Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 605 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Legend of Grimrock is a dungeon crawling game inspired by oldschool classics of the genre while still bringing its own twists to the game. The game features survival, combat, magic, puzzles and role-playing elements. The player is a prisoner sentenced to death and exiled to the secluded Mount Grimrock for vile crimes he may or may not have committed. Unbeknownst to his captivators, the mountain is riddled with ancient tunnels and dungeons. The player's mission is to form a team and escape by descending through the mountain, level by level. During the journey the player encounters mysterious puzzles, deadly traps, ancient tombs and horrible monsters left behind by crumbled civilizations long perished now. Find out more at http://www.grimrock.net Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    95
    The level design, enemy placement, and especially the puzzles are all, by and large, wonderfully crafted. There are a few instances where the "traps" seem more unfair than clever, but that hardly tarnishes what is otherwise a terrific experience. You'll be hard-pressed to find a modern game like Legend of Grimrock any time soon, but with a game of this quality, you won't need one.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    90
    Legend of Grimrock deserves candlelight and graph paper. Who knows how long it will take until someone will bridge the gap between an idealized past and the reality of now in such a wonderful way again; and if it will be in such an uncompromising and yet perfectly working way, as it was accomplished with Legend of Grimrock.
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    88
    If you are a fan of classic Dungeon Crawlers then there isn't a whole lot to complain about with Legend of Grimrock. This is a tribute to games like Dungeon Master, Eye of the Beholder and Ultima Underworld.
  4. Apr 23, 2012
    80
    The tutorial aspects of the game are also a bit thin, with the smallest of introductions to the base concepts, while the more intricate aspects need to be figured out as you play through.
  5. May 23, 2012
    80
    In a way, The Legend of Grimrock is a lot like Dark Souls. The game rewards calculated, meticulous play and any severe injuries or deaths are likely a result of not taking in your surroundings. There are a lot of ways to die in Grimrock and if you're not paying attention, taking the time to search out better gear and learn to craft potions, you're going to have a difficult time with it. However, there's a great feeling of accomplishment as you traverse each floor, defeating powerful monsters and figuring out puzzle solutions on your own.
  6. 80
    Legend of Grimrock proves old school dungeon crawls aren't dead yet. Thanks to its challenging gameplay it is recommended not only to nostalgic players but to any RPG admirer. [May 2012]
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    65
    For every puzzle that rewards experimentation and inventive thinking, there are a handful where you're supposed to find a button blending into a random panel of the dungeon's wall.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 168
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    I grew up playing these types of games, Eye of the Beholder, Stonekeep, it's so refreshing to see a new version with updated graphics of these same classics. This is hands down one of the best CASUAL RPG's you can get today. You cannot beat the price, my hope is that they will continue these types of games and follow the Eye of the Beholder method of importing characters from game to game. The only thing that would be desirable is some sort of expandable storyline, but for a first new game of this style in decades it's so refreshing. Expand
  2. pid
    Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Great assets (graphics, music and sound) revitalize the long-lost old-school gameplay enjoyed by generations of gamers. GAD-kids may not understand this gameplay, but it's really that good and I can't wait for the user-created content. Running through more than once with a new party is also fun because the differentiation of races and classes is significant. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint
    "young" gamers, but thous who started playing in mid 90 - you will love this game. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Bought the game after my brothers recommendation, not expecting much, but holy **** I was surprised by how much fun I'm having with this one. It's definetly an old school RPG, with rooms and corridors and going into keeper and deeper levels of the dungeon. You get four characters in your party, four races to choose from, and the three classic classes, fighter, mage and rouge. You never get to see your characters, and you all only take up one space, so all of your guys are working together as a unit, though individuals can still die if you don't watch what you're doing.. You can also pick custom character portraits for them, which make it a lot of fun if you make up your team from your friends. The combat's pretty sweet and the puzzles are good enough to be fun and not frustrating, and some pretty interesting **** happens at around level 5, if you're paying attention. Pick this one up.

    Soon there's gonna be a map editor, so we can make our own sweet dungeons. I was also slightly surprised to see that levels aren't randomly generated, that would have been awesome.
    Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    I guess I need to be of a certain age to really appreciate this game, which really is the reason why I'm giving this two stars less. I'm a 1994-er whose gaming world was mostly made up of Pokemon, Pikmin and Legends of Zelda, so I never experienced those wonderful dungeon-crawling games every fan of this game seems to speak so fondly of. I was looking forward to this game a great deal, as it looked unlike anything I've experienced before. And it is. It's a new and fresh, rather than nostalgic, experience for me. Choosing your own characters is a great feature, and it's even better that you get to choose their stats and traits. However, the bad thing is that if you choose the wrong stats you end up with a very unsuitable party to play the game all the way through, and it often amounts to starting over and over and over until you create the ideal setup, which is tedious. The game's also very hard - and I mean very very, old-school-nintendo-pop-in-another-token-and-try-again hard, so expect a lot of "GAME OVER"s being thrown in your face. Stylistically, the game's very strictly Traditional High Fantasy, and the game's name is so stereotypically geeky that I doubt anyone will be finding any girlfriends through playing it. This isn't exactly a bad thing, I guess I just sort of expected something more...subversive. Overall, I think this game tries to appeal a bit too much to the old '90s gaming veterans and not to the younger set, who come from a completely different gaming background. It's old-fashioned and not very adaptable. I think it'd benefit most from adding a difficulty setting that determined the challenge of the puzzles rather than just the toughness of the enemies. Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    I bought Bard's Tale so I could play the original Tales of the Unknown. That was a masterpiece and an incredibly difficult game. I have always wanted to play the same game with updated graphics and newer RPG elements. This appears to be it. A lot of the negative reviews are criticizing some of the game elements such as movement and magic. I assume these are done on purpose, they want to force you to move strategically and use your environment to your advantage. They don't want you to stand in front of a monster and just hit buttons. Same with magic, they don't want you just to be able to spam fireballs, there is a penalty for setting up and using spells.
    I hope this is the start of an old school revolution in gaming.
    No game is perfect, but this is exactly the type of game I have been waiting for.
    Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. :-DD Greit geim also suuper greit dungeons und slimy slimes just amazings actions packked good story 5/5 woulqd play :))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))) Expand

See all 168 User Reviews