Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    90
    It's one of the freshest, boldest and most rewarding entrants in a genre many had left for dead, and anyone pining for a true Silent Hill experience needs to experience what Byrne has to offer. Lone Survivor deserves to be massive, because it might just be the most interesting thing I've played all year.
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    90
    Lone Survivor, then, made me feel a lot of things. Frustration, rage, stress, exhaustion, fear, joy, hope, pride, sadness, wonder. Four hours and twenty-six minutes – plus some trial-and-error-based change. But this game's going to stick with me much, much longer than that, and there are few higher forms of praise I can offer.
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    90
    If games are still in their infancy, after playing Lone Survivor we bet they'll have a bright future in their adulthood.
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    90
    Lone Survivor is easily among the best survival horror games that I've ever played, a feat that's truly remarkable when one considers the 2D perspective and visual limitations.
  5. May 8, 2012
    89
    The game's best narrative trick - again borrowed from Silent Hill - is its mystery, leaving itself open to interpretation and examination. Who was the Man Who Wears A Box? The Seated Figure? The White-faced Man? Who was the brown-haired girl I held hands with in my dreams? The answers aren't overtly clear, but I can't wait to play again to find out.
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    88
    Lone Survivor has a great atmosphere that keeps getting more oppressive as the game goes on. At times there is too much running back and forth, but other than that it's a pure horror masterpiece. Just don't play it on a large monitor or the pixels will hurt your eyes. [Aug 2012]
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    87
    Lone Survivor bears doubtless resemblance to that classic survivor horror franchise, Silent Hill. After all, Lone Survivor has creepy monsters, a mostly-empty city, a basement you don't want to be in but must be, fleshy red membranes, and a psychological bent. I like to think of Lone Survivor not as a tawdry imitator, but as an intelligent and surreal homage to a once-powerful series, and even perhaps a comment on the genre itself.
  8. May 29, 2012
    85
    A deep game, with an excellent audio and a story to tell: Lone Survivor is a great game, an experience to remember for long.
  9. May 3, 2012
    85
    A gripping narrative and an irresistible atmosphere of spine-tingling dread make Lone Survivor a compelling horror experience.
  10. Apr 20, 2012
    85
    Embrace it on its own terms, and you'll find a game that comes the closest a survival horror game has come to replicating the experience of the first Silent Hill game in recent years; indeed, in some ways, it's even better.
  11. Apr 13, 2012
    85
    Byrne's fight for survival is a unique horror trip into the psyche of humans.
  12. May 3, 2012
    82
    Lone Survivor is one of the most disturbing survival horror games available now. An unembellished horror experience.
  13. May 28, 2012
    81
    A chilling and fascinating indie psychological horror. [July 2012, p.84]
  14. Aug 31, 2012
    80
    2D, pixilated graphics are not the best thing to happen in a 2012 game ("oh, how the years have gone by, etc"), but those of you who judge solely a game from the graphics and reject it, think again: it may look simple and outdated but through its simplicity, Lone Survivor is extremely profound, content-wise (definitely more profound and "horror" than other failed horror blockbusters that we have witnessed the last years). [July 2012]
  15. Jun 19, 2012
    80
    Regardless of its 2D adaptation, Lone Survivor takes pride in its incredible gaming freedom. Not only it contains many original game elements and courses of action, it contains a thrilling story as well. Moreover, several game endings guarantees a strong motivation you replay the game again and again.
  16. 80
    Blood-splattered pixels induce fear and anxiety even in the toughest of gamers – Lone Survivor is as appealing as the original Silent Hill was: a true stylish survival horror. [June 2012]
  17. Jun 6, 2012
    80
    An indie psychological horror that's scarier than many 'Triple A' games. [July 2012, p.86]
  18. Apr 25, 2012
    80
    It's true that Lone Survivor owes a lot to the atmosphere of early Silent Hill, and there are a few thematic nods to David Lynch's '90s weirdo drama, Twin Peaks. But beneath them lies an intricate and unique game that takes the best of old-style survival horror and warps it into something all of its own. It's brave, uncompromising, and a little bit knowing - and, crucially, it's got more than enough substance to back up its style.
  19. Apr 14, 2012
    80
    Lone Survivor is one of the weirdest, most disturbing survival horror games available now. From start to finish, it takes you on a fuzzy trip in the world of the 'lone survivor'. Despite its two-dimensional appearance it's a very atmospheric and frightening game that constantly makes you think. It does this in a unique way by challenging you on a psychological level.
  20. Apr 19, 2012
    79
    A smart, unembellished survival horror adventure which rewards patience and inspires introspection.
  21. May 30, 2012
    70
    A surprisingly rich survival horror game that doesn't try to frighten you so much as leave you feeling slightly uneasy. [June 2012, p.65]
  22. May 3, 2012
    70
    At the end of the day, Superflat Games have triumphed in creating an original title that both plays and looks as you expect. The way the story progresses is interesting, and there's enough gravity to player choices that it's worth a second play-through. If you've been longing for a survival horror experience that reminds you of the genre's glory days, you can't do any better for a budget price of $9.99. That is, if you're confident survival horror is just as immersive and fun to play as you remember it…
  23. Apr 24, 2012
    70
    Its clumsiness of presentation and lack of explanation might be partly excused as aesthetic choices that enrich even as they frustrate. But perhaps its truest accolade is in returning the horror of survival itself to the survival horror genre.
  24. Apr 20, 2012
    70
    All that aside, Lone Survivor is solid. It delivers in all the areas a horror game should. You'll feel fear, loneliness, desperation and those of you who aren't familiar with the Silent Hill formula will also be intrigued by the narrative.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 10 out of 38
  1. dak
    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Thrilling, scary, stylish a atmospheric adventure with sounds and music that sit as a bespoke suit. The game provides you with feelings and immersion that commercial survival horrors are after. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    1
    Probably the worst game i've received in a HIB. Horrible graphcis, horrible level design, horrible gameplay. Constant messages proclaiming that your character is hungry or tired. The story makes no sense, the flow of the game doesn't make sense either. It gets a 1 because you can atleast start the game up and play it without any problems. It gets -9 for being a complete piece of trash. Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    4
    I bought it because I wanted to enjoy a suvival horror story, not a time management and character management simulator.

    I give it a 4
    because it has atmosphere and some nice ideas. As others have written, I was also bored by the constant messages of being hungry and sleepy. I could not go back to the game and finish it.


    The graphics are TOO low res, you need to shrink the aspect ratio with "q" or sit far away from your monitor to actually enjoy it.
    Full Review »