Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jack Keane is the most enjoyable point-and-click adventure I've played in a long time. It will appeal to almost every adventure fan, as the puzzles gradually get harder, while the game successfully reproduces the vibrant, humorous and slick atmosphere and antics of beloved classics of this proud genre, like Sam & Max and Monkey Island.
  2. Bows deeply to the classics like Monkey Island or Maniac Mansion but more importantly it still has a good, unique feel to it. Although Mr. Keane's adventure is an old-fashioned point'n click adventure the fresh environments, tricky puzzles and witty humour make it a great adventure game. It's not the best this genre has to offer, but it's a nice try. Thumbs up for Deck13. [Apr 2008]
  3. 87
    It's an enjoyable romp of a point and click adventure, it manages to maintain a fun sense of humour, and it is the perfect antidote to the domination of instant gratification in first-person shooters and real-time strategy games.
  4. 75
    Other than the few issues that were previously mentioned, Jack Keane is a wonderful adventure experience that should bring back fond memories of old school adventure games.
  5. The story itself is well done, even though there are some jokes that fall flat.
  6. The game provides some seriously needed fun in the otherwise stale point-and-click genre. I liked what the developers did here and I hope they do it again.
  7. It's a pleasant enough adventure, and it'll take you somewhere around 20 hours to complete it, which makes it a nice value, but the writing is a little lazy, and the game isn't as funny as you might expect, and so it's nowhere near being in the ballpark of the Monkey Island games, which is where it wants to be.
  8. Jack Keane is addressed to those who are more attracted to the ridiculous humor that LucasArts were able to produce before endlessly milking the Star Wars cow, rather than somber, logic-oriented gamers.
  9. The problem with Jack Keane is that it's just not funny. The game tries too hard to be something its not. [May 2008, p.78]
  10. While games like Jack Keane keep surfacing, the point-and-click genre will continue to defy those that have long since written it off. [Apr 2008, p.123]
  11. A feature that is touted impressively then lets down over the course of the game is the animation and general cinematics.
  12. Quirky humour, eccentric characters and strange combinations of everyday items - it's (yet another) return of the classical adventure in nicely rendered 3D environments. Pity that the wit and fun starts to gradually dry up around the midpoint of the story and some puzzles turn out less logical than expected, but all in all, this game is definitely worth playing. [Apr 2008]
  13. Jack Keane is a colorful and cartoonish adventure through the 19th century British Empire.
  14. Most likely, players will find themselves having a love-hate relationship with the title, but ultimately they will be delighted by its varied charms.
  15. Traditional point 'n' click that smacks of the "Monkey Island" series. [Apr 2008, p.85]
  16. These flaws aside, Jack Keane is a lengthy game, light on difficulty, but never anything less than fun.
  17. If you loved doing Fed Ex quests in World of Warcraft, imagine having to do nothing but those from beginning to end, with uninspired, sometimes annoying characters and overly clichéd performances throughout, and that's Jack Keane.
  18. For all its comical charm, Jack Keane does not quite reach the heights of the games that inspired it.
  19. Jack Keane is a good adventure game if you are looking for some nice puzzles to spend your time with. The game doesn't convince us when it comes to the character, because that's a thing in which adventure games should be the best. A big environment and hours of gameplay makes the game worth playing, but it really misses a soul.
  20. Actually worse than "Ankh" in many respects.
  21. Overall, Jack Keane is a rather fun adventure game, even if it does suffer a little in minor details. If you’re a fan of the genre at all, it's well worth the effort.
  22. Jack Keane is an admirable effort which is compromised by a half-assed and inconsistent focus on the quality of the various game elements.
  23. There's simply nothing here to hold the attention. [May 2008, p.112]
  24. The Indiana Jones adventure that spent too much time at IKEA. [Apr 2008, p.86]
  25. That's Keane - a potentially enjoyable game, broken by terrible performances, and puzzles that make little sense.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    + Fresh and funny game. + Nice classic story + Nice characters + Difficult is not too high but not too low - Lack of textures - Movement is a lil clunky

    ... is a good game to relax and pass some time.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    1
    From the first seconds of the opening cinematic, you can tell that the voice acting is going to be bad. And it is. The main character's voice doesn't even fit the character, if you ask me. Puzzles devolved into pixel hunting (after no item from my inventory was getting me anywhere), and that's just plain poor design. To top off the suckiness, I didn't much like the interface and the game wasn't funny. At all. I'll give the game a 1 because it runs. If you're jonesing for something Monkey Island-esque, try Jolly Rover. That one was actually well-made and fun. Full Review »
  3. GabrielU
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    It was my first adventure game since... Since... Truly, I don't remember when was last time when i've played good, oldfashioned point&click game. Good story, great personas, who can really touch our hearts in deeps (I'm talking of course about Jack and Amanda. And Montgomery). Quests are in most cases logical, but I've had to see solution few times (wedding). Maybe my lack of playing adventures games recently caused my opinion. Maybe it's time to discover Sokal's games? Yes, i haven't played those yet. Full Review »