Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1071 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LIMBO, a black and white puzzle-platforming adventure, puts players in the role of a young boy traveling through an eerie and treacherous world in an attempt to discover the fate of his sister.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    98
    LIMBO is a wonderfully dark experience with its only real flaw being its stunted length.
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    92
    A beautifully designed masterpiece of a platform game, that will chill, challenge and charm in equal measure. [Oct 2011, p.78]
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    An incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection. The journey may be over too quickly, but you will be entertained every minute. This is one of my favorite games.
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    For anyone who isn't immediately enchanted by its look and style, even ten bucks might be a bit of a stretch, but I still find it exceedingly difficult not to wholeheartedly recommend LIMBO to fans of indie games.
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A brilliant indie platformer. Braid can finally retire. [October 2011, p.100]
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    85
    One of the best physics puzzle games out there. A clever game and one devoid of pretension. [Oct 2011, p.104]
  7. Aug 3, 2011
    79
    Limbo will stay with me for a long time. It's art style and sound design are strong enough to have left a mark. I can guarantee, though, that I will not replay the game. There is nothing to draw me back.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 224
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Simple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakes often means death and restart, that's a good thing, to avoid them into become annoying. Checkpoints are well and often placed. It somehow reminded me of "Out Of This World" wich is a game I loved. Game sound is also amazing, focused on details and ambience with no music, making it's dark mood even more creepy. The weakest point is the game lenght... quite short... they could've made the game a little bigger, with harder puzzles near the end, but for 10 bucks it's more than worth it. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Limbo is a puzzle side-scroll game that's great. The gist is that you walk down a linear path solving puzzle along the way. The controls are as simple as you can get. Use the arrow keys to walk and jump; control key to 'use' switches, crates, and other things. Most puzzles are satisfying and appropriate difficulty. The nice thing is that the puzzles vary throughout the game, keeping your interest. The art-style is worth mentioning. The game is presented in a black and white style. With it's ambient music, it adds to the whole feel of the game. It took me about 3 hours to run through the game once with no knowledge of any of the puzzles. Several steam achievements like finding hidden spots or beating the game with few deaths add to this time, but no more then 2 hours or so. Overall for $10, 5 hours of great gameplay is definitely worth it. This is a must buy. Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    LIMBO's design is an example of gaming as an art form. Short and sweet, doesn't overstay its welcome. Puzzles are challenging and fun, not illogical and frustrating (I'm looking at you, Braid). Worth every penny of the $5 I paid for it during the Steam Holiday Sale. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    Lovely game - very pretty and quite original. The puzzles are hard enough to challenge you, but not so hard that you have to Google the solution.

    It's short (completed in a few hours) and limited replay, but definately worth playing...
    Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    Limbo is a beautiful, simple platformer in the way Another World/Out of this world was. Artistic graphics and sound with simple controls (just arrows and 1 key) will bring some interesting puzzles for you. Yes, it is a bit short, but not like Another World, and I would change1 movie (2 hours) for this any time. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2012
    7
    The gameplay is competent and tight and the aesthetics are brilliantly executed but I still can't shake the feeling that it represents the confusion on someone's part of fatalism with art. Go ahead and ignore me though, I felt pretty much the exact same way about Watchmen (the comic). Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    The only reason I'm rating this a 'zero' instead of a 'three' is because the overall score is far too high. I purchased this game for its unique art style and because I wanted a good puzzle game that made me think. However, I am not a fan of dying every five-to-thirty seconds in order to figure out the next puzzle. It turns what, in my view, should be an interesting puzzle game into a 1990s NES platformer. Seriously, the last time I died this often was when I played Ninja Turtles 1. This game is far from what I'd call an "indie masterpiece". It's cheap, it's gimmicky, it's a waste of money. Expand

See all 224 User Reviews