User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 54
  2. Negative: 14 out of 54
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WillJ.
    Mar 10, 2006
    5
    The game starts out as a very promising survival horror fps. The farm at the beginning and the zombie-infested cornfields are oozing with terrifying ambience. However, once you've played through the beginning, you've basically seen all the game has to offer. The rest of the game is repetitive and boring. You wade through sewers and wander around city streets which are infested The game starts out as a very promising survival horror fps. The farm at the beginning and the zombie-infested cornfields are oozing with terrifying ambience. However, once you've played through the beginning, you've basically seen all the game has to offer. The rest of the game is repetitive and boring. You wade through sewers and wander around city streets which are infested by almost identical zombies. There are only a total of four different enemies in the game: standard zombies, crawling zombies, melee weapon wielding zombies and diseased zombies. You spend your time bashing and shooting these four enemy types and completing simple objectives such as providing cover for a friend or looking for keys. This gets old very quickly but playing through the game doesn't take long either. The graphics are quite dated but on the other hand, the game should run even on slower pc:s. The sounds aren't excellent but they aren't bad either. The game has a basic multiplayer deathmatch which doesn't offer anything new and a way too easy co-op mode in which you kill waves of zombies with your teammates. You won't find many servers for this game since it isn't all that popular. In conclusion, road to fiddler's green is a big disappointment. A boring zombie shooter you'll play through in one night and never play again. Unless you're a really hardcore zombie fan the game is not worth your money. Expand
  2. FelipeH.
    May 11, 2006
    5
    I expected a lot more from this game, i mean, sometimes it get boring, when this could be a great scary game , but it doesnt , the guns sucks (exep for the sniper and the axe)and ths zombies are easy to avoid. Its not
  3. Jasonr.
    Oct 30, 2005
    2
    I am a HUGE romero fan and if this game would have been even half way decent I would have been ok with it. This is really a mockery of the dead series. They couldn't even get the 1 head shot one kill formula right. In the first level I shot some zombies 4-5 times directly in the head before they died. The character movement is slow and clunky. From what I can tell so far you I am a HUGE romero fan and if this game would have been even half way decent I would have been ok with it. This is really a mockery of the dead series. They couldn't even get the 1 head shot one kill formula right. In the first level I shot some zombies 4-5 times directly in the head before they died. The character movement is slow and clunky. From what I can tell so far you can't fortify doors but the zombies sure can break through them. I have wasted enough time talking about this game. Avoid it like, well the zombie plague . Expand
  4. Warmonger
    Oct 31, 2005
    3
    Pretty bad! Gameplay is tedious and slow for example: (why does he move so slowly and run out of breath so fast, when forced to run?) the graphics are also sub par....see the movie instead!!!
  5. bobshneider
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    This game ROCKS! Anybody who doesn't like the game must have no idea what zombies are like. Zombies are the living dead. So what if 1 zombie can't get through a door? Zombies are the dead only reanimated. They are supposed to be stupid! All in all, this is a GREAT first person shooting game.
  6. MikeyH.
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    This is a great game for the price. Well worth getting.
  7. CeramicGod
    Oct 31, 2005
    8
    Pretty darn good - great if you're a Romero fan. A little dated but DEFINITELY worth $20.
  8. ROODOGBumboKlaat
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    This gets a 10 from me because i loved the movie so i am giving it 2 extra just for that and i have only played the demo plus watched all trailers i could find.Forget resident evil as this just blows that out of the water.Plus you play in a first person persrective which is the only way to go for the pc release.Lots of blood and zombiies and some cool weapons like the moltov cocktail andThis gets a 10 from me because i loved the movie so i am giving it 2 extra just for that and i have only played the demo plus watched all trailers i could find.Forget resident evil as this just blows that out of the water.Plus you play in a first person persrective which is the only way to go for the pc release.Lots of blood and zombiies and some cool weapons like the moltov cocktail and the sniper rifle.I am not sure but i believe that a co-op multiplayer will be available in the finished version.If it is then it will deserve a 10! Expand
  9. BillS.
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    This is a ZOMBIE game. If you don't like zombies or zombie movies, this game is not for you. If you are a fan of this genre, and especially George Romero, then you will love this game, becuase it makes you feel like you are in a zombie movie. The graphics are from 1996, and the gameplay kind of sucks (see, i.e., other commentators opinions on crappy targeting and weapons). But the This is a ZOMBIE game. If you don't like zombies or zombie movies, this game is not for you. If you are a fan of this genre, and especially George Romero, then you will love this game, becuase it makes you feel like you are in a zombie movie. The graphics are from 1996, and the gameplay kind of sucks (see, i.e., other commentators opinions on crappy targeting and weapons). But the one thing that makes this game great is that you really feal the terror and horror of being in a zombie apocalypse. You gotta try it. Expand
  10. TrigaliG.
    Oct 29, 2006
    8
    The game itself isn't amazing graphically. The AI at times is very stupid and often seemed to stand there at a few rare instances but then again zombies are braindead after all. Nah, its not a shooter or a frantic game. Its a zombie horror show in first person. What it seems the gaming industry missed. I mean, heck, there are like 100 cinima style view horror games, no first person The game itself isn't amazing graphically. The AI at times is very stupid and often seemed to stand there at a few rare instances but then again zombies are braindead after all. Nah, its not a shooter or a frantic game. Its a zombie horror show in first person. What it seems the gaming industry missed. I mean, heck, there are like 100 cinima style view horror games, no first person zombie death goodness. It was like playing the web-based game "Urban Dead" but in first person. Was amazing if you want to just waste zombies with tonnes of stuff for an hour. If thats not what you want, then this game is NOT for you. And to all those no-saying critic reviews? I would bet every penny I have none of them like to just senslessly frag zombies. Expand
  11. VincentN.
    Nov 11, 2005
    8
    If you have a dated PC, love George Romero zombie action, then this is the game for you! Land of the Dead does not have very high system requirements. Zombies move and moan just like Romero's movies. Shot placement detection is off though. Headshots end up not counting as headshots. Also the graphics are not quite up to date. Would have liked character to be able to move faster than If you have a dated PC, love George Romero zombie action, then this is the game for you! Land of the Dead does not have very high system requirements. Zombies move and moan just like Romero's movies. Shot placement detection is off though. Headshots end up not counting as headshots. Also the graphics are not quite up to date. Would have liked character to be able to move faster than snail pace. The low system requirements, zombie-action, and $20 price tag may be grounds to buy this game. Expand
  12. RobertT.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    This game was everything I ever wanted and expected in a zombie game. The graphics I found were not that shabby but were out of date a bit. I hear people whining about the targetting system. I would have liked a zoom in over the barrel aiming ability (Medal of Honor European assault Call of Duty 2) However; some poeple need to realize just because you poitn at something in a general area This game was everything I ever wanted and expected in a zombie game. The graphics I found were not that shabby but were out of date a bit. I hear people whining about the targetting system. I would have liked a zoom in over the barrel aiming ability (Medal of Honor European assault Call of Duty 2) However; some poeple need to realize just because you poitn at something in a general area and fire does not mean you will hit it. This is truly a survival game. Anyone who said this game is horrible; lacks intelligence and taste. ANyone who says the aiming ability is crappy; needs to get behind a gun while having moving targets coming towards you while they are in fear of their life. Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2012
    4
    I've beaten through and even modded this series (extra zombie spawns) to give an extra challenge, but the product to me was disappointing because of sub-par hit detection, a random shotgun and other flaws. Bargain bin material, not to mention the developers stopped supporting the game after the last patch.
  14. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Es un lindo juego su trama E historia estan buenos este juego es uno de mis favoritos aunque su critica este un poco mala,yo le doy un 9 de 10,lo recomiendo para que lo juegen.
  15. GurraGreat
    May 3, 2008
    5
    The game was not as scary as I had expected. They did the best job in the beginning of the game where you had to walk through the cornfields. After a while when you got into the city though, the game started to get boring and repetetive. However, even if there was bad gameplay the graphics were excelent and didn't require a computer whith the best graphic card.
  16. GratefulDead
    Nov 6, 2005
    7
    Overall an "OK" FPS. I finished the single-player in about 8-10 hours (seriously..no cheats). Yes, there are some flaws... especially with the 'head shots". I put 5 head-shots into one zombie at fairly close range before it went down (a glitch IMO). The average fps player probably won't like it...but IMO, any 'zombie fan' will be drooling to get it. There's Overall an "OK" FPS. I finished the single-player in about 8-10 hours (seriously..no cheats). Yes, there are some flaws... especially with the 'head shots". I put 5 head-shots into one zombie at fairly close range before it went down (a glitch IMO). The average fps player probably won't like it...but IMO, any 'zombie fan' will be drooling to get it. There's nothing else like it. There are no 'super weapons'...(which, for this game, is good)..the best weapon being the M-16 (or sniper rifle at a distance). There were a few moments when I 'jumped' ...but otherwise its predictable. Hey, its not DOOM3...the ONLY monsters are ZOMBIES. A flashlight (like Doom3) would have been nice to have at times. The missions are predictable...get the key to open this, go here to open this before you can continue, etc... but they were interesting...some 'sniper' missions (to help Otis) and the heavy machine-gun level to mow down ranks of zombies...always fun. I doubt there will be any expansions for this game, which is too bad. I like the multi-player games...but the maps for "invasion" should have been bigger, with MORE zombies ...and allowing the use of sniper rifles, etc.. I really liked the game. It has some flaws, and could have been 'tweaked' a bit, but I'ld recommend it to my friends. Fragging daemons and aliens are OK..but there's nothing like blasting hordes of flesh-eating zombies ! Expand
  17. KevinH
    Oct 31, 2005
    6
    Great looking game, flawed weapons system (4 shots to the head with a .22 should kill anything, living or dead), overall a decent game for the money, good for avid fans of the genre, just don't expect a FPS equivalent to Half-life 2 or Doom 3.
  18. JoeyM.
    Nov 27, 2005
    7
    I've got pretty mixed feelings about this game. On one hand, it's clearly not "up to date", the graphics (from the Unreal Engine) are pretty plain and you'll see redundant textures and actors, the targeting is far from perfect, some levels are even taken from other games (the hospital level looks very much like the one in SOF2) and its very very linear levels. But on the I've got pretty mixed feelings about this game. On one hand, it's clearly not "up to date", the graphics (from the Unreal Engine) are pretty plain and you'll see redundant textures and actors, the targeting is far from perfect, some levels are even taken from other games (the hospital level looks very much like the one in SOF2) and its very very linear levels. But on the other hand, boy! This game is fun! Maybe it's blasting the zombies away (or just parts of them hehehe) or the fact that it runs very smoothly on standard PC's, or maybe the shocks you'll probably have when turning around and facing the teeths of a corpse which wants to eat your brain? I really don't know. So technicaly, this game would have required a little more work, that's for sure. But it's still a very entertaining and bloody game which won't give you the creeps, but a couple of frights here and there and a fair portion of massive zombie massacre action. Expand
  19. TerriM.
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    Loved it loved it loved it. Its not perfect, but it was a zombietastic experience and fun.
  20. RichH.
    Oct 29, 2005
    2
    Upsettingly bad.
  21. DH
    Oct 30, 2005
    8
    Wicked fun. scary. gory.bloody. Did I mention scary? Ok, the graphics are next gen but they do the job. Bottom line its fun and scary and it has my vote.
  22. SteveC.
    Oct 30, 2005
    2
    Damn ! Looks like a 1999's freeware. I just can't belive this one's out in 2005. Slow speed, boring graphics, empty maps, bad modeling, inexistant AI. A pure deception.
  23. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    Seriously,what´s wrong with this people? The multiplayer is just like Counter Strike (yeah,i compared it to Counter strike,deal with it) the story might be chessy, but its a ton of fun. The only problem is the price,but you can download it free on mediafire,so there is no excuse for hating this game
  24. CLS
    Feb 12, 2016
    4
    There are other better "zombie shooters" out there that are more interesting than this. Just download the "Dead Epidemic" mod for this game to get the most out of your money if you happen to have bought the game years ago like me.
  25. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    a good zombie game, with a really nice story and gameplay...the multiplayer is kinda fun too...i dont understand why is soo underrated but aniway, you should try this game just for fun..7 from me
  26. Aug 23, 2015
    8
    Excellent zombie FPS that captures the essence of the movie genre of old circa 70's & 80's zombie flicks. I never did understand the harsh criticism this game received from professional reviewers back when it was released 10 years ago. The main criticisms, I think, are unfounded...poor enemy AI...really? They are freaking ZOMBIES, they are brain-dead...Would reviewers have rather theExcellent zombie FPS that captures the essence of the movie genre of old circa 70's & 80's zombie flicks. I never did understand the harsh criticism this game received from professional reviewers back when it was released 10 years ago. The main criticisms, I think, are unfounded...poor enemy AI...really? They are freaking ZOMBIES, they are brain-dead...Would reviewers have rather the zombies used squad tactics, flanking and the like? I think the enemy AI is perfectly fitting, in fact it is so true to the genre (that is the genre of zombie horror) that I wouldn't change a thing about the enemy AI here. You can easily run past one, two or even a few zombies with little immediate repercussions because they are slow and unable to use projectile weapons however make no mistake if you are in a building, alley way or sewer and hit a dead end that forces you to double back those zombies you laughed at and ran past have now gathered into a horde and if you haven't conserved ammo then welp, you are in trouble.This game forces you to use your head and think ahead, "gee should I take out this random zombie even though I have 3 bullets or should a run past and hope I don't need to double back?" These are the conundrums you imagine you would be pressed with in a zombie apocalypse.

    The atmosphere of the game is also very fitting, it is very bleak, dark, desolate and lonely. You do start out in a rural setting but only for the first few minutes of the game, after that its urban decay, a city scape void of any life but chock full of zombie hordes. You play as a protagonist named Jack, just your average joe, a middle aged farmer with special abilities or super powers, just your wit and whatever weapons you can scavenge from the environment. The pacing is slow but methodical, bringing you though a fairly linear but well realized world with clear goals presented to you such as find doctor in hospital, get key card to free doctor from locked office, protect yourself when said doctor inevitably turns into the undead and push on to the next objective...Try to stay alive and find other survivors.

    Reviewers who were originally harsh either completely missed the point in that how the game plays is a deliberate and conscious move on the part of the developers or the reviewers have never seen a zombie film pre-28 Days Later. Also 10 years ago there was a A LOT happening in the FPS genre of gaming, Half Life 2, Doom 3 and FarCry were relatively new still as well as many other new franchises that would go on to be juggernauts (Call of Duty, Brothers in Arms, Battlefield and FEAR among others) so perhaps reviewers were looking for something groundbreaking. This is the wrong game if you want groundbreaking, but if you are looking for a game to play late at night and get engrossed into the environment, if you are the type of person who would choose Day of the Dead (1985) over Day of the Dead 2008 then this game is for you.
    Expand
  27. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    The game is very fun, although not the best of its kind you manage to catch some negative point is its duration, but it compensates with a lot of action.
  28. Jun 4, 2017
    8
    Si no estoy seguro. creo que este es el único videojuego realmente basado en el universo de George Romero. Un genial FPS de acción y terror. eres un granjero que en plena cena descubres a un individiuo fuera de tu casa. un individuo extraño. cuando te acercas descubres que estas en pleno apocalipsis zombie. pronto se le acaban las municiones y la comida y sales a la ciudad en busca deSi no estoy seguro. creo que este es el único videojuego realmente basado en el universo de George Romero. Un genial FPS de acción y terror. eres un granjero que en plena cena descubres a un individiuo fuera de tu casa. un individuo extraño. cuando te acercas descubres que estas en pleno apocalipsis zombie. pronto se le acaban las municiones y la comida y sales a la ciudad en busca de ayuda. pero todo esta perdido. buenos gráficos para la época (unreal 2), buena variedad de armas, zombies con diferentes skin, modo multijugador todavia activo. quizás una pega es que al apuntar a la cabeza de los zombies no siempre explota y muere de 1 disparo. una precuela de la película. y otra adaptación decente de un film. recomendado. Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. Paradoxically, any brilliance and beauty lie in the raw, unpolished stylized realism and mostly clever reworking of elements found in the film.
  2. Computer Games Magazine
    40
    Anyone shelling out for Land of the Dead is in grave danger of buyer's remorse. [Feb 2006, p.64]
  3. PC Gamer
    40
    Road also boasts snore-rific multiplay that adds nothing. Even if the game's selling for less than its $19.99 M.S.R.P., leave it to rot. [Mar 2006, p.51]