User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 118

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    5
    A tedious game to say the least. King's Bounty is basically Heroes of Might and Magic without town building. Mediocre soundtrack, generic story and repetitive battles since you can only win them by using your pet dragon. You will always be the underdog and Armored Princess is pretty much a survival mode before you can activate your dragon. The game does look nice but feels like a grind.
  2. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Most underrated game I have ever played. Turn-based strategy RPG at its finest. If you are a fan of the HOMM series this game will blow you away. Be warned that it can be a rather difficult game, but that simply makes it all the more rewarding. Combat is very smooth and balanced. Many improvements from The Legend, but many of my favourite features were also removed.
  3. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    This takes the King's Bounty: The Legend and builds upon it in creative ways. Nevertheless, strip off the fluff and you are left with game play that is in essence the same as before. The question then becomes "how much of that can you handle before you get bored". In many ways this is a better game than KB: TL from both a technical and a game play perspective. The talent trees make more sense. No glitching on Windows 7 64 bit. But the story of this game is also more serious in tone and much of the fun of the original game came from it's irreverent attitude. Armored Princess has more spit and polish but fundamentally doesn't try to reinvigorate the franchise. If you loved KB:TL and wanted more the same, that's the good news. But if you were hoping to see where the developers would go next, it's a bit of a disappointment. I can't help but agree with the one Critic Review that says that this is great game if you are fan of the genre but that everyone else can pass it up. That makes rating the game difficult. If you love the stuff it's worth a 10. But if it's not your cup of tea it's worth nothing. As someone who enjoys it, but only for a change of pace, I'm giving it a seven. Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    Still a great game just like the original but a few flaws prevents it from reaching the same astronomic heights. If you're focused and into strategy, you'll find the second half of the game too easy. By the end, only the boss fights are hard (they are hard, though) and the rest can feel a bit like a grind. You can create some fun tactics and setups but the AI just doesn't seem to be able to match them by the end. The story is still great and the humor is right up there with it. Overall, should be played but it's not as flawless as the first. Expand
  5. May 29, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this game. It was fun, and as long as you don't Kite enemies (self discipline), there is not much I'd knock about this game for what it was trying to do. It's a great time killer, pleasant graphics. I really enjoyed it. Late game I got a little over-powered, but I like that feeling. The only detractor I can think of is you can encounter fairly tough guys early on, but you get to deal with them later. Also if you play like an idiot you can mess up your game and may have to start again. Overall I really liked this game Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    Real-time Heroes of Might & Magic clone with less focus on castle defense and more RPG elements. Very derivative but has a long main quest with a large world map. More exploration and plot-heavy than HoMM, but not much else is original about it. Armored Princess has a lot of new features so I'd recommend just getting this one over the original since they're almost the same game. Completely average and muddled with uneven difficulty, this might be worth picking up if you're a fan of HoMM. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    5
    The first time I played it, I thought it was terrible. Bad story line, clunky game-play, too much needless dialogue, etc. etc.
    Reading the other reviews here, I'm willing to give it another shot.
  8. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    As a die hard fan of Heroes 3 I was always looking for a similar type of games and I found the King's Bounty series. Before, I played the campaigns of Heroes 3 data discs (the ones in the original games are boring and not worth it) every year, again and again, but I will play them much less now, as Kings Bounty is superior for me.

    If you can sacrifice the caste building and resource
    collecting from HOMAM games in exchange for WASTELY SUPERIOR tactical battles with a lot of challenge, King's Bounty games are what you are looking for.

    Of the KB series, Armored Princess is the best one available.
    Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    one of the best games to come out in this genre to date. Immersive game play, long hours of game play, very re-playable with the randomly generated enemies and treasures. I think this game really added to the the second installment (The legend). the graphics are beautiful and some are hand drawn which gives it that awesome feel. and for those who say this game is hard I don't know what to do, you probably should read the manual, because not all games are murder simulators (COD,BF, ETC.....) Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The Armored Princess is only a quarter shorter than the original game. How long ago have you played a stand-alone expansion that takes 30 hours to beat it at a normal difficulty?
  2. If you're going to play a King's Bounty game for the first time, make it The Legend - and I'd say that whether or not it was available so cheaply. If you're all done with that and crave more, then Armored Princess will not do you wrong.
  3. King's Bounty The Armored Princess is a great game. It's a wonderful add-on to the original game, and offers few, but interesting new features.