Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded PC

Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    75
    Leisure Suit Larry Reloaded is what the graphic adventure genre was in the eighties. Al Lowe has done it for the true fans and only for them. Try it if you are in search of a difficult game with complex puzzles.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    76
    For the most part, Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded works pretty well. Some of the new humor falls flat, like a sequence in the casino buffet where 90% of the comments aren’t funny, but otherwise Reloaded is a fine remake of a fine game.
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    78
    Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of Lounge Lizard Reloaded is pervaded by a sense of homesick and passion for the game that we struggle to find in many recent adventure games.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Although the animation isn't what you expect, Larry's return makes you laugh. It proves that adventure games aren't relics, and that something we considered funny as we were kids is still funny. The game relies on nostalgia, but adds its own flavor to the mix. [Aug 2013]
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    75
    It may not look fantastic and certain mechanics shouldn't have been resurrected along with the rest of the game, but Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded succeeds at being a brief bit of naughty fun—and since it never aimed any higher, that definitely counts as a win.
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    80
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is just like the original, but bigger, longer, harder and the perfect vehicle for Larry’s second coming.
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    77
    Nice adventure remake with the trusted Al Lowe humor. The technical improvements are what you could expect so it would have benefitted from additional content as well.
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    78
    In the end, Leisure Suit Larry Reloaded is a fun adult game that not only pays homage to the original but gives the modern gaming community something a little different. Sure it's dated here and there and some of the gags fall a little flat but the writing, characters and some of the puzzles are well crafted that will make you laugh, cry in shock and have a truly enjoyable time from start to finish.
  9. Aug 2, 2013
    75
    A genuinely funny game with the spirit of the original all over it. [CD-Action 09/2013, p.62]
  10. Aug 2, 2013
    80
    It doesn’t last long and its humour certainly won’t be for everyone, but Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is an almost perfect remake that is short, sweet and loads of fun.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 4 out of 69
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Leisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story hasLeisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story has been extended, the puzzles changed, and the graphics updated to a new generation of adventure game fans. But, it still retains the charm that Al Lowe brought back in 1987. If you're a fan of point-and-click games, you won't be disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Cried I laughed so much replaying the game after so many years! A must buy. The new graphics are gorgeous and the music is spot on. Well worthCried I laughed so much replaying the game after so many years! A must buy. The new graphics are gorgeous and the music is spot on. Well worth the 20$ on steam. Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    A trip down memory lane with some new twists!
    I've played all the Larry games in my youth starting with a second-hand copy of Larry 3 as a
    A trip down memory lane with some new twists!
    I've played all the Larry games in my youth starting with a second-hand copy of Larry 3 as a kid, then went and and got the collector's edition and Larry 7 when it released. The controls have definitely improved and have been simplified and the interface in Reloaded is a treat to work with!
    Everything is so fluid and responsive and the backgrounds and sprites really pop on a 1080p screen. Why the loader doesn't remember which video mode you'd set prior though is puzzling. Considering gambling is a key element to the game I'm surprised also that there is no automatic way to "bet max" and instead have to left-click the 'increase bet' button multiple times as holding down the mouse button results in an 'ability wheel' style overlay which I probably didn't use as much as I should have.

    All the above aside, I had a blast sinking a solid few hours into this game last night and with no walkthroughs or Google auto-suggestions, I was on my own with the puzzles which have been freshened up and a whole new section had me stumbling around lost for a while. When I finally discovered my missing link it all seemed "so obvious" in hindsight :)

    A relatively short game for $20, though if I had never played the series before it definitely would've taken longer. 8 out of 10 (after a beer or two from me!
    Full Review »