Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1097 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling world featuring intense, responsive, and customizableImmerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling world featuring intense, responsive, and customizable RPG combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    It may lack the precision of, say Witcher 2's combat, but it makes for a style that can be picked up in seconds, customised to your own particular style of play and crowned with impressive arcade-style finishes... Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a triumph that makes the prospect of a future MMO based on the same world and engine all the more enticing.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    No matter what you're looking for, whether it be amazing gameplay, immersive storytelling or perhaps a riveting new world to explore as you fully customize and re-customize your character at will, Reckoning has it all.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    85
    For all of these drawbacks, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is an intriguing, good-looking, game that has absolutely brought a new spin to the RPG genre.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    The battles feel like the ones from Darksiders, the dialogues remind of Bioware titles, and the world wants to be as big and multifarious as Skyrim. Reckoning gets this mixture just about right, but misses its evident types in any discipline. I had fun anyway, which is mainly due to the cool talent system and the fascinating tale. Whoever lets oneself into it, receives a successful action-role-playing game that has found its place exactly between linear story-nuggets (Dragon Age) and open-world adventures (Skyrim).
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    Reckoning provides many hours of good, solid fun based around character development and skill progression. Those looking for a deeply immersive experience should probably look elsewhere, but don't be surprised if your Civic runs nice and smooth while the other guy is busy patching the crap out of his Ferrari.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    There's a lot to said for visuals these days though, and having played the PC version extensively we're not sure we could then go to the console with a neutral mind-set. Swings and Roundabouts, as they say, but Reckoning is a good game all round and well worth getting – no matter the platform.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Fast and flashy combat in a shallow fantasy world. For the solo MMO player only. [Apr 2012, p.62]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 350
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning delivers exactly what it promises: a pitch-perfect fantasy RPG, with visceral, intuitive gameplay that is easyKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning delivers exactly what it promises: a pitch-perfect fantasy RPG, with visceral, intuitive gameplay that is easy to pick up, difficult to master, wildly flexible and just plain fun, in a way that has yet to be seen in the genre. The world is accessible and vast, offering genre fans plenty to sink their teeth into. One gets the sense that they are watching an entire world unfold before them, one rich with history and lore and life. Amalur opens itself up to the player in a way that is both familiar and refreshing, then empowers the player to do incredible things. 38 Studios and Big Huge Games have created a world worth saving, and they have given us some pretty damn cool tools with which to get the job done. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Kingdoms of Amalur is absolutely brilliant!! It manages to give me a huge open world,without that feeling of aimlessness.a combat system thatKingdoms of Amalur is absolutely brilliant!! It manages to give me a huge open world,without that feeling of aimlessness.a combat system that is so damn fluid and dynamic that it puts EVERY,yes I said every RPG to utter shame. and boat loads of great quests that are interesting and FUN. People tend to forget that games are about fun......and this has 200hrs of it. I am going to give you people some brutal honesty here. People that rate this game low haven't played it or are silly fanboys with their panties in a bunch, that hold irrational allegiances to their game of choice and feel they are betraying said game by enjoying something else. GROW THE HELL UP ALREADY. I love skyrim, LOVE Baldurs Gate 1,2. I love the witcher1,2 and YES I love this too. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I am quite enjoying this game, but I urge everyone to look at CMPN's user profile. It's obviously a fake as all this user has posted areI am quite enjoying this game, but I urge everyone to look at CMPN's user profile. It's obviously a fake as all this user has posted are reviews for all the versions of KOA:R, with a copy and paste review that reeks of a review from the developer or publisher. Please, people in the business, do not do this. It is unfair to try and artificially boost your scores. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    There is little I can say that hasn't already been said. If you are reading this review, then chances are you have already made your mind upThere is little I can say that hasn't already been said. If you are reading this review, then chances are you have already made your mind up about with KOA:R is going to be your cup of tea.

    Comparisons to Fable have been made; yes, it looks similar. It's full of British voice actors. It has a 'cartoony' look to it. Even the combat is similar in style. But it has a much richer loot system, with weapon after item after potion being found; on enemies, in chests, in shops. The combat is also vastly superior and, whilst I am a Fable fan, KOA:R at times feels like the game Fable fans *wanted* it to be.

    You also hear people knock the graphics. Well, it looks pretty, and Skyward Sword certainly looks no worse for a game that has come out after 2010. Again, it has that thatched-cottage Fable feel to it, though the open-world aspect is a bit of a misnomer, with even forest locations being basically large, outdoor rooms. Again, nobody seemed to knock Zelda for this.

    Comparisons to Skyrim I don't understand. I love Skyrim, and think it was the best game of 2011. But that was gritty, brutal, fantasy, akin to 'Game of Thrones'. You could kick a wolf in the face, run a man through with a sword, chop a barmaids head off. You won't find that here. Admittedly, some of the special moves can be surprisingly violent, with your character sticking magical spikes through opponents faces, and the stealth kills leave nothing to the imagination.

    All in all, this game is a safe pair of hands. It borrows a lot of familiar aspects from well-trodden titles; Elder Scrolls, Fable, WOW, God of War even (how about those QTE finishing moves ay?). But it's not a bad game, and certainly has some effort behind it. A lot of these reviews will give it 7's or 8's. From that you can confer that if the idea of playing Skyrim, Zelda, Fable or WOW doesn't appeal to you, then don't come here. But if you think action-oriented RPG-lites are a fun way to waste time... well, then dive on in.
    Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    7
    Amalur is a good RPG, not great, due to a few flaws. Mainly the lack of visual expression on the character's faces, not to mention the factAmalur is a good RPG, not great, due to a few flaws. Mainly the lack of visual expression on the character's faces, not to mention the fact that yours is also mute, though the voice acting is pretty good.
    The World is quite vast, the History and the Lore is certainly there, although for some it might be too much too soon, after Skyrim and The Witcher 2.
    In terms of gameplay, this game is intuitive, close to what the Fable has done lately, the lack of challenge included, for those who seek it.
    For a game that is supposed to establish a new rpg franchise, it's a job done. Though if it is destined to be an MMO, well meh... too bad!
    Expand
  6. Rem
    Mar 20, 2017
    6
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning had the tools to create a truly unique rpg. With highly revered members involved in its development, ReckoningKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning had the tools to create a truly unique rpg. With highly revered members involved in its development, Reckoning manages to be far from bad, but it commits a sin of a similar magnitude, it's boring. It's boring in its world design, characters, lore, and eventually its combat. It makes solid first impressions but ultimately overstays its welcome by a long shot.

    The plot isn't terrible, and instead has a good setup. You're resurrected from the dead and discover you're fateless in a world bounded by fate trapped in the middle of a war between mortals and evil immortals named the Tuatha. Beyond that, the story tries desperately hard to fall back on the lore these developers have created and it becomes a pitfall. The crazy amount of jargon the game requires you to remember makes it cumbersome to connect the story threads together. You'll be scratching your head as you hear "House of Ballads, Winter Fae, Mel Senshir, and The Great Cycle for the nth time. The biggest problem with the storytelling is that its always exposition heavy. Rather than seizing the opportunity and exploring the amount of lore they crafted for this universe, the characters that inhabit it tell rather than show. They lack interesting depth, most of them feeling outright boring. It doesn't help that most of them are assigned one character trait and even that's a stretch. The people that inhabit this universe exist solely for the purpose of either spewing something you already knew/could infer or giving you quests. By God, the amount of quests in this game is absolutely massive, so much so that it's a negative. It's not so much the amount, but rather how much of it is mundane and is a variant of either a "go here fetch/kill this" sort of quest. Even the people handing you the quests all feel the same. You accept quests not to learn more, but only to rid the exclamation point from your map and to gain some exp.

    The saving grace of this game is strangely the combat, which is great for an RPG. It's a satisfying blend of number crunching and skill for the first dozen or so hours. Building your character is also enjoyable, with the mix of skill trees, abilities divided among three classes, and destinies that you choose and develop that provide passive bonuses. It's significantly better and instantly more enjoyable than most open world RPGs because of how responsive and fluid it is and how you always feel the impact of your strikes. Despite this, the combat and skill system eventually fizzle out towards the end because enemies don't quite scale to your level as you progress, ultimately making the game laughably easy towards the end. Creating your own weapons and gear is remarkable, giving use to most items in the world and the ability to name your own gear is a nice bonus. Loot is constant and while a good amount of them you just sort to the junk pile, the variety of weapons ensures that you can tinker with any playstyle you desire, so far as to providing stealth as a valid option at times, which works well enough. Wanna be a stealth mage? A pure warrior? All three? It's up to you, and it's refreshing and why I kept pushing through the end despite any setbacks. Other than that, gameplay is relegated to exploration and talking to people the former of which is spent in fairly open MMO like zones peppered with enemies and loot and the latter being drowned in exposition and a dialogue wheel that has little effect on the outcome. The former is much enjoyable, but outside of combat, the game offers nothing else to keep your interest for very long.

    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning on the visual end, is a decent looking game. While the textures and geometric detail are nothing to marvel at, the color palette and art style is striking, for the first several areas. Eventually the overly WOW inspired look becomes monotonous, and its not until near the end does the setting shift enough to ease your eyes of the overstaying colorful palette. The music is even more forgettable, consisting of terribly vanilla RPG tracks that is serviceable at best. One good note I can point out is that Kingdoms of Amalur is generally bug free, keeping the experience as polished as possible and it runs like butter, a nice bonus.

    If I told you that you can easily spend over 60 hours in this game, you might imagine a thoroughly engaging game throughout, but truth be told, a good chunk of that time was spent in autopilot, breezing through battles and skipping every piece of dialogue after the 20 hour mark. There is obvious love and hard work put into this project, but Kingdom of Amalur's main weaknesses of poor writing and the general averageness of everything else besides the combat ultimately keeps the experience from becoming anything more than vanilla. It might not be bad, but it sure can be boring.
    Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2016
    0
    This is the absolute worst game I have played so far in my life. I want to be entirely clear: I got this game as a gift from a friend, and IThis is the absolute worst game I have played so far in my life. I want to be entirely clear: I got this game as a gift from a friend, and I really WANTED to like it. I went in with optimism, prepared to look on the bright side and try to see whatever my friend saw in this game that she liked. But I found absolutely nothing of any redeeming quality whatsoever; This is one of the few games where I absolutely DREADED having to play it - and after I stopped playing, I would literally have more fun sitting in my chair, doing nothing, than I had playing the game that session.

    "Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning" is a tiresome slog of a game. It's colours are so bright and garish that it never failed to give me a headache. Every environment was essentially a room or a hallway, with some trees and water, surrounded on all sides by blatantly artificial impassable cliff faces. Every environment was like that, a field, or a swamp, or a forest, sunken into some kind of canyon, for no goddamn reason but to railroad the player, and to make sure they can only go in the direction that the devs point them. It looks ugly and incompetent, and reeks of the worst fantasy-flavoured corridor shooters that the mid-to-late aughts could spit out.

    The NPCs are bland, boring and empty, and come equipped with obnoxious, bright red exclamation points that hover over their heads to single them out as quest-givers, shattering any immersion the player could have had, and singing from the hilltops KoA:R's legacy as a failed MMORPG, repackaged as a single player game. The combat is dull and terribly easy; I was able to get through it by literally just mashing the attack button and nothing else through every random encounter - encounters, by the way, with the same three cookie-cutter enemies, repeated ad nauseam through the whole length of the game.

    The story and lore and writing is patched together out of the same generic, warmed-over Tolkienisms and power fantasies that plague the rest of the fantasy genre, coupled with some pseudo-philosophical tripe about the player character being able to "choose their own destiny" and being "free from the shackles of fate." Why? Don't ask why. The game holds no answer for you; The only conceivable answer is simply because you are the player character, and the player character has to have super powers, right?

    I can't stress this enough: I can see absolutely no reason why any person on this sordid Earth would ever, ever enjoy "Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning." Please take my advice, that no matter what you enjoy, or what kind of person you are, and no matter how masochistic your tendencies, there is absolutely no reason to ever purchase this game. It has nothing for you. You deserve **** better.
    Expand

See all 350 User Reviews