User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1003 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Simple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakes often means death and restart, that's a good thing, to avoid them into become annoying. Checkpoints are well and often placed. It somehow reminded me of "Out Of This World" wich is a game I loved. Game sound is also amazing, focused on details and ambience with no music, making it's dark mood even more creepy. The weakest point is the game lenght... quite short... they could've made the game a little bigger, with harder puzzles near the end, but for 10 bucks it's more than worth it. Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    I appreciated this game a lot, it has an amazing mood and it doesn't try to drown you in it with music (or hide the lack thereof with music). The little things were what impressed me most, small details in the world you could (and sometimes must) pick up. Parts of the 'story' you could piece together by just being attentive. The one problem with the game is length and re-playability. I could imagine if you were to play through it a second time you could be more appreciative of the surroundings and what is going on (I didn't realize a certain detail of the game until I started a second time). The problem is, with today's audience it seems everyone just wants to win, they don't bother with the details and if they get stuck it's straight to youtube for the walkthrough, A great game that I fear may go less appreciated than it deserves. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Wonderful game. A great example of how a video games can truly become a art. The puzzles are great and not too frustrating, and always keeping it original. The sound matches well the atmosphere. It's simply a beautiful game for people that can appreciate a game not just for the high paced action element.
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    Limbo beings as a simple puzzle game but evolves into a metaphor for things we can only imagine. The art style of the game is uncomplicated and lends itself toward the overall metaphor. Many have complained about Limbo being overly short while others have described it as an arduous journey that is well worth the effort. I would say that I played through at an above average pace and finished the game in about five hours. Many of the puzzles were tricky and the feeling of success was a great reward when I figured them out. As far as the story goes, well will have to form your own opinion about that after you play through. Lets just say its an open book.

    Great games leave a simple taste of I want more in your mouth and this game gave me that. Sadly there isn't much more I can milk from it so 9/10. It looses one point for lack of real replay ability. I accomplished 90% of the achievements on my first play through.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Tip top! Fantastic visuals, dark humor and fun puzzles. Wonderful. It's not often that a game comes along that just makes your day happier and more enjoyable. Limbo does that in spades.
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Limbo is the better indie game of the year, i love this game so much because if increlible puzzles and all the things thar envolved this game. and when we reached the end, going back to the beginning is amazing, defnitly i love this game!!
  7. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing, it manages a great level of difficulty, slowly increasing throughout the game, that many puzzle games don't find. Puzzles were still of a decent difficulty at the start and gradually developed into taking 5-10 minutes to figure out each puzzle. While the odd few of the puzzles simply required jumping or running at the right time, most of them are well thought out and logical - unlike many other games where you feel that you never would have thought of the solution and ended up trying everything in trial and error. The atmosphere in the game is powerful, very creepy and I found myself genuinely freaked out at some of the things the boy encounters. Checkpoints in the game are well-placed so that you didn't have to repeat vasts amount of gameplay to get back to your origial point. The sound adds to the atmosphere, though a drawback is that you couldn't edit the volume in the options. While in hindsight I think that the story of his sister is a little underplayed, as even towards the end we don't really know what happened, while playing it didn't really occur as an issue and I found it fun watching the silent story of his journey unfolding. The game is relatively short (3.2 hours to finish or so), it is also very cheap. Expand
  8. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    this game is awesome... in the same spirit as braid, world of goo, etc... buy it.. you will not be disappointed! easy to pick up, simple controls, devilish puzzles, short and sweet, just the way i like my games
  9. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    If you can pick it up for $2-3 bucks you owe it to yourself to play it. I doubt it will every crack anyone's Top 10 list, but it's memorable and touching. Keyboard controls (all five keys) work great.
  10. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Artistically great and full of nice, original puzzles. It's logical in that you can analyze a level and figure out what to do. And it's very creepy, with a nice dark sense of humour. One of the best games I have played.
  11. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    LIMBO's design is an example of gaming as an art form. Short and sweet, doesn't overstay its welcome. Puzzles are challenging and fun, not illogical and frustrating (I'm looking at you, Braid). Worth every penny of the $5 I paid for it during the Steam Holiday Sale.
  12. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    This game is nearly priceless, its like a puzzle-platformer, horror, killing simulator mix that results in something extremely special and entertaining. Not only do the black and white colors combine to make an excellent creepy atmosphere but the ways you die and the events that happen in the game create tension. The puzzles are pure quality, they are so good they nearly seem comparable to puzzles in Valve games, and there is a lot of variety in each situation. My only complains with this game, the story is really not clear and some of the puzzles are quite difficult giving you many deaths. Limbo is an amazing game which becomes challenging but not frustrating, this is one of my games of the year and a must-buy title on any platform. Expand
  13. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Loved this game. It stuck with me so strongly, rainy days make me want to play it again. I also wish it had been longer, but that's my only complaint.
  14. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Beautiful. I did not expect much from LIMBO at first, what in my head was "Meh, another lazy indie puzzle game." But after I have played the game, I really like the black and white, very artistic. I played this game with my girlfriend besides me and guess what? We both enjoy it! Solving the puzzle together and sometimes screaming together. Good game and worth your time.
  15. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    As many before me have pointed out, looks and atmosphere-wise this is quite a different experience to what else is out there. I'm not sure I particularly like it - relentlessly claustrophobic and grim. Some of the puzzles are ingenious and others pretty straightforward - reminded me of Braid a little.It became very frustrating to me in the latter stages as the loss of my hair will attest! Deaths galore because of my inability to time the moves to perfection - I just ended up getting more and more irritated and eventually just watched the ending on a walkthrough video. It seems I did not miss a great deal. Perhaps I just didn't have enough time to make the necessary corrections to timing - I was not after some Super Mario type challenges but instead something more cerebral and less punitive. Unique design and mood but just too irritating for me to derive any pleasure from playing it. Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    This game is a polished diamond. It's nothing for hardcore nerds who play nothing but Battlefield 3 and don't like to use their brains. Limbo is a piece of game-art and should be treated like this. The optics athe sound designs are mindblowing. Its easy to fall in love with that game very quick. Everyone should have played this clever straight up jump and run thriller at least once. The only reason i didn't gice the game a full 10/10 is because i reached the end after 4 hours. I didnt want it to end cause i liked what i seen. Expand
  17. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Limbo is a relatively short but very worthwhile voyage. The game took me a little over 3 hours on first play-through but for more casual gamers should last a little longer, then of course you can go for all of the achievements. From the beginning you are thrown into a very dark depressing place with no real understanding of why you are there (not sure if this gets clearer really). The graphical style is beautifully creepy and the sound is second to none. Play with headphones turned up loud to get every rain sodden footstep and every sickening thud of the bear trap severing you in two. The puzzles are quite challenging requiring both skill and thought, with a great sense of achievement upon completion. Very highly recommended Expand
  18. May 30, 2012
    10
    The best indie game I've ever played. It may be short lived and the puzzles are kept rather simple, but the fact that a side scroller is able to carry heavier atmosphere and emotion than most other games just through it's visuals and sound design, is still amazing to me.
  19. Avi
    Jun 10, 2012
    10
    A beautiful, artistic, game with a creepy but captivating atmosphere - definitely worth buying. I created an account on Metacritic just so I could review this game! The graphics are all in black in white, done in the style of an old, flickering film. The difficulty level of the puzzles are just about perfect - just hard enough that they provide a rewarding challenge, but not so difficult that you start tearing your hair out. I only had to look up hints online about twice, and even then I had usually gotten the gist of the solution but just needed to be a bit more persistent. The creativeness of the puzzle mechanics is superb and makes for some very interesting interactions. One of my favorite things about the game is it's attention to subtle details in the physics of objects and little graphical flourishes that really make the experience rich and mesmerizing. Expand
  20. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Excellent art and music (the game is a work of art), the puzzles are very interesting in the beginning and quite (but not very) interesting in the second half of the game. I actually though that the game will go more in the direction of violence and philosophy/psychology (e.g. seeing another character walk into a pool and die, just to bounce over his dead body that's the strongest moment in the game imo), but unfortunately it takes a purely mechanical setting later: boxes, saws, magnets I've seen all this stuff in many games. If you take out the art and focus only at the second half of the game, you will see a good but not an outstanding puzzle, much like the ones you can find on Kongregate for free. The first part however is simply a work of a genius. That's why after finishing this game i have a somewhat mixed impression. Also, the ending was unexpected and i didn't get its meaning (or the meaning was too banal? i mean, walking thru so many hurdles to just get a girl? duh, that's too teenager-oriented). I also agree with some reviewers that most puzzles make you die a few times before you can at all figure out what's going on. That's not too bad, but I still had a sense that the author just enjoys hurting the player Anyway, with all these minor flaws (which aren't actually flaws) the game is just excellent. It surely deserves its popularity and it's definitely a step forward in the genre. Expand
  21. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    There's so much to praise the beauty of a game like LIMBO. It's a nice hybrid of adventure games and platform games. All the sections of the game are filled with puzzles, which you can solve by dying and trying, again and again. The visuals look nice, which are monochromatic black and white and some shades of grey. Sound effects are OK, musics are moody. The story is about a little boy, who's looking for his sister in limbo, which is the edge of hell. The ending reminded me the TV show
    L O S T, a spectacular show with an open end, the producers of it had given the liberty of commenting and fictioning the ending to fans and viewers. LIMBO also tries to do it.
    Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Here to remind us that GAMEplay matters more than story for a GAME to work, is limbo. 3 controls make it simple, but the puzzles intrigue you and the darkness and silence captivate you into a world that needs no narration or text. Its beautiful, just difficult enough to enjoy but not enough to frustrate you, as they give you hints on how you're supposed to proceed. There was next to no puzzles in which you "had" to die in order to know what to do. I could go on and on but this game is as near to being perfect as you can get, so it deserves a 10/10. Expand
  23. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I played it non stop start to finish and enjoyed every single minute. Amazing game in every way. The atmosphere, the level design, I hope to play more from this studio soon.
  24. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Amazing! absolutely amazing, one of the best platformers of 2010 finally finds its way to the PC: Gorgeous black and white graphics, a strong sense of desolation and well thought puzzles make this one an eternal classic.
  25. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    I possibly can't tell the atmosphere of this game with words, yet I have to write something about it. It is a short game and this is the only flaw. However, its puzzles are highly original. Visuals and main character is so dark, and the deaths are so cruel, you start wondering if it may be the darkest game you have ever played.
  26. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Fantastic, fantastic game! It's sorta like a "Braid" game, but LIMBO tells a story without ever saying anything. The gameplay is condensed into four directional buttons (up being jump at every appropriate moment) and one action button. It's amazing what it's able to accomplish with so few: and that is one very atmospheric puzzler. In all honesty, aside from the game play and puzzles, LIMBO is all atmosphere. From the moment the game starts we are already playing, given no obvious cues and expected to learn as we go. If you read the sales page, you probably already know you're looking for your sister in limbo. And honestly, that's all the information you'll be getting on that front. There are a lot of blanks, and as the player you're left to assume what it all means and how it relates into a story. If you pick up on the visual ques, I believe there is one dramatic story being told here. At any rate, I was going to give this game a 9/10 because it seems to be having some issues with my rumblepad (got it sorta fixed, but it's not a perfect solution), but honestly I'm sure the issues will be fixed down the line otherwise the keyboard controls are quite doable. 10/10, another great example of how video games can be executed as an art form! Expand
  27. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    A very unique & enthralling side-scrolling adventure that focuses on solving physics-based puzzles to bypass hazards, and subsequently progress to the next area as you explore a dark & disturbing world. There is very little in the way of a storyline here (the game description merely says that you are a young boy searching for your lost sister) and it seems that it was purposely left vague to add to the intrigue and mystery. The meaning of the word "Limbo" as we know it, is described as that of a place for lost souls, caught somewhere between heaven & hell. The overall atmosphere created is very well done and gives you a great sense of isolation & creepiness as you venture forth. In that regard, the ambient sound effects are all spot on and help set the mood. There's not much in the way of music, which actually seems to work out well because it might otherwise risk drowning out the sounds of the world that help create the atmosphere. Graphics-wise, LIMBO has a very unique & interesting style (some would say bordering on art) with its monochrome presentation and very dark foreground with somewhat lighter backgrounds for contrast. Despite this, many of the death animations can be quite enjoyably gruesome and there is a good amount of visual detail in the world. For example, you can even see the blades of grass move as you run through them. Some people will likely try to compare this game to Braid, as they both have a side-scrolling platformer component but are puzzle-solving games at their core. I would say, however, that I found Braid to be more difficult with its puzzles based on the manipulation of time, whereas LIMBO's puzzles involve more straightforward physics and are somewhat easier (although no less enjoyable). Still, you can expect some trial and error and many deaths experimenting and discovering how things work because you are never told or shown what to do or explicity explained anything. Like Braid, LIMBO is also somewhat of a short game and there really isn't much in the way of replayability aside from maybe doing a speed run (or low death count run). The Steam achievements add to the longevity a little bit, as do the ten secret eggs hidden throughout the world (which once collected let you access a hidden bonus area with a difficult challenge), but don't expect to get more than 10 hours tops out of this game. In spite of that I would highly recommend LIMBO if you like games that involve though-provoking puzzles, simply because the experience is that fantastic while it lasts. The only negative things I can really say are that there is no volume control (although the level seems to be good), the options are sparse, the controls can't be customized (very simple game though), and gamepad support is limited to only the Xbox360 controller. It would also be nice if the additional options stored in the "settings.txt" file (you can turn on WASD controls there) were added to the menu interface as well. These are all minor issues to be sure though, and don't really impact the enjoyment of the experience itself. Expand
  28. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Simplicity is a concept in gaming that people frown upon and criticize. Limbo ignores that notion and brings something unique and interesting to Indie games. Limbo’s black and white setting will not only exclude any sense of complexity, but will also give the player a rather eerie and dark experience. The gameplay includes straightforward puzzles, yet won’t put your brain to sleep and still presents a fun challenge. The gameplay is rather static and lacks variation, but features something new and exciting before it gets repetitive. The soundtrack may not blow your mind because Limbo prioritizes on ambient sounds rather than its soundtrack. In addition, a sophisticated soundtrack would contradict Limbo’s principle of simplicity and instead disrupt the ambience that enhances the gameplay so much. Gamers of the Indie genre should be nuts for this game, and rightly so. Those who enjoy puzzles and are interested in a very entertaining game shouldn’t hesitate to pick this up. Expand
  29. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best 2D platformer i've played since many years . It's simple , it's creative , it's gorgeous , it's masterpiece.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  30. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    A delightful little platformer, which is now easily accessible to PC users via Steam. LIMBO does a great job of combining challenging 2D platform gameplay with a unique artistic style that sets a very eerie. The result of this blend makes for a game experience that can be frustrating, but one which lets you dive into the strange world that has been created. Game mechanics are smooth, but can be unresponsive at times (i.e. sliding down ramps, jumping to a platform that is just within reach, if timed correctly). These issues do not hinder gameplay, though, so are very minor. The lack of "music" leaves the player to experience the sounds of LIMBO, which, in some cases, are the only clues you have on how to solve certain puzzles. Overall, LIMBO is a great value for $9.99. Those who complain about the "replayability" or length of the game are just crazies who don't understand that you WILL NOT get a 20-40 hour game at this price level from an indie developer. Do yourself a favor and BUY THIS GAME. You will be glad you did. Expand
  31. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    Artistically gorgeous from the beginning from the beginning to the end.
    It's a really nice and deep experience and I liked the storyline. or at least what i managed to understand by my concept.
    Its a bit short but it doesn't really matter, this game is absolute gold and definitely one of the most amazing indie games i played in 2011.
  32. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Quite simply the most astonishing 2D platform game ever made. Perfect atmosphere, controls, atmospheric sounds, surreal game world & all in glorious Black & White/Grey & White but it suits the game mood perfectly. A glorious game which puts gameplay first & drops the player into a beautiful but violent world in search of his sister. For the price on PC its a must buy even if you will only get 3-4 hours out of it on the intitial playthru striving to complete the game with less than 5 deaths to unlock the bonus level will take a lot longer! Expand
  33. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    A full 10. There isn't even a question about this. This game felt like I was playing a work of famous literature. There are challenging puzzles that really give you a sense of accomplishment once you complete them. For this alone, I caution anyone against looking up walkthroughs online. I looked up the solution to one of the first puzzles, and then was disappointed in myself for doing so. I strongly urge you to do your best to solve the puzzles on your own. The animations are wonderful and fluid, the monochromatic aesthetics are appropriately haunting and beautiful. This game is an absolute work of art, and will go down in history as one of the finest games ever made. One last note: To anyone griping about the story, let me remind you that this is an intentionally minimalist game. One would think you'd get that impression just by looking at the lack of color in the world. It is almost without form. It is void. It is, quite dramatically, Limbo. Consider the very nature of what the word means when you reach the ending, Expand
  34. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Really beautiful indie game, even gruesome. Great use of physics in the puzzles. The only thing that bothered me a little bit was that a couple of the puzzles, in my opinion, were not fair to the player (i.e. it was not clear how the environment worked). A very, very good value if you can find it on sale, but not worth full price; there's just not enough content to justify $9.99.
  35. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    A very beautiful game, dark and poetic, simple et fun. It remembers me Trine, with puzzles using physics and the 2D style. There are not many levels but they are stressing and various. It's a very little game, but very nice.
  36. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    Maybe it's because I'm a big brother, but I absolutely loved this game. The dark and fantastic art style fits perfectly with the simple story of a brother on a quest to find his sister, no matter what stands in his way.

    As other reviews have stated, the game isn't terribly long; it took me a little over 3 hours to play through. At first the price seemed steep for so little content; after
    playing through it I have completely changed my mind. The simple story, brilliant graphics and unique gameplay all came together to create something that transcends video games to become art.

    Although I would categorize this as a puzzle game, it doesn't match up to traditional puzzle gameplay. Progress in this game is based around trial and error and the frequent deaths that result. Although this sounds terrible, the frequent save points for the most part prevent it from being bothersome. In fact, the experimental style adds more depth to the game as it so closely matches the approach a small boy on an adventure would take.
    Expand
  37. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Very good quest look like "Another World". But I like "Limbo" more - it puzzles hard but genuine logic, interesting and intriguing atmosphere, simple controls
  38. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    I hope Edward Gorey's spirit is looking down (or up) and smiling at LIMBO because it reminds me of something he would concoct to run annoying children through. Tons of nihilistic style and enjoyably difficult, this 2D platformer demonstrates how much dark fun you can have with simple yet well thought out game play. Expect to die... a LOT. Exploration can be cruel and frustrating, the death's are disturbing, yet the game's rewarding. If I have one complaint it's that I wish LIMBO was much longer, but this bleak dystopia is well worth the tiny price. Expand
  39. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    The best 2d game i have had the pleasure of playing! The scenery, the colors, the sounds, the ambiance, the immersion. I loved it in this game. Plus the violent deaths were pretty funny and appealing in a odd way. I would give this game a 10, but a few of the puzzles were overly difficult in my opinion. Though I am sure many would love that type of challenge. I also wish the game was longer though and i hope for a sequel; or even a game similar to LIMBO. So far i have not been able to get my hands on on something quit like this. That's how unique and fun this game really was! Expand
  40. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    The visual style and animation is amazing, but the game itself got very repetitive towards the end. Overall I liked it, but the last (secret level) I just played to have the achievement :)
  41. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Simply... amazing. I was thrilled throughout the whole game!
    The atmosphere is mystical, dark and scary, which fits perfect with the puzzles.
    The only downside is the game's length.. but i'm more than pleasantly surprise with this game. I've never played anything similar
    The feeling of controlling the boy around just can't be compared to anything else.
    It's new-thinking,
    beautiful, exciting and gives you the chills! This game is perfect Expand
  42. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    I created a metacritic account just because I feel this game deserves as much praise as it can get. Original, good atmosphere, played it through straight to the end. Short, but sweet :) We need more original thought like this in games. Proof that you don't need to set your video card on fire to get some good entertainment :)
  43. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    It's really interesting.It is simple but very enjoyable.I think it should have been longer.There are quite differents from other puzzle games.You don't use just machines,you can also use nature to solve puzlles.And graphics are worth to see,character is small and sweet.It's one of the best puzzle games I've ever played.
  44. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Un gran juego, en cada momento de este sientes lo cerca que estas de morir de una forma brutal. Tanto que quieres arriesgarte para ver la forma de morir. Corta duracion es la unica queja. Un ejemplo de un juego sencillo, y con gran variedad de puzzles.
  45. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    An excellent 2D puzzle and platformer, wrapped in an intriguing horror game. The graphics really set an atmosphere, the puzzles never get too frustrating, the controls are very responsive, and it only uses one sentence for a story. No dialog, no text(Except for a big sign saying HOTEL), nothing except environment sounds and a static noise. The only reason why this does not get a 10 is because of its extremely short gameplay(2-5 hours).. Expand
  46. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Great atmosphere, reminds me of Another World. My biggest criticism is that I just finished the game and only then when I noticed a headline in the Steam News area for the game, did I realise that you can edit Settings.txt to adjust resolution and use W A S D instead of the arrow keys. Perfect game, all it needs is a decent settings menu.
  47. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Put simply, Limbo is a magnum-opus of game design. It demonstrates the viability of the digital platform and adds further substance to the hackneyed argument of videogames as art. Light yet brainy puzzle platform gameplay is applied to a canvas of delightful physics and wrapped in unwavering and meticulous attention to detail. The environment and backdrops are fluid and smoothly integrated, affected by the physics system which itself is consistently drawn upon for what are perhaps some of the most incredibly clever puzzles in a video game. Your intuition is not merely put to the test, but violated, and it is this continual cleverness, combined with amazing polish, that allow Limbo to rise above as part of the cream of indie development. From start to finish, you are involved and intrigued, but never frustrated by the ample number of deaths, or overly horrified by the atmosphere, inhabitants or puzzles. Perhaps Limbo's only downfall are the controls, which on the PC are onerous at times, and non-customizeable. Periodically, Limbo's brilliant manipulations extend to your keyboard, both a blessing and a curse, but not at all detrimental to the overall experience. In the end, you will want to forgive Limbo for its shortcomings, and I suggest you do- this is a classic. Expand
  48. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    This game is a **** of game industry!! Personally i watched a walkthrough on youtube first i was really sucked in like it was a movie Then tried it my self, certainly like others said the puzzles are getting harder and harder but what a pleasure for like $10.. A MUST TRY if it reminds you of your childhood! A MUST HAVE if you're an EMO :P jokes
  49. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    There have been 3 games released this year which I played to completion whereas I have started many many more. The 3 games this year have all dragged me in and I have thought of pretty much nothing else while playing them. I would go to work and my mind would be on them and not what i was doing. I would be trying to sleep and I would be thinking about what i had been doing in the game and what could be next. The games were Portal 2, Limbo and From Dust. All puzzle games but all totally different and equally amazing.

    With Limbo it starts you off nice and gently but like all good games the further you get in the harder it gets. Some puzzles you could work out as you see them on the screen but some too ages for me to figure out. When you get to a bit you get stuck at limbo does end up like a slow motion Super Meat Boy, but that's OK. There is not much of anything to the game, not much of a story (boy enters limbo to save his sister), not much music, just atmospheric noises, not much graphics (grey-scale all the way through). not much in the way of controls and not much in the way of instruction... but Limbo needs none of this to drag you in and absorb you. The developers got this all just right.

    Reading the couple of bad reviews one of the things I noticed was someone complaining that there is no replayability for him. What I would have to say to anyone worrying about that is the game cost £6.99 and I played it to completion. I have a stack of games i paid £30 each for that are sat there installed, played for an hour and I have no desire to go back to. Limbo is great value for money when you look at it like that. I played this to completion over a few days and wanted to play nothing else while doing so.

    I would give this a 9.5 out of 10, but Metacritic limits us to whole numbers so I went for 10. The reason I would give 9.5 and not 10 would be for how short the game is, sure, it's great value for money - but I want more! If Limbo 2 came out today then I would buy it in a flash. The other reason it doesnt get 10 is the ending of the game.
    Expand
  50. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    I loved everything about this game. I cant believe some of the bad reviews on here, they either belong to a lame gamer, or to a retard!!!. The game is awesome. I SWEAR ITS A GREAT GAME. IT IS A MUST TO HAVE lol.
  51. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    An absolutley thrilling game.. The the monochrome graphics & physics are very clean. The controls are simple yet fun. Good job! sometimes simple is just better. I gave it a 9 because I was unable to upgrade the demo to a licensed version, a slight graphics handling error, but had no effect since the full version is available.
  52. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Great platformer with great visual style and gameplay, which makes love itself from the very first minutes of play. And that's great!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =)
  53. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I think it's better if I start with the downsides. This game is relatively expensive and way too short for 10 Euros. But I just couldn't wait till it's price goes down. I did not regret this purchase. First of all it has a really strong atmosphere which sucks one in immediately. This game is a good example of art meeting a mainstream medium. I really liked the creatures, enemies and the numerous unique gameplay elements. It's certainly more than a puzzle platformer. The challenges aren't frustrating, because you don't have to repeat long sections of the game to get to the actual obstacle. The puzzles are not too hard, but there are some more complicated ones, which require some brain capacity. The presentation is plain perfect. The minimal graphic design, the creepy soundtrack, the physics and the gameplay are all polished to perfection. I can only recommend this game. Expand
  54. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    Limbo offer a great puzzle game with good idea and interesting graphics. The game is not to easy and some puzzles will take some time to do. Most of the time doing a mistake result in you dying and start over from the last checkpoint. But I never felt that as a problem. Limbo is not a very long game, depending on how much time you spent on the puzzles(around 3-4 hours). You may squish some extra hours trying to get all achievements. Music is semi-present in the game but it does an awesome job setting up the mood. If you are a fan of puzzle games, I say try it out, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  55. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Spooky, scary, fun, worth much more than the price tag. This game is very fun and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Afterward playing make sure you remember that real life is 3_D
  56. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Limbo is one of those games that you finish quickly, but will stay with you for a long time. This game is the reason why I started to love indie games so much. The style, the atmosphere, the experience; it's something you don't come across very often.
  57. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Quietly brilliant. It's a art masterpiece and a game designer school for those who like it. It's a perfect mix of puzzle, adventure and emotional gamming, with clever (but not impossible) challenges. Highly recommend this for people who like adventure, puzzling, emotional games and stuffs like that. It's very beautiful too.
  58. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Definitely not a feel-good game but nevertheless a visual and audio design masterpiece. It has some minor gameplay faults but the experience is driving, touching and draws you in. Play in a darkened room with headphones.
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Great atmosphere, reminds me of Another World. My biggest criticism is that I just finished the game and only then when I noticed a headline in the Steam News area for the game, did I realise that you can edit Settings.txt to adjust resolution and use W A S D instead of the arrow keys. Perfect game, all it needs is a decent settings menu.
  60. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    There is nothing that could possible make this game any better, other than a cheaper price 15$ seemed like a bit to much but the game play WOW really gives meaning to the name limbo. The puzzles were really complex yet simple because they gave you all the pieces beforehand, introducing every new game element then giving it more depth, and combining with other elements. The game is designed flawlessly, I prefer quality over quantity compared to some other people but that's my opinion. Expand
  61. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    It is the strangest game I saw visually. Really get an amazing and impressive artistic effect using black and white, with a very striking effect of fog. The sound section is impressive and very well managed, a quiet (No music). With a bit of gore (The strange deaths of the protagonist), a really weird story and a tremendously dynamic and original puzzles is achieved by creating LIMBO, a gem of indie games today. The only drawbacks are the length and replayability (The only replay value you can get to take advantage is to get all the Easter eggs, which are achievements for getting everyone, there is more than that). Expand
  62. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Limbo is a puzzle side-scroll game that's great. The gist is that you walk down a linear path solving puzzle along the way. The controls are as simple as you can get. Use the arrow keys to walk and jump; control key to 'use' switches, crates, and other things. Most puzzles are satisfying and appropriate difficulty. The nice thing is that the puzzles vary throughout the game, keeping your interest. The art-style is worth mentioning. The game is presented in a black and white style. With it's ambient music, it adds to the whole feel of the game. It took me about 3 hours to run through the game once with no knowledge of any of the puzzles. Several steam achievements like finding hidden spots or beating the game with few deaths add to this time, but no more then 2 hours or so. Overall for $10, 5 hours of great gameplay is definitely worth it. This is a must buy. Expand
  63. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    This game is great. Fantastic atmosphere, great puzzles. While it does become a little repetitive by the end, still a fantastic game. Highly recommended.
  64. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Creepy, Fun, Challenging. This game has some of the best atmosphere ever, but this is not a kids game as it has gore and plenty of ways that you die. Overall I liked this game
  65. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Wow this game is brilliant. Who needs fancy 3D graphics? The game is simple, and the sounds with the darkness are definitely the games strong points!

    The puzzles are not to easy, yet you are also not going to solve it in a matter of seconds. It really makes you think, yet with so little controls you automatically know what to do.

    I was playing, and got to a certain point and was
    properly scared when you meet certain spiders - I don't usually get scared at games, but something just worked.

    I brought this game in the steam sale for £1.70, but after playing it - I'd of gladly paid the full price as well!
    Expand
  66. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    Lets look at it for what it is.... 2d platform game that is very cheap. I went into this game with low expectations and I must say, It blew me away. One of the best platform games I have played in a very long time. There was everything there while plying it, Tension, excitement, frustration, sense of accomplishment. I would be jumping out of my seat in fear 1 min to looking at a puzzle I have no idea how to solve the next. The only way to describe it is perfectly simple and yet an engaging immersive scare game. The only let down for me was the length of the game and the fact that it isn't a very long game (ofc depending on how long it takes to solve the puzzles) I would definitely recommend this if you are a fan of a nice horror/puzzle game that will keep you entertained and on your feet for the duration of the game. Expand
  67. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game that pleases immensely through its amazing art direction, eerie background music and imaginative (and sometimes dark) puzzles. A common criticism of this game is its length, one which I can't agree with. From beginning to end it's a brilliant game that hasn't filled itself with anything boring, mundane or less than amazing for the purpose of making itself longer. Good value should be determined by quality, in which case, Limbo is worth every penny. Expand
  68. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    This game does exactly what games are supposed to do, capture your imagination and play with it. The game does get a little drier by the end by it also finishes with an interesting proposal. and the music gives the game a symbiotic experience.
  69. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Limbo captures you from the very start with it's entrancing atmosphere and ambient sound and I enjoyed the game thoroughly from start to finish. Puzzles were designed very well as they increase in complexity as you progress but never feel impossibly hard or frustrating. You could also say Limbo is very fluid as the lack of loading screens sustains immersion. Many have complained that the game is too short, though I personally find the game's length ideal (2-6hours). The game would begin to lose it's touch and level of entertainment if it went on for any longer. Expand
  70. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This game is beyond clever. It shows how a well designed game only needs simple controls in this case 5 keys total. You don't need 100 items, 25 levels of development, and 50 different skills you have to acquire by inane hours of killing other players or game creatures. This game kept me interested, I never felt bored the way I do with these Massive multiple player RP games.
  71. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Los mejores juegos no son los más complicados, sino aquellos que tienen una cantidad enorme de simplezas y las trabajan en su máxima expresión.

    No se cómo será el limbo, pero este juego te muestra algo muy posible.

    ¡Querer un juego que te haga pensar, que te aterre y llene de misterios juega LIMBO!
    Expand
  72. May 30, 2012
    10
    t3g3g6g544444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444
  73. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    I've read reviews about the price. Yes, the value/price rate wasn't ok, when this game freshly came out, but I bought it for about 3 Euros? For me, it's ridiculously low and it was a "bargain"!
    And... I never compain about any price, if the game or anything else entertains me....
    The game is beautifully designed. I remember the old games from the old days of 2x86 PCs... 4-5 buttons
    altogether and no need more!!!!!
    The graphics are brilliant, the sounds are really cool.
    Every minute, you will be trapped in the game and die... sometimes it can be frustrating, but how this small kid dies, really worth trying it :D
    There were few puzzles, which I could solve only by checking a walkthrough. Except those frustrations, every minute of the game worths the price and huge thumbs up for the developers. Outstanding work!
    Expand
  74. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    Limbo is a side-scrolling puzzle game. It is not long. It has no color; in fact, it's not even in black-and-white...it's just black. It has no character development. It has the barest of stories (a boy is separated from his sister and has to find her...the end). And when it was over, I wasn't even sure quite what had happened. But here are the things Limbo definitely is: Concise. (I finished in about five hours.) Efficient. (Every puzzle is completely fresh; no repetition at all.) Creepy. (It got my heart racing more than Far Cry and my nerves tingling more than Amnesia: The Dark Descent.) And finally, even though I didn't know what to make of the ending, I spent the next 48 hours thinking about it. If the developers of Limbo were going for the sense of dread, isolation, and bewilderment I've felt only in my darkest dreams, they nailed it. One point off for length: 9/10 Expand
  75. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Limbo is one of the best puzzle games released set in a dark and challenging world you will have to solve many thought provoking puzzles which will keep you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. Highly recommend
  76. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. LIMBO is a beautiful, fun, but short game. It goes right in every aspect but length, having only 3-4 hours of game play, and storyline. You are a little boy who wakes up in a world full of danger and you are trying to find your sister whom we never refer to until the end of the game. However, this is a simple yet challenging puzzle game that can work fine on almost any computer. The main part in LIMBO other than the puzzles and such are the graphics. They are AMAZING. There is so much focus on detail that you really feel like you are stuck in a world full of perilous traps and giant spiders! To rap it up, it's a genius game, but too short. It's almost as if PLAYDEAD ran out of time at the end of the game. So they had to rap it up right there with a little slow-mo glass break, finding your sister then the credits rolling. Expand
  77. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    I was really happy this came to the PC! At first I didn't like it because I died all the time. Then I understood that was part of the game. Like old point and click games where you make many wrong clicks when you're figuring out what to do. They built that into the game which was really cool. It felt like I was supposed to die over and over, and all deaths very really gruelsome. This together with the story and setting made me feel a little sad and down... That wasn't my favorite experience but thinking back on it now that makes it even more different and noteworthy. This is a 10 for me. Expand
  78. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game really was fun for another indie game and can be scary and i like the 2d physics system. it's like a gothic verion of mario bros. great game. this game was also very nurve racking.
  79. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    A relatively quick, beautiful, dreary experience. Succeeds a creating a deeply depressed mood, and retains a feeling of mystery throughout. Commercial pricetag is a bit steep for the amount of playtime.
  80. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    You feel in the Limbo. The dark scenery make you feel alone and depressed. And the end of the game make you have a doubt of the history. The sound combines with the atmosphere of the game.
  81. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    limbo is an atmospheric beautiful puzzle game from the very first moments of the game you'll love it you'll encounter tons of puzzles that are really challenging although it is a bit short but once you finish it you'll find yourself going back to it and with new experience simply a great amazing puzzle game
  82. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Game of the century :)
    If you are a gamer,you will know this game
    and you must have played
    its the definition of gaming
    replayability:100 times and you wont get bored
  83. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Run, jump and die (a lot). I really enjoyed this game despite the lack of text, dialogue, or any real story line. In fact, these features are what make the game stand out. It's a relatively short game, but it kept me entertained.
  84. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    A strikingly beautiful game. This game is a rarity, providing an overall calming experience that never strays too far from uneasiness. It is aesthetically divine, providing and maintaining a wonderful sense of atmosphere throughout. There is simply nothing wrong with this game. It's wonderful.
  85. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I had great fun with Limbo, the game's art style and audio does an awesome job of setting a palpable atmosphere. The Puzzles are fun and well thought and I just love the pace and theme behind the game. My only complaint would be that i want more, i guess that's the holy grail to keep them wanting more.

    This is a benchmark on how to make a quality indie platform game.
  86. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    The game stylistics strike first of all the black-and-white world
    My opinion: game is fine.
    This atmosphere, faultless animation of movements of the boy, and same fine any his death, whether it be: when his body breaks off from large-caliber bullets or from these huge saws, you shouldn't forget also about death from electricity, a spider, traps, crush by a press, falling from height and
    many other things...
    Struck kachetstvenny sounds.
    It should be noted very beautiful backgrounds of locations also: woods, plants, dead cities.
    One more moment, game plot the very transparent is unclear that, where, when, as well as why. It is very difficult to understand the beginning and the end, leaving players opportunity to guess long time that occurred while at the end of the game the boy broke that glass and found the sister.
    Small bonus: at game there is a 3D mode which can be included having pressed Shift 3 D.
    To a 2D mode it is passed by buttons
    Shift 2 D.
    Expand
  87. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    A gem. How anyone could dislike this very fun, original game is beyond me. So many others try and fail to do what "Limbo" accomplishes with relative ease.
  88. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    LIMBO is the perfect example of how a game can be deep, inspiring and incredibly beautiful with simple gameplay, graphics, sounds and controls.
    A masterpiece.
  89. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Limbo is truly a return to the platformer. While short, I found it has a lot of replayability. I've gone through it a number of times, now, and it's still a masterpiece every time I play it. It has a real challenge missing from most games these days, and the gameplay is simplicity at its finest. It's not skimping on the sensory experience, either. Both the sound and visuals are stellar to say the least.

    If you like it, you won't complain about how it's, "too short." You will play it again and again. Playtime does not = time from beginning to end. It's = to how many hours you sit in front of it. Did you only play through Mario Bros once?
    Expand
  90. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    LIMBO is a beautiful puzzle game. Simple to grasp, easy to play and doesn't bog the player down in needless story. Quite a few of the puzzles were extremely easy, but there's enough to keep you interested. Highly recommended, especially at the price.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    Limbo is a beautiful, intense experience.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A brilliant indie platformer. Braid can finally retire. [October 2011, p.100]
  3. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Minimum effort, maximum tension!