Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There is an atypical cabin deep in the woods. It had served as a lab and a home for three generations of Lodgers. But lately the current Lodger has been noticing weird changes in familiar surroundings; things are missing, noises and rattle heard. Something strange is coming out of the woods.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    95
    If you’re looking for something pretty, scary and uncommon, Ice-Pick Lodge’s game is an excellent choice. Instead of 3 hours needed to complete Knock-knock I’ve already got 15 on my timer and I don’t regret any of it. [12/2013, p.60]
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    A peculiar logical game able to both put in fear and to make think not only about your rules. Every now and then it manages to do so with difficulty, however, its storytelling opened to your interpretation, and its eye-catching execution help to not fall down into the abyss.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    70
    A dread-drenched take on hide-and-seek which will mesmerise some, and alienate most. [December 2013, p.80]
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    50
    Many indie games already proved that even the weirdest concept can be supported by a robust, addictive gameplay. Such is not the case with Knock-knock, that in the end just fails to entertain.
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    48
    Aside from the presentation and art style, there is really no way I could suggest Knock-Knock to players. Unless you really enjoy trial and error game play and confusing mechanics that aren’t explained, you may want to stay away.
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    45
    Knock-Knock is a game you want to love because it has a nice, freaky style. Unfortunately, the game itself feels like repetitive work which makes it very unattractive. For a horror videogame, we do not think Knock-Knock is scary enough. Too bad, because we would have enjoyed figuring out what that weird key character is up to.
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    30
    Knock-Knock could have been amazing; with a slightly different outcome on that early night, and if the mystery gets its hooks in before the mechanics start souring the experience, it could have been a tense nail-biter. As it happened, I got fed up with Knock-Knock long before its secrets surfaced, and I was happier to break the game than to continue playing along.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Discovering the game mechanics is fun, the overall atmosphere is dream-like and spooky. What this game is about is more or less up to the players interpretation, but one thing is sure: this is the type of game that tries to reach out to the player. In my opinion this game is about how the brain defends the ego against the horrors of reality. But as always, there are things that come out only when it's dark. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Knock-Knock is full of surprises. First of all, despite its cartoon 2D graphics Knock-Knock is actually one of the best horror games I ever played. The best part of the game is learning how to play it by yourself. Try not to read any spoilers before playing. Wait for the night and put on your headphones. Get ready to submerge into the atmosphere of suspense and uncertain terror. Enjoy its visual and sound design. I certainly recommend this game to everyone who likes mystery and challenge.
    All in all bravo, Ice-Pick Lodge!
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Do, NOT listen to the critics. They don't see the seer genius this "game" has to over. Wait, this isn't really a game...It's an experience. An out-of-body experience. The game is full of hidden meanings, subtleties and overall pure mindf**kery. The game mechanics, if you can call them that, are subliminally messaged to you. So after a while you know how to play the game, without knowing how to play the game. Strange isn't it? The game has an achievement making a reference to Twin Peaks which in it self is awesome. The game is ridiculously atmospheric and creepy. The main character who's name is unknown, is a housekeeper of sorts. Or you could call him a caretaker, of the sorts. Being a caretaker he has to stay up ALL night. This is not good for the human mind. The Caretaker (that's his name now.) starts seeing things, things that aren't actually there. But that's the catch, they, are not, there. They are fake. If you see one, it disappears. It never existed. Or did it? Maybe so, maybe not. The game is entirely based around perception. How do you see the game? Instead of me telling you what it is, you have to "experience" it for yourself. Make up your own idea of what the hell is going on here. They night visions are coming. Prepare yourself, stay awake until dawn. Stay sane. And whatever you do. DO NOT APPROACH THE GIRL IN THE CORNER!!! I REPEAT, DO, NOT, APPROACH, HER. Knock Knock. Who's there? ...............................................................................................................................................................You. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece from Ice-Pick Lodge developers. Don't get fooled by cartoon graphics or seems-to-be-simple gameplay. It will take some time to understand what's going on there. It's not a traditional game, more of an experiment. Just be ready to confront your fears. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Incredible atmosphere, excellent art-design, short gameplay and some questionable game design decisions. That's Knock-Knock for me. If you're a member of the "COD-audience", steer clear, otherwise it's highly recommended. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    Est-Europe videogames always have something characteristic, same for this game. It's a small and pretty good esperience that will not scare you, but will be cool to play. VIRTUALINN.IT Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Played this game for an hour, nothing happened. I walked through six houses and turned on all the lights in all the rooms. Sometimes the lights would go out, so I'd go turn them on again. My character kept talking about 'hiding' and when to turn the lights out, but none of it made any sense. There was never anything for me to hide from. One time when I was unlocking a door, a ghost walked through it, and then I had to start the level over for some reason. There was no opportunity for me to hide from it. Other than that, this was just a game about turning on lights. Dear god was that boring. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews