Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Larry’s original creator, the infamous game designer Al Lowe, has teamed up with Sierra Veteran Josh Mandel, to bring this game back to life – updated and expanded in a myriad of ways. All they kept from the original game is the plot.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Although the animation isn't what you expect, Larry's return makes you laugh. It proves that adventure games aren't relics, and that something we considered funny as we were kids is still funny. The game relies on nostalgia, but adds its own flavor to the mix. [Aug 2013]
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    77
    Nice adventure remake with the trusted Al Lowe humor. The technical improvements are what you could expect so it would have benefitted from additional content as well.
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    70
    In the end, however, the price of admission is a pretty cheap trip down memory lane. For less than $20 bucks you can relive a bit of naughty fun.
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    63
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is still very funny to play, but some of the mechanics are painful.
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    58
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    50
    With its creaky, ancient-feeling game mechanics and ultimate lack of replayability, Reloaded feels like it would be much more at home on mobile platforms at a much smaller cost than its $20 release price tag.
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    20
    The world did not need this Leisure Suit Larry game, and it does not need any more.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Leisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story has been extended, the puzzles changed, and the graphics updated to a new generation of adventure game fans. But, it still retains the charm that Al Lowe brought back in 1987. If you're a fan of point-and-click games, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you haven't played this game, why not! It is full of things the PC Police does not like (sexual innuendos, censored nudity and puzzles that you can figure out if you just write down what the skin mag says in the convenience store). Oh, and you will do better at 21 in the casino if you "save often and restore when you mess up!" I know, there are a lot of puzzles for you youngsters but if you get stumped go to Al Lowe's web site and click on "Email Me!" Warning: This game is not for anyone under 21! You will be booted out of the game. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In a part of my mind where the years run together, I remember firing up our 386 computer and playing the VGA remake of Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards with my older brother. I think about those days often. Perhaps it is because video games were better back then, or perhaps it is because I simply enjoyed them more. Either way, the magic in video games is gone. When I backed Larry Reloaded, it was entirely for nostalgic reasons. Remake or not, I wanted to see a new Al Lowe game.
    Playing the game, I found a familiar friend—the old icon bar. One of the greatest things about Larry games were the detailed sensory descriptions. As graphics have improved, this has gone away to the detriment of the gaming experience. A picture may say 1,000 words, but not necessarily the right words. In adventures games, narrators felt like characters in their own right. The narrator interacts with the player, compliments him when he solves a puzzle and mocks him when he is stuck.
    When entering Larry Reloaded, the veteran play will find himself in a familiar place, Lefty’s Bar. He’s been here before and knows what to do. The player walks up to the bar and orders a shot of whiskey. Then he walks to the bathroom and gives that shot to a drunk. However, instead of a TV remote, the drunk gives the player a coaster. Suddenly the player—who was content with a quick jog down memory lane—realizes that Al Lowe and Josh Mandel are going to put him to work a bit. The tweaked puzzles add some life to this game without taking away from the original purpose.
    Any fan of the series should be please with this update. It is exactly what we were promised and then some. I look forward to a remake of LSL2, which was always my favorite. And I’ll be the first in line to back that Kickstarter.
    Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    A great remake of the old classic. So much have been changed, it's really worth checking out, even if you played both editions of this game. There are TONS of dialogue, most of it very funny. Kudos to Al Lowe, Josh Mandela and Paul Trowe for bringing Larry back. Now remake LSL2! Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    I was one of the so-called 'Kick starter' contributors who gave money to this project and I can honestly say that I was very surprised at the final output of the game. It is at least 10 times better than I was hoping because I was a fan of the original games (the Al Lowe ones and not the other 2 'games'). I don't think I have ever laughed so much at a game that I almost fell out of my chair playing this game. The artwork is beautiful and bright, the voice acting is top-notch and the music (by Grammy winning Austin Wintory) is even better. Honestly if you enjoyed playing the Al Lowe Leisure Suit Larry games or adventure games in general then download this game right now and start playing! Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    I love the Larry franchise, but I've always felt the older games to be a bit out of my grasp. I couldn't get over the text interfaces and the ancient graphics. Thankfully they remade this one and it's fantastic. I would've given it a ten, but I would have liked to see some nudity easter eggs vis a vis Love for Sail, it is supposed to be an adult series after all. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    1
    I adored the old Larry games which I played through multiple times as a kid, and recently just to revisit the franchise. This remake plays worse that the old games, with frustrating controls, an annoying voice over, dull and inconsistent graphics etc.
    This game is a thorough disappointment.
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews