User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3576 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FrozenF
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    I agree with Shock k that this is what me and my friends have been waiting for. This game is the pinnacle of online gaming, let alone cooperative. And it being Valve ensures the game's potential is reached through updates and feedback as seen in games like tf2. An 89 seems ridiculously low for a game that offers so much. If you enjoy zombies, fps's, and cooperative gaming then i I agree with Shock k that this is what me and my friends have been waiting for. This game is the pinnacle of online gaming, let alone cooperative. And it being Valve ensures the game's potential is reached through updates and feedback as seen in games like tf2. An 89 seems ridiculously low for a game that offers so much. If you enjoy zombies, fps's, and cooperative gaming then i definitely recommend this game. You won't be disappointed, there will be so many 'oh shit' moments that will keep you having fun with friends for what I foresee as years. Expand
  2. MichaelK.
    Apr 20, 2009
    10
    I dislike Zombie games. But Left 4 Dead is a really BIG exception. Its really a special gameplay. It has a fast gameplay with long-time gaming-fun. The Director is one of the best features in the game. He forces the Team-Mates to work together. Non-Team play will be punished immediatelly. And thats it what makes the game to a perfect MP-Game!
  3. MurdocM
    Apr 22, 2009
    10
    From the concept of the game to the design of the game, valve has been very diligent in the making of L4D. Most of the controls have been preserved from Counter-Strike which reduces the learning curve for most players. It is a fantastic experience playing this game especially with the release of the Survival pack. The only problem to this game is that many bugs still need to be addressed From the concept of the game to the design of the game, valve has been very diligent in the making of L4D. Most of the controls have been preserved from Counter-Strike which reduces the learning curve for most players. It is a fantastic experience playing this game especially with the release of the Survival pack. The only problem to this game is that many bugs still need to be addressed although I have been fairly satisfied at the speed of which Valve release these updates. The price has gone down to $39.99 USD on steam so this game is definitely worth the money. Expand
  4. Karl
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    great co-op game play, especially when your team co-ops. The new survival mode is intense and makes a great game even better. Four to six more campaigns would help greatly as the four it comes with generally become less an less challenging, the unpredictable AI taken into account, as you gain experience Great for lan play as well as online Worth the money you pay for it, and as levels are great co-op game play, especially when your team co-ops. The new survival mode is intense and makes a great game even better. Four to six more campaigns would help greatly as the four it comes with generally become less an less challenging, the unpredictable AI taken into account, as you gain experience Great for lan play as well as online Worth the money you pay for it, and as levels are added that value will just go up. Expand
  5. MichaelS
    May 2, 2009
    10
    I have become a gamer at the hands of Valve's excellent commitment to the consumer. I have not found any other game that offers the same kind of dedication that Valve has to their products. It began with Team Fortress 2 for me, and was finalized in Left 4 Dead. I will play this game for many years to come. Any gamer worth a grain of salt would have this game in his collection.
  6. MylesG
    May 9, 2009
    10
    I confess bias. I love everything with zombies in it, but ever since "Resident Evil 3: Nemesis", I haven't seen any really good zombie games. Until now! The fear, the adrenaline, the darkness, and above all, the sensation that one false step means death. That is what a zombie game needs. Others are more action oriented and make the zombies seem like crash test dummies to be ripped to I confess bias. I love everything with zombies in it, but ever since "Resident Evil 3: Nemesis", I haven't seen any really good zombie games. Until now! The fear, the adrenaline, the darkness, and above all, the sensation that one false step means death. That is what a zombie game needs. Others are more action oriented and make the zombies seem like crash test dummies to be ripped to shreads and walked over. They forget that zombies are horror and should be feared. The music creates the mood and doesn't get in the way. As it should, but then the idea of music personalized to the experience of the player and not the game. That was genius. Expand
  7. KjetilO
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is our time greatest zombie apocalypse! Your mission is to escape, and it's one way and one way only to do that. kill zombies!! Great Game!
  8. michaelc
    May 10, 2009
    10
    This game is non stop shooting, heads blowing off and blood everywhere. unpredictable on where the zombie going to be and attack.
  9. KaarleW
    May 10, 2009
    9
    A wonderfully thrilling game that can be played again and again. The graphics are great and yet, my poopy computer runs it like magic. The only minus I have to give is the fact that the number of weapons is very limited, which is strange for a Valve game.
  10. MichaelM
    May 15, 2009
    9
    Makes great fun being chased by a great horde of infected. After a while it seems to be the same all the time, but it is always different. No infected or special infected would ever be on the same place twice playing a campaign and the survivors always acting different. (singleplayer). In Multiplayer there's nothing like L4D for me. Co-Op Shooting Zombies, teamwork, nothing else. Makes great fun being chased by a great horde of infected. After a while it seems to be the same all the time, but it is always different. No infected or special infected would ever be on the same place twice playing a campaign and the survivors always acting different. (singleplayer). In Multiplayer there's nothing like L4D for me. Co-Op Shooting Zombies, teamwork, nothing else. That's what this game makes so great for me! Thanks Valve! Expand
  11. Kevin
    May 16, 2009
    9
    Over all, Left 4 Dead was a great game. The first time I played it I played for 6 hours straight. The running zombies got your addrenlin pumping and being able to work with team mates was really cool. The only things I would change about the game is the fact that your partners weren't the smartest (they should be more team oriented) and that the game wasn't very long (more Over all, Left 4 Dead was a great game. The first time I played it I played for 6 hours straight. The running zombies got your addrenlin pumping and being able to work with team mates was really cool. The only things I would change about the game is the fact that your partners weren't the smartest (they should be more team oriented) and that the game wasn't very long (more levels should of been added). Other than that, the game is a lot of fun to play, especially online. Expand
  12. NickL
    May 17, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. I got it the minute it came out in November. It's now May, and I still play it nearly every day. A zombie fan's dream come true.
  13. SamM
    May 19, 2009
    9
    Sorry, the reviews by Fox J and R L below me were pissing me off. They have obviously not even played the game. In fox's review, he claimed that one player plays as the director - not true. The AI director is the same in Campaign and versus, the infected play as the special infected (Boomer, Smoker, Hunter, and Tank). Of course, some people can ruin a gaming experience, but about 90 Sorry, the reviews by Fox J and R L below me were pissing me off. They have obviously not even played the game. In fox's review, he claimed that one player plays as the director - not true. The AI director is the same in Campaign and versus, the infected play as the special infected (Boomer, Smoker, Hunter, and Tank). Of course, some people can ruin a gaming experience, but about 90 percent of the time you'll get in a game with some cool people, or just play with friends (more fun anyways). OK, in R L's way down there, he's also wrong. I suppose survival mode is a preference, but they've already released community map tools. It's nothing like HL2 - much faster and more intense. The lack of weapons is for mere simplicity and a bit of realism. Games like HL2 and (sorry for the generic example) Halo have a lot of weapons because there are a lot of different situations, requiring different weapons. L4D is just killing zombies. Plain and simple fun. Oh, and there was a user-made mall level BEFORE the development tools were released. And remember, this is Valve. VALVE. Look at TF2. Its been out for close to 2 years, and updates of all kinds are still flooding out. Oh, and to prove that I'm not a fanboy, I do have some problems with the game. The AI wont follow you, they have to kill EVERYTHING before they go on. In one section, you have to climb ladders up an elevator shaft. Rather than climbing up, my AI buddies stood around shooting at smokers and were soon dragged to their deaths. Then again, its a Co-Op game. Bring Friends. Expand
  14. EricY.
    May 19, 2009
    10
    This is the first zombie game I have ever played, and I have to say I am deeply mesmerized by the endless hordes and intense gameplay. The co-op is simply splendid and adds to the replayable value of this entire game. Strongly suggest purchasing this game! It will be money well spent!
  15. DrewB
    May 23, 2009
    10
    A pretty fantastic game. Sure it could be longer, but at least what is there woeks great and is really fun to play with friends. The community surrounding it is L4D's only real down side.
  16. ToddC
    May 24, 2009
    9
    Though there are many movies of zombies, games of zombies, comics and books of zombies, not many of them are recognized as great zombie-themed media or game. Left 4 Dead managed to be the top (in my opinion) in contributing to "zombie apocalypse" theme in the game category. Though not a very horrifying or scary game, it does a wonderful job at keeping you aware of your surroundings and on Though there are many movies of zombies, games of zombies, comics and books of zombies, not many of them are recognized as great zombie-themed media or game. Left 4 Dead managed to be the top (in my opinion) in contributing to "zombie apocalypse" theme in the game category. Though not a very horrifying or scary game, it does a wonderful job at keeping you aware of your surroundings and on your toes. There will be at times where the suspenseful music plays and waiting for a massive horde to come, or when things are just too quiet that it makes you wonder what will happen next. The AI director does a good job in maintaining a well-balanced fps game that requires some team work (especially in higher difficulties) to eliminate tanks (high health "hulks") and protecting vomited-on teammates from hordes that are only attracted them. Though the game may become repetitive after playing 20 or so times, it still has some fun and play value with the different players that aid you every time. So far, I've played this game for over 5 months and still enjoy it. If you like run-and-gun, massive hordes, tons of shooting, coop games, all in a zombie-themed game...this might be the game for you! Of course, if you don't like that kind of stuff, this might not be a great game for you. Though I've seen people complain that this is like a Half-Life zombie mod for Valve, I do have to agree to some extent. However, it is probably the best "zombie mod" of all if it had to be compared so lowly as to be called a "zombie mod". Overall, great game of its kind! Expand
  17. JasonS
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Truly an addictive experience. The gameplay and the graphics are amazing, along with the differences in survivors and infected playstyles make this game hard to put down.
  18. JamesP
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Get a good team of survivors togeather, practice, get good, play against others...Addiction ensues. Finally a game where you MUST rely on the people around you to succeed. Excellent Valve, a round of applause. This game is phenomenal. Valve release regular updates and map extensions AND new campaigns to be created soon! Plus TONNES of new gear and stuff! This is anything but a stagnent Get a good team of survivors togeather, practice, get good, play against others...Addiction ensues. Finally a game where you MUST rely on the people around you to succeed. Excellent Valve, a round of applause. This game is phenomenal. Valve release regular updates and map extensions AND new campaigns to be created soon! Plus TONNES of new gear and stuff! This is anything but a stagnent game. Do not judge from the box. P.s. NOT SINGLEPLAYER. Expand
  19. FarskeH
    May 27, 2009
    10
    A truly polished game. You have the casual coop style version where you and your mates can plod along in easy mode, or scream in intense expert/hard mode. Then you move onto the survival, the cresendo events where you hold out for as long as you can, earning awards. Then the cream of the game. The Versus mode, how this is fun! Whilst newbs have commented on it stating its unbalanced, its A truly polished game. You have the casual coop style version where you and your mates can plod along in easy mode, or scream in intense expert/hard mode. Then you move onto the survival, the cresendo events where you hold out for as long as you can, earning awards. Then the cream of the game. The Versus mode, how this is fun! Whilst newbs have commented on it stating its unbalanced, its fair. You play it in halves, you swap sides after. The developers said the aim of the game and the design was that the survivors have a slim chance of reaching the end. It shows skill if you do (or a complete lack of skill on the infected side). After the annihilation you swap over. They KEY to the game is friends, play with friends or skill full people and you WILL love it, You can see the people who have rated this game low are clearly kids or n00bs. Its a shame this game has a low score because of that. Its a gem. Expand
  20. mattm
    May 31, 2009
    10
    L4D is and always will be a great game. Shure the campain gets old after 10 or so runs on expert, but the coop is some of the best iv ever seen. Most people who rate it low complain about not having RL buddies to own with. This isnt very logical because if you enjoy the coop but just dont have RL friends, there are other options. Such as clans, steam friends with the game (almost all of L4D is and always will be a great game. Shure the campain gets old after 10 or so runs on expert, but the coop is some of the best iv ever seen. Most people who rate it low complain about not having RL buddies to own with. This isnt very logical because if you enjoy the coop but just dont have RL friends, there are other options. Such as clans, steam friends with the game (almost all of my friends on steam now own this game), or even people you see at school (IDK if this counts as RL buddies cause u might not like em). Not having friends does not give any reason to give it a score of 1 and no reason to dislike the game. I have 3 RL buddies that live about a mile from me that have the game and about 100 clan members, all of which can play L4D and stomp the average pub. Then going into content wise, some people who can actually use their pc will mod L4D with different maps that are used by many and play with buddies, and Valve has already givin us lighthouse and there might be more maps in the future, (my L4D has all custom skins, witch and tank sounds, and about 30 custom campains/survival/versus maps on it that I use on a server that I have admin on. So just because you cant make buddies online or off to play with you please dont rate L4D low on those weak standards. Iv had tons of fun playin it and am hopein that PDXLAN will give us an L4D tourny so our |-DNB-| clan can win some nice GTX 295 graphics cards. So please dont spam hate messages cause u cant get buddies, so far I have found the gameplay nothing less then enjoyable, and hopefully you will get a good experince playing sometime in the future. (Also if people kick you without exlaining why, its probably because that if they tell you that they are kicking for a buddy, most people start shooting them or jump off an edge resulting in player death and a handicap to their team. Im speaking from experience, its happened to me many times so please dont judge the game based on those standards eaither, because the above is most likly the case and they are just trying to play with their buddies. Expand
  21. P0nwz0rTheNoob
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a fantastic FPS that does someting different: letting you slaughter millions of zombies instead of headshoting terrorists/soliders. The weakness of this game is the single player part and that it contains few levels. But whit a splendid multiplayer mode and the Source SDK tool, it doesnt mather much. The gameplay is perfect, the grapichs is as good as you can get whit Left 4 Dead is a fantastic FPS that does someting different: letting you slaughter millions of zombies instead of headshoting terrorists/soliders. The weakness of this game is the single player part and that it contains few levels. But whit a splendid multiplayer mode and the Source SDK tool, it doesnt mather much. The gameplay is perfect, the grapichs is as good as you can get whit Source and the sounds are awesome. You will love the scary piano riff that plays when exploring dark, abondend rooms! Expand
  22. BT
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Great game, can be very competitive, even though very few say that there is not much content the levels are very massive and nothing ever happens the same twice and with almost every multiplayer game there will be a couple of favourite maps that the majority only want to play on, you could consider this barely any content if you only play on a couple of maps, yet L4D is great the whole Great game, can be very competitive, even though very few say that there is not much content the levels are very massive and nothing ever happens the same twice and with almost every multiplayer game there will be a couple of favourite maps that the majority only want to play on, you could consider this barely any content if you only play on a couple of maps, yet L4D is great the whole way through, and for the fact that theres not many weapons, there's no need for more they have basically got all they need a long range sniper, short range shotty and mid range assault rifle. Expand
  23. EmeryA
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite games, and I don't usually enjoy FPS that much. It's exciting, suspenseful, and full of 28-Days-Later type rage zombies! If there were uninfected people in the game (forcing you to carefully pick your targets), or more campaigns, I would vote 11!
  24. RyanC
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    one the best games out there. I can play it on the highest graphics settings and it is amazing. Online is fun same with the new Survival mode. Expert Difficulty will keep you occupied if you get bored.
  25. BurtonJ
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I'm a major zombie fan and always wondered what it would be like to be in the middle of an infection. This hits it right on the bull's eye. Horde everywhere, nowhere is really 100% safe and they do not stop once your found. This game is great for co-op because you'll be needing eyes in the back of your head and another trigger to keep the special horde off you. All I can I'm a major zombie fan and always wondered what it would be like to be in the middle of an infection. This hits it right on the bull's eye. Horde everywhere, nowhere is really 100% safe and they do not stop once your found. This game is great for co-op because you'll be needing eyes in the back of your head and another trigger to keep the special horde off you. All I can say is I wish my friend had internet and a copy of this game for PC. It Rocks! Expand
  26. LouisS
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    I am a kid. I like this game because I can shoot lots of monsters. Sometimes I do a funny thing, I open the door and shoot the zombies.
  27. NathanS
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Game is well balanced. Team play is very well though out, you don't have to rely on 5 million people but its not just you either. Updates are continuous and address the current concerns of the gaming community.
  28. JonathanS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is the greatest co-op game I've ever tried! It is making it even better, when it's online! The good thing about the game is that it's a rare kind of game and that kind is not made often!
  29. NiklasA
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game doe seem a little lacking in content, but Valve has made a few free additions to keep the game going. The game might get old after a while, but I garuntee you'll come back to it addicted all over again.
  30. CoreyS
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Its good, but i think it needs to have new maps added a little bit more toons to be played and a little more hordes. Yea i said it, i want it to be harder, i think a game where its you and your bros vs a city, should be just that a dang city! as in i want like 200 of them fools running out a store!
  31. BrentC
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have played, and I never get bored of killing all the zombies
  32. BrendanY
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This gets a 10 because it's the best multiplayer fps experience out there today.
  33. Comrade
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Awesome game. Its just missing a few things. Versus is the best mode ever, but everyone hates being survivers, so when its there turn, they leave! Good game, still. Just what i expected of Valve.
  34. RolandP
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    the best game ever. never gets boring. even when the second comes out i'll still play the classic one from time to time. thanks valve
  35. SeanG
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I love this game I just wish it had more boards and maybe even more characters on both sides to make it even harder,
  36. [ANONYMOUS]
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    totally amazing game, despite the few variations in weapons and maps u never get tired of it... its just so much fun even a year after i bought it
  37. DaveS
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Love the gameplay and interaction. Multiplayer is awesome. The A.I. is not too formulaic nor too challenging. Ten pimp-slaps out of Ten.
  38. RanK
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    In relation to many many other shooters L4D manages to keep the player interested for a pretty long time. Even though the single player mode could actually get quite boring after some time the option to play on maps created by fellow players and the multiplayer mode definitely make up for that and help to avoid the occuring of behavior patterns players tend to use as soon as they're In relation to many many other shooters L4D manages to keep the player interested for a pretty long time. Even though the single player mode could actually get quite boring after some time the option to play on maps created by fellow players and the multiplayer mode definitely make up for that and help to avoid the occuring of behavior patterns players tend to use as soon as they're used to some maps. Overall it's a really nice game that tempts the user to play it over and over as soon as he has some time at his hands. Expand
  39. Lars
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is incredible, it's got everything a game should have, humor, horror, and the ability to blas pieces of zombies, i'm giving it a 10
  40. AlanR
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    cant say enough about this game. one year on and i am still playing this game on an addiction-like level. massive replayability combined with well balanced multiplayer makes this the best game ive played in ten years. no brainer. BUY IT
  41. JulioR
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Great game, better than MW:2! This is a bigger improvement than L4D 1 and this is NOT an "extra mod add-on" as what people were saying L4D2 would be. It has so much more than L4D 1! 10/10
  42. GoncaloS
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    this game is awesome! never game have a co-op experience like this game. good graphics but the game just has 5 campaigns if the game It had more campaigns and more mods It would bethe best fps game. and just more thing if it hads more specials infecteds
  43. DannyN
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Es el mejor juego desde Counter-Strike, este juego marca una epoca, tiene de todo y creo que a muy pocos defraudara, muy adictivo.
  44. LinusB
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    A fantastic game that still works just as good as it did upon release. I'm playing this game every sunday with my friends and will probably do so for a good long time.
  45. ericc
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    I played the demo for almost 24 hours in 2 day. then about 3-6 months later i buy the game(i am saving for a high powered pc so i have to be a tightwad) and i LOVE IT changeing where the specials are. The story is kinda boring cause you never really get saved, but that is what makes it better
  46. MaxP
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    It's a real good adventure, if you like action and zombies you'll like this Game. This game is funnier then Hell, i give it a 10 because it makes fun, there is not to much blood, and is a good Teamwork-Game!
  47. EmilK
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    That is the best game ever! Now the 2. L4D have arrived so i hope i get it in christmas present! L4D is just AWESOME!
  48. Nick
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    At first, I was very skeptical about L4d2, worried aboiut it being a $60 "add on". I played the demo, and it didn't convince me otherwise very well. However, I bought the game when it went on sale for $30, and was very pleasantly surprised. It did feature a whole lot of new weapons, ammunition, infected, and a few other new items. It had several new game modes, actually coherent At first, I was very skeptical about L4d2, worried aboiut it being a $60 "add on". I played the demo, and it didn't convince me otherwise very well. However, I bought the game when it went on sale for $30, and was very pleasantly surprised. It did feature a whole lot of new weapons, ammunition, infected, and a few other new items. It had several new game modes, actually coherent campeigns, and improved graphics. These give the game a whole new playing style, and was much more than an expansion pack. The menus and online play are also improved, although still not perfect. Expand
  49. SamP.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    I figured Neversoft would at least try to make an improvement from the gigantic train wreck of a game called Guitar Hero 3. Looks like it was too much to hope for. The graphics are still just as laughably bad, the drum set that boasted being so much better than rock band's is only as good or worse, the setlist has a few jewels but overall is just as disappointing as GH3's. Put I figured Neversoft would at least try to make an improvement from the gigantic train wreck of a game called Guitar Hero 3. Looks like it was too much to hope for. The graphics are still just as laughably bad, the drum set that boasted being so much better than rock band's is only as good or worse, the setlist has a few jewels but overall is just as disappointing as GH3's. Put in this game and you'll want to go back to Guitar Hero 2 to remember why these games were even fun. Bottom line, Neversoft totally destroyed the guitar hero franchise, everything in this game is just a sad shadow of the things found in Rock Band 2, don't waste your time or money. Expand
  50. JimmyP
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  51. JeffW.
    May 4, 2009
    10
    Great game!
  52. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    An amazing game that started the whole zombie survival horror boom. Valve proved beyond doubt that they are masters of quality. Play with friends if you can.
  53. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    This game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides thoseThis game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides those minor things I just can't seem the explain why I feel Left 4 Dead 1 is better. Also the thirdpersonshoulder mode works in L4D1. It is bugged in L4D2 and was never fixed. Expand
  54. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    It's a shame this game's community is nearly non existent now since Left 4 Dead 2 replaced it, but in it's time it gave me hundred's of hours of FUN. This game just has such a high replay-ability, it just never got boring for me. Playing this with friends just makes the experience even more enjoyable. 10/10
  55. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Absolutely amazing zombie game that reminds me of the movie 28 days later. The only way to improve this game would have been to add various routes, and more weapons. If you want to get the most out of left 4 dead, play online with friends, single player gets boring.
  56. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Funnest single/multiplayer/co-op zombie game you'll ever play! Play with your friends: 4 vs 4: humans vs infected. Also if you know where to look there are some incredibly fun servers with different and personalized game modes. This game never fails to amaze unless you have a useless tool on your team. The only bad thing I have to say is not about the game itself but the developers, forFunnest single/multiplayer/co-op zombie game you'll ever play! Play with your friends: 4 vs 4: humans vs infected. Also if you know where to look there are some incredibly fun servers with different and personalized game modes. This game never fails to amaze unless you have a useless tool on your team. The only bad thing I have to say is not about the game itself but the developers, for releasing L4D2 way too soon and reducing the attention that this game deserved. Expand
  57. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety"Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety" survival horror game going. I think the endless appeal has to be with the 'AI Director' that changes the intensity, placement and frequency of zombie and special infected attacks. Everytime you play, it's all so familiar, yet completely different. If I do have one criticism though, it's the zombies themselves. I mean, how can they all be so samey! Collapse
  58. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Excelent game, I am giving a 9 only because the 10 belongs to the second release of Left 4 Dead, since the only thing this game was failing at is some bugs inside it and the poor hand to hand combat weapons, both upgraded in the second release.
  59. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Left 4 Dead est pour moi, le meilleur jeu de coopération. Il nécessite beaucoup de stratégie et de reflex pour jouer en Versus. Mais je ne le conseille pas à ceux qui ont une mauvaise connection ou aux débutant de ce genre pour jouer en versus
  60. May 11, 2012
    9
    Overall one of the best games ever made, and pretty much evolved the zombie genre to a point towards even making Resident Evil run for its money when it comes down to zombie genre games. Left 4 Dead will leave you with excitement and suspense which you will more than likely be talking about for a long time, along with that the fact its a Steam game and from valve, expect it to have a lotOverall one of the best games ever made, and pretty much evolved the zombie genre to a point towards even making Resident Evil run for its money when it comes down to zombie genre games. Left 4 Dead will leave you with excitement and suspense which you will more than likely be talking about for a long time, along with that the fact its a Steam game and from valve, expect it to have a lot of PC content exclusives such as Achievements, constant upgrades and unofficial mods. To make it better, Left 4 Dead 2 comes packed with this game as well when you purchase it! Expand
  61. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    i love this game!!! its awesome, humorous, jumpy, challenging and addictive!!! i love it :) best thing: getting a head shot on the witch with the shot gun :) i love francis just for the fact that he doesn't give a f**k :) i could play this game over and over again and i would still be just as entertained :D equally i love the 2nd game just as much. i just wish Valve would make a Left Fori love this game!!! its awesome, humorous, jumpy, challenging and addictive!!! i love it :) best thing: getting a head shot on the witch with the shot gun :) i love francis just for the fact that he doesn't give a f**k :) i could play this game over and over again and i would still be just as entertained :D equally i love the 2nd game just as much. i just wish Valve would make a Left For Dead 3 O.o Expand
  62. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Left 4 Dead set a standard for online gaming. It's” team survival” feature is fantastic and innovative. Many newer games have adopted this idea for their multiplayer features. My other 3 companions are almost always bots, and Left 4 Dead’s surprisingly decent AI offers a satisfying single player experience. Unfortunately, the other features, such as the “Versus” or “Survival” neverLeft 4 Dead set a standard for online gaming. It's” team survival” feature is fantastic and innovative. Many newer games have adopted this idea for their multiplayer features. My other 3 companions are almost always bots, and Left 4 Dead’s surprisingly decent AI offers a satisfying single player experience. Unfortunately, the other features, such as the “Versus” or “Survival” never appealed to me. But in the game’s defense, I never gave these other features much of a chance. This is because I was always glued to the regular campaigns and never directed my attention elsewhere. I strongly recommend this to all gamers out there. If you like FPSs and multiplayer, then this game will undoubtedly meet your standards. Expand
  63. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Left 4 Dead has proved itself why it is the best co-op game there is. Not just it offers incredible game play, and a chance to become a Special Infected, it also makes teammates actually communicate and work together. Going Rambo is not a smart choice in this game-if the horde does not finish you off, then that Hunter on the prowl might........
  64. sft
    May 22, 2013
    10
    Watch out for the Incredible Purple Hulk (you’ll see what I mean!)

    Play L4D at your peril! This game is completely addictive at least it is for me. Shooting zombies is just so much fun, especially when it’s made possible by such a well-crafted game. The premise is very simple: you and three fellow survivors have to make your way from one safe house to another until you are finally
    Watch out for the Incredible Purple Hulk (you’ll see what I mean!)

    Play L4D at your peril! This game is completely addictive at least it is for me. Shooting zombies is just so much fun, especially when it’s made possible by such a well-crafted game. The premise is very simple: you and three fellow survivors have to make your way from one safe house to another until you are finally rescued. Along the way you have to fight off hordes of slavering zombies. In single player mode the AI is pretty good, although your teammates don’t always behave as you might wish them to during the incredibly hectic campaign finales. There are 4 campaigns with 5 maps to each one. Replay value is good due to the fact that the AI changes the zombie attacks and spawn points with each play, so you never know where the horde is going to come flooding from or where the bosses are lurking. When you get bored with the maps supplied there are loads of 3rd party maps and campaigns available on the web. On top of all this you can even play as one the various types of zombies (on a random basis). Personally I find this less satisfying, but it is worth a go just to get the other perspective. This is a simple but truly great game. L4D2 here I come!
    Expand
  65. ERB
    Nov 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I played in the PC.This game is great and it really does feel like a zombie survival game because you need cooperation in this game because if you are like in a situation that all of your team mates are dead and you are still alive you are likely to die because a zombie called hunter will just get you and then he will kill you or a smoker because a smoker ties you inOne of the best games I played in the PC.This game is great and it really does feel like a zombie survival game because you need cooperation in this game because if you are like in a situation that all of your team mates are dead and you are still alive you are likely to die because a zombie called hunter will just get you and then he will kill you or a smoker because a smoker ties you in the tongue and then he will kill you.Left 4 Dead is probably one of the best games that Valve developed.The game play in this game is fun and I'm telling you this game is fun so all of you people who loves a fun game you should buy this.The multiplayer in this game is also fun.You can choose whether you want to be an infected like The Boomer,The Smoker,The Hunter,or even better the strongest zombie in the game The Tank.Or you can choose to be a survivor which is Bill a military soldier,or Francis an awesome biker,or Louis the pills addict,or Zoey she is I don't know a teenager.This game is fun.So all of you people reading my review you should buy this game for this game is fun.One of the best games ever! Expand
  66. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Excellent co-op multiplayer game where players are required to team up to actually win unlike many other "coops". However it's biggest flaw is the community where players are not punished for leaving games thus having lots of leavers when things start to go bad for a particular team. Much better than the sequal game that was released shortly after this one.
  67. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Decent zombie game. Most playable with friends you actually know over live chat. Cause the L4D community has many people trolling. Non the less ,the different campaigns you can download from the modding community, will make it up to you. Its an solid shooter ,but it starts lacking of replay value after few hundred hours.
  68. Dec 20, 2011
    0
    Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety"Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety" survival horror game going. I think the endless appeal has to be with the 'AI Director' that changes the intensity, placement and frequency of zombie and special infected attacks. Everytime you play, it's all so familiar, yet completely different. If I do have one criticism though, it's the zombies themselves. I mean, how can they all be so samey! Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.