LIMBO PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1200 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Simple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakes often means death and restart, that's a good thing, to avoid them into become annoying. Checkpoints are well and often placed. It somehow reminded me of "Out Of This World" wich is a game I loved. Game sound is also amazing, focused on details andSimple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakes often means death and restart, that's a good thing, to avoid them into become annoying. Checkpoints are well and often placed. It somehow reminded me of "Out Of This World" wich is a game I loved. Game sound is also amazing, focused on details and ambience with no music, making it's dark mood even more creepy. The weakest point is the game lenght... quite short... they could've made the game a little bigger, with harder puzzles near the end, but for 10 bucks it's more than worth it. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2011
    8
    Interesting platform-puzzled gameplay. It was fun while it lasted (super short). I did have a problem with the "storytelling portion." The game gave no background of what was going on except for the game details in the Steam store. There was no cutscene/integrated method of telling a very simple story.
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    Limbo is a very good game, however its major drawback is the length of the game. Its worth the purchase price, but if your looking for a game that will have hours and hours of replay value; you may want to look somewhere else.
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Excellent art and music (the game is a work of art), the puzzles are very interesting in the beginning and quite (but not very) interesting in the second half of the game. I actually though that the game will go more in the direction of violence and philosophy/psychology (e.g. seeing another character walk into a pool and die, just to bounce over his dead body that's the strongest momentExcellent art and music (the game is a work of art), the puzzles are very interesting in the beginning and quite (but not very) interesting in the second half of the game. I actually though that the game will go more in the direction of violence and philosophy/psychology (e.g. seeing another character walk into a pool and die, just to bounce over his dead body that's the strongest moment in the game imo), but unfortunately it takes a purely mechanical setting later: boxes, saws, magnets I've seen all this stuff in many games. If you take out the art and focus only at the second half of the game, you will see a good but not an outstanding puzzle, much like the ones you can find on Kongregate for free. The first part however is simply a work of a genius. That's why after finishing this game i have a somewhat mixed impression. Also, the ending was unexpected and i didn't get its meaning (or the meaning was too banal? i mean, walking thru so many hurdles to just get a girl? duh, that's too teenager-oriented). I also agree with some reviewers that most puzzles make you die a few times before you can at all figure out what's going on. That's not too bad, but I still had a sense that the author just enjoys hurting the player Anyway, with all these minor flaws (which aren't actually flaws) the game is just excellent. It surely deserves its popularity and it's definitely a step forward in the genre. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    Turning the limitations of a small Indy game into a strength, Limbo is short but fun, has a memorable art style and is a must play downloadable game. The visuals of Limbo are simple and effectively create an eerie atmosphere better than most AAA video games. The game play is simple but adequately fun, the game physics are great and there are some memorable little game moments found inTurning the limitations of a small Indy game into a strength, Limbo is short but fun, has a memorable art style and is a must play downloadable game. The visuals of Limbo are simple and effectively create an eerie atmosphere better than most AAA video games. The game play is simple but adequately fun, the game physics are great and there are some memorable little game moments found in Limbo. Less can be more which is a lesson that the rest of the industry should learn. Recommended. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    I appreciated this game a lot, it has an amazing mood and it doesn't try to drown you in it with music (or hide the lack thereof with music). The little things were what impressed me most, small details in the world you could (and sometimes must) pick up. Parts of the 'story' you could piece together by just being attentive. The one problem with the game is length and re-playability. II appreciated this game a lot, it has an amazing mood and it doesn't try to drown you in it with music (or hide the lack thereof with music). The little things were what impressed me most, small details in the world you could (and sometimes must) pick up. Parts of the 'story' you could piece together by just being attentive. The one problem with the game is length and re-playability. I could imagine if you were to play through it a second time you could be more appreciative of the surroundings and what is going on (I didn't realize a certain detail of the game until I started a second time). The problem is, with today's audience it seems everyone just wants to win, they don't bother with the details and if they get stuck it's straight to youtube for the walkthrough, A great game that I fear may go less appreciated than it deserves. Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Wonderful game. A great example of how a video games can truly become a art. The puzzles are great and not too frustrating, and always keeping it original. The sound matches well the atmosphere. It's simply a beautiful game for people that can appreciate a game not just for the high paced action element.
  8. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    Limbo beings as a simple puzzle game but evolves into a metaphor for things we can only imagine. The art style of the game is uncomplicated and lends itself toward the overall metaphor. Many have complained about Limbo being overly short while others have described it as an arduous journey that is well worth the effort. I would say that I played through at an above average pace andLimbo beings as a simple puzzle game but evolves into a metaphor for things we can only imagine. The art style of the game is uncomplicated and lends itself toward the overall metaphor. Many have complained about Limbo being overly short while others have described it as an arduous journey that is well worth the effort. I would say that I played through at an above average pace and finished the game in about five hours. Many of the puzzles were tricky and the feeling of success was a great reward when I figured them out. As far as the story goes, well will have to form your own opinion about that after you play through. Lets just say its an open book.

    Great games leave a simple taste of I want more in your mouth and this game gave me that. Sadly there isn't much more I can milk from it so 9/10. It looses one point for lack of real replay ability. I accomplished 90% of the achievements on my first play through.
    Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing, it manages a great level of difficulty, slowly increasing throughout the game, that many puzzle games don't find. Puzzles were still of a decent difficulty at the start and gradually developed into taking 5-10 minutes to figure out each puzzle. While the odd few of the puzzles simply required jumping or running at the right time, most of them are well thought out andThis game is amazing, it manages a great level of difficulty, slowly increasing throughout the game, that many puzzle games don't find. Puzzles were still of a decent difficulty at the start and gradually developed into taking 5-10 minutes to figure out each puzzle. While the odd few of the puzzles simply required jumping or running at the right time, most of them are well thought out and logical - unlike many other games where you feel that you never would have thought of the solution and ended up trying everything in trial and error. The atmosphere in the game is powerful, very creepy and I found myself genuinely freaked out at some of the things the boy encounters. Checkpoints in the game are well-placed so that you didn't have to repeat vasts amount of gameplay to get back to your origial point. The sound adds to the atmosphere, though a drawback is that you couldn't edit the volume in the options. While in hindsight I think that the story of his sister is a little underplayed, as even towards the end we don't really know what happened, while playing it didn't really occur as an issue and I found it fun watching the silent story of his journey unfolding. The game is relatively short (3.2 hours to finish or so), it is also very cheap. Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    If you can pick it up for $2-3 bucks you owe it to yourself to play it. I doubt it will every crack anyone's Top 10 list, but it's memorable and touching. Keyboard controls (all five keys) work great.
  11. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    This game is nearly priceless, its like a puzzle-platformer, horror, killing simulator mix that results in something extremely special and entertaining. Not only do the black and white colors combine to make an excellent creepy atmosphere but the ways you die and the events that happen in the game create tension. The puzzles are pure quality, they are so good they nearly seem comparable toThis game is nearly priceless, its like a puzzle-platformer, horror, killing simulator mix that results in something extremely special and entertaining. Not only do the black and white colors combine to make an excellent creepy atmosphere but the ways you die and the events that happen in the game create tension. The puzzles are pure quality, they are so good they nearly seem comparable to puzzles in Valve games, and there is a lot of variety in each situation. My only complains with this game, the story is really not clear and some of the puzzles are quite difficult giving you many deaths. Limbo is an amazing game which becomes challenging but not frustrating, this is one of my games of the year and a must-buy title on any platform. Expand
  12. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Very few games out there that will get my girfriend to constantly peek over her book to check out my progress - this is one of them. Dark and macabre, yet brilliantly simple. Ok, I admit - some of the puzzles will have you pulling your hair out, but most of the time you can suss out what your poor little lost boy character has to do to navigate his way out of some kind of sick, twistedVery few games out there that will get my girfriend to constantly peek over her book to check out my progress - this is one of them. Dark and macabre, yet brilliantly simple. Ok, I admit - some of the puzzles will have you pulling your hair out, but most of the time you can suss out what your poor little lost boy character has to do to navigate his way out of some kind of sick, twisted evil place. If you don't mind dying endless amounts of times, nor having any narrative or explanation as to why you are there, or indeed any help or pointers, this is a little gem of a game you should consider checking out. Expand
  13. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Loved this game. It stuck with me so strongly, rainy days make me want to play it again. I also wish it had been longer, but that's my only complaint.
  14. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    This game is a polished diamond. It's nothing for hardcore nerds who play nothing but Battlefield 3 and don't like to use their brains. Limbo is a piece of game-art and should be treated like this. The optics athe sound designs are mindblowing. Its easy to fall in love with that game very quick. Everyone should have played this clever straight up jump and run thriller at least once. TheThis game is a polished diamond. It's nothing for hardcore nerds who play nothing but Battlefield 3 and don't like to use their brains. Limbo is a piece of game-art and should be treated like this. The optics athe sound designs are mindblowing. Its easy to fall in love with that game very quick. Everyone should have played this clever straight up jump and run thriller at least once. The only reason i didn't gice the game a full 10/10 is because i reached the end after 4 hours. I didnt want it to end cause i liked what i seen. Expand
  15. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    Limbo is a beautiful, ambiance-driven side scroller everyone should play. The cost on Steam is 9.99, a better value than a trip to the movies, and offers a few hours of unique, artsy entertainment.

    It isn't very difficult, but it sometimes makes you laugh and maybe think a bit. As others have said, sometimes you have to die to figure out how to solve a puzzle. With harder puzzles this
    Limbo is a beautiful, ambiance-driven side scroller everyone should play. The cost on Steam is 9.99, a better value than a trip to the movies, and offers a few hours of unique, artsy entertainment.

    It isn't very difficult, but it sometimes makes you laugh and maybe think a bit. As others have said, sometimes you have to die to figure out how to solve a puzzle. With harder puzzles this would be a 9.
    Expand
  16. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    LIMBO is a nice game! Short, but nice, where you have to use logic.
    It has a good dark atmosphere, and it is also quite disturbing... Now, the gameplay is absolutely NOT innovative, but how it's actually done, it is.
  17. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gorgeous sound and visuals. I'm not sure that you have to die to solve some of the puzzles. Maybe. A few times I "just new" that the pressure plate effects would be reversed for example, but stuck to how it had played so far, and zap! Very short, but about the length of watching two DVDs and about the same price. A few more hints at a story would be great, but I admit as a FPS player usually, the style, mystery and foreboding grabbed me completely. Expand
  18. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    Limbo is truly unique, creative, cathartic, scary, fun, immerse, atmospheric and short.

    As a self professed adventure and puzzle game addict, I must say that Limbo provided me with top quality puzzles those that didn't require a walk through but did require pause for thought. Some even required a cup of tea! The atmosphere was seamless and the dream never failed. The setting was
    Limbo is truly unique, creative, cathartic, scary, fun, immerse, atmospheric and short.

    As a self professed adventure and puzzle game addict, I must say that Limbo provided me with top quality puzzles those that didn't require a walk through but did require pause for thought. Some even required a cup of tea!

    The atmosphere was seamless and the dream never failed. The setting was suitably spooky and the traps did yield a few frights.

    Sadly, it was all over too quickly. Limbo: Brilliant but short.
    Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Limbo is the better indie game of the year, i love this game so much because if increlible puzzles and all the things thar envolved this game. and when we reached the end, going back to the beginning is amazing, defnitly i love this game!!
  20. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    LIMBO's design is an example of gaming as an art form. Short and sweet, doesn't overstay its welcome. Puzzles are challenging and fun, not illogical and frustrating (I'm looking at you, Braid). Worth every penny of the $5 I paid for it during the Steam Holiday Sale.
  21. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Beautiful. I did not expect much from LIMBO at first, what in my head was "Meh, another lazy indie puzzle game." But after I have played the game, I really like the black and white, very artistic. I played this game with my girlfriend besides me and guess what? We both enjoy it! Solving the puzzle together and sometimes screaming together. Good game and worth your time.
  22. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    As many before me have pointed out, looks and atmosphere-wise this is quite a different experience to what else is out there. I'm not sure I particularly like it - relentlessly claustrophobic and grim. Some of the puzzles are ingenious and others pretty straightforward - reminded me of Braid a little.It became very frustrating to me in the latter stages as the loss of my hair will attest!As many before me have pointed out, looks and atmosphere-wise this is quite a different experience to what else is out there. I'm not sure I particularly like it - relentlessly claustrophobic and grim. Some of the puzzles are ingenious and others pretty straightforward - reminded me of Braid a little.It became very frustrating to me in the latter stages as the loss of my hair will attest! Deaths galore because of my inability to time the moves to perfection - I just ended up getting more and more irritated and eventually just watched the ending on a walkthrough video. It seems I did not miss a great deal. Perhaps I just didn't have enough time to make the necessary corrections to timing - I was not after some Super Mario type challenges but instead something more cerebral and less punitive. Unique design and mood but just too irritating for me to derive any pleasure from playing it. Expand
  23. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    This game kind of makes me feel like I'm playing an old NES game but with better graphics and less fun 8-bit music. Its very simple mechanics make it quite an interesting game. You start off with no idea of what's happening, no back story, no one popping up telling you "USE TEH ARROW KEYZ TO MOVE." It just throws you in the game, basically telling you, "you figure it out. You're smart,This game kind of makes me feel like I'm playing an old NES game but with better graphics and less fun 8-bit music. Its very simple mechanics make it quite an interesting game. You start off with no idea of what's happening, no back story, no one popping up telling you "USE TEH ARROW KEYZ TO MOVE." It just throws you in the game, basically telling you, "you figure it out. You're smart, right?" Each time you fail a puzzle at first, you learn from your mistake how to go at it in a different approach. It's a fun little game that's a good game for reminiscing about simpler game times. Expand
  24. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Limbo is a relatively short but very worthwhile voyage. The game took me a little over 3 hours on first play-through but for more casual gamers should last a little longer, then of course you can go for all of the achievements. From the beginning you are thrown into a very dark depressing place with no real understanding of why you are there (not sure if this gets clearer really). TheLimbo is a relatively short but very worthwhile voyage. The game took me a little over 3 hours on first play-through but for more casual gamers should last a little longer, then of course you can go for all of the achievements. From the beginning you are thrown into a very dark depressing place with no real understanding of why you are there (not sure if this gets clearer really). The graphical style is beautifully creepy and the sound is second to none. Play with headphones turned up loud to get every rain sodden footstep and every sickening thud of the bear trap severing you in two. The puzzles are quite challenging requiring both skill and thought, with a great sense of achievement upon completion. Very highly recommended Expand
  25. May 30, 2012
    10
    The best indie game I've ever played. It may be short lived and the puzzles are kept rather simple, but the fact that a side scroller is able to carry heavier atmosphere and emotion than most other games just through it's visuals and sound design, is still amazing to me.
  26. Avi
    Jun 10, 2012
    10
    A beautiful, artistic, game with a creepy but captivating atmosphere - definitely worth buying. I created an account on Metacritic just so I could review this game! The graphics are all in black in white, done in the style of an old, flickering film. The difficulty level of the puzzles are just about perfect - just hard enough that they provide a rewarding challenge, but not soA beautiful, artistic, game with a creepy but captivating atmosphere - definitely worth buying. I created an account on Metacritic just so I could review this game! The graphics are all in black in white, done in the style of an old, flickering film. The difficulty level of the puzzles are just about perfect - just hard enough that they provide a rewarding challenge, but not so difficult that you start tearing your hair out. I only had to look up hints online about twice, and even then I had usually gotten the gist of the solution but just needed to be a bit more persistent. The creativeness of the puzzle mechanics is superb and makes for some very interesting interactions. One of my favorite things about the game is it's attention to subtle details in the physics of objects and little graphical flourishes that really make the experience rich and mesmerizing. Expand
  27. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    There's so much to praise the beauty of a game like LIMBO. It's a nice hybrid of adventure games and platform games. All the sections of the game are filled with puzzles, which you can solve by dying and trying, again and again. The visuals look nice, which are monochromatic black and white and some shades of grey. Sound effects are OK, musics are moody. The story is about a little boy,There's so much to praise the beauty of a game like LIMBO. It's a nice hybrid of adventure games and platform games. All the sections of the game are filled with puzzles, which you can solve by dying and trying, again and again. The visuals look nice, which are monochromatic black and white and some shades of grey. Sound effects are OK, musics are moody. The story is about a little boy, who's looking for his sister in limbo, which is the edge of hell. The ending reminded me the TV show
    L O S T, a spectacular show with an open end, the producers of it had given the liberty of commenting and fictioning the ending to fans and viewers. LIMBO also tries to do it.
    Expand
  28. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Tip top! Fantastic visuals, dark humor and fun puzzles. Wonderful. It's not often that a game comes along that just makes your day happier and more enjoyable. Limbo does that in spades.
  29. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Artistically great and full of nice, original puzzles. It's logical in that you can analyze a level and figure out what to do. And it's very creepy, with a nice dark sense of humour. One of the best games I have played.
  30. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    this game is awesome... in the same spirit as braid, world of goo, etc... buy it.. you will not be disappointed! easy to pick up, simple controls, devilish puzzles, short and sweet, just the way i like my games
  31. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Here to remind us that GAMEplay matters more than story for a GAME to work, is limbo. 3 controls make it simple, but the puzzles intrigue you and the darkness and silence captivate you into a world that needs no narration or text. Its beautiful, just difficult enough to enjoy but not enough to frustrate you, as they give you hints on how you're supposed to proceed. There was next to noHere to remind us that GAMEplay matters more than story for a GAME to work, is limbo. 3 controls make it simple, but the puzzles intrigue you and the darkness and silence captivate you into a world that needs no narration or text. Its beautiful, just difficult enough to enjoy but not enough to frustrate you, as they give you hints on how you're supposed to proceed. There was next to no puzzles in which you "had" to die in order to know what to do. I could go on and on but this game is as near to being perfect as you can get, so it deserves a 10/10. Expand
  32. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I played it non stop start to finish and enjoyed every single minute. Amazing game in every way. The atmosphere, the level design, I hope to play more from this studio soon.
  33. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Amazing! absolutely amazing, one of the best platformers of 2010 finally finds its way to the PC: Gorgeous black and white graphics, a strong sense of desolation and well thought puzzles make this one an eternal classic.
  34. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    This game managed to have me grossly frustrated yet enthralled, which is a very unique feeling. The controls are very smooth and the setting feels unique. Sadly it seems shallow and leaves too much for the imagination; a quality not always wanted in a game. Halfway through I just started looking forward till the end thinking "Surely something epically grand will happen soon!", but either IThis game managed to have me grossly frustrated yet enthralled, which is a very unique feeling. The controls are very smooth and the setting feels unique. Sadly it seems shallow and leaves too much for the imagination; a quality not always wanted in a game. Halfway through I just started looking forward till the end thinking "Surely something epically grand will happen soon!", but either I don't get it or.. well. It's grossly overrated, though, I'll say. It's a good game and all, but how can people be that blown away by it? I'd definitely recommend it to anyone "play this game, dude, it's awesome!", but not much more than that. Expand
  35. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    I possibly can't tell the atmosphere of this game with words, yet I have to write something about it. It is a short game and this is the only flaw. However, its puzzles are highly original. Visuals and main character is so dark, and the deaths are so cruel, you start wondering if it may be the darkest game you have ever played.
  36. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Fantastic, fantastic game! It's sorta like a "Braid" game, but LIMBO tells a story without ever saying anything. The gameplay is condensed into four directional buttons (up being jump at every appropriate moment) and one action button. It's amazing what it's able to accomplish with so few: and that is one very atmospheric puzzler. In all honesty, aside from the game play and puzzles, LIMBOFantastic, fantastic game! It's sorta like a "Braid" game, but LIMBO tells a story without ever saying anything. The gameplay is condensed into four directional buttons (up being jump at every appropriate moment) and one action button. It's amazing what it's able to accomplish with so few: and that is one very atmospheric puzzler. In all honesty, aside from the game play and puzzles, LIMBO is all atmosphere. From the moment the game starts we are already playing, given no obvious cues and expected to learn as we go. If you read the sales page, you probably already know you're looking for your sister in limbo. And honestly, that's all the information you'll be getting on that front. There are a lot of blanks, and as the player you're left to assume what it all means and how it relates into a story. If you pick up on the visual ques, I believe there is one dramatic story being told here. At any rate, I was going to give this game a 9/10 because it seems to be having some issues with my rumblepad (got it sorta fixed, but it's not a perfect solution), but honestly I'm sure the issues will be fixed down the line otherwise the keyboard controls are quite doable. 10/10, another great example of how video games can be executed as an art form! Expand
  37. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best 2D platformer i've played since many years . It's simple , it's creative , it's gorgeous , it's masterpiece.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  38. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    Artistically gorgeous from the beginning from the beginning to the end.
    It's a really nice and deep experience and I liked the storyline. or at least what i managed to understand by my concept.
    Its a bit short but it doesn't really matter, this game is absolute gold and definitely one of the most amazing indie games i played in 2011.
  39. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Quite simply the most astonishing 2D platform game ever made. Perfect atmosphere, controls, atmospheric sounds, surreal game world & all in glorious Black & White/Grey & White but it suits the game mood perfectly. A glorious game which puts gameplay first & drops the player into a beautiful but violent world in search of his sister. For the price on PC its a must buy even if you will onlyQuite simply the most astonishing 2D platform game ever made. Perfect atmosphere, controls, atmospheric sounds, surreal game world & all in glorious Black & White/Grey & White but it suits the game mood perfectly. A glorious game which puts gameplay first & drops the player into a beautiful but violent world in search of his sister. For the price on PC its a must buy even if you will only get 3-4 hours out of it on the intitial playthru striving to complete the game with less than 5 deaths to unlock the bonus level will take a lot longer! Expand
  40. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Yes, the game is damn short (you can make it in about 3 hours), but it's not the length or replayability that makes this game fascinating.

    It's the atmosphere and art that count. With every "puzzle"-ish game, once you know the solution, you won't forget it anymore. But while you're still on it, it will bind you to the screen, make you want to go on, escape, find the boy's sister. The way
    Yes, the game is damn short (you can make it in about 3 hours), but it's not the length or replayability that makes this game fascinating.

    It's the atmosphere and art that count. With every "puzzle"-ish game, once you know the solution, you won't forget it anymore. But while you're still on it, it will bind you to the screen, make you want to go on, escape, find the boy's sister.

    The way they ended the Demo alone was making me want to continue right away. The game captured me in about half an hour of playtime.

    The puzzles themselves are varied, and you won't feel like you've done this or that before. You'll have to run for your life more or less constantly, it will keep you on your toes.

    At ~3 hours of playtime, you can say that it's about $3 an hour.
    Is the game worth that?

    Yes it is.
    Play it at night, sit down, relax, and let the game get to you.
    Don't resist the chills. This game is worth your while.
    Expand
  41. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    Very strange game, but worth trying if you have access to a demo. It's very simple with only left/right movement and one jump/climb button. I think the atmosphere is really what makes it stand out from anything else. I've heard it's pretty short, but I felt it was well worth the $10 after playing the steam demo. I look forward to seeing what's in store for this odd, lost little kid in limbo.
  42. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Very good quest look like "Another World". But I like "Limbo" more - it puzzles hard but genuine logic, interesting and intriguing atmosphere, simple controls
  43. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    An excellent 2D puzzle and platformer, wrapped in an intriguing horror game. The graphics really set an atmosphere, the puzzles never get too frustrating, the controls are very responsive, and it only uses one sentence for a story. No dialog, no text(Except for a big sign saying HOTEL), nothing except environment sounds and a static noise. The only reason why this does not get a 10 isAn excellent 2D puzzle and platformer, wrapped in an intriguing horror game. The graphics really set an atmosphere, the puzzles never get too frustrating, the controls are very responsive, and it only uses one sentence for a story. No dialog, no text(Except for a big sign saying HOTEL), nothing except environment sounds and a static noise. The only reason why this does not get a 10 is because of its extremely short gameplay(2-5 hours).. Expand
  44. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    I loved everything about this game. I cant believe some of the bad reviews on here, they either belong to a lame gamer, or to a retard!!!. The game is awesome. I SWEAR ITS A GREAT GAME. IT IS A MUST TO HAVE lol.
  45. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    From start to finish it's a really well designed game. The black and white art style looks great and the game has a genuinely creepy feel, although I'd be hesitant to call it "art". The puzzles and platforming are really solid and will test you brains, and later on your reflexes as well. Some of the puzzling reminds me a little of Ico on the PS2 in a way. My only fault with the game isFrom start to finish it's a really well designed game. The black and white art style looks great and the game has a genuinely creepy feel, although I'd be hesitant to call it "art". The puzzles and platforming are really solid and will test you brains, and later on your reflexes as well. Some of the puzzling reminds me a little of Ico on the PS2 in a way. My only fault with the game is that it's extremely short, perhaps even for the relatively low price. Still, it's good from start to finish - worth playing in my opinion. Expand
  46. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Spooky, scary, fun, worth much more than the price tag. This game is very fun and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Afterward playing make sure you remember that real life is 3_D
  47. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    It is the strangest game I saw visually. Really get an amazing and impressive artistic effect using black and white, with a very striking effect of fog. The sound section is impressive and very well managed, a quiet (No music). With a bit of gore (The strange deaths of the protagonist), a really weird story and a tremendously dynamic and original puzzles is achieved by creating LIMBO, aIt is the strangest game I saw visually. Really get an amazing and impressive artistic effect using black and white, with a very striking effect of fog. The sound section is impressive and very well managed, a quiet (No music). With a bit of gore (The strange deaths of the protagonist), a really weird story and a tremendously dynamic and original puzzles is achieved by creating LIMBO, a gem of indie games today. The only drawbacks are the length and replayability (The only replay value you can get to take advantage is to get all the Easter eggs, which are achievements for getting everyone, there is more than that). Expand
  48. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    I can't fault the game while you are playing it. It's dark, atmospheric and really is a game that engrosses, astonishes and flat out shocks. The only problem is that it's so short and when you finish, you are done. While it lasts though, it's experience that will stay with you for a very long time.
  49. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    For only $2.50? What a steal. That was a fantastic game that was both disturbing and beautiful. It would not be nearly as good without its style as it would be far too gruesome to take. It's interesting to see the development of the world and question why there are so many traps laid out. The background sounds were perfect to the game and added a sense of mystery to it all. Solid B
  50. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Wow this game is brilliant. Who needs fancy 3D graphics? The game is simple, and the sounds with the darkness are definitely the games strong points!

    The puzzles are not to easy, yet you are also not going to solve it in a matter of seconds. It really makes you think, yet with so little controls you automatically know what to do. I was playing, and got to a certain point and was
    Wow this game is brilliant. Who needs fancy 3D graphics? The game is simple, and the sounds with the darkness are definitely the games strong points!

    The puzzles are not to easy, yet you are also not going to solve it in a matter of seconds. It really makes you think, yet with so little controls you automatically know what to do.

    I was playing, and got to a certain point and was properly scared when you meet certain spiders - I don't usually get scared at games, but something just worked.

    I brought this game in the steam sale for £1.70, but after playing it - I'd of gladly paid the full price as well!
    Expand
  51. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    limbo is a good puzzle game. Artistic and great environment, it still disappoint me a little bit to see little innovation in the mechanics. Good and interesting puzzles is a strong point but its nothing really special.
    This game is worth the time to experience but only buy it when its on discount.
  52. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    A piece of art. If someone was to tell me that a sidescroller would creep me out, I would not have believed them. Great mechanics, incredible puzzles, great graphics and sound (no music, just eerie sounds of your surroundings). The only knock on the game is the short length - about 2 hours, but the game offers high replay value - I have spent about 15 hours before I was able to beat theA piece of art. If someone was to tell me that a sidescroller would creep me out, I would not have believed them. Great mechanics, incredible puzzles, great graphics and sound (no music, just eerie sounds of your surroundings). The only knock on the game is the short length - about 2 hours, but the game offers high replay value - I have spent about 15 hours before I was able to beat the game without dying. Regardless, gets a 9 since I was able to pick it up for $5, I think if I was paying $15 for it, I would have probably given it an 8. Expand
  53. May 18, 2012
    8
    Dark, dark game. In the form of classic platformer with a twist of puzzle. Every time you solved a puzzle, you'll find yourself facepalming and saying "Damn! So that's how you solved the puzzle, and the solution is right in front of me".

    What really stands out is the graphics of the game. Simple, yet somehow giving you that eerie feeling like whenever you walked in the dark. And whenever
    Dark, dark game. In the form of classic platformer with a twist of puzzle. Every time you solved a puzzle, you'll find yourself facepalming and saying "Damn! So that's how you solved the puzzle, and the solution is right in front of me".

    What really stands out is the graphics of the game. Simple, yet somehow giving you that eerie feeling like whenever you walked in the dark. And whenever you accidentally killed your character, that little goosebumps always comes around.

    The ultimate downfall is the price and the length. For a relatively short game (I finished it like in 3 hours or so), it's truly overpriced.
    Expand
  54. May 30, 2012
    10
    t3g3g6g544444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444
  55. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    Limbo is a beautiful, simple platformer in the way Another World/Out of this world was. Artistic graphics and sound with simple controls (just arrows and 1 key) will bring some interesting puzzles for you. Yes, it is a bit short, but not like Another World, and I would change1 movie (2 hours) for this any time.
  56. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Game of the century :)
    If you are a gamer,you will know this game
    and you must have played
    its the definition of gaming
    replayability:100 times and you wont get bored
  57. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    A gem. How anyone could dislike this very fun, original game is beyond me. So many others try and fail to do what "Limbo" accomplishes with relative ease.
  58. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    LIMBO is the perfect example of how a game can be deep, inspiring and incredibly beautiful with simple gameplay, graphics, sounds and controls.
    A masterpiece.
  59. May 26, 2014
    9
    Absolutely one my favourite games. Limbo is the perfect way to mix style and story, always keeping a really good gameplay. Yes, it could be a lttle bit too short, but if the game is so brilliant, i doesn't matter too much if it's short. Levels aren't so easy (and they become really difficult at the end) and the ending is awesome. A really good game.
  60. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    A very unique & enthralling side-scrolling adventure that focuses on solving physics-based puzzles to bypass hazards, and subsequently progress to the next area as you explore a dark & disturbing world. There is very little in the way of a storyline here (the game description merely says that you are a young boy searching for your lost sister) and it seems that it was purposely left vagueA very unique & enthralling side-scrolling adventure that focuses on solving physics-based puzzles to bypass hazards, and subsequently progress to the next area as you explore a dark & disturbing world. There is very little in the way of a storyline here (the game description merely says that you are a young boy searching for your lost sister) and it seems that it was purposely left vague to add to the intrigue and mystery. The meaning of the word "Limbo" as we know it, is described as that of a place for lost souls, caught somewhere between heaven & hell. The overall atmosphere created is very well done and gives you a great sense of isolation & creepiness as you venture forth. In that regard, the ambient sound effects are all spot on and help set the mood. There's not much in the way of music, which actually seems to work out well because it might otherwise risk drowning out the sounds of the world that help create the atmosphere. Graphics-wise, LIMBO has a very unique & interesting style (some would say bordering on art) with its monochrome presentation and very dark foreground with somewhat lighter backgrounds for contrast. Despite this, many of the death animations can be quite enjoyably gruesome and there is a good amount of visual detail in the world. For example, you can even see the blades of grass move as you run through them. Some people will likely try to compare this game to Braid, as they both have a side-scrolling platformer component but are puzzle-solving games at their core. I would say, however, that I found Braid to be more difficult with its puzzles based on the manipulation of time, whereas LIMBO's puzzles involve more straightforward physics and are somewhat easier (although no less enjoyable). Still, you can expect some trial and error and many deaths experimenting and discovering how things work because you are never told or shown what to do or explicity explained anything. Like Braid, LIMBO is also somewhat of a short game and there really isn't much in the way of replayability aside from maybe doing a speed run (or low death count run). The Steam achievements add to the longevity a little bit, as do the ten secret eggs hidden throughout the world (which once collected let you access a hidden bonus area with a difficult challenge), but don't expect to get more than 10 hours tops out of this game. In spite of that I would highly recommend LIMBO if you like games that involve though-provoking puzzles, simply because the experience is that fantastic while it lasts. The only negative things I can really say are that there is no volume control (although the level seems to be good), the options are sparse, the controls can't be customized (very simple game though), and gamepad support is limited to only the Xbox360 controller. It would also be nice if the additional options stored in the "settings.txt" file (you can turn on WASD controls there) were added to the menu interface as well. These are all minor issues to be sure though, and don't really impact the enjoyment of the experience itself. Expand
  61. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Simplicity is a concept in gaming that people frown upon and criticize. Limbo ignores that notion and brings something unique and interesting to Indie games. Limbo’s black and white setting will not only exclude any sense of complexity, but will also give the player a rather eerie and dark experience. The gameplay includes straightforward puzzles, yet won’t put your brain to sleep andSimplicity is a concept in gaming that people frown upon and criticize. Limbo ignores that notion and brings something unique and interesting to Indie games. Limbo’s black and white setting will not only exclude any sense of complexity, but will also give the player a rather eerie and dark experience. The gameplay includes straightforward puzzles, yet won’t put your brain to sleep and still presents a fun challenge. The gameplay is rather static and lacks variation, but features something new and exciting before it gets repetitive. The soundtrack may not blow your mind because Limbo prioritizes on ambient sounds rather than its soundtrack. In addition, a sophisticated soundtrack would contradict Limbo’s principle of simplicity and instead disrupt the ambience that enhances the gameplay so much. Gamers of the Indie genre should be nuts for this game, and rightly so. Those who enjoy puzzles and are interested in a very entertaining game shouldn’t hesitate to pick this up. Expand
  62. Dec 1, 2011
    8
    A wonderful puzzle adventure that lacks a proper story to back it up. The grainy, monochromatic video presents an eerie ambience in that quiet, but deadly place they call Limbo--somewhere between life and the afterlife. The puzzles are well thought out and not overly difficult, but the price of failure is death and that price will be paid often. Short and sweet, Limbo is certainly worth a look.
  63. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    Beautiful and fun game. However, it is not worth more than $5. Definitely worth the $2.50 that you pay on Steam when it's on sale. Definitely unique and dark, but loved the game all around.
  64. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    A delightful little platformer, which is now easily accessible to PC users via Steam. LIMBO does a great job of combining challenging 2D platform gameplay with a unique artistic style that sets a very eerie. The result of this blend makes for a game experience that can be frustrating, but one which lets you dive into the strange world that has been created. Game mechanics are smooth,A delightful little platformer, which is now easily accessible to PC users via Steam. LIMBO does a great job of combining challenging 2D platform gameplay with a unique artistic style that sets a very eerie. The result of this blend makes for a game experience that can be frustrating, but one which lets you dive into the strange world that has been created. Game mechanics are smooth, but can be unresponsive at times (i.e. sliding down ramps, jumping to a platform that is just within reach, if timed correctly). These issues do not hinder gameplay, though, so are very minor. The lack of "music" leaves the player to experience the sounds of LIMBO, which, in some cases, are the only clues you have on how to solve certain puzzles. Overall, LIMBO is a great value for $9.99. Those who complain about the "replayability" or length of the game are just crazies who don't understand that you WILL NOT get a 20-40 hour game at this price level from an indie developer. Do yourself a favor and BUY THIS GAME. You will be glad you did. Expand
  65. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    A very unique game that at $9.99 is worthy of its high praise. It offers a very dark and moody style with nuanced audio that compliments the nature of its puzzles. The game does not seek to thrill you with graphic intensive visuals, instead it focuses on emphasizing the experience by making the puzzles completely immersive. The puzzle where your center of gravity is being turned 360A very unique game that at $9.99 is worthy of its high praise. It offers a very dark and moody style with nuanced audio that compliments the nature of its puzzles. The game does not seek to thrill you with graphic intensive visuals, instead it focuses on emphasizing the experience by making the puzzles completely immersive. The puzzle where your center of gravity is being turned 360 degrees over and over is a perfect example of this. The story of the game provides a backdrop to the puzzles but it really is not what the game is about and I think those that criticized the game for lack of a more complete story didn't get what the game was going for. This game is really a dark fairy tale told in a very creative way. Overall the game is of course a side scrolling platform and while it is extremely well done and successfully revives the genre I cannot give it higher than an 8 for the fact that it is not perfectly original and it is a little short. It is however a very well spent $10. Here's to hoping we will get a full length sequel to compliment this exceptionally well made game. Expand
  66. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    A full 10. There isn't even a question about this. This game felt like I was playing a work of famous literature. There are challenging puzzles that really give you a sense of accomplishment once you complete them. For this alone, I caution anyone against looking up walkthroughs online. I looked up the solution to one of the first puzzles, and then was disappointed in myself for doing so.A full 10. There isn't even a question about this. This game felt like I was playing a work of famous literature. There are challenging puzzles that really give you a sense of accomplishment once you complete them. For this alone, I caution anyone against looking up walkthroughs online. I looked up the solution to one of the first puzzles, and then was disappointed in myself for doing so. I strongly urge you to do your best to solve the puzzles on your own. The animations are wonderful and fluid, the monochromatic aesthetics are appropriately haunting and beautiful. This game is an absolute work of art, and will go down in history as one of the finest games ever made. One last note: To anyone griping about the story, let me remind you that this is an intentionally minimalist game. One would think you'd get that impression just by looking at the lack of color in the world. It is almost without form. It is void. It is, quite dramatically, Limbo. Consider the very nature of what the word means when you reach the ending, Expand
  67. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Really beautiful indie game, even gruesome. Great use of physics in the puzzles. The only thing that bothered me a little bit was that a couple of the puzzles, in my opinion, were not fair to the player (i.e. it was not clear how the environment worked). A very, very good value if you can find it on sale, but not worth full price; there's just not enough content to justify $9.99.
  68. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    Very simple and beautifully atmospheric platformer. It's definitely reminiscent of Out Of This World (Another World), though more fluid and less irritating. The visuals and the sound are done extremely well, while the puzzle solving varies from fun and novel to a bit irritating at times.
  69. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    A very beautiful game, dark and poetic, simple et fun. It remembers me Trine, with puzzles using physics and the 2D style. There are not many levels but they are stressing and various. It's a very little game, but very nice.
  70. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    Maybe it's because I'm a big brother, but I absolutely loved this game. The dark and fantastic art style fits perfectly with the simple story of a brother on a quest to find his sister, no matter what stands in his way.

    As other reviews have stated, the game isn't terribly long; it took me a little over 3 hours to play through. At first the price seemed steep for so little content; after
    Maybe it's because I'm a big brother, but I absolutely loved this game. The dark and fantastic art style fits perfectly with the simple story of a brother on a quest to find his sister, no matter what stands in his way.

    As other reviews have stated, the game isn't terribly long; it took me a little over 3 hours to play through. At first the price seemed steep for so little content; after playing through it I have completely changed my mind. The simple story, brilliant graphics and unique gameplay all came together to create something that transcends video games to become art.

    Although I would categorize this as a puzzle game, it doesn't match up to traditional puzzle gameplay. Progress in this game is based around trial and error and the frequent deaths that result. Although this sounds terrible, the frequent save points for the most part prevent it from being bothersome. In fact, the experimental style adds more depth to the game as it so closely matches the approach a small boy on an adventure would take.
    Expand
  71. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    I hope Edward Gorey's spirit is looking down (or up) and smiling at LIMBO because it reminds me of something he would concoct to run annoying children through. Tons of nihilistic style and enjoyably difficult, this 2D platformer demonstrates how much dark fun you can have with simple yet well thought out game play. Expect to die... a LOT. Exploration can be cruel and frustrating, theI hope Edward Gorey's spirit is looking down (or up) and smiling at LIMBO because it reminds me of something he would concoct to run annoying children through. Tons of nihilistic style and enjoyably difficult, this 2D platformer demonstrates how much dark fun you can have with simple yet well thought out game play. Expect to die... a LOT. Exploration can be cruel and frustrating, the death's are disturbing, yet the game's rewarding. If I have one complaint it's that I wish LIMBO was much longer, but this bleak dystopia is well worth the tiny price. Expand
  72. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    The best 2d game i have had the pleasure of playing! The scenery, the colors, the sounds, the ambiance, the immersion. I loved it in this game. Plus the violent deaths were pretty funny and appealing in a odd way. I would give this game a 10, but a few of the puzzles were overly difficult in my opinion. Though I am sure many would love that type of challenge. I also wish the game wasThe best 2d game i have had the pleasure of playing! The scenery, the colors, the sounds, the ambiance, the immersion. I loved it in this game. Plus the violent deaths were pretty funny and appealing in a odd way. I would give this game a 10, but a few of the puzzles were overly difficult in my opinion. Though I am sure many would love that type of challenge. I also wish the game was longer though and i hope for a sequel; or even a game similar to LIMBO. So far i have not been able to get my hands on on something quit like this. That's how unique and fun this game really was! Expand
  73. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    The visual style and animation is amazing, but the game itself got very repetitive towards the end. Overall I liked it, but the last (secret level) I just played to have the achievement :)
  74. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Simply... amazing. I was thrilled throughout the whole game!
    The atmosphere is mystical, dark and scary, which fits perfect with the puzzles.
    The only downside is the game's length.. but i'm more than pleasantly surprise with this game. I've never played anything similar The feeling of controlling the boy around just can't be compared to anything else. It's new-thinking,
    Amazing. Simply... amazing. I was thrilled throughout the whole game!
    The atmosphere is mystical, dark and scary, which fits perfect with the puzzles.
    The only downside is the game's length.. but i'm more than pleasantly surprise with this game. I've never played anything similar
    The feeling of controlling the boy around just can't be compared to anything else.
    It's new-thinking, beautiful, exciting and gives you the chills! This game is perfect
    Expand
  75. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    I created a metacritic account just because I feel this game deserves as much praise as it can get. Original, good atmosphere, played it through straight to the end. Short, but sweet :) We need more original thought like this in games. Proof that you don't need to set your video card on fire to get some good entertainment :)
  76. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    Great game!

    Very unique and the puzzles are fun to figure out. I beat it in maybe 3 hours, so in terms of playtime it is pretty short. I would have loved to see them incorporate some more game play elements into the game.

    Very much a rag-doll puzzle game in the dark.
  77. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    It's really interesting.It is simple but very enjoyable.I think it should have been longer.There are quite differents from other puzzle games.You don't use just machines,you can also use nature to solve puzlles.And graphics are worth to see,character is small and sweet.It's one of the best puzzle games I've ever played.
  78. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    Absolutely beautiful, hypnotic and charming. A bit challenging but mostly easy (not easy-boring though). A pleasure to play and a pleasure to feel as an experience beyond a game. If it were just a little longer...
  79. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Un gran juego, en cada momento de este sientes lo cerca que estas de morir de una forma brutal. Tanto que quieres arriesgarte para ver la forma de morir. Corta duracion es la unica queja. Un ejemplo de un juego sencillo, y con gran variedad de puzzles.
  80. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Great atmosphere, reminds me of Another World. My biggest criticism is that I just finished the game and only then when I noticed a headline in the Steam News area for the game, did I realise that you can edit Settings.txt to adjust resolution and use W A S D instead of the arrow keys. Perfect game, all it needs is a decent settings menu.
  81. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Put simply, Limbo is a magnum-opus of game design. It demonstrates the viability of the digital platform and adds further substance to the hackneyed argument of videogames as art. Light yet brainy puzzle platform gameplay is applied to a canvas of delightful physics and wrapped in unwavering and meticulous attention to detail. The environment and backdrops are fluid and smoothlyPut simply, Limbo is a magnum-opus of game design. It demonstrates the viability of the digital platform and adds further substance to the hackneyed argument of videogames as art. Light yet brainy puzzle platform gameplay is applied to a canvas of delightful physics and wrapped in unwavering and meticulous attention to detail. The environment and backdrops are fluid and smoothly integrated, affected by the physics system which itself is consistently drawn upon for what are perhaps some of the most incredibly clever puzzles in a video game. Your intuition is not merely put to the test, but violated, and it is this continual cleverness, combined with amazing polish, that allow Limbo to rise above as part of the cream of indie development. From start to finish, you are involved and intrigued, but never frustrated by the ample number of deaths, or overly horrified by the atmosphere, inhabitants or puzzles. Perhaps Limbo's only downfall are the controls, which on the PC are onerous at times, and non-customizeable. Periodically, Limbo's brilliant manipulations extend to your keyboard, both a blessing and a curse, but not at all detrimental to the overall experience. In the end, you will want to forgive Limbo for its shortcomings, and I suggest you do- this is a classic. Expand
  82. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    This game is a **** of game industry!! Personally i watched a walkthrough on youtube first i was really sucked in like it was a movie Then tried it my self, certainly like others said the puzzles are getting harder and harder but what a pleasure for like $10.. A MUST TRY if it reminds you of your childhood! A MUST HAVE if you're an EMO :P jokes
  83. Aug 20, 2011
    8
    One criticism: level 35 is not very fair in terms of a logical puzzle. I won't spoil, but I had not needed to look up the solution until level 35 when I couldn't solve it. The button pushing block lifting off screen is not clear at all even when you know how it's solved, it doesn't make much sense. I don't think many people will solve it, some will solve it by accident but not know whatOne criticism: level 35 is not very fair in terms of a logical puzzle. I won't spoil, but I had not needed to look up the solution until level 35 when I couldn't solve it. The button pushing block lifting off screen is not clear at all even when you know how it's solved, it doesn't make much sense. I don't think many people will solve it, some will solve it by accident but not know what they did.

    Apart from that, great art and design. Small footprint. Excellent sound design, character control and environment animations. Smooth gameplay, no interface distractions, just the game with minimal controls and subtle but detailed levels.
    Expand
  84. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    Lovely game - very pretty and quite original. The puzzles are hard enough to challenge you, but not so hard that you have to Google the solution.

    It's short (completed in a few hours) and limited replay, but definately worth playing...
  85. Aug 22, 2011
    8
    Really loved the atmosphere. It starts as a simple platform game, but the difficulty increases quickly and reaches a quite tough level at the end. But what makes Limbo so particular is the way the "levels" are presented to the player: there is no real separation between them, they are all in one big sized level.

    One thing I regret is that the story could have been a little bit more
    Really loved the atmosphere. It starts as a simple platform game, but the difficulty increases quickly and reaches a quite tough level at the end. But what makes Limbo so particular is the way the "levels" are presented to the player: there is no real separation between them, they are all in one big sized level.

    One thing I regret is that the story could have been a little bit more detailed than that. After knowing most of it, I felt that something was missing: maybe an explanation or some sort of conclusion... Besides that, the player is constantly pushed further and the will of knowing more never leaves your mind.

    Additionally, there are some very cool achievements to get, and even a bonus one that you may find by completing the others. Getting that last one is an adventure by itself, but I won't say why to avoid spoilers.
    Expand
  86. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    There have been 3 games released this year which I played to completion whereas I have started many many more. The 3 games this year have all dragged me in and I have thought of pretty much nothing else while playing them. I would go to work and my mind would be on them and not what i was doing. I would be trying to sleep and I would be thinking about what i had been doing in the game andThere have been 3 games released this year which I played to completion whereas I have started many many more. The 3 games this year have all dragged me in and I have thought of pretty much nothing else while playing them. I would go to work and my mind would be on them and not what i was doing. I would be trying to sleep and I would be thinking about what i had been doing in the game and what could be next. The games were Portal 2, Limbo and From Dust. All puzzle games but all totally different and equally amazing.

    With Limbo it starts you off nice and gently but like all good games the further you get in the harder it gets. Some puzzles you could work out as you see them on the screen but some too ages for me to figure out. When you get to a bit you get stuck at limbo does end up like a slow motion Super Meat Boy, but that's OK. There is not much of anything to the game, not much of a story (boy enters limbo to save his sister), not much music, just atmospheric noises, not much graphics (grey-scale all the way through). not much in the way of controls and not much in the way of instruction... but Limbo needs none of this to drag you in and absorb you. The developers got this all just right.

    Reading the couple of bad reviews one of the things I noticed was someone complaining that there is no replayability for him. What I would have to say to anyone worrying about that is the game cost £6.99 and I played it to completion. I have a stack of games i paid £30 each for that are sat there installed, played for an hour and I have no desire to go back to. Limbo is great value for money when you look at it like that. I played this to completion over a few days and wanted to play nothing else while doing so.

    I would give this a 9.5 out of 10, but Metacritic limits us to whole numbers so I went for 10. The reason I would give 9.5 and not 10 would be for how short the game is, sure, it's great value for money - but I want more! If Limbo 2 came out today then I would buy it in a flash. The other reason it doesnt get 10 is the ending of the game.
    Expand
  87. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    An absolutley thrilling game.. The the monochrome graphics & physics are very clean. The controls are simple yet fun. Good job! sometimes simple is just better. I gave it a 9 because I was unable to upgrade the demo to a licensed version, a slight graphics handling error, but had no effect since the full version is available.
  88. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Great platformer with great visual style and gameplay, which makes love itself from the very first minutes of play. And that's great!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =)
  89. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I think it's better if I start with the downsides. This game is relatively expensive and way too short for 10 Euros. But I just couldn't wait till it's price goes down. I did not regret this purchase. First of all it has a really strong atmosphere which sucks one in immediately. This game is a good example of art meeting a mainstream medium. I really liked the creatures, enemies and theI think it's better if I start with the downsides. This game is relatively expensive and way too short for 10 Euros. But I just couldn't wait till it's price goes down. I did not regret this purchase. First of all it has a really strong atmosphere which sucks one in immediately. This game is a good example of art meeting a mainstream medium. I really liked the creatures, enemies and the numerous unique gameplay elements. It's certainly more than a puzzle platformer. The challenges aren't frustrating, because you don't have to repeat long sections of the game to get to the actual obstacle. The puzzles are not too hard, but there are some more complicated ones, which require some brain capacity. The presentation is plain perfect. The minimal graphic design, the creepy soundtrack, the physics and the gameplay are all polished to perfection. I can only recommend this game. Expand
  90. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    Limbo offer a great puzzle game with good idea and interesting graphics. The game is not to easy and some puzzles will take some time to do. Most of the time doing a mistake result in you dying and start over from the last checkpoint. But I never felt that as a problem. Limbo is not a very long game, depending on how much time you spent on the puzzles(around 3-4 hours). You may squish someLimbo offer a great puzzle game with good idea and interesting graphics. The game is not to easy and some puzzles will take some time to do. Most of the time doing a mistake result in you dying and start over from the last checkpoint. But I never felt that as a problem. Limbo is not a very long game, depending on how much time you spent on the puzzles(around 3-4 hours). You may squish some extra hours trying to get all achievements. Music is semi-present in the game but it does an awesome job setting up the mood. If you are a fan of puzzle games, I say try it out, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  91. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Limbo is one of those games that you finish quickly, but will stay with you for a long time. This game is the reason why I started to love indie games so much. The style, the atmosphere, the experience; it's something you don't come across very often.
  92. Jul 27, 2012
    8
    One thing I've noticed about games these days is that many people judge a game by their playtime rather than the quality of the actual game. LIMBO is grim, bleak arty platformer which is extremely well-designed and has an eerie atmosphere. LIMBO is pretty short, perhaps about 3-4 hours depending on your skill. To be clear you're not making the same mistake as that other reviewer; you willOne thing I've noticed about games these days is that many people judge a game by their playtime rather than the quality of the actual game. LIMBO is grim, bleak arty platformer which is extremely well-designed and has an eerie atmosphere. LIMBO is pretty short, perhaps about 3-4 hours depending on your skill. To be clear you're not making the same mistake as that other reviewer; you will die, a lot! You might complain over the game being too short, but if it were any longer, you'd just complain about it being over-long and repetitive. This game however, never seems to repeat itself: it has some interesting themes to it, but it does lack any sort of a plot. You can argue if that's a good thing, but I can't think how you would implement them into a game like this. Lastly, again pointing to that reviewer who said this game has no replay value; well of course it doesn't! Puzzle games never have replay value if it's a proper puzzle game, once you've learned the solution, what else is there? Anyway, I'd say LIMBO is actually quite short for the price, so I'd only recommend it to people who don't mind parting with a hefty £7 or are in the mood for an arty game. Expand
  93. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Quietly brilliant. It's a art masterpiece and a game designer school for those who like it. It's a perfect mix of puzzle, adventure and emotional gamming, with clever (but not impossible) challenges. Highly recommend this for people who like adventure, puzzling, emotional games and stuffs like that. It's very beautiful too.
  94. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    Limbo contains graphical, sound, and control details that give you the impression that a group of people have fussed over its smallest details for a very long time. The mechanics are tight, physics are well implemented, and the puzzles are cleverly designed. The only letdown was the brevity of the campaign and the fact that the storytelling is too spare to match the artistic potential ofLimbo contains graphical, sound, and control details that give you the impression that a group of people have fussed over its smallest details for a very long time. The mechanics are tight, physics are well implemented, and the puzzles are cleverly designed. The only letdown was the brevity of the campaign and the fact that the storytelling is too spare to match the artistic potential of its monochrome visuals and haunting sounds. Expand
  95. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    Limbo is an intriguing platform game and is certainly worth a look-in. The style is excellent - black, white and moody. The puzzles are interesting and challenging. On the downside, it is short - expect to finish it in 2 or 3 hours. Some people may find the lack of a story a problem, though for me that's part of the charm. Who is this kid and why is he running through a dark forest?Limbo is an intriguing platform game and is certainly worth a look-in. The style is excellent - black, white and moody. The puzzles are interesting and challenging. On the downside, it is short - expect to finish it in 2 or 3 hours. Some people may find the lack of a story a problem, though for me that's part of the charm. Who is this kid and why is he running through a dark forest? Verdict - worth picking up for an afternoon's entertainment. Expand
  96. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Definitely not a feel-good game but nevertheless a visual and audio design masterpiece. It has some minor gameplay faults but the experience is driving, touching and draws you in. Play in a darkened room with headphones.
  97. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Great atmosphere, reminds me of Another World. My biggest criticism is that I just finished the game and only then when I noticed a headline in the Steam News area for the game, did I realise that you can edit Settings.txt to adjust resolution and use W A S D instead of the arrow keys. Perfect game, all it needs is a decent settings menu.
  98. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    There is nothing that could possible make this game any better, other than a cheaper price 15$ seemed like a bit to much but the game play WOW really gives meaning to the name limbo. The puzzles were really complex yet simple because they gave you all the pieces beforehand, introducing every new game element then giving it more depth, and combining with other elements. The game isThere is nothing that could possible make this game any better, other than a cheaper price 15$ seemed like a bit to much but the game play WOW really gives meaning to the name limbo. The puzzles were really complex yet simple because they gave you all the pieces beforehand, introducing every new game element then giving it more depth, and combining with other elements. The game is designed flawlessly, I prefer quality over quantity compared to some other people but that's my opinion. Expand
  99. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    PROS- Completely stunning in artistic fashion, the puzzles are perfectly aligned in a steady incline of difficulty. I was taken back by the complexity of such a masterful game with no dialogue. Without words it would appear thin and drought like of substance, this is absolutely false. The environmental noises are sharply energetic and adrenaline fueled to tingle your spine. The black andPROS- Completely stunning in artistic fashion, the puzzles are perfectly aligned in a steady incline of difficulty. I was taken back by the complexity of such a masterful game with no dialogue. Without words it would appear thin and drought like of substance, this is absolutely false. The environmental noises are sharply energetic and adrenaline fueled to tingle your spine. The black and white appearance without color is not dull, the amount of shades they use bring such a crisp image, that it appears colorfully delightful with two colors. The difficulty curve is efficient and elaborately forgiving, even when you fail, it reloads a few steps from your misstep. CONS- The length is not just short, but as if a eye blink in the genre of puzzle games. For $2.50 the game is a steal, $5 is a proper selling point, but I wouldn't venture much higher in price range and pay for it. I would have liked to seeing at least some dialogue at the end of the game, and I wanted to know why the Native American individuals were trying to be the death of you. Do they have some part in the reason why you are trying to find your sister. There are certain obstacles that could have been shown better to how they conclude, very minor for there were only a few. Almost my game of the year of 2012, I give it a 8.95 out 10. A must buy if at an adequate price point. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    Limbo is a beautiful, intense experience.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A brilliant indie platformer. Braid can finally retire. [October 2011, p.100]
  3. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Minimum effort, maximum tension!