Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jack Keane is back! And his newest adventure is even more fast-paced than ever before!

    Several years after his last adventure with Dr. T, the hapless but incorrigible hero, Jack Keane returns to experience the greatest adventure of his life alongside the beautiful Amanda. However he soon
    Jack Keane is back! And his newest adventure is even more fast-paced than ever before!

    Several years after his last adventure with Dr. T, the hapless but incorrigible hero, Jack Keane returns to experience the greatest adventure of his life alongside the beautiful Amanda. However he soon realises once again that nothing goes quite as smoothly as Jack had imagined.

    Shanghai, 1899 -The mysterious Chinese city is the epicentre for adventurers of all kinds. Jack Keane, too, has been attracted to the place by rumours of a legendary treasure - or to be more precise, these tales have led him right inside the walls of the notorious Shanghai prison. It is within these walls that the guardian of the treasure, a secretive shaman, has been locked up for years. Unfortunately for our hero, Jack has completely disregarded the fact that it is a lot easier to get INTO prison than out of it

    And this is only the beginning of Jack Keane's newest bizarre adventure: mysterious treasures, ruthless villains, two distractingly beautiful women and tons of clever humour await the most lovable treasure hunter to have ever sailed the seven seas in a comical tour de force around the globe. During his travels, Jack will not only meet old friends, but also encounter new faces such as the elegant city-lady Eve and the brilliant German engineer Carl.

    Jack Keane 2 - The Fire Within is set to revolutionise the classic point & click adventure genre. Never has an adventure been as cinematic, fast-paced and humorous, without breaking any of the iconic point & click gameplay rules.

    State of the art 3D-graphics, gripping action-sequences and the typical bizarre Jack Keanesque humour will be an absolute delight to all adventure fans.

    Features

    - Control your characters directly with WASD, or switch to the classic Point & Click-Style
    - Experience the kind of love triangle we all know from everyday life movies
    - Explore your own mind (literally), chase zeppelins by car, and learn a wide array of fight-stances to counter your opponents frantic moves
    - Created by the developers of adventure hits such as Ankh, Jack Keane and Black Sails
    - State of the art 3D-graphics based on Deck 13s revolutionary FLEDGE engine
    - The mix of fast-paced action sequences and iconic point & click-gameplay makes Jack Keane 2 - The Fire Within a truly 21st Century adventure
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    74
    While the picky controls and fixed camera angle can be annoying at times, Jack Keane 2 provides witty writing and attractive art combined with sensibly logical puzzles to provide a pretty good adventure.
  2. Jul 7, 2013
    70
    Jack Keane 2 might not be the smashing excellence in the genre that The Walking Dead was praised for last year, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give Jack Keane 2 a try if you like a bit of delightful comedy in your adventure games.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    61
    And so, overall, there’s little to recommend about Jack Keane 2: The Fire Within. The puzzles are varied and competent, but everything else needs a lot of work, and adventure games don’t usually receive much in the way of patches (of course, for most they’re not needed).
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    50
    While its well-crafted array of puzzles are fun whether you’re new to the games or not, its controls and technical hiccups take away from wanting to play the game. Jack Keane may have what it takes to be your next daring adventurer, but Fire Within may not be your next go-to adventure.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    50
    Jack Keane 2 is a fun action-packed journey at times, made far more frustrating than it needed to be due to its clumsy interface and obtuse, pace-killing puzzles.
  6. Aug 26, 2013
    49
    Jake Keane 2 is crude and clumsy, as if the developers did not want to make this game at all, but someone forced them to.
  7. Jul 30, 2013
    30
    Point and click adventures have a hard enough time drawing new players in without games like this tainting their waning reputation. This is definitely not the saviour of the genre; it’s sadly just one to avoid.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Great game. Even though I'm not usually a fan of point and clicks, I loved every second of this game. Charming visuals, and very neatGreat game. Even though I'm not usually a fan of point and clicks, I loved every second of this game. Charming visuals, and very neat puzzles that challenge your mind in various ways. Worth the price tag, whatever it may be. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This game is a giggle-fest mixed with a dogeared copy of King Solomon's Mines.

    Jack Keane 2: The Fire Within is the sequel to the original,
    This game is a giggle-fest mixed with a dogeared copy of King Solomon's Mines.

    Jack Keane 2: The Fire Within is the sequel to the original, though I did not play the original so I'm evaluating it on it's face. The game is a 3D action adventure/point-and-click puzzle game. You play the titular role and combine forces with several companions most notable of which is the adventurous, blue-eyed femme Amanda. The plot of the story revolves around Jack's quest to find a) a lost treasure that he learns about from a dying shaman, and b) a path through his own subconscious to becoming a better man who can commit to anything.

    Throughout the game, you are confronted by puzzles. While most are interesting yet easy to work out, there are a few times where it takes you a minute to find all the oddly-placed pieces you need. There is also a fast and rudimentary card-based combat mechanic where you have to counter enemy attacks with the proper defense and then counter-attack with your own moves.

    Most important are the setting and characters, who are rich and entertaining.

    Pros include nice graphics, very funny quips, a nice mix of action and puzzle solving, the use of WASD to move (as opposed to click-to-move), and the ability to alter companion opinions using dialog.

    Cons include three bugs that required restart or reload, poor inflection in the voice acting, trouble jumping because of camera skew, and a ridiculous dialog tree that will end the game if you accept money from a bad guy for an object you're going to lose anyway.

    While the game at launch is plagued by bugs (so you might want to play after the first patch) and I stand firmly resolute in my condemnation of using flashbulbs to frighten bats, finishing this game is one of my top priorities. The characters are fascinating, the humor is infectious, and the graphics are sweet.

    Full video review on my blog and YouTube channel.
    Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Can't seem to figure out how to delete my review. Wrote a bad joke of one during the gog sale where Keane stalled the show. Now I'm hopefulCan't seem to figure out how to delete my review. Wrote a bad joke of one during the gog sale where Keane stalled the show. Now I'm hopeful that I've enough text marks.

    I *guess* the game could be an 8. Maybe.
    Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    Nice and funny game with awkward controls; single clicks don't often register, the fixed camera and jumping is sometimes annoying. The dialogsNice and funny game with awkward controls; single clicks don't often register, the fixed camera and jumping is sometimes annoying. The dialogs and jokes are okay but the audio quality is strange (a slightly noisy). The 3D world is beautiful, but often hides items that should be picked up. There is a highlight option for these items, but I like the hotspot mechanics of other games more. There are the 3-5 seconds before an item is picked up or a character is talked to, so took me 10 hours for the first run and 3 hours on the second speed run. Crashed a few times, mostly when I skipped a cutscene. The puzzles are relatively easy, I got stuck usually by not noticing an item. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    0
    I do not know if it is good or bad because this game has no french translation ! we are not all brainless players, so why was not entitled toI do not know if it is good or bad because this game has no french translation ! we are not all brainless players, so why was not entitled to a translation ? a little effort for your next game please.... Expand