• Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2012
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Sep 13, 2012
    60
    We actually worry about Kalypso in general at the moment as well, as few of their games to date have been that well received. We had high hopes for Legends of Pegasus. It pains us to see them dashed once again.
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    52
    Please, Calypso and Nova Core: Rescue, what can be saved.
  3. Sep 4, 2012
    50
    Legends of Pegasus could be a great game, but at the moment suffers for too many bugs. Interesting for the future, once patched.
  4. 48
    Sadly, technical problems make this game nearly unplayable- it’s like Legends of Pegasus launched half-finished. Somewhere, deep inside, there’s a great game, with an interesting space-opera story, presented like a graphic-novel … but in the end, the worst alien menace in Legends of Pegasus is not the race of X’or or Arthrox but the bugs. And not like the bugs in Starship Troopers… [January 2013]
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    40
    Legends of Pegasus can't be considered as a good debut. A turn-based strategy game focused on exploration and management should be relaxing and go well with some tea and biscuits. In case of this game you will need sedatives, because Legends of Pegasus can trigger some really negative emotions. The game look nice. So what? The game has potential. So what? The game is quite complex. So what? All of this loses with constant CTDs.
  6. Aug 18, 2012
    40
    Legends of Pegasus had a grand plan, but developer Novacore didn't come close to pulling off what it set out to do. Like storied Bellerophon, its hubris has proved its ultimate undoing.
  7. 30
    Legends of Pegasus game is perfect example of how to turn ambitious projects into something you do want to forget as fast as possible. [Oct 2012]
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    30
    An impenetrable mess with almost nothing to recommend it. Cast this one into the void. [Oct 2012, p.73]
  9. Sep 25, 2012
    30
    Legends of Pegasus is a warning to all other developers in the 4X strategy genre – if you can't make a solid game, don't bother trying. In space, no one will hear you squeal.
  10. Aug 20, 2012
    20
    It's hard to say how much patches can fix this wreck, because right now its technical issues eclipse everything, to the point where it's barely even a game. But what is there, in the brief moments you can play it before it crashes, does not tie together into a coherent strategy game.
  11. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Legends of Pegasus doesn't work. It's a collection of 3D objects on a nice background, which sometimes do something that resemble a strategy game. This 4X-game lacks explanation, a simple bug-test and a good game-UI-designer. People did it better twenty years ago.
User Score
1.5

Overwhelming dislike- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 62
  2. Negative: 56 out of 62
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    2
    I was so insulted by this game that I opened a tech support ticket with Metacritic to fix the release date so I could submit a review.


    It
    started with the account sign-up. This is not uncommon, but I have no clue why they required me to sign up for an account for a mostly single player game. I tolerate other games with this requirement, but I never like it. Especially when the game is part of an established always-on network, like Steam. For me, the game has a lot of bugs and glitches. I ran into recoverable freezes at several points, including adjusting the volume. Several camera keys just didn't work at some points and basic polish was lacking. For example, Esc opens the menu but no key closes it. Basic feedback on actions is nonexistent. I tried repairing ships several times but nothing ever happened. Each time, the unit confirmation sound played and nothing ever happened - I still don't know why.


    While on the subject of the unit confirmation noises, these have to be the worst part of the game. The confirmation and acknowledgement sounds seem to be pieced together from various sound bytes to sound like military chatter. It sounds terrible because each sound byte is said in a different yet still monotonous tone. The chatter is also constant in a battle. Cries of "Shield stress levels are very high!" abound, even when shields all seems pretty relaxed.


    The game play is very slow paced. I spent 60-70 turns just hitting the End Turn key before I even got to some basic story. I realize that 4X games tend to be on the slow side but there is usually lots to see and do while you wait for things to pick up. LoP has very little in the way of management and information screens to browse and tweak.


    This was touted as Sins of a Solar Empire but with a single player campaign and story. The intro was a black background with voice-over and text. I really would have liked to see THAT game. The game just kind of dumps you into a situation with little background and starts into the first few missions. After almost an hour of game play, I saw some proper story sequences. The dramatic tension of the entire story went down the toilet for me when they demanded I build a shopping mall before establishing any sort of defenses or governance for my beleaguered colony. Aliens may be attacking but there is this awesome sale at the outlet!


    Maybe things speed up later on, maybe the story gets better, maybe I am being harsh because I was very much anticipating a good 4X game with ship customization. I know that with other 4X games like Sins and Homeworld, I was into them from the start. I didn't feel like I had wasted my money. So buy this one at your own risk.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    1
    Some legends are less than their sins. The game could be good, but it just has so many issues with it that it kills any enjoyment out of the game. Basic elements of good software design are devoid in this disaster of a game. Buttons don't work. Unmovable UI elements that do nothing but block useful buttons. Loading screens are missing. For example, when I first started the campaign all I saw was a black screen. I thought the game had locked up, in reality, it was just loading but there was nothing to indicate that, that was going on. The same can be said for resuming a campaign. If you click load and select your file, it won't tell you its loading, you just sit there and wait. The campaign/tutorial is terrible. I can build things that I can't do anything with. Some areas of the tutorial leave you left wondering what to do. Ships get stuck in orbit during combat. You can't move ships when you have unmovable objects like repair bays selected. Acknowledgements seem to be hit or miss, leaving you wondering if you clicked the right button. Overall, I'd avoid this game because its not worth $40. This is a bargain bin game at best. Don't waste your money. Full Review »
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    0
    Absolute junk. Stay away! Worst launch since SOTSII. Response from the developers was the golden slap in the face. They claim that the horrendous bugs were a surprise to them. No refunds issued and even after a couple patches, the game is still broken. I tried out combat in a skirmish game. It was a 30-minute bore fest watching two ships sit in place and shoot each other to death, which took an incredibly long time. Resolving combat (exiting combat mode) is broken. I was told to "self-destruct" my remaining ship in order to finally exit combat mode. What a joke. Graphics are far from stunning. Fonts are too small. The GUI is atrocious. The game is slow and boring. The camera interface clunky. The map continuously scrolls randomly and the only way to fix it is to reload the game. Load/save processes are slow if they even work at all. CTDs are running rampant. Be careful on the Kalypso forums. The moderators are banning people for voicing their own opinions. Full Review »