Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Legendary: The Box") Legendary tells the story of Charles Deckard, an art thief who is duped into stealing Pandora’s Box. When he inadvertently opens it, he releases hordes of beasts thought to be fictional – such as werewolves and gryphons – into an unprepared modern world.(Also known as "Legendary: The Box") Legendary tells the story of Charles Deckard, an art thief who is duped into stealing Pandora’s Box. When he inadvertently opens it, he releases hordes of beasts thought to be fictional – such as werewolves and gryphons – into an unprepared modern world. A full scale war between man and myth begins, and it is quickly complicated by the actions of powerful secret societies. As the person responsible for releasing this terror, Deckard’s unwittingly become the only person capable of containing it once more and saving civilization from being destroyed by the terrifying creatures. [Gamecock Media] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Despite very linear gameplay and a level-design that is just short of plagiarism, Legendary delivers action-packed fun, impressive monsters, a good atmosphere and the feeling that Spark learned from the abysmal Turning Point.
  2. The single-player campaign is only eight hours long, but full of spectacular and varied scenes. It's a lot of fun, but too linear, and the use of generic weapons, imprecise controls and inconsistent graphics show a lack of fine-tuning.
  3. Legendary isn’t the most involved or technically excellent shooter to come out this season—Left 4 Dead and Gears Of War 2 outclass it. But it’s a fun change of pace with some extremely satisfying combats.
  4. Entirely average. [Feb 2009, p.83]
  5. This is a game that could have been much more. The game’s linearity really hampers immersion, and there are some odd animation elements that also distract from the game.
  6. Stiff, confused. [Jan 2009, p.70]
  7. 25
    By the time I'd defeated my 10th werewolf, I was already tired of needing to cut or shoot its head off so it didn't regenerate. By the time I defeated my 200th, I just wanted to turn the game off.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    I'm currently playing 30 of the biggest GOG titles from the past ten years and have to say Legendary blew my socks off.

    I've only played
    I'm currently playing 30 of the biggest GOG titles from the past ten years and have to say Legendary blew my socks off.

    I've only played for one day thus far mind you, and cannot say if the reviews are right or not in the long term, but if you've not played this game yet. It perhaps has the greatest advent I've ever seen. The opening hour of play is breathtaking. The monsters are better than any other game I've ever played. And anyone who nay says this master piece is missing something wonderful.

    I am just glad I don't let game reviews think for me. And like Hard Reset, Battle Los Angeles or The Walking Dead (TV based) before this I thought for myself and played what they told me wasn't worth it because they are dead wrong here and there. "Bad games" apparently rock!!!

    More game reviews here: www.listprice.us
    Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2014
    8
    Awesome game! Lot of tension, lots of fighting, crazy humongous mythical creatures destroying cities around you, clever mana/life managementAwesome game! Lot of tension, lots of fighting, crazy humongous mythical creatures destroying cities around you, clever mana/life management for an FPS. BEST 0,74$ EVER! Don't listen to haters, they're just kids who got so formatted by COD-alike games that they can't play or enjoy anything else. I pity them. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    Reviewing this game fairly, it is a brilliant storyline and there is alot to fight, there are never any slow downs and you are always doingReviewing this game fairly, it is a brilliant storyline and there is alot to fight, there are never any slow downs and you are always doing something, the type of enemy you are fighting changes often, which is very good because you never get bored. The combat system works well and there arent many bugs i have come across, the graphics are decent - nothing revolutionary but they work well and deliver whats necessary. Sounding in this game isnt an issue, as its clearly not the greatest there is nothing terrible about sound except for when a werewolf "howls", the standard howl would have made it realistic (as realistic as werewolves are). There are numerous boss battles, some of them are very annoying because of the difficulty, even playing on easy is going to annoy you against a boss as they can hit you 500 times in a second. Back to the story, its a very good story that has never been touched upon, the ideas are all there, its just a shame that a massive budget wasnt set in, if the graphics were peaked, everything perfectly designed and nothing rushed, this game would be amazing...actually amazing, i really enjoyed this game and would recommend it to anyone who doesnt care about the small things, just enjoy a great story line and alot of things to fight. Although its nothing ground breaking, you have to admire what Spark Unlimited did here and play the game for story and shooting Mythical Beasts. A very good game that needed another year in development for extra graphical improvements and better AI Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    6
    Super linear with heavily scripted scenes and generic weapons and crap powers. Still it is mostly entertaining with ok voice acting, and aSuper linear with heavily scripted scenes and generic weapons and crap powers. Still it is mostly entertaining with ok voice acting, and a easy plot to follow.

    Most facepalm issue was trying to move the left and right stick while in combat. While having to press Y and 'hold down' to heal on the 360 pad. This was really uncomfortable to do and I felt like I needed three hands!
    Expand
  5. VivionD
    Jun 5, 2009
    6
    I rather liked this game. Really good soundtrack and cool-looking (if otherwise worthless) weapons, plus enemies that weren't anonymous I rather liked this game. Really good soundtrack and cool-looking (if otherwise worthless) weapons, plus enemies that weren't anonymous pointless 'soldiers' or some sort made it fairly fun. This game also has easily one of the best openings of any I've played -- nothing quite like seeing griffins literally destroying New York City. However, the game is so much a clone that it's more like Half-Life than Half-Life. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    Interesting take off on Greek Mythology, but what the story lacks in plot it certainly makes up in nonstop action. This seems to be a lowInteresting take off on Greek Mythology, but what the story lacks in plot it certainly makes up in nonstop action. This seems to be a low budget game, as you go through the same caves, air vents, and subway stations, and rooms numerous times. Also, I seemed to run into technical glitches and freezes with annoying frequency. If you can get it on sale Expand
  7. KronTheMad
    Oct 25, 2009
    0
    Poorly designed and marred by many technical difficulties and balancing issues, this game is to be avioded. The concept is interesting but is Poorly designed and marred by many technical difficulties and balancing issues, this game is to be avioded. The concept is interesting but is so poorly implemented as to make this game worthless. I wasted my money on this so you don't have to. Don't let this sacrifice be in vain. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews