• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Inquisitor Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    78
    An old school rpg only for hardcore fan of the genre.
  2. 78
    It’s pretty obvious, Inquisitor is not a game for everybody. The hardcore mechanics, the increased difficulty curve, the old-school aesthetics, will undoubtedly irritate those accustomed to playing only polished and streamlined action-RPGs like Skyrim. [November 2012]
  3. 74
    The translation is very good, which is beyond impressive with the quantity of text on display. It is not a game that will appeal to everyone, not by a long shot, but for those who think they would enjoy a title that harkens back to an earlier, less cinematic, far less forgiving era of gaming, Inquisitor has plenty of meat to sink your teeth into. Cheat Code Central (http://s.tt/1mGOh)
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    60
    Difficult, ucompromising and obtuse, Inquisition will appeal to fans of the hardest of hardcore old-school RPGs. [Nov 2012, p.84]
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    25
    The main character of Inquisitor is quite creative when it comes to torturing heretics. You can rack people, make them drink boiling water, or put them into the iron maiden… But the game itself is an even worse torture – not everyone can suffer through 100 hours being bored and annoyed at the same time. Inquisitor is not a hardcore RPG; it just hates the player.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    This is DEFINITELY not a game for casuals or younger gamers. If you think playing an "RPG" means watching lots of cinematics and pressing X to win, then this game is not for you. For true oldschool isometric RPG fans, this is game is a must. Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    This is purely, truly, awesome. And I might add, aggravatingly difficult and 'lostness' inducing... But that's what it's supposed to be. Honestly, even with reading other reviews, I had no idea what kind of dialogue trees I would parachute into. It's definitely not a game for the dyslexic, or the 'lore-lite' inclined. That said, this is the holy grail, nay, the Unicorn of old-school type potion-hauling, 'Oh look I can see that I equipped that!' type gaming.

    I will say, you'll personally give this game a minus ten if you can't sit through literal (clocked, four hours of dialogue in the tutorial village) hours of reading... But... The caveat to that statement is that it's incredibly well-written. I don't know these sprites/NPCs. I haven't been able to finish their initial quests... yet... I think I know who they are; what they're like. The game has given me my own tools to think about, much like a great mystery novel. No diablo hack and slash grind here; this is more of a patient, vodka-sipping 'choose-your-own-adventure' book, dressed up in old-school PC gaming nostalgia.

    And not part of the review, but just my personal take... I can't wait to unravel it. I'm one of those silly 'play it on maximum difficulty people'. This game does not hold your hand. Everything is a discovery; four hours in, this piece of media is an exercise in 'do it yourself type pain.' My applause to the dev/devs. I love this. In most old-school adventure games (diablo-type), you'll go out, kill some stuff, and return richer than when you started... This... This... is the antithesis.

    Also, the lore.. Now, in new franchises, especially fantasy ones, when you hear... new lore... you're like... blah blah... Sword of this and that... Wheel of... The Rings... Yes, Diablo, Mephisto, Ba'al, right... But here... They've done something different. They created a fictional world, much the same as ours was in 1223 AD... But they actually said it... They use real crosses in the cathedrals, and the antagonist of the game is Satan. This adds something special, real, and bold to the presentation. It actually brings the question to the table of, 'why haven't we seen this before?'... There's enough lore-distortion here, with it's own mythology, to make the game in such away that someone didn't copy the book of revelation in a cheap way to make a buck, but somehow, the game is still able to encompass modern day religious thought in a way that you can plausibly identify with it. Gravity, evil, goodness... They didn't duck any social convention here... And this world seems more real, and... well... seriously more funnerer, and gooderer with it. And you can be very, very good, or, at this point, I'm assuming, very, very evil. The steam description made mention of running an inquisition, complete with racking, flaying, burning, and the drinking of boiling water, for heretics. As of yet, I've seen none of that. When I find a guilty heretic, I might actually look forward to some righteous justice.

    One last thing; I'm sure this can develop in many different ways. This title is in no way 'on the rails'. You have the freedom to interact with NPCs as you see fit. I've already totally closed off avenues with certain NPCs, while opening up new paths with others. In the age we live in, we've become accustomed to exploring every dialogue option you can have with NPCs (Skyrim though I absolutely love it.. it's a completionist affair don't lie, you have a treasure room in your house too.) That's not the case here; you get one chance. You say what you're going to say, and it stands. You simply cannot speak to the same character again and gloss it over.

    Finally, they've given us a game where you can make unique decisions, and burn bridges to the ground. Can't wait to get deeper into this. My four-hour review 19 out of ten, for independent, thoughtful, nerd-dream fulfilling awesomeness.
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Pretty good. I enjoy it. The translation is good with very few mistakes but it's pretty tough to play and wears me out (mainly because I physically write stuff down in order to make sure I don't mess up). Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2013
    8
    This is definitely the old school type of RPG that probably isn't for everyone. Lots of running around talking to people and reading text, but I love that sort of thing. I don't think the learning curve is that steep, it's the basic character system (assigning points to skills, specializing in either paladin, priest or thief, etc.) every RPG has... You're outgunned at the beginning, it if you play smart and safe combat's not too uneven. That's my only complaint, combat is a little too simple but otherwise I feel this is a pretty amazing game so far and I'm only at level 20. If you enjoyed the old Ultimas, Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale you'll probably like this one. Yeah graphics are old school but you quickly forget about that once you get immersed in the game proving once again for some of us it's all about the STORY and not point click bam bam bam. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    Text heavy and old school to the point of being clunky Inquisitor is a welcome return to the ARPG's of yore. The graphics date from around the D2 era if not slightly worse and there are no options whatsoever to rebind keys. There is a good story lurking if you're able to read between the lines and get over the very poorly done English translations (the game was originally released in czech). Easily 50+ hours of gameplay if you really engage with it. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    Great setting & story idea, however the mechanics/combat design make the game pretty much unplayable.

    The game has supposedly been in
    development for 10 years, which is really surprising since it looks like no time was spent balancing and designing combat. Instead of tweaking numbers, you're given infinite potions that heal you entirely and every fight simply becomes a boring AFK potion spam fest. Poor UI and controls don't help at all. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    0
    I would write a constructive review of this game, but it does not deserve this. Inquisitor is the worst game I have ever played. The first combat with giant bats is all you need to see to realize just how terrible this game is. There is no strategy; there is no skill involved. Furthermore, you cannot really see if your character is even attempting to hit the bats.

    I do not understand how something this poor can get published on Steam. Shame on me for buying a game without watching a gameplay video on YouTube first. 9 bucks down the drain...
    Collapse

See all 18 User Reviews