User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 152

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2015
    7
    Foi o motivo para que eu começasse e consequentemente me viciasse aqui na Steam a + de 4anos atrás.

    Na época foi uma descoberta, total novidade esse foco 100% digital plataforma com visão isométrica. A velha e clássica lady Croft fodona, com um carisma irradiante e debochado que só ela tem e que tanto nos cativa. O enredo é meio clichê, salvar o mundo pra variar no meio de um caos
    Foi o motivo para que eu começasse e consequentemente me viciasse aqui na Steam a + de 4anos atrás.

    Na época foi uma descoberta, total novidade esse foco 100% digital plataforma com visão isométrica.

    A velha e clássica lady Croft fodona, com um carisma irradiante e debochado que só ela tem e que tanto nos cativa. O enredo é meio clichê, salvar o mundo pra variar no meio de um caos mitológico.
    1ª trilha sonora da franquia que não me agradou pelo fato que não teve qualquer criatividade, simplesment pegaram os sons da trilogia Tomb Raider Legend Aniversary e Underworld e deram um jeito de enfiar de qualquer jeito no jogo.
    Os gráficos são bem fraquinhos mas como não se trata de um AAA e sim esse foco em plataforma é compreensível.

    A diversão fica completamente pelo seu gameplay, pode não ser grande coisa sonoramente nem graficamente mas é MUITO mas muito divertido. Tanto solo como co-op ( cada um com suas particularidades ) tem um frenesi realmente te empolga. Muitos puzzles e ao mesmo tempo muito tiroteio tudo muito bem misturado e dosado. A cooperação particularmente foi muito bme feita é realmente ao pé da letra, você depende do outro e somente juntos em sintonia consegue fazer uma bela partida.

    Ta que osu um pouco suspeito para falar pela importância que este jogo particularmente tem pra mim mas mesmo levando pela análise racional vale completamente a pena conferir.
    Expand
  2. AWG
    Aug 13, 2013
    7
    I didn't have the chance to play the co-op mode so my review only applies to the single player one. Great keyboard controls, awesome graphics, interesting concept, well-designed levels and puzzles... I'm really enjoying this game and I'd recommend it to my friends.
  3. Jul 6, 2016
    7
    Gameplay : 7
    Graphics : 6
    Story : 7
    Sound : 7
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 7
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    In a departure from the standard Lara Croft gaming experience; this isometric shooter, adventure, puzzle game was a refreshing surprise… Although I prefer the “Tomb Raider” franchise this proved to be an enjoyable experience in its own way… The arcade style of the game was pleasant but being unfamiliar with this style of game made this a little tricky for me to get into… UnfortunatelyIn a departure from the standard Lara Croft gaming experience; this isometric shooter, adventure, puzzle game was a refreshing surprise… Although I prefer the “Tomb Raider” franchise this proved to be an enjoyable experience in its own way… The arcade style of the game was pleasant but being unfamiliar with this style of game made this a little tricky for me to get into… Unfortunately there are a few bugs present at points which do make it fairly frustrating in getting Lara to work as she has been told! Overall though I would recommend this game for some fun arcade style game-play and it could appeal to those who may not like Tomb Raider as it’s a completely new style of game! Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    0
    Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is not your traditional Tomb Raider game but this addition to the series is a welcome to not only the series but the Isometric action game genre... with one exception (and a pretty big one). The Visual during game play are very detailed but not excessive to the point of distraction. enemies look diverse enough to know which type they are without havingLara Croft and the Guardian of Light is not your traditional Tomb Raider game but this addition to the series is a welcome to not only the series but the Isometric action game genre... with one exception (and a pretty big one). The Visual during game play are very detailed but not excessive to the point of distraction. enemies look diverse enough to know which type they are without having to look directly at them. The Story is on the weak side but is interesting enough to make you want to know the conclusion. Lara is hired by a group of "explorers" to find the legendary Mirror of Shadows. They removed the Mirror from it's resting place and awake Xolotl from his sealed prison. The Guardian of Light, Totec, is brought back to life and with the help of Lara, must defeat Xolotl and seal him back in the mirror...

    The Game play is where its at! It's fast pace and non stop... BUT i have played this game with both first K&M and then game pad (xbox 360 controller) and this game absolutely terrible to play with K&M. There are some severe navigation issues when moving the stone balls from location to the other and having to place a bomb, roll and detonate the bomb is a real task. Now playing with the game pad is controlling Lara in action perfect (makes sense, since it is a XBLA game), but makes aiming seem a little tedious when compared to the mouse's point and click shooting. Single player and online co-op both smoothly with co-op reigning supreme when compared to each other.

    Replay Value in this game is great. each mission as three levels of score total, three to five map challenges and 4-7 bonus items on each mission. giving you three way to play each mission in and different levels of difficulty, you can easily spend 15-18 hours on this game

    The Music is good and keeps the atmosphere and action going but the voice acting is sub par.

    Overall: This game would have gotten a 5/10 for having bad K&M and below average voice acting and story but the action in the game, online co-op, the ease of playing with a game pad and the incredible amount of replay value earns this an extremely solid 8.

    Just make sure you have a game pad for this game.
    Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 13, 2011
    70
    New Lara adventures shock with a genre-change and comes with great Diablo-like playability. Smart puzzles and great co-op multiplayer mode make Guardian of Light one of the most pleasant surprises this year. [Issue#197]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    Dec 30, 2010
    87
    A gem of a game on a par with the type of shiny jewels that Lara herself might travel all over the world to acquire.
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    78
    This Lara Croft is an exciting, nice-looking game. It's a pity that some of its nagging shortcomings weren't fixed before the release.