Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    95
    The level design, enemy placement, and especially the puzzles are all, by and large, wonderfully crafted. There are a few instances where the "traps" seem more unfair than clever, but that hardly tarnishes what is otherwise a terrific experience. You'll be hard-pressed to find a modern game like Legend of Grimrock any time soon, but with a game of this quality, you won't need one.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    93
    A great surprise, truly excellent, slick and challenging RPG, especially now when games are designed for semimorons. [Apr 2012]
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    91
    Beautiful, atmospheric and decisively old school dungeon crawl that does proper justice to the classics of the genre. Keeps the gameplay simple and logical, is suitably difficult and pulls no punches when you mess it up, yet you simply can't put it down. Recommended.
  4. May 30, 2012
    90
    Classic dungeon-crawling brought back to life. [June 2012, p.52]
  5. Apr 19, 2012
    90
    The game is a wonderful blend of mindbending puzzles, old school RPG combat and dungeon survival. If you're a fan of RPGs in any way, shape or form, you owe it to yourself to give this game a shot, even if it's just to see where RPGs got their start.
  6. Apr 18, 2012
    90
    Legend of Grimrock is a big, fantastic old style game. Now we can show to our children how RPGs were made!
  7. Apr 16, 2012
    90
    Legend of Grimrock deserves candlelight and graph paper. Who knows how long it will take until someone will bridge the gap between an idealized past and the reality of now in such a wonderful way again; and if it will be in such an uncompromising and yet perfectly working way, as it was accomplished with Legend of Grimrock.
  8. Apr 6, 2012
    90
    Legend of Grimrock is an old-fashioned dungeon crawler brilliant in many ways. Any good old player will love it!
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    90
    Legend of Grimrock is a strong debut for Almost Human, and I'm excited to see what other dungeons they put out and the mods that players create.
  10. May 14, 2012
    89
    Personally, I feel as if this is one of the best titles I've played in a long time, despite some of its gratuitous flaws. Movies are sometimes judged on their ability to make people forget their problems for a couple of hours – the immersion. LoG definitely has that going for it, and even when stumped and dying repeatedly, I couldn't pull myself away. This is a sleeper hit that everyone should at least try, and let's hope its success encourages the developers to work on another game, improving on an already-polished title.
  11. May 28, 2012
    88
    A delightfully nostalgic, but harsh, RPG treat, oozing old school charm. [July 2012, p.90]
  12. Apr 16, 2012
    88
    Dungeon crawling at its nineties finest: Legend of Grimrock is a compelling and clever old-school RPG, full of strange enemies to kill and riddles to solve.
  13. Apr 4, 2012
    88
    If you are a fan of classic Dungeon Crawlers then there isn't a whole lot to complain about with Legend of Grimrock. This is a tribute to games like Dungeon Master, Eye of the Beholder and Ultima Underworld.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 648 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 172
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint "young" gamers, but thous who started playing in mid 90 - you will love this game.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a real GAME and a real RPG, not some pseudo-cinematic crap like Mass Effect or a watered down fantasy-GTA like Skyrim. I hope theThis is a real GAME and a real RPG, not some pseudo-cinematic crap like Mass Effect or a watered down fantasy-GTA like Skyrim. I hope the developers make enough money from this game to produce more gems, the gaming world needs more talents like Almost Human. Highly recommended for any fan of RPGs or anyone who wants to play a really good game that doesn't hold your hand and insult your intelligence. Full Review »
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Have been playing the game for an hour or so and have loved everything so far. I keep coming up to new enemies, and even when you run into oldHave been playing the game for an hour or so and have loved everything so far. I keep coming up to new enemies, and even when you run into old ones, there are so many different ways you can fight them with the whole real-time movement. The puzzles aren't too hard so far. Have spent around 10 minutes on a few areas, only to find the solution was so close all along. The environment is just awesome. Sure the tiles are repeated, but what do you expect in a dungeon game. Loot is pretty superb as well. Keep finding different armour with different trade-offs. Haven't even beaten the first dungeon of many to come and already I can say this game was worth the $15 it goes for when not on sale. And I didn't even have to spend that much with the pre-order! Great game! If you loved older dungeon crawlers or are just looking for a new game to play, this should be at the top of your to-get list! Very well made. Looking forward to the new dungeons and other things to come for this game! Full Review »