Kerbal Space Program PC

Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jan 20, 2016
    100
    Kerbal Space Program isn't just a fantastic space game. It's one of those games that makes you glad you play on PC, because it could only come to exist on PC.
  2. May 17, 2015
    100
    To review it is to appraise the enormity of the human spirit of exploration, to rate the drive that spurred us to flop up out of the ocean and then up a tree and then back down again and then over some mountains and through some deserts and then off up into the heavens...I love space and Kerbal Space Program.
  3. May 11, 2015
    100
    Kerbal Space Program is one of the best games ever made. It is not easy to start the game, but if you do not give up you will get one of the greatest games ever in return. The euphoria when you spot your first lander on Mun is heavenly and that is just the start.
  4. May 1, 2015
    96
    A perfect blend of science and slapstick, and a robust and compelling sandbox of possibility. Simply outstanding.
  5. Power Unlimited
    Jul 24, 2015
    92
    KSP is bloody fantastic! The possibilities are endless and the feeling you get after a successful mission is the best ever. You should probably buy this video game. [Jul 2015, p.063]
  6. May 11, 2015
    91
    Half construction game, half space sim. Kerbal Space Program is one of the funniest games recently made for PC, highly recommended for any kind of player.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Jun 21, 2015
    90
    Your achievements in the game stem from legitimate advancements in your understanding of physics. [July 2015, p.102]
  8. May 20, 2015
    90
    The best space flight simulation ever made.
  9. May 19, 2015
    90
    Kerbal Space Program is a perfect blend of science and slapstick. It’s a complex game, but unique.
  10. May 14, 2015
    90
    Kerbal Space Program does the improbable: it makes learning a complex subject fun. Its cute, clueless characters and sense of humor turn a hardcore physics simulator into something replayable and addictive.
  11. Kerbal space program is more than a game. It's a teacher, a guide and a key to understanding how the universe works.
  12. May 9, 2015
    90
    Even with its cartoonish humor and quirks, Kerbal Space Program has an almost sacred respect for the tiny miracles involved in space travel, and even at its most difficult, it deserves that respect in return.
  13. May 7, 2015
    90
    You don't often get the sense of achievement and exploration Kerbal Space Program offers for its price-tag. After you manage to get around the learning curve you'll find an immensely educational and fun game. You can't truly call yourself a space enthusiast and miss out on that one. After all, how hard can rocket science be?
  14. May 5, 2015
    90
    Kerbal Space Program is a miracle, a game that engenders wonder at its scale and awe for its complexity. It has all of the true grandeur of a masterwork.
  15. Apr 30, 2015
    88
    While there are a lot of games out there combining creative construction with useful goals, including the almighty Minecraft or Space Engineers, none of them adds the economical depth like Kerbal Space Program. And on top is is great fun to experiment with all the tools at hand to figure out the best solution for the given problem.
  16. May 5, 2015
    87
    If you have even a spark of interest in the space, you should consider purchasing. Kerbal Space Program is complex, but unique.
  17. CD-Action
    Jul 4, 2015
    85
    It doesn’t look too good and cartoony visuals suggest shallow gameplay but it’s one of the best space sims and one of those indie gems that focus on creativity and playability rather than technical aspects. [07/2015, p.56]
  18. May 20, 2015
    85
    It's different and original, and that's what makes it really stand out. The mechanics are solid, and the gameplay can even be enjoyed with friends, taking turns and exchanging ideas on how to proceed.
  19. May 5, 2015
    85
    Even the smallest accomplishments feel like massive victories, and once you experience that euphoria, you won't want to quit.
  20. May 4, 2015
    85
    If you are a creative type who loves to fool around with physics, you’ll probably love Kerbal Space Program. If you’re just looking to create unbelievable, ridiculous rockets with an impractical number of fuel pods, you can still have plenty of fun. Whatever your level of engagement, you can enjoy shooting these little green Smurfs into space – or into the nearby scenery.
  21. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 8, 2015
    80
    Neither for the impatient, nor for absolute purists this simulation although focuses to the latter significantly more. When your game is supported by NASA itself, you are just doing something exceptionally well. [Issue#253]
  22. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jun 29, 2015
    80
    From suborbital flights to satellites to ISS to colonization of Mun and interplanetary travel – creative potential in KSP is basically limitless. [Issue#199, p.76]
  23. Jun 4, 2015
    80
    One of the best sandbox games since the Minecraft. It is certainly not without mistakes, but frankly there is no other similarly entertaining simulation on the market.
  24. 80
    An inspired mix of real science, sandbox gameplay, and space simulation – that is both a lot more entertaining and a lot more accessible than you’d expect.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It is a game about embracing engineering and being unafraid to encourage craziness, so long as it can be physically done. It is a game that does the very idea of Science, with a capital S, proud.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 540 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 99
  2. Negative: 5 out of 99
  1. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    This is the game I've wanted ever since I told my mom to write NASA a dirty letter for not inviting me along for the first trip to the moon (IThis is the game I've wanted ever since I told my mom to write NASA a dirty letter for not inviting me along for the first trip to the moon (I was four at the time).

    The game's not perfect, it has a few WTH level bugs in the 1.0 release, and while the simulation is far more accurate than you'd expect from a game, there are some corners that got cut, such as life support, in the interest of keeping the game fun for more normal people.

    It doesn't require a lot of math or science to start, but you will learn orbital mechanics and such along the way. If you've ever had any interest in planning or flying semi-realistic space missions, you should try this game. I'm among those that have played this game for thousands of hours, and I can still find interesting things to do. On the other hand, it doesn't have a campaign, even in career mode you don't get goals forced on you other than "don't go broke."
    Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2015
    10
    I am a hard critic and KSP is easily beyond anything I would call a game. The replay value alone is worth all of the FPS games I have everI am a hard critic and KSP is easily beyond anything I would call a game. The replay value alone is worth all of the FPS games I have ever played for 15 years combined and multiplied by 10. There is a lot to learn, but the learning process is epic. My only negative is choosing Unity3D as the engine held back the game. It is not too long before Part Count becomes a problem and this should not be the case on a modern gaming rig. However, this does not make a dent in the 10/10 score given. Awesome work, Awesome community and Awesome game design about an Awesome subject. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2015
    10
    I've already clocked over 900 hours in this game throughout the early access. Talk about getting your money's worth out of a gameI've already clocked over 900 hours in this game throughout the early access. Talk about getting your money's worth out of a game thousandfold!
    It is easily one of my all time favorites.
    Full Review »