parts of the game. I can't comment too much on them right now, but they did stand out.

    My overall experience was a mixed bag. The experience felt like Army of Two mixed with Too Human, both on the 360. It's fairly fun and we will continue playing because there are too few co-op FPS games for the PC right now, but at the end of the night my final thought was, "they really should've beta tested this game before it was released." I'm sure it was, but it REALLY needs a lot of work.
    Expand
  10. Sep 12, 2013
    5
    a true waste of time a very very bad game nothing the good here not the combat system not the story or the voice acting every thing is just bad even the graphics are bad
  11. Oct 8, 2011
    6
    i'm not too far into the game, so maybe some of my complaints will no longer be valid later on. But so far I've found quite a few stupid things that exist in this game like where you might see 3 nearly identical barrels in the corner and all look really weak and old, yet only one of them can be broken. I mean either make all of them breakable or none of them, 1 out of 3 just makes iti'm not too far into the game, so maybe some of my complaints will no longer be valid later on. But so far I've found quite a few stupid things that exist in this game like where you might see 3 nearly identical barrels in the corner and all look really weak and old, yet only one of them can be broken. I mean either make all of them breakable or none of them, 1 out of 3 just makes it really weird. I'm slightly confused by the weapons system too, my UI says I can equip a bow or a backup bow, and yet when I find another bow on the ground, I can only replace my existing bow, not take both??? I heard that the second bow slot is actually something that will be unlocked later, but in that case why not somehow show that it is a locked slot/ability? There are many other small things as well, like not being able to jump. On the plus side, voice acting is pretty good so far both in terms of fit and delivery. Overall, not a horrible game, but not a great game either, I got mine as part of a pack, so no big loss for me. But definitely not worth it to buy at full price. Expand
  12. Jun 6, 2011
    6
    Coop sounded like a cool idea, which it is. On AI the concept is well executed, but is broken with real multiplayer. Gameplay could use a bit of help...it's fairly simplistic. The storyline is good. Voice actors are also good. Scenery seems subpar after playing the Witcher 2, and the NPC models are not the best. Overall, this is a pretty average game, which is why I rated it aCoop sounded like a cool idea, which it is. On AI the concept is well executed, but is broken with real multiplayer. Gameplay could use a bit of help...it's fairly simplistic. The storyline is good. Voice actors are also good. Scenery seems subpar after playing the Witcher 2, and the NPC models are not the best. Overall, this is a pretty average game, which is why I rated it a 6...more good than bad but nothing epic. Skyrim it is not...at least I hope it isn't! LOL I don't believe it's worth the $50.00 price tag, so if you can get it at a discount, do so. If not, wait until you can buy it in the $35 - $40 range. It's worth that. Expand
  13. Jul 6, 2011
    5
    Quite disapointing actually. This game had built up some pretty big hype with the Crucible Trailer and the rebirth of Co-op dungeon crawlers. After finishing this game I had more enjoyment playing "The First Templar" then this game and I was surprised .
    I thing I really did not like is the graphics and the palette they used. I understand they were trying to make gritty but it looks like
    Quite disapointing actually. This game had built up some pretty big hype with the Crucible Trailer and the rebirth of Co-op dungeon crawlers. After finishing this game I had more enjoyment playing "The First Templar" then this game and I was surprised .
    I thing I really did not like is the graphics and the palette they used. I understand they were trying to make gritty but it looks like mush to me. The gameplay is really repetitive but there are some neat fights here and there. You must play co-op in this game. It is so much better in everyway and the time can go past quite quickly sometimes. I give this game two ratings. 4/10 for Single player and 6.5/10 for Co-op, overall a 5/10.
    +Fun co-op
    -Too gritty and too muck. -Repetitive.
    Expand
  14. Jun 10, 2011
    5
    A game with a lot of good ideas that is just let down by poor execution. Graphics you expected 4 years ago, poor environmental design at times and an inability to truly connect with your character makes this a distinctly average game - you can still get some enjoyment from it, 5 doesn't mean bad!
  15. Oct 25, 2011
    5
    I read all the reviews before buying this game, so I waited until it was on sale for twenty dollars. The bad reviews were right, unfortunately. I had high expectations for this game, and I was pretty disappointed. On the surface Hunted seems like its going to be awsome. Then you start to play. If you can play more than 10 minutes at a time without getting a migrane because of graphicsI read all the reviews before buying this game, so I waited until it was on sale for twenty dollars. The bad reviews were right, unfortunately. I had high expectations for this game, and I was pretty disappointed. On the surface Hunted seems like its going to be awsome. Then you start to play. If you can play more than 10 minutes at a time without getting a migrane because of graphics issues, you're lucky(sadly, I am not exagerating). Nothing about the game makes me feel compelled to play it longer than ten minutes on occassion, anyway. The voice over banter is kind of lame, and gameplay gets repetative fast. Finding a partner to hook up with seemed fairly impossable, so I never played the game at that level. Many reviews say the game is good when played with a partner, so maybe if you are sure you are going to always have a buddy to play with, go for it. If you think you are going to end up playing Hunted alone most of the time(which is my experience), I would not recomend buying it. Expand
  16. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    If dungeon crawling is your thing, this is definitely worth a go. The Single Player will give your more than 20 hours of gameplay, if you decide to explore everything and solve the riddles throughout the game.

    Storywise, it does a good job of keeping things secret until the last possible instance. The enemies get tougher gradually, just as your weapons and shields get better, and you get
    If dungeon crawling is your thing, this is definitely worth a go. The Single Player will give your more than 20 hours of gameplay, if you decide to explore everything and solve the riddles throughout the game.

    Storywise, it does a good job of keeping things secret until the last possible instance.

    The enemies get tougher gradually, just as your weapons and shields get better, and you get more used to your magic powers. One complaint there is that with only 4 slots for powers per character, I had all 4 slots filled with maxed-out level 2 powers by the middle of the 3rd chapter. And the game unlocks level 3 powers only at the 5th chapter. So you'll be collecting crystals for a long time before you can spend them again.

    The RPG/Fantasy fans with a decent system will have a good amount of fun on this one.
    Expand
  17. Sep 4, 2013
    6
    A decent game. It brings no innovations at all, but it's rather well made for what it is. The online component is very outdated (GameSpy) and I only tried it briefly for coop (which was quite a pain to set up). Eventually, I just played solo. The story is ok, as are most of the characters, but it feels like it tries to compress a whole universe into just one story. I can think of plenty ofA decent game. It brings no innovations at all, but it's rather well made for what it is. The online component is very outdated (GameSpy) and I only tried it briefly for coop (which was quite a pain to set up). Eventually, I just played solo. The story is ok, as are most of the characters, but it feels like it tries to compress a whole universe into just one story. I can think of plenty of other titles that did this but it didn't bother me, so I guess it speaks to the quality of the writers. Expand
  18. Apr 13, 2016
    6
    Antes que todo debo decir que este juego lo terminé ya, la mayor parte del tiempo lo jugue en modo desconectado porque estuve algunos días sin internet(el juego me habrá tomado entre unas 12 a 14 horas).
    Hunted, es un juego de acción con pequeños elementos de rol y muy simplificado. Se trata de algo así como acción con dungeon crawler, donde atravesaras grandes escenarios oscuros en gran
    Antes que todo debo decir que este juego lo terminé ya, la mayor parte del tiempo lo jugue en modo desconectado porque estuve algunos días sin internet(el juego me habrá tomado entre unas 12 a 14 horas).
    Hunted, es un juego de acción con pequeños elementos de rol y muy simplificado. Se trata de algo así como acción con dungeon crawler, donde atravesaras grandes escenarios oscuros en gran parte, derrotando enemigos, juntando coleccionables y adquiriendo versiones mejoradas de tus armas.
    La historia se centra en dos mercenarios; Caddoc el humano y E'lara la elfa. Tal y como se da en los juegos de fantasias, el humano será un fuerte guerrero y la elfa, una excelente arquera. La cosa que puedes usar a cualquiera de estos dos personajes, pudiendo cambiar en ciertas partes del escenario(hay a cada rato asi que no es problema).
    Sin ser nada del otro mundo, el juego nuestra el viaje que emprenden estos dos codiciosos mercenarios para obtener riquezas, pero se ven inmersos en un problema mayor y terminan sin quererlo, siendo los héroes que salvaran el mundo. Una historia típica de este tipo, pero que te mantiene expectante durante el transcurso del juego.
    Lejos lo mejor son los diálogos de nuestros "Héroes", muy divertidos, a veces muy egoístas o vulgares. Recuerdo cuando rescatas a una persona y le dicen "ya vuelve a tu pueblo no tendrás problemas porque ya matamos a los enemigos" con tanta indiferencia que el salvado dice: "eso es todo?, vaya estos son los peores heroes que he visto".
    La jugabilidad es simple, entretiene bastante el sistema de combate, pero hay poca variedad de enemigos, y en general es super repetitivo y lineal el juego.
    Lo mejor de las estapas, son las quests secundarias de resolver acertijos, son simples. pero le dan mística al juego, lástima que en los últimos capítulos ya no hay de esto.
    El final es abrupto, los escenarios son tan prolijos, que no me había dado cuenta que ya habia llegado al final boss. Un final amargo, pero interesante, eso si tiene 3 finales, 2 malos y uno bueno ;)

    Lo bueno:
    - Los protagonistas son muy divertidos, los diálogos que tienen pueden sacarte risas.
    - Jugabilidad de pelea rápida y divertida.
    - Historia simple que cumple bien.

    Lo malo:

    - Mucha linealidad.
    - Armas muy iguales.
    - Poca variedad de enemigos.

    Lo recomiendo, pero cuando esté en oferta.
    Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 8, 2011
    50
    Competent hack-'n'-slash with a few neat ideas wrapped in a package that's remarkably unremarkable. [Sept 2011, p.64]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 30, 2011
    50
    We didn't expect much yet we are disappointed. Linear hack'n'slash offers tedious contents, repeatable enemies and environments and above all it fails in cooperation mode. [July 2011]
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    49
    Hunted is one of those action games that fly into one ear and exit through the other without even touching your brain.