Jolly Rover Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It be the golden age of pirates! Dogs of the sea! Quite literally. Our swashbuckling sausage-dog star is Gaius James Rover, son of the famous clown Jolly Rover, who died from a blow to the groin from an improperly loaded joke cannon. Following the tragically comedic death of his father,It be the golden age of pirates! Dogs of the sea! Quite literally. Our swashbuckling sausage-dog star is Gaius James Rover, son of the famous clown Jolly Rover, who died from a blow to the groin from an improperly loaded joke cannon. Following the tragically comedic death of his father, young Gaius, who insists on using his middle name James, goes to live with his uncle, a wealthy plantation owner on a small Caribbean island. While practising a particularly tricky juggling move, he accidentally taints a barrel of rum with tobacco, creating a potent and addictive brew which he coins ‘Jolly Rover’, one of the most prized substances in the Caribbean. [Brawsome] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Even with a few technical problems, it's hard not to recommend Jolly Rover to any fan of adventure games, especially those who remember the LucasArts games of the 1990s fondly.
  2. About the only thing I'd knock crackers off Jolly's overall score for is its not quite top-drawer cartoon style.
  3. A fun and humorous adventure game that is relatively short and lacks replay value is still worth it, depending on who you are and what you like.
  4. Ultimately, Jolly Rover is a funny, well made adventure game.
  5. With the witty banter, humorous storyline, and excellent cast of characters, Jolly Rover manages to create an identity of its own.
  6. Apr 10, 2011
    73
    Graphics and sound are okay, the gameplay and the controls are nothing new and the story is not the best of all time. Jolly Rover is a solid point & click-adventure in a 2D comic world.
  7. Apr 28, 2011
    46
    Too little, too thin, too derivative.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Jolly Rover has been the first adventure game i've enjoyed in a long time, the humour agrees with me and the difficulty curve is quite gentlyJolly Rover has been the first adventure game i've enjoyed in a long time, the humour agrees with me and the difficulty curve is quite gently when compared to hardcore titles like the Sam and Max games from TellTale. The parrot hint system has slight hints and obvious hint that are blatant solutions for the desperate. This game has been a real joy to play. Collapse
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Tales of Monkey Island set me off on a bender of playing through a bunch of adventure games, this one included. At first it smelled like aTales of Monkey Island set me off on a bender of playing through a bunch of adventure games, this one included. At first it smelled like a goofy MI knockoff....but before long, the character were enjoyable (with good voice acting -- always important), the story was sufficiently engaging and the puzzles were downright fun. (Plus, it's hard not to appreciate a hint systems that pretty much guarantees that you'll never get completely stuck). By the time it was over, I wanted a sequel! Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    I got this game in one of those indie bundles, and was the only one in which I was willingly able to make it to the end. Obviously, it's not aI got this game in one of those indie bundles, and was the only one in which I was willingly able to make it to the end. Obviously, it's not a serious game, it's just a quick one to tide you over for a few hours, but it was still really enjoyable and worth those few hours (6, according to Steam). Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    8
    This is a fun throwback to older adventure games. Not as complex or charming as some of the old greats, but a lot of fun nevertheless. ForThis is a fun throwback to older adventure games. Not as complex or charming as some of the old greats, but a lot of fun nevertheless. For any fans of Monkey Island, Day of the Tentacle, etc, I'd definitely recommend it. Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This is the best Monkey Island tribute adventure game I've played - I enjoyed it even more than the Tales of Monkey Island series. TheThis is the best Monkey Island tribute adventure game I've played - I enjoyed it even more than the Tales of Monkey Island series. The adventure interface is pretty slick (read: simple) and there's a nice hint system (parrot) that lets you determine how much you do or do not want to spoil yourself if you're stuck on a puzzle that seems just too counter-intuitive for you. If I had to pick one thing that bugged me it would be that I had to turn voices off because the main character's voice irked me. That minor, rather subjective criticism aside, the writing and plot were far more than expected for a budget title. It kept me entertained from start to finish and you could do far worse for far more dollars! Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    7
    Jolly Rover is a well-presented adventure game that sticks to the tried and true framework set out by Monkey Island all those year ago, andJolly Rover is a well-presented adventure game that sticks to the tried and true framework set out by Monkey Island all those year ago, and that is its biggest downfall. It has good voice-acting and graphics and good puzzle design. However, it is nothing adventure fans have not seen before. Its a shame that the gameplay is so uninspiring as the narrative is really humorous and entertaining and could have made it a stand-out. It is also very short lived (steam says that I completed it 97 minutes). As it stands, Jolly Rover is an enjoyable but easily forgettable adventure. Expand
  7. Feb 29, 2012
    6
    Although 'Jolly 'Rover' was intended to be released as a tribute title to the commanding 'Monkey Island' series of video games it hasn't livedAlthough 'Jolly 'Rover' was intended to be released as a tribute title to the commanding 'Monkey Island' series of video games it hasn't lived up to the sheer originality of It's spiritual successor. However having said that, this isn't an extremely bad game but it failed to be memorable and doesn't offer much replay value after you've finished it once. The music scores are nice but sound far too basic for a full-length feature but the comedy gets an A+ from me. It's as good as ANY I've seen in a point-and-click adventure including the aforementioned M.E. classics. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews