Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of young father and husband Davis Russell who is thrust into war when his tranquil city is invaded by an unknown enemy. With his daughter unaccounted for and conventional weapons and tactics useless, this typical cop and his partner Leo Delgado step up to heed the call of duty, master the fundamental forces of gravity and save the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    70
    The potential for something strong was here- but the mediocre level design and the repetition of the mechanics, hold Inversion back from 'diamond' status. That's not to say that it's a bad game: the 9 or 10 hours of gameplay are fun, but only that… there's not enough thrill and excitement to hold you from other games. [September 2012]
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    Inversion has lots of potential with a gravitational weapon, an interesting starting story and good gameplay elements. Sadly, it cannot use this potential and seems to be that it was not enough time to finish Inversion as an exciting, well-made game.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    60
    It's not a bad game, just a lacklustre one. Saber Interactive borrowed a bunch of ideas that are fun on their own but somehow failed to combine them into a great game. [September 2012, p.70]
  4. 60
    The game that wanted to be king but was afraid of making the right decisions – sometimes when you copy successful concepts from others and combine them with your own fresh ideas you just waste the potential. [Sept 2012]
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    52
    Inversion is a heavily linear by-the-numbers cover shooter that fails to make the most of its few high points. [Nov 2012, p.72]
  6. Jul 28, 2012
    45
    Not every shooter gives you a chance to abuse the laws of physics. Too bad that Saber Interactive could not flesh out its original concept, leaving us with a mediocre Gears of War clone.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    I don't care if the mechanics resemble the Game Gears of War, I have played Gears of War before and I loved it. I had the same feeling with Inversion, and I must say the Idea of Zero Gravity is excellent. The game has a lot to offer and delivers a great Single Campaign and even a better Co-Op experience. The graphics and effects are way better then the ones used in GOW. Actually people should be happy a game like this hits the PC market as we only got one GOW game ever released for the PC. The genre is awesome and people who say the story is dull and has plot holes have no imagination anymore. Not every little detail has to be served on a silver plate for gamers to consume. I really loved this game. Every game has some flaws but critics have been way to harsh on such a good Sci-Fi shooter, I recommend this title very much. Its a A title game and should be treated with a little more respect. Expand
  2. May 17, 2014
    10
    Very nice Third person game, just like another Third person game, the game features are very good, the combat weapons are also good using gravilink to take down the enemy, I just love it .This is a very fascinating game after all Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    Inversion is a polished, coherent, story driven, coop shooter that is just the right length. A friend and I had a blast playing through the campaign in about 10 hours. I read a critic review on here that condemned the game with a (45) for being a Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    7
    Take the combat mechanics of Gears of War, some zero-g aspects from Dead Space, add a unique story and you get Inversion. The game is short (6-7) hours, full of cut scenes and feels overall it feels rushed. The game starts strong but fades off quickly. The boss battles become repetitive because you end up facing the same few bosses over and over again, only more difficult than the previous ones. The one thing that it had going for it, the gravitational shifts, was completely lacking. Engaging in battles with enemies in a different gravitational shift than you is exciting. However, it was only done about 3 or 4 times. They focused too much on the zero-g fighting which was rather tedious and boring. I absolutely loved the story though. Despite it needing to be filled in more with details and fixing gaps in content, the overall and main focus were entertaining and done really well. Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2012
    7
    I can't stand it when good games get low scores and this is one of them. The single player is better than Gears. The Graphics and story are of a high quality. Really good game and there is co-op but not split screen. Buy this it will be less than £20/$20 by now. Collapse
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    There is no getting away from it, no avoiding it: this game is such a screaming rip-off of Gears of War that it is painful. Even the enemies in Inversion could have walked straight from a fight in Gears, their design is so similar.
    And that is a shame, as there was actually a pretty decent game under here. Sure cover based, third-person shooters are never gonna get very far on PC but it had a lot going for it. The graphics are more than passable, the port is solid with good performance and well thought out menus, the controls are intuitive and responsive and the gravity-switching gimmick can be genuinely impressive to behold, especially when coupled with the games highly capable physics system.
    The thing that killed it for me eventually however and left me utterly unwilling to continue playing was the cut scenes. Never in my life have I seen so many cut-scenes. Sure they are skip-able - a laudable feature - but sweet damn there are HUNDREDS of the things, some mere seconds apart. Often you get a literal 30 seconds of action after a cut-scene, giving you time to kill maybe 2 dudes before you are tossed another cut-scene. It is simply astonishing.

    Is this game worth its asking price? No, not really and not even the co-op mode can fix that. Maybe grab it as a budget item but certainly look out for more from the same studio.
    Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    0
    [comment no longer applicable, removed by the author] [comment no longer applicable, removed by the author] [comment no longer applicable, removed by the author] Expand

See all 22 User Reviews