Lords of the Fallen PC

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 569 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. op8
    Oct 28, 2014
    7
    With regards to the shills and there reviews. Guys I know you are just doing your jobs, but dont make it too obvious. At least have some other games you have reviewed on your account besides Enemy Front (another CI developed game). I'm looking at you "sniper1337" and "atmosf3ear".
    Personally speaking I think this game does exactly as advertised and is what I expected. Solid 7/10
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    A great looking action RPG with a distinct next-gen feel. If you ever wanted the satisfying combat of the Souls series, this is it. Even without finishing the NG+ a second time, I got solid 30 hours from it so definitely worth giving it a shot.
  3. Oct 28, 2014
    8
    Great. There's alot of butthurt Dark souls fan who wants to write this off as a rip off which is lousier/cheaper/whatever but after playing dark souls 1 and 2..I gotta say, This is better.
    I think maybe in the first place, I was never really into Dark souls kind of game and style, and most fans of the series pride themselves in being the 'Hardcore' gang.
    This has better graphics,
    Great. There's alot of butthurt Dark souls fan who wants to write this off as a rip off which is lousier/cheaper/whatever but after playing dark souls 1 and 2..I gotta say, This is better.
    I think maybe in the first place, I was never really into Dark souls kind of game and style, and most fans of the series pride themselves in being the 'Hardcore' gang.

    This has better graphics, better controls, yes its more 'arcadey' but definitely feels more fun than the sluggish combat style I find in dark souls. Maybe im the beat'em up crowd or maybe Im the guy who prefers 'easier' fun , but yeah definitely give this game a try.

    In Retrospect, DArk souls universe and game seems very old school, very ancient, with poor UI and systems (although the stats and details involved is staggering) whereas this feels more updated, modern, polished and designed to attract the MASS MARKET....

    There's definitely room for more, and different crowds!
    Lords of the Fallen 2, bring it on!
    Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Finally an excellent game from CI GAMES. Beautiful graphics, excellent game mechanics, awsome combat system, amazing leveling of main character. As true gamer - you can't miss this title.
  5. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    now this is a game that keeps me busy for sometime, and it's gloriously amazing! I'm a dark souls type of gamer and I like a lot of RPGs. this one has surpassed my expectations! Well done City Interactive!
  6. Oct 28, 2014
    3
    Game is not even close to Dark Souls as people claim it to be. The only thing they did is take a basic action game with horrible combat and then run the slider for enemy damage up so that people would make the comparison to the DS series. The story is laughable, characters are incredibly basic, and combat consists of rolling all over hoping you don't get hit for 75% of your health barGame is not even close to Dark Souls as people claim it to be. The only thing they did is take a basic action game with horrible combat and then run the slider for enemy damage up so that people would make the comparison to the DS series. The story is laughable, characters are incredibly basic, and combat consists of rolling all over hoping you don't get hit for 75% of your health bar when you occasionally get 1 attack in. Would totally be possible on last-gen consoles, is nothing ground-breaking at all. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best game I've ever played. CI Games did nice job. If you have player Dark Souls and you liked it, this is way better. If you didn't like Dark Souls, then try this LOTF, you will not regret it.
  8. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Excellent Dark Souls-esque aRPG that expands upon the basic Souls gameplay in pretty much every aspect, and does it well. Fighting rewards correctly timed attacks instead of R1 mashing, the bloodstain mechanic evolved past a simple pick-up to a choice between safety and boosting your combat ability when near it, armor finally has a noticeable impact. Enemies attack accordingly to theirExcellent Dark Souls-esque aRPG that expands upon the basic Souls gameplay in pretty much every aspect, and does it well. Fighting rewards correctly timed attacks instead of R1 mashing, the bloodstain mechanic evolved past a simple pick-up to a choice between safety and boosting your combat ability when near it, armor finally has a noticeable impact. Enemies attack accordingly to their gear - you won't see a knife-wielder wind up as if he's carrying a massive club.

    One word of caution though, magic is, just like in DaS, the key to easy mode. Use it sparingly or better yet, avoid.
    Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Perfect game. It's way better than DS. More satisfying combat and superb graphics. Huge bosses, epic fights, I really enjoyed it. Highly recommended! 10/10
  10. Oct 28, 2014
    0
    Cheap Dark Souls rip off, with almost no story or interesting world to explore. Just ok graphics and generally the game lacks character. Invest your money better in the real deal, Dark Souls 1/2 & Dlcs
  11. Nov 5, 2014
    6
    At release, the state of this game was one big disaster. Terrible optimization, crashes, lagging on hi-end systems, even your options settings didn't save properly. Messing with non-functional options, trying to enjoy the broken game, the whole thing was a pretty painful experience and I have to reflect that in my score. Devs must learn that it's unacceptable to release unfinished brokenAt release, the state of this game was one big disaster. Terrible optimization, crashes, lagging on hi-end systems, even your options settings didn't save properly. Messing with non-functional options, trying to enjoy the broken game, the whole thing was a pretty painful experience and I have to reflect that in my score. Devs must learn that it's unacceptable to release unfinished broken games, just test it properly and when your game is ready and bug-free, then release it and everybody will be happy, your game will get higher scores and the reputation of your company will not suffer. However, I'm glad I didn't throw this game in a trash bin in anger, waited for a few patches and just a few days later most problems have been fixed, game runs more smoothly, options work and I was finally able to finish the game without any unwanted frustration. Was it such a problem to fix it before the release and save the nerves of many of your customers? Hopefully, next time...

    Now to the actual game. Lords of the Fallen is basically a Souls wannabe clone. It doesn't even try to hide it, some of the references are there, the controls and game mechanics are mostly copy/paste. For me, as a huge Souls fan that's a good thing, it felt like coming right home, yes, the weaker and lesser home, but home nonetheless. If there is a fantastic type of game, I don't see a problem in copying it and creating more adventures in the similar vein. But how is LotF different and how does it stand on it's own feet?

    First of all, I was disappointed by the complete lack of character customization. You don't create it, whatever magic or equipment class you choose, you will still play as Harkyn, highly unsympathetic ugly muscular thug. That's a big problem, because very few people will be able to immerse in this character. I played as a cleric, so at least right from the start I had a mask on so I didn't have to look at his ugly face, but for some reason for every cut-scene his mask/helm always magically disappears so you must suffer his terrible dialog in all it's glory. Another problem is that classes are way too similar, you can use all the equipment regardless, the magic feels very similar and is overall quite lackluster, but take it that this game is built around the melee combat and classes are just a slight variations and magic is just a support.

    Combat is the alpha & omega of this game and what you will be doing 99% of the time, so how is it? Happy to say it's pretty solid. It feels a bit heavy and clunky at first, but once you get used to it, it's good. The challenge factor is decent. I loved the XP multiplier mechanic, the longer you go without saving and replenishing you potions, the more XP you will get for killing enemies, simple but very effective. Some of the enemies are heavily shielded, so it requires some tactics to take them down and battles with bosses are quite epic. True, most bosses fell down on my first try, but at least they have usually lots of HP, so some of the battles took like 10 minutes and were quite intense. By far the the best boss fight for me was with The Worshiper, who killed me many times, had interesting mechanics that you have to learn to beat him and when I think about it, this fight in the graveyard was probably the highlight of the entire game for me.

    It's a pity that there are not more of such highlights, there is not more variation and the overall game is quite short. The world is a nice snowy kingdom and it looks like a good start for an interesting fantasy adventure, but that's actually all there is, it's a very small game world in scope. Don't get your hopes up, you will not be visiting any other locations (except realm of lords). I finished the game in 1 day and that is definitely not a very impressive game length.

    The story is kinda there, never liked the main character, nor the characters you meet, so you just play along, focusing on solid gameplay, however I liked finding and listening to the audio logs, but I never started to care too much. The soundtrack wasn't bad, some tracks with choirs and female vocals were pretty nice. I liked the armor sets, really cool looking robes for my cleric and some of the weapons were also pretty badass. I'm not the biggest fan of this over the top art style, but it worked fine here.

    Pity about the problems at game's release, but I will try to forget them and remember this game for what it is inside. Overall, LotF is a short, not very complex, but solid and enjoyable enough experience for the fans of this genre. 6/10
    Expand
  12. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    As with many players, "I really wanted to like this game". It has charm, it hits that craving for an ARPG that the wait for Bloodborne has so created, and the world/map feels clever and intuitive. However, it has some glaring flaws; most evidently, the odd difficulty curve (Annihilator that late in the game? Way too easy), various builds feel impossibly difficult, and my goodness, theAs with many players, "I really wanted to like this game". It has charm, it hits that craving for an ARPG that the wait for Bloodborne has so created, and the world/map feels clever and intuitive. However, it has some glaring flaws; most evidently, the odd difficulty curve (Annihilator that late in the game? Way too easy), various builds feel impossibly difficult, and my goodness, the crashes. I'm on PS4, and this game crashes during loading screens fairly regularly, but has no less than 4 times crashed about 10 minutes into the Brothers and Judge boss fights.
    I have hopes for a sequel, but I will certainly be more wary going forwards.
    Expand
  13. Mar 23, 2015
    8
    Yeah it is a Dark Souls clone but actually a good one. After some much needed patches it is fun. Gameplay is balanced and the game looks stunningly beautiful without framerate issues even on older PCs. It still has some bugs though but most of them fix themselves when you die the next time. It crashed about 2 times in the 25 hours I played it. I even found myself playing it again evenYeah it is a Dark Souls clone but actually a good one. After some much needed patches it is fun. Gameplay is balanced and the game looks stunningly beautiful without framerate issues even on older PCs. It still has some bugs though but most of them fix themselves when you die the next time. It crashed about 2 times in the 25 hours I played it. I even found myself playing it again even though I know the story and its plottwists just because the combat is so much fun. If you like Dark Souls and want to play something similar here you have it. Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    Yes, this game isn't like Dark Souls, thank god because it better than that boring game. It's easier than dark souls, a lot better graphics and animation. It is still hard however so it is not for the casual gamer who likes his/her hand held.

    Have had no issues on my i5 2500 HD 5850 8 GB Win 7. However I also own 170 games, most of that number being AAA titles and have absolutely no
    Yes, this game isn't like Dark Souls, thank god because it better than that boring game. It's easier than dark souls, a lot better graphics and animation. It is still hard however so it is not for the casual gamer who likes his/her hand held.

    Have had no issues on my i5 2500 HD 5850 8 GB Win 7. However I also own 170 games, most of that number being AAA titles and have absolutely no issues with any of them.
    Expand
  15. Nov 16, 2014
    5
    What I liked:
    * Nice Graphics
    * EPIC armor designs - something that is MISSING in most games * Cold and dark atmosphere * Combat is VERY satisfying ones you get the right play-style that works for you * Cool shield mechanics where you can ram an enemy while running with your shield held up, and the ability to block attacks from behind when it hangs on your back * Regenerating mana
    What I liked:
    * Nice Graphics
    * EPIC armor designs - something that is MISSING in most games
    * Cold and dark atmosphere
    * Combat is VERY satisfying ones you get the right play-style that works for you
    * Cool shield mechanics where you can ram an enemy while running with your shield held up, and the
    ability to block attacks from behind when it hangs on your back
    * Regenerating mana for casters like in Demon Souls
    * Lots of replay value

    What I didn't like:
    * BUGS (PC, patch 1.3): immediate death upon resurrecting in a portal dimension, could not lock on to a
    certain boss during the fight - just to name a few
    * Stability issues - occasional framerate drops and crashes
    * NOT enough content - it's a small world, short main quest line.
    * Balancing and design issues:
    - fast weapons are weak, regular weapons are slow, heavy weapons are slower
    - Mommy and baby spider are fast and packs too much punch
    - enemies have RIDICULOUS SPEED, REACH, POISE and STUN effects
    - guard break mechanics against enemies is either useless or broken making fights against shield
    wielding enemies frustrating
    - the Lich like spell caster is overpowered - it knocks you down, it casts reflect, it leeches life from
    you, and has an AOE damage with ridiculous range upon death
    - you get STUNNED, STAGGERED AND KNOCKED DOWN A LOT - regardless if you are wearing
    heavy armor, though you are always guaranteed to FLY while donning a light set.
    - magic effects gets in the way of your field of view
    - melodramatic and slow spell casting animation
    - stupid looking and broken jumping animation
    - no option to remove unwanted spells making it tedious to switch between the useful and useless
    ones
    - no quest tracker for side quests - so pay attention to what the NPC says
    - TOO MUCH backtracking for side quest rewards and locked chests/areas
    - you lose sight of your character when pressed against a wall while fighting enemies
    - not enough or none existing backstory for the main character
    - in some weapons and attacks, you end up hacking on thin air if you are not locked on even
    when you are sticking right next to your target
    - not enough tutorials like what the 3 kinds of shield does or how to break a breakable wall
    - stamina drain from attacking is too much
    - no multiplayer

    In the end, the PATIENCE that I learned from playing all 3 SOULS games and the love for the series which is reminiscent in this game made me overlook the issues and genuinely enjoy the overall experience. Though the current state of the game holds it back from deserving a better score.
    Expand
  16. Feb 23, 2015
    9
    Really nice atmosphere, animations, gear, etc. Some NPCs are a little boring, but hey, they give you quests to keep killing stuff, so who cares?
    Nice level design with interesting exploration and the combat system is solid.

    I've not finished it yet but so far I am having a very good time with it, so I recommend it!
  17. Dec 26, 2014
    9
    Awesome game. It is challenging, very challenging and the classes almost feel like difficulty levels. Most people say the Warrior class is the easiest whereas I say it is the Cleric, they do a ton of damage, their spells are actually very handy and they can take a fair bit of damage.

    The graphics are spectacular, the combat just feels right. Each class and weapon has its own feel and
    Awesome game. It is challenging, very challenging and the classes almost feel like difficulty levels. Most people say the Warrior class is the easiest whereas I say it is the Cleric, they do a ton of damage, their spells are actually very handy and they can take a fair bit of damage.

    The graphics are spectacular, the combat just feels right. Each class and weapon has its own feel and it the best melee combat I have seen in any game for a long long time.

    Sure in small corridors the camera can get frustrating at times and sometimes going over bits you already done can get tiresome, but it is a game where you learn from your mistakes and aspects of the game become easier through understanding. My hit of the year in the RPG genre.
    Expand
  18. Oct 1, 2015
    6
    Lords of the Fallen isn't a great game. It's not a bad game either. I'd describe it as Dark Souls lite.

    Boss fights are very repetitive and overall it is too much of a weak Dark Souls clone for me to rate this any higher. They could have done so much more with this. It looks good, but that is were my praise ends.
  19. Nov 2, 2014
    7
    I actually rated this better than DS2 insofar as i actually had more fun with it. Not knocking on DS which is a great franchise and one that I enjoy greatly, but DS2 seemed to lack a little 'soul' and was missing that omph-factor for me.

    Lords on the other hand pressed all my right buttons. While in some ways character creating/building isn't as diverse as DS, it is still robust enough
    I actually rated this better than DS2 insofar as i actually had more fun with it. Not knocking on DS which is a great franchise and one that I enjoy greatly, but DS2 seemed to lack a little 'soul' and was missing that omph-factor for me.

    Lords on the other hand pressed all my right buttons. While in some ways character creating/building isn't as diverse as DS, it is still robust enough for those who enjoy tweaking builds. Much like DS, there isn't a huge or great plot (or dialogue) for the most parts. But then again, I don't think many played DS for it's plot or dialogue.

    Game play is very similar to DS but slightly more forgiving with less 'cheap-shot-insta-kills'. Graphics are decent but unless your rig is pretty robust expect frame-rate issues. I have not had many crashes thankfully but every single one is traumatic if you're the type that hordes xp. I do hope they fix the crashing soon as it is spoiling what is turning out to be a pretty fun game for me.

    A good filler for DS players and a good game for newer players to get introduced to the concept.
    Expand
  20. Apr 20, 2015
    6
    Could have been so much better. The game has been out quite a while now and is still plagued with bugs. Sound randomly decides to stop working and crashes causing you to lose a good amount of progress. Putting the technical issues aside the game is still rather meh. The graphics are good except they are wasted on a boring atmosphere. Black, grey, light grey, brown and red are the onlyCould have been so much better. The game has been out quite a while now and is still plagued with bugs. Sound randomly decides to stop working and crashes causing you to lose a good amount of progress. Putting the technical issues aside the game is still rather meh. The graphics are good except they are wasted on a boring atmosphere. Black, grey, light grey, brown and red are the only colors around. Most armors and weapons are ugly and stupid looking. Combat is painfully tedious the AI cheats and does not play by the same rules as the player the bosses are even worse. The camera is also an enemy it the many tight areas it fails to show you what you want. My advice wait until its in the bargain bin. Expand
  21. Nov 2, 2014
    7
    With the great success of the Souls series, I suppose it was only a matter of time before we started seeing Souls-likes - Action-RPGs focused more on pseudo-realistic swordplay, massive boss fights, and challenging (or punishing to some) gameplay. Enter Lords of the Fallen, an unapologetic Souls-like from CI Games and Bandai Namco (publishers of the Souls series). As the first reviews forWith the great success of the Souls series, I suppose it was only a matter of time before we started seeing Souls-likes - Action-RPGs focused more on pseudo-realistic swordplay, massive boss fights, and challenging (or punishing to some) gameplay. Enter Lords of the Fallen, an unapologetic Souls-like from CI Games and Bandai Namco (publishers of the Souls series). As the first reviews for Lords came in, it seems that the majority of complaints centered around the fact that the game was, in fact, not Dark Souls. Like it, but not the same. It seemed like a funny complaint at the time and, not satisfied to write Lords off just because it wasn't Dark Souls, I decided to give it a try.

    Lords of the Fallen centers around Harkan, an ex-convict who was freed from prison by an old gentleman in hopes of stopping an otherworldly scourge. That really is the long and short of the story - CI tried to produce a deep lore to the world presented through a few cutscenes and an overabundance of audio logs, but ultimately it's truly uninteresting and definitely takes a backseat to the action the game provides.

    The gameplay of Lords of the Fallen has often been described as a "slower Dark Souls". This is, actually, fairly accurate. The controls are almost lifted directly out of Souls, with buttons for heavy attacks, light attacks, blocking, shield bashing, item use, etc exactly where you'd expect them to be, with exception of the inclusion of a separate button for magic use. The vast majority of characters and enemies have a certain weight to their movements. Harkan, in particular, generally has a plodding and slow wind-up to most of his attacks. This aspect can take some getting used to and, even after you do, will probably be a source of frustration, as enemies seem to have been doing their cardio workouts - enemies will go from attack to attack to turtling at such a clip that it's near impossible to get in a clean hit. One enemy type irritated me so much that I resorted to chipping their health away with my unblockable ranged attacks. Boss fights are also unfortunately lackluster and often tedious, with the best tactics for all being "move close to bait attack, dodge said attack, attack, dodge away, repeat".

    CI improved upon the Souls system where you have to go retrieve your body from where you died in order to pick up any experience points you had when you died. Instead of just being something you must touch before you die again, it's now a glowing light that not only provides gradual healing but also slowly decays over time. It adds urgency for retrieval, but also adds another layer of strategy. Do you pick up your experience as soon as you can to prevent losing experience to the ether, or do you leave it on the ground so it can provide healing during a battle you may have just lost your life to? The other change in the experience system is the experience multiplier. The more enemies you kill without dying or resting at a checkpoint, the higher the multiplier goes. It's a neat risk/reward system that encourages combat and perhaps a little extra exploration.

    Unfortunately, this system does not play nicely with the unexpected, chronic crashing that the game has a tendency for. No fewer than 5 times within a day of playing the game did I lose significant progress and experience because the game crashed and I had been running up my experience multiplier and, thusly, not resting at a checkpoint to save my game. This is made even more puzzling by the fact that the game has already received a 5 GB patch. All that said, the game is fairly nice to look at and the framerate seems fairly stable.

    A lot of people are discussing Lords of the Fallen's difficulty. It is, without question, easier than any Souls game currently available. Automatically recharging magic points, incredibly powerful offensive and defensive spells, and even some weapons that you can heal yourself with without paying any sort of toll make it so that if you have more time than skill, you can still progress fairly handily. That is not to say that the game does not have some oddly placed difficulty spikes where the more seasoned players might be caught off guard.

    Lords of the Fallen is a fairly enjoyable 18-20 hour adventure, but the world is noticeably small and same-y. There are a limited number of environments, and your direct surroundings will typically be some sort of castle corridor.

    Though held back by a glaring technical issues, some puzzling gameplay decisions, and a small world with limited interesting lore, Lords of the Fallen still manages to be a mostly-enjoyable Souls-like experience.
    Expand
  22. Sep 15, 2015
    5
    You may try , but is impossible not to compare this game to the souls series.It is a clone but.......there are a few things better and a lot are worse.

    Better:Our hero is not mute.There are dialogues.Lots of equipment , leveling up is cool Worse:Repetitive enemies , easy bosses , the last stages are soooooooo boring. FAR WORSE:Combat is terrible. Your hero is slow ,....,ultra
    You may try , but is impossible not to compare this game to the souls series.It is a clone but.......there are a few things better and a lot are worse.

    Better:Our hero is not mute.There are dialogues.Lots of equipment , leveling up is cool

    Worse:Repetitive enemies , easy bosses , the last stages are soooooooo boring.

    FAR WORSE:Combat is terrible. Your hero is slow ,....,ultra slow.I just played Bloodbourne and man..what a difference!I have two attacks( a magic one that kills everything and meele attacks that kill nothing.The range of the weapons is short , even giant swords that take like 3 secs to strike(not kidding).

    I can´t recommend this game
    Expand
  23. Oct 25, 2015
    5
    The game is simply broken. Even now, after 6 (?) patches, on a perfectly capable system (i5@4.50GHz + 970 OC) drops to 30 fps on lowest details in 1080p. Yes for the most time it stays smooth but the drops are always there around the corner and those drops will make your boss fights a mess, and you can imagine how a boss fight can be challenging and frustrating at times.

    The game is not
    The game is simply broken. Even now, after 6 (?) patches, on a perfectly capable system (i5@4.50GHz + 970 OC) drops to 30 fps on lowest details in 1080p. Yes for the most time it stays smooth but the drops are always there around the corner and those drops will make your boss fights a mess, and you can imagine how a boss fight can be challenging and frustrating at times.

    The game is not as difficult as dark souls, it is similar in some ways but to sum it up it is the 'bad copy' of the Dark Souls games. I bought the game for 10 euros and I still regret it. If it were running smooth I may have wanted to go on and play the whole game....but the framerate problems (luckily, no crashes) + extremely boring maps (it looks always the same....Dark Souls has a magic feeling whenever you enter a new location) and so - so fights make me want to just quit the game and not go back to it.
    Expand
  24. Nov 12, 2014
    6
    The DRM baked into this game results in horrible PC performance, which is a shame as the game is generally quite enjoyable. If you enjoyed Dark Souls, or perhaps if you couldn't quite get into the more hardcore nature of that game, this game has quite a lot to offer.
    This game doesn't really stand out other than being a more accessible and arcade style Dark Souls type game, which isn't a
    The DRM baked into this game results in horrible PC performance, which is a shame as the game is generally quite enjoyable. If you enjoyed Dark Souls, or perhaps if you couldn't quite get into the more hardcore nature of that game, this game has quite a lot to offer.
    This game doesn't really stand out other than being a more accessible and arcade style Dark Souls type game, which isn't a bad thing, but probably won't satisfy Dark Souls devotees.
    Certainly raises the bar for the studio, who have released a long list of uninteresting and/or broken games, so it's nice to see them finally land a hit.
    The key thing here is that the DRM here hurt people who paid for the game, which is a really unfortunately and unwelcome position for a studio to be taking. Currently the game remains uncracked, but only for a time, meanwhile people who have purchased the game are left with middling performance even on high end PCs, which otherwise tarnishes a game that is generally quite well made, graphically impressive and enjoyable overall.
    Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    Great game for whom likes the souls franchise or action games in general. The plot is weak and not interesting but the gameplay is very good. It's like dark souls with more emphasys on the weight of stuff and a good exploration of the (few) maps. unfortunately it lacks on variety of monsters, the bossess are all similar and you will find yourself constantly backtracking. Overall it's aGreat game for whom likes the souls franchise or action games in general. The plot is weak and not interesting but the gameplay is very good. It's like dark souls with more emphasys on the weight of stuff and a good exploration of the (few) maps. unfortunately it lacks on variety of monsters, the bossess are all similar and you will find yourself constantly backtracking. Overall it's a very good experience but sometimes it crashes and also it doesn't last long, about 15 hour to complete. Expand
  26. Jan 21, 2016
    7
    Lord of fallen is an occidental attempt to create a new Darksoul/Bloodborn like RPG where you're not only fighting the NPC but the also "difficult and robust combat system". I haven't played any FromSoftware so I cannot relate on the NPC difficulty.

    Lords of Fallen seems to have a decent (but generic) story line where the main character seems to be the key to save the world. You also
    Lord of fallen is an occidental attempt to create a new Darksoul/Bloodborn like RPG where you're not only fighting the NPC but the also "difficult and robust combat system". I haven't played any FromSoftware so I cannot relate on the NPC difficulty.

    Lords of Fallen seems to have a decent (but generic) story line where the main character seems to be the key to save the world. You also have some sidestory quests from the few hours I gave it. And playing with a controller is a must (even on PC). The port was rather well done, with few graphic options and rebindable keys (even on your controller).

    Combat wise, you always have to lock the target you want to attack otherwise blocking or doing combo is almost impossible. However, locking on the said target is a pain while fighting multiple mobs. If you're fan of difficult game, it's a decent one to add to your library.
    Expand
  27. Jan 10, 2016
    2
    I played 4 chapters and could not take it any more. This game is pure **** period. Very boring and bad combat dark souls try hard wanna be and it is the worst optimized game I've tried on PC. The Graphics are so damn bad and the level design is so stupid. I though it may get better but it only got worse and worse. I can't believe that there are people here who gave it a 10 or even an 8I played 4 chapters and could not take it any more. This game is pure **** period. Very boring and bad combat dark souls try hard wanna be and it is the worst optimized game I've tried on PC. The Graphics are so damn bad and the level design is so stupid. I though it may get better but it only got worse and worse. I can't believe that there are people here who gave it a 10 or even an 8 LOL.... I mean if it was well optimized it would be even a little more enjoyable and it would get a 6/10 but since the game itself is very bad and with this pure **** optimization there is no way anyone should touch this garbage. It is very simple why play this when you can play dark souls again and again.. Hell I would rather play cod than this . Expand
  28. Jul 28, 2015
    1
    Bad game, just terrible. Way too slow and way too hard. Returned to store after 4 hours of playing, couldn't beat the first boss. Tried so many times but had to give up in the end. There is no tutorial, doesn't explain how to use magic or use a potion. 1 point for nice visual effects.
  29. Jul 23, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. at first it looked amazing but after about the first boss battle it began to lag and the games difficulty began to rise tremendously.the boss killed me in one hit the the heavy solders were faster then the rouge i was playing.i am not a fan but that's just my opinion of the game but i do not recommend buying it if it is not cheap. Expand
  30. Aug 10, 2015
    0
    This game tries to be Dark Souls but **** up big time. Clunky controls, cheap enemies,bad story, **** magic system, it's more frustrating than difficult... Avoid
  31. Jan 18, 2015
    10
    Take dark souls and add better graphics and a more directly told story. Mix in some encounters that are harder and some that are easier. Change the combat system a little bit and the spells and you essentially have this game.

    It is a really good game and consider that 90% of the bad reviews were simply due to the bugs on the games launch which are all fixed now. I played through the
    Take dark souls and add better graphics and a more directly told story. Mix in some encounters that are harder and some that are easier. Change the combat system a little bit and the spells and you essentially have this game.

    It is a really good game and consider that 90% of the bad reviews were simply due to the bugs on the games launch which are all fixed now. I played through the entire thing twice and didn't experience a single bug or glitch.

    GIVE THIS GAME A TRY! If you like dark souls even a little bit this game is for you. If you don't I still recommend it to any RPG lover.
    Expand
  32. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Really good graphics, excellent animations, amazing armors design, fun and challenging combat, lots of secrets. Not a single crash in my 20+ hours gameplay. Definitely recommend!
  33. Oct 29, 2014
    7
    Good ARPG with some annoying bugs that surely would be corrected in future patches. It reminds me Blade The Edge of Darkness (yes, this was the very first ARPG that inspired Gothic, Dark Souls, Dark Siders and all of those ARPGs in which we risk our lives in each action... don't forget it).
    Well, it reminds me Blade because (unlike Dark Souls), this game uses the best technology
    Good ARPG with some annoying bugs that surely would be corrected in future patches. It reminds me Blade The Edge of Darkness (yes, this was the very first ARPG that inspired Gothic, Dark Souls, Dark Siders and all of those ARPGs in which we risk our lives in each action... don't forget it).
    Well, it reminds me Blade because (unlike Dark Souls), this game uses the best technology available, and in a video-game this is a solid point to considered.
    About its flaws are the extremely "Blizzardy" ornamented gear that removes all realism of them, but the most important (and the only it makes me downgrade its score) is that we CAN'T physically customize the main character (face, body and gender), the customization is only in skills. And in a immersive game like this I want my very personal character (at least they should have done as Blade, in which you can choose among 4 different characters), but you will like or hate his face and deal with that...
    Expand
  34. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    11h played - not a single crash. Sometimes I have fps drop down on highest settings but nothing that makes game unplayable. Im playing on Phenom II x6 1090T 3.2Ghz, GTX650, 8GB RAM so my rig isn't high end. Overall game is very good, Playing heavy armored tank it's kinda easy mode but medium/light armor is another story. Maybe on NG+ you will need more dodge and monsters attacks will crush11h played - not a single crash. Sometimes I have fps drop down on highest settings but nothing that makes game unplayable. Im playing on Phenom II x6 1090T 3.2Ghz, GTX650, 8GB RAM so my rig isn't high end. Overall game is very good, Playing heavy armored tank it's kinda easy mode but medium/light armor is another story. Maybe on NG+ you will need more dodge and monsters attacks will crush you. Bosses are fine, nothing "epic" but compared to boring ones from DaS2 they have more interesting mechanics. There are some things that annoys me a lot like "invisible walls", a bit too much of backtracking or minor bugs. Controls and combat are same as DaS games (with same terrible run-jump mechanic) with some addition like shield charge (run+shield button) or fluid combo chain light+heavy attacks. I find LoTF more responsive than DaS2, kinda same good as DaS1. Graphic is beautiful, art style, locations, armor and weapon models, everything is top notch, especially compared to DaS2 terrible graphics. Animations are also great, "feel" of heavy weapon swing is one of a kind. There is no map, no objective mark or other easy-mode features so if you don't like exploring locations on your own and being lost (dmn those catacombs) think twice. There are also features like other dimension trials - some sort of side missions. Story? Really? This game is about combat and nothing else if you want good story go buy a good book for yourself. Overall it's very solid title and if CI Games will patch it and fix performence issues (for other ppl?) and minor bugs it would be even better. Game is 8 of 10 for me but I'll give it 10 to oppose 0 scores. In general DaS1>LoTF>DaS2 Expand
  35. Oct 30, 2014
    8
    The Artdesign is like Darksiders. The Story and the Cutsequences are only 5 Points, but the combat system and the exploration of the environment makes really fun and its comparable to Dark Souls.
  36. Nov 4, 2014
    5
    Sucks to know that this game had alot of potential. Great graphics(FPS go in and out tho), awesome looking equipment and enemies, boss battles have special quality, but...when a game crashes more times than you have booted up the game to play it, that's a problem; a major one. Plus there is a list of game breaking glitches too. SO....saying that; the game runs on checkpoints and has noSucks to know that this game had alot of potential. Great graphics(FPS go in and out tho), awesome looking equipment and enemies, boss battles have special quality, but...when a game crashes more times than you have booted up the game to play it, that's a problem; a major one. Plus there is a list of game breaking glitches too. SO....saying that; the game runs on checkpoints and has no autosave feature. Playing without hitting checkpoints yield you better drops and experience. Basically im saying that, you DON'T want to hit checkpoints cause you will reset your "bonuses" for sticking it out aganist the enemies but......again if you dont hit the checkpoints and the game crashes, you lose EVERYTHING because you haven't been hitting the checkpoints. Vicious circle. Personally i would wait for them to fix these bugs and glitches before buying the game cause it will just give you a bad impression about the game like it has for me. Its a shame cause without the problems it has, its a pretty decent game. Expand
  37. ZNP
    Nov 5, 2014
    6
    Lords of the Fallen fails to live up to the grandeur of its name. While some components, like the actual melee combat, are well-built and polished, the sum of all its parts will not be able to keep most gamers entertained for more than a day. As a singleplayer-only game, that is disappointing. Look for it on sales days.
  38. Nov 4, 2014
    6
    An enjoyable game hidden in between a sloppy and unfinished shell.

    After around 10-15 hours I had beaten the game and enjoyed some of the game-play (the mechanics can be lackluster and may not reach the depths that you want them to however) but overall the experience was sullied by a continual onslaught of bugs. They may be mostly minor bugs but it is a HUGE array of "minor" bugs. Ones
    An enjoyable game hidden in between a sloppy and unfinished shell.

    After around 10-15 hours I had beaten the game and enjoyed some of the game-play (the mechanics can be lackluster and may not reach the depths that you want them to however) but overall the experience was sullied by a continual onslaught of bugs. They may be mostly minor bugs but it is a HUGE array of "minor" bugs. Ones that can ruin your game experience entirely. Audio not working, hidden walls not breaking, graphical glitches, weightless/bouncing ragdolls, stat changes misrepresented, quests not updating - lets not forget the game breaking bugs either, forcing you to make a new character to progress, or the ones that crash you out to your desktop/XMB etc. How about we then go on to talk about bad game design where quests and trophies refer to areas or items that are called something completely different in game?

    The story was also nothing to write home about. In the start of the game you are thrown into what seems like the midpoint of a story about a criminal who was sprung from jail and asked to fulfill some divine deed which he just decides to do - no questions asked. The characters you meet along the way come and go without so much as a cut-scene and you find yourself pushing forward without really knowing why until you reach the last half hour of the game. By which point you find yourself no longer immersed in the game world and wondering why the game was allowed release with so many bugs and glitches.

    May be worth playing in the future if the issues are ironed out but as it stands this game is not worth the full asking price.
    Expand
  39. Oct 28, 2014
    8
    A good game. More forgiving than Dark Souls and even though it clearly is inspired by it, Lords of the Fallen is way more than a cheap rip-off. The fighting is quite fun, the weapons are pretty cool and it is overall pretty much fun. It gets a little less forgiving in NG+ but it never reaches the "difficulty" of DS.
  40. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    I was shocked by the "feel" of this game. As a student of the From Software/Miyazaki school of thought, the mechanics are already familiar. This is where the similarities to the "other" game end.

    The world has it's own particular feel which is hard to explain. It is very subjective. It is like looking into a View-Master or perhaps Iranian miniatures in a way. As a child I was
    I was shocked by the "feel" of this game. As a student of the From Software/Miyazaki school of thought, the mechanics are already familiar. This is where the similarities to the "other" game end.

    The world has it's own particular feel which is hard to explain. It is very subjective. It is like looking into a View-Master or perhaps Iranian miniatures in a way. As a child I was fascinated with tabletop miniature wargames, this brings the same feeling. The lightning is splendid, and it is very "gamey" but in a very good way. Extremely atmospheric.
    Expand
  41. Oct 30, 2014
    8
    I've never played a DS game, so this review is unbiased.

    I'm totally enjoying this game! Graphics are great. Lighting and particle effects are really good. The camera is a little weird at times even with the camera focus, that's my main gripe. The game isn't extremely difficult, but it isn't a cake walk either. Combat feels good. The weapons seem heavy. As far as the story, it's nothing
    I've never played a DS game, so this review is unbiased.

    I'm totally enjoying this game! Graphics are great. Lighting and particle effects are really good. The camera is a little weird at times even with the camera focus, that's my main gripe. The game isn't extremely difficult, but it isn't a cake walk either. Combat feels good. The weapons seem heavy. As far as the story, it's nothing special so far.

    Really, there's not much to dislike.

    Playing this does make me want to go back and play a DS game. And I'm definitely looking forward to Bloodborne.
    Expand
  42. Oct 30, 2014
    8
    Still in the process of playing it, but so far it feels pretty good.

    If your rig can run it, you're in for a dark souls clone with a feel rather different from the inspiration. Tighter fighting zones & good visuals. It feels like a more casual version of DS, where they reward you for taking risk but offer more frequent safety nets. Different equipment choices feel & play
    Still in the process of playing it, but so far it feels pretty good.

    If your rig can run it, you're in for a dark souls clone with a feel rather different from the inspiration.

    Tighter fighting zones & good visuals. It feels like a more casual version of DS, where they reward you for taking risk but offer more frequent safety nets.

    Different equipment choices feel & play differently, as do the class abilities.

    There are more NPC interactions, & lore is delivered through them & audio logs, of all things.

    Secrets are all over, & while it's still linear in the end, the condensed nature of the map actually gives a bit of exploration.

    If DS is a 9, this is a solid 8, and so far it's being rather badly under-rated, (thanks in part to the technical problems).

    At this point I'm glad I picked this up.
    Expand
  43. Oct 28, 2014
    7
    Had a brief running with the game. vs DS series
    Good:
    - the graphics is not superb but is already much better than DS - the UI is more friendly and look more modern to me honestly - the design of equipment is better Bad: - the boss fight is not as interesting as DS, I hope the later ones would be better - sounds like the magic is far more limited than DS - the world is less
    Had a brief running with the game. vs DS series
    Good:
    - the graphics is not superb but is already much better than DS
    - the UI is more friendly and look more modern to me honestly
    - the design of equipment is better
    Bad:
    - the boss fight is not as interesting as DS, I hope the later ones would be better
    - sounds like the magic is far more limited than DS
    - the world is less interesting than DS, I hope I will see better ones later
    Mixed:
    - no character recreation, but I don't really care about this as I always have a helm
    - its far more easier than DS, especially if you start as a heavy armor warrior together with the DLC equipment. Playing as a Rogue will be more challenging in my situation.

    To me, its a good sign to have copycat of DS, it would be beneficial to DS fans as well if this copycat can KO the original one. With no competition, I don't think From software will make better DS to us.
    Expand
  44. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    A graphically great game with a good amount of weapons and armor set to customize, BUT it's not perfect due to the lack of Plot and absolutely ZERO character customization, it's basically a more forgiving side of Dark souls, but i still say this game could stand it's own ground.
  45. Oct 28, 2014
    8
    Great graphics, great gameplay and more playable than Dark Souls. Sure, it looks a but like that game, but nowadays, it's hard to find 2 games that have not a couple thing in common. They made a very good game with DS elements, but most stuff of their own. The best thing is that you don't die as much. Nobody likes dying in games.

    Downside, which is personal, is that it's not really
    Great graphics, great gameplay and more playable than Dark Souls. Sure, it looks a but like that game, but nowadays, it's hard to find 2 games that have not a couple thing in common. They made a very good game with DS elements, but most stuff of their own. The best thing is that you don't die as much. Nobody likes dying in games.

    Downside, which is personal, is that it's not really giving you a lot of freedom in the map. Lot of lineair maps with some side-roads, but generally not a whole lot of moving space (but I have not finished the game, so who knows?). Robust RPG with fun combat.
    Expand
  46. Oct 29, 2014
    8
    Smooth, well paced action romp, derivative but so what... Challenging without being annoying... I recommend this game for anyone looking to play a g are to tide them over until Dark Souls comes out with their inevitable next ten incarnation...
  47. Oct 31, 2014
    7
    I am only about an hour or-so in to the game & haven't played any of the soul games before, but on its own right this plays quite well and is both fun & accessible at the same time.

    Graphics and music are quite enjoyable but performance chugs here and there which is a real shame. From my early impressions I give it an 8/10 for a fun yet deep hack-and-slash RPG.
  48. Dec 27, 2014
    4
    At a glance Lords of the Fallen looks just like the game to fill that Dark Souls shaped void in your heart, however first hand experience will reveal that this game feels overwhelmingly uninspired. Everything from the environments and enemies to your own character, nothing seems to have much personality. The only thing that makes this game 'Dark Souls-esque' is the combat, which isAt a glance Lords of the Fallen looks just like the game to fill that Dark Souls shaped void in your heart, however first hand experience will reveal that this game feels overwhelmingly uninspired. Everything from the environments and enemies to your own character, nothing seems to have much personality. The only thing that makes this game 'Dark Souls-esque' is the combat, which is balanced and unforgiving enough, but feels quite sluggish at times which can make fights monotonous. The game is indeed pretty, but it's not quite enough to make up for the fact that after a while all the drab hallways and dilapidated courtyards begin to look the same. The experience overall was sub-par, I don't recommend. Expand
  49. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    Giving this game 0 points is a joke. Graphics are nice and gameplay is fun. Nice armors and weapons, huge bosses and an atmospheric world. I recommend this game!
  50. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    I don't know why everyone (including the critics) are comparing this game to dark souls. This is an entirely different game!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Don't forget to turn off the setting which makes the game look blurry! Once off, you're left with beautiful textures and a graphical gem. Combat system is by far the best I've ever used. It's gripping, interesting and unique.
    I don't know why everyone (including the critics) are comparing this game to dark souls. This is an entirely different game!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Don't forget to turn off the setting which makes the game look blurry! Once off, you're left with beautiful textures and a graphical gem.

    Combat system is by far the best I've ever used. It's gripping, interesting and unique. Each weapon and shield defend and attacks in different ways requiring a whole different level of tactics each time! No more button mashing! You actual need to read your enemy, block blows, counter, and determine when is the best time for you to land your killing blow!

    PLEASE NOTE, I'M STILL NOT COMPARING TO DARKSOULS...IT IS IT'S OWN GAME FFS!

    Some issues I have with this game no quest log and your quest sometimes (more often then not) now showing up or updating on your screen untill you leave the area and return.

    Also, if you're into deep character development and story telling, this game probably isn't going to jump out at you.

    All in all a fun game with some good graphics and a polished combat system.

    8/10
    Expand
  51. Oct 29, 2014
    8
    Okay, first things first, I can't talk about this game without bringing in Dark Souls. So, I'll give a comparative review and a stand-alone review which grades the game against itself as a game.

    Depending on which Souls game is your favorite, you may have a different view of the Souls games and LotF. In my eyes, Demons was the pilot of the franchise, a proof of concept if you will - and
    Okay, first things first, I can't talk about this game without bringing in Dark Souls. So, I'll give a comparative review and a stand-alone review which grades the game against itself as a game.

    Depending on which Souls game is your favorite, you may have a different view of the Souls games and LotF. In my eyes, Demons was the pilot of the franchise, a proof of concept if you will - and if you go back and play it today, it has aged poorly and is a fairly buggy game. Dark Souls was a masterpiece, a work of meticulous world building and attention to detail. Dark Souls 2 was a fun game, but it was a hack job of a sequel to the original. That's out of the way, now you know where I stand on the Souls games, now to compare LotF.

    Combat - LotF has superior combat and controls. Everything is absolutely precise, the game does what YOU want it to (assuming you know what you're doing). It's basically the DS1 combat system, but with added depth, it's everything I wanted in a DS sequel. Dks2 was departure and it did two things very wrong imo, it did not have the exacting nature of DS1 (hit boxes were terrible), LotF DOES have well constructed hit boxes - you're not eating phantom swings or getting hit while being visibly quite far away from . . . anything. Dks2's weapons didn't feel as differentiated as they did in DS1, and thankfully that's not the case in LotF. In LotF weapons have a great deal of variation on a sliding scale, just the smallest increment can be felt in gameplay and you might really enjoy swinging something with a speed of 94% but not something with 100%. That's how carefully constructed this combat system is. The range is broad, but you can really feel the difference between weapons.

    Story/Lore/Plot - DS1 hands down wins. I totally understand that some people enjoy a more accessible narrative, but LotF isn't compelling enough to warrant it. And it pulls me out of the world. It's kind of a pause that doesn't fit.

    Graphics - Well, LotF is much newer and gorgeous (though it does need a decent rig to run well).

    Visual aesthetics - This is the art style. You know, I like both. I do. I'm not one of those people who can't stand any certain type of visual stylization, I like realistic, I like exaggerated, I like cartoony. So I have to say I really enjoy the direction they took in LotF. And they kept it consistent which is important.

    Audio - Both games are top notch. The ambient sounds, the music when it's there is appropriately used on both games.

    Fun - I'll give the nod to DS1 here. The world and atmosphere really pulled me in deep and made me want to stay in the world and keep exploring. With LotF, everytime I start getting into it, y'know that feeling of traversing this citadel area, boom awkward dialogue with your typical good guy, evil, smarmy choices shows up and yanks me out of it. As far as difficult goes, it's much more challenging than Dks2, anyone who feels differently confuses me because Dks2 was a walk in the park.

    So, as a comparison DS1 > LotF > Dks2
    This is the game that I wanted Dks2 to be.

    Now, for a look at LotF on it's own two feet.

    Combat/Controls - Tight, responsive, actions have good clear weight behind them appropriate to your equipment, it's hard to ask for a better combat system. The combo system offers a lot of options and as you get used to timing combos (picking up a new weapon means you need to learn new timings!) you really start to appreciate what you can do. You start attacking but then you see the enemies attack animation begin, if you time a light combo into a heavy attack you can generate a stagger to interrupt. Or if you need to finish off an enemy you can chain a heavy combo into a quick light attack for that last immediate bit of damage (say you're fighting multiple enemies and you need to quickly change targets). Really cool stuff.

    Visual aesthics - A very Warhammer inspired aesthetic, which I like, but it is what it is. If you like the big burly look with exaggerated weapons/armors then it's definitely for you.

    Graphics - So it's gorgeous, BUT it's not optimized very well currently (I believe there's memory leak) so it can make even a good system chug. This game studio hasn't made a game like this before and they went a big crazy with the draw distance. If you look over a ledge, everything is completely rendered for a really long ways out. Things that far away can be less detailed to save on resources guys.

    Audio - Everything is excellent, but the heavy breathing is a bit louder than I feel it should be. I like the effect, but when you're not in combat it's a bit much.

    Story/Lore - The story itself is fairly blandish, BUT they have a lot to work with if they want to build a world. There's so much they could go into and really flesh out and deep and layered world. If they make a sequel I hope they can show us something great.

    Fun - It's a tough game, but it feels so good to play, and you'll definitely fist pump when you down a hard area/boss.
    Expand
  52. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Beautiful graphics. Excellent game mechanics. Awesome combat system. Amazing leveling of main character. Perfect game. Highly recommended! 10/10! Good job City Games!
  53. Nov 1, 2014
    6
    Decent graphics and innovative features such as the bankable xp with the accompanying xp multiplier drag this game kicking and screaming from the depths of disaster firmly into the realm of mediocrity. Combat can be clunky and unsatisfying at times making fighting some enemies ridiculously easy and others frustratingly long-winded (but still fairly easy) and Boss fights quickly settle intoDecent graphics and innovative features such as the bankable xp with the accompanying xp multiplier drag this game kicking and screaming from the depths of disaster firmly into the realm of mediocrity. Combat can be clunky and unsatisfying at times making fighting some enemies ridiculously easy and others frustratingly long-winded (but still fairly easy) and Boss fights quickly settle into the pattern of waiting for the opening to get a couple of hits in before waiting out the next series of pre-scripted attacks before getting another hit in. Very little that hasn't been done before and usually done better. Expand
  54. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Really enjoyed it. It's a bit little bit challenging but nothing like dark souls I want to go berserk and throw the computer challenging. Graphics are really nice although most environments sort of look the same. A good mix of arcade and timed combat. I think people should definitely give it a go. Just dont pass it off as a dark souls clone. Yes it's similar to dark souls, but that's likeReally enjoyed it. It's a bit little bit challenging but nothing like dark souls I want to go berserk and throw the computer challenging. Graphics are really nice although most environments sort of look the same. A good mix of arcade and timed combat. I think people should definitely give it a go. Just dont pass it off as a dark souls clone. Yes it's similar to dark souls, but that's like saying I'll never play another fps because it was like some other fps. Just judge the game on its own fun and flaws. Expand
  55. Oct 28, 2014
    9
    Great game, awesome graphics, same dark souls combat we all love. A little easier than DS but still pretty damn tough, had a dude try it on shareplay today on PS4, he beat both dark souls multiple times yet was having a problem killing a normal mob...so the tough factor is still there. Only downside to this game is crappy voice acting, and the sound cuts in and out during cutscenes.Great game, awesome graphics, same dark souls combat we all love. A little easier than DS but still pretty damn tough, had a dude try it on shareplay today on PS4, he beat both dark souls multiple times yet was having a problem killing a normal mob...so the tough factor is still there. Only downside to this game is crappy voice acting, and the sound cuts in and out during cutscenes. Besides for that this game is badass and is without a doubt worth the money. Expand
  56. Oct 29, 2014
    9
    For me Lords of the Fallen is great game, great to players who want to have challenging game with awesome combat system. Maybe I'm not ideal RPG player so I die a lot but I have a lot of fun with it. Graphics is very good, location looks great, this game has very nice atmosphere. I'm very surprised this game.
  57. Oct 30, 2014
    9
    feels like a more polished Dark Souls, graphics are better, animations are better, sounds are better, music while not as good is still decent.
    while the game isnt crashing or running at a miserably low fps, its a very decent game
  58. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    Yes dark souls look a like, but a good one, so I'm not even mad. Its less difficult, yet the combat is satisfying, game is around 12 hours long, but can be extended with some side quests. Graphics are beautiful, voice acting is meh, animations are great, overall its a great game, with replay-ability value.
  59. Nov 22, 2014
    9
    I have never played in Dark Souls. But this game showed me how enjoyable is overcoming next levels, and risk of loss whole experience points. Story is unclear until we meet the last god. But it's absolutely not problem. The engine and gameplay is one of the best i've ever seen. Whole time what I spent was very pleasant though relatively high level of difficulty. Graphics engine reached newI have never played in Dark Souls. But this game showed me how enjoyable is overcoming next levels, and risk of loss whole experience points. Story is unclear until we meet the last god. But it's absolutely not problem. The engine and gameplay is one of the best i've ever seen. Whole time what I spent was very pleasant though relatively high level of difficulty. Graphics engine reached new level of quality in RPG games giving good impresions from battles. Congratulations from all developers team! Expand
  60. Jan 23, 2015
    1
    I have bought over 100 games in the past 12 months and this game is the worst one. The game is infuriatingly hard and the controls are the most clunky and slow Ive ever seen in a AAA title. The only thing this game has going for it is the nice graphics. Unless you want a game that looks pretty skip this. Id rather watch the grass grow than play this game ever again. Just horrible Ill giveI have bought over 100 games in the past 12 months and this game is the worst one. The game is infuriatingly hard and the controls are the most clunky and slow Ive ever seen in a AAA title. The only thing this game has going for it is the nice graphics. Unless you want a game that looks pretty skip this. Id rather watch the grass grow than play this game ever again. Just horrible Ill give it a 1 instead of a 0 because it looks pretty good. Expand
  61. Nov 1, 2014
    4
    I wanted to like this, but I just can't. Slow and clunky combat, slow and clunky engine, does not feel very smooth on my 780Ti, crashes frequently. Sorry, just no. Maybe in 6 months when a few patches have been out and it's 15$ on sale.
  62. May 19, 2015
    7
    The gameplay is much slower than Dark Souls, and immensely slower than Bloodborne, but if that sounds like something you'll like, I'd recommend this game. Personally I liked it quite a lot, but the story and length drag the score down.
  63. Nov 8, 2014
    9
    I have to change my mind after the first playthrough and score 9.
    Armors, weapons, characters detail are stunning. Almost so difficult as DS. Boss fights and character customization are great. I enjoyed it.
  64. Oct 29, 2014
    3
    Pretty horrible Dark Souls clone. I REALLY wanted to like this game, but it just doesn't have anything going for it besides it's art style. I really enjoyed the way everything looked, including all of the armor and weapon designs. You are given so many different choices on how you would like to play, but it just feels cheap and unpolished in the end. The character imbalances are huge and aPretty horrible Dark Souls clone. I REALLY wanted to like this game, but it just doesn't have anything going for it besides it's art style. I really enjoyed the way everything looked, including all of the armor and weapon designs. You are given so many different choices on how you would like to play, but it just feels cheap and unpolished in the end. The character imbalances are huge and a lot of the difficulty is artificial. Coming from someone who has beaten Demon Souls, Dark Souls, and Dark Souls 2.. I can't recommend this game to anyone that is looking for a similiar experience. It just isn't worth your time. Maybe grab it when it's much cheaper, but sadly it isn't worth it for the full price. Expand
  65. Oct 30, 2014
    5
    The fact that this game is being compared to DS is laughable. Just picked it up and i gotta say that the combat is pretty dam clunky. All these long hold managing spells and lumpy attacks makes for a bogged down experience. The death/resurrection mechanic seems tacked on rather than integral to design. The development team are very lucky that they are even mentioned in the same breath asThe fact that this game is being compared to DS is laughable. Just picked it up and i gotta say that the combat is pretty dam clunky. All these long hold managing spells and lumpy attacks makes for a bogged down experience. The death/resurrection mechanic seems tacked on rather than integral to design. The development team are very lucky that they are even mentioned in the same breath as dark souls really. At the moment i would liken it more to Darksiders without the responsive controls. the artsyle has some flair but nothing that hasn't been coughed out the backside of Mordor a thousand times.Its an ok game. but not worth the $80 i spent at all. Expand
  66. Oct 30, 2014
    9
    Finally a very well done Action RPG on PC! This is how Dark Souls should have looked like on PC. Perfect combat mechanics, tons of weapons and gear, good graphics and sound, sharp fonts and interface. If you liked Dark Souls you will like Lords of the Fallen. I would say it surpasses it in every way, except the difficulty. It is hard sometimes, but never as brutal as Dark Souls. For someFinally a very well done Action RPG on PC! This is how Dark Souls should have looked like on PC. Perfect combat mechanics, tons of weapons and gear, good graphics and sound, sharp fonts and interface. If you liked Dark Souls you will like Lords of the Fallen. I would say it surpasses it in every way, except the difficulty. It is hard sometimes, but never as brutal as Dark Souls. For some this is a positiv aspect, for some a negativ, but overall i really like this game! Expand
  67. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    What would happen if Warhammer Fantasy and Souls series married with the best man being a Polish studio and they had a baby? Most likely this game. Now, be warned you need a pretty decent rig to run this properly, and I mean without a single crash and bugs and stutter. My own is a 4670k and gtx 770 2gb and I run it in very high (even textures) perfectly. Some 20 hours in and not a singleWhat would happen if Warhammer Fantasy and Souls series married with the best man being a Polish studio and they had a baby? Most likely this game. Now, be warned you need a pretty decent rig to run this properly, and I mean without a single crash and bugs and stutter. My own is a 4670k and gtx 770 2gb and I run it in very high (even textures) perfectly. Some 20 hours in and not a single crash, stutter or significant drop in FPS.

    First of all, the game looks, well not gorgeus because that word doesn't fit in the grimdark setting of it. More like awe-inspiring. The combat is almost by-the-numbers copied from the Souls series which, if you're not familiar with it, may give you some trouble at first until you figure out the attacks from bosses and how poise works. Story is also similar to the Souls series, as in not much is revealed in terms of it until much later on and even then it's nothing we haven't experienced before. I won't go much farther into it since it may contain spoilers.

    Now, this game will not punish you like the Souls games so it may turn away some of the so-called hardcore gamers, but it is very good in its own right. I mean some of the bosses will frustrate you regardless, why add on to the frustration? I also found the bankable XP to be nice touch indeed.

    I must recommend this game to everyone as it is worth to be played. It definitely rivals the Souls series, which as I've mentioned borrows a lot from, and the Warhammer feel to it is a nice touch for me personally what with being a long standing fan of that particular setting.
    Expand
  68. Nov 7, 2014
    3
    I wasn't expecting anything of the caliber of the Souls series and LotF was STILL a major let down. Without comparing it to a Souls game, and basing LotF on it's own merit here is a partial list of why it fails:

    The amount of bugs and crashes for a console game is unacceptable. A blind play-through where I explored as much as I could should have taken more than 13 hours. There are
    I wasn't expecting anything of the caliber of the Souls series and LotF was STILL a major let down. Without comparing it to a Souls game, and basing LotF on it's own merit here is a partial list of why it fails:

    The amount of bugs and crashes for a console game is unacceptable.
    A blind play-through where I explored as much as I could should have taken more than 13 hours.
    There are only ~12 types of enemies in the entire game.
    All the bosses are pretty much the same.
    All the zones pretty much look the same.
    There is a startling lack of viable weapons/armor for a game of this type.
    I was hoping for things to improve in NG+ but it just feels like more of the same.

    A week after beating this game I haven't touched it. This was not worth the money.
    Expand
  69. Nov 27, 2014
    0
    Devs are not knowing what they do. This game is totally unfinished bullshi..! Wait for a fixed version and an 80% off sale on steam. Do not pay the full price for this crap. Do not pay the full price for this crap. Do not pay the full price for this crap.
  70. Oct 28, 2014
    2
    First Impressions? Dark Souls (DS) shipped with an "Easy" difficulty setting. I can't get any more honest than that. Not that this comes as an insult. While DS was genre-defining for the PC, anything decently capturing the combat of DS is definitely worth playing for me. But I see a lot of reviewers giving this game a perfect 10 and calling it better that DS owing to the better visuals andFirst Impressions? Dark Souls (DS) shipped with an "Easy" difficulty setting. I can't get any more honest than that. Not that this comes as an insult. While DS was genre-defining for the PC, anything decently capturing the combat of DS is definitely worth playing for me. But I see a lot of reviewers giving this game a perfect 10 and calling it better that DS owing to the better visuals and "less frustrating" combat. Now I understand how punishing DS can be, but saying this game has more responsive controls is pushing it too far. Personally, I think control responsiveness reached new heights with DS, which have not been quite matched by this game. Also, for anyone who actually took the trouble of not only completing DS but understanding what the game was about, would know better than saying, "oh, this game has better graphics, so this must be better!" DS's atmosphere and settings were perfect for the feeling it wanted to convey to the players - those of claustrophobia, death and helplessness. Also, appreciating the brutal combat in DS does not mean I'm "hardcore" - far from it! I labored for hours on end at my game pad just to have gratitude wash over me seeing some particularly difficult boss finally roll over and die. That, in my opinion, was the beauty of DS - legendary bosses and rewarding, if a bit too difficult, combat. Therefore taking away the difficulty definitely diminishes said beauty in my eyes. Finally, maybe I would have given this game a 7 or 8, but 6 feels like a more honest score for watering down the prime aspect of the game it was not-too-subtly based on - the combat. Expand
  71. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    The game is absolutely amazing, it has out Dark Souls'd Dark Souls, the Combat is addicting and the visuals are breathtaking. I couldn't decide whether to pick it up for PC or PS4, ultimately opting for PC, if I continue to enjoy it as much as I have thus far, I will pick it up for PS4 as well down the road.
  72. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Great game. I was waiting long time until Dark Souls, but unfortunatelly it wasn't so good. Also I wasn't so optimistic about Lords of the Fallen, but City Interactive did realy great job.

    I trully recommend this game, you won't regret any minute of playing!
  73. Oct 30, 2014
    9
    Lords of the Fallen looks simply beautiful. From what I recall, Gop said that rather sure I will not be competition for the DS, only alternative for those who complained that the DS is frustrating. For some, the Lords of the Fallen also may be such, but rather for the majority, however, a good game. For me, for sure.
  74. Oct 30, 2014
    9
    Game for DS fans, who certainly would like to have more fun from the game, and less frustration. And certainly, LotF is a game for players less experienced, as I do. Great playing with her, there is a lot of dying, but it still gives you a lot of fun.
  75. Dec 2, 2014
    2
    Lords of the Fallen dreams big. It so badly wants to be Dark Souls. To be part of - and maybe even to - that legacy.

    It fails. Utterly, completely and thoroughly fails. Visually the game is stunning. This is both the beginning and the end of Lords's success. Even with a core i7 4770 with 8GB RAM and a 770ti 2GB the game struggles in places. These struggles are minor however and do
    Lords of the Fallen dreams big. It so badly wants to be Dark Souls. To be part of - and maybe even to - that legacy.

    It fails. Utterly, completely and thoroughly fails.

    Visually the game is stunning. This is both the beginning and the end of Lords's success. Even with a core i7 4770 with 8GB RAM and a 770ti 2GB the game struggles in places. These struggles are minor however and do not subtract from the visual splendor of this dark world.

    Unfortunately, literally everything else does.

    By now the DRM is old news. Its processor intense and might be involved in crashing games. And with Steam a necessary part of the purchase, one is forced to wonder why additional DRM was needed. (Hint: It wasn't).

    Of course, even DRM could perhaps be overlooked, were Lords a good game. Its not. Combat - the entire focus - is poorly implemented. Weapons swing so slowly many of them are outright worthless. Even some one handed weapons swing with the same speed as Ultra Greatswords from Dark Souls. Most two handed weapons are so slow as to be unplayable. The only exception early: Weapons that cost additional money as part of the DLC.

    Enemies only serve highlight these problems. They recover far too quickly from both staggering and attacking. They auto-align with the player in mid-swing when attacking, rotating on some invisible axis to make kiting worthless. Bosses are simply gimmick-laden damage sponges, requiring far, far more hits than any foe from the Souls games save, perhaps, Smelter Demon, and they tend toward summoning minions to cheapen these frustrating fights even further.

    Lords of the Fallen wanted so badly to be compared to Dark Souls. And it will be. For as long as gamers talk about the Souls franchise, Lords of the Fallen will exist as a counterpoint. An example of how the formula can go wrong. An example...of how NOT to make a Souls game.
    Expand
  76. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    I've been waiting with patience veeery long for this game... Just played it and im so happy I did it.
    In plus: graphics, music, fighting, leveling, world, story.
    In minus: sometimes game crashes.
    Very Good Job CI Games and Deck 13 .... Good Job Tomasz Gop!
  77. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    Completely broken game. Unplayable for some, and barely playable and crashtastic for everyone else. Horrible optimized in a bad proprietary game engine. Use unreal engine next time you morons, clearly you can't program a free flash game let alone a friggin game engine. (console versions are also a mess btw) From Software you ain't.
  78. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    The world presented in this game is simple breathtaking. Gameplay experience is just pure fun and not frustration as it sometimes has been with its older brother - Dark souls... :)
  79. Oct 28, 2014
    0
    I was waiting long time until such good Action-RPG. The game has few bugs, but it's so playable that I don't care. I will spent many hours playing LOTF. Good job City Games!
  80. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    I'm gonna spend many hours on that staff... Graphics... Climate... Nice combat system... VERY good idea with challenging exp collecting system, that you get more xp points when killing more monsters...
  81. Nov 8, 2014
    1
    I found this game to be one of the worst i have ever played. Here's why: your loot drops are based on how much exp you carry with you, so if you die (and you will) you lose all your exp. If you put your exp in a bank your loot will be poor quality. Sure you can find where you died and recover a chunk of it, but this is only stop one on why I hated this game. What ensures you will dieI found this game to be one of the worst i have ever played. Here's why: your loot drops are based on how much exp you carry with you, so if you die (and you will) you lose all your exp. If you put your exp in a bank your loot will be poor quality. Sure you can find where you died and recover a chunk of it, but this is only stop one on why I hated this game. What ensures you will die several times is all your attacks use up your energy, no energy no attacks. That's ok though! You can always dodge and use your shield to buy time while your energy recharges...if that too didn't require energy, no energy no attacks no dodge no shielding which means you will burn through your energy in the first three seconds of an encounter. Now lets talk about what happens after you die: every time you die you have to start from the last check point and clear all the trash and little bosses all over. Recapping you start the encounter having decided to gamble on carrying your exp with you or you'll get no decent gear. You fight your way through the trash and fight a tougher enemy. You hit him twice and blocked his blow no you have no energy to dodge his heavy attack and get one shotted. You have lost your exp and need to go reclaim what you can but each second that ticks by more and more of your exp is being lost because the longer it takes to get to your ghost the less you recover. you respawn to see the entire thing has started over and to reclaim your exp you have to clear all the trash over again and each second your precious exp is draining away. Now if you want to use your exp and then go through the next 15 mins getting crap loot, you have to choose between attribute points or spells...sure in other games u get exp and it u got pick a attribute point and a spell but here you have to pick between the two...do you want you spells to work better? or your stats to be higher? Spent 64$ on this and was loathe to give up on it so i stuck it out as long as i could but finally decided to cut my loses and move on but this remains one of the worst games if not the worst i have ever played. Expand
  82. Oct 29, 2014
    0
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AT PRESENT. The game is broken and needs to be fixed. It runs at approximately 15 to 20 fps (on a system that runs - for instance - Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2 - at a smooth 60 fps at 1920x1080p). In other words, my GPU is better than the recommended GPU and vastly better than the minimal GPU but, still, at times it drops to 11 fps (per FRAPS). It is simply notDO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AT PRESENT. The game is broken and needs to be fixed. It runs at approximately 15 to 20 fps (on a system that runs - for instance - Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2 - at a smooth 60 fps at 1920x1080p). In other words, my GPU is better than the recommended GPU and vastly better than the minimal GPU but, still, at times it drops to 11 fps (per FRAPS). It is simply not playable. Expand
  83. Nov 1, 2014
    0
    Absollute crap. Worst than Dark Souls by all positions. I wait this game for long time. And this is just biggest dissapointent. Horrible graphics, no athmosphere, lot of bugs.
  84. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    This game is my worst buy with AC Unity, i waste my money buying this piece of shxxxt, really bad game, mechanic and dynamic, poor, nice graphics but only these, suggestion, dont waste u money with this bullshxxxt
  85. Nov 27, 2014
    0
    Does not run more than 10 mins on my PC. 16GB Ram, Nvidia Geforce 760. Buggy as hell! Avoid it - till its fixed. If this ever happens... 'cause it seems that the developers have no clue what they are doing.
  86. Nov 3, 2014
    6
    Pros : > Graphics are better then your average title but does not look anywhere close to trailer presentation (as always)
    > Challenging (Read more in description below)
    >Risk Reward System Cons: > No immersive Story accompanied by dry out dialogue > Forgettable Characters > Poor Lip Syncing to Dialogue > Extremely Slow pace Combat (See Description for more) > Game seems to push
    Pros : > Graphics are better then your average title but does not look anywhere close to trailer presentation (as always)
    > Challenging (Read more in description below)
    >Risk Reward System

    Cons: > No immersive Story accompanied by dry out dialogue
    > Forgettable Characters
    > Poor Lip Syncing to Dialogue
    > Extremely Slow pace Combat (See Description for more)
    > Game seems to push you towards a certain class build (but is avoidable)

    Now to talk about the game. First i must address the audience calling this game a Dark Souls Clone (originally Demon Souls but that's for another day). The Game begins with no context or back story just a cut scene of the protagonist with great power which you don't even receive when you regain control. This game just drops you in the situation of battling against a god. When it comes to Action RPG the game is as basic as it goes with next Gen feeling which is not a bad thing at all. Coming from a big fan of RPG's this game was fun however compared to others it does fall short. The Graphics are above average in your Ps4 Library however some areas stand out (Catacombs) and others fall short to look like generic level design. The game features a Risk - Reward feature for hanging on to your experience [XP] which you may invest to level up certain attributes or spells such as the system implemented in Dark Souls. If you hold on to the souls you can get more as you defeat enemies however When you die, Like Dark souls you have to pick them up or they are gone. I found it interesting that it had a degradation system where you had a limited time to pick up the souls or they slowly started going away in percentage until you pick them up or die a second time.
    The Difficulty of the game is present in a mysterious way in which some gamers may have noticed half way through. There is no intial difficulty setting however this is present in the type of Armor you put on as well as your starting class. Going from Easy to Hard [Heavy - Warrior , Medium - Cleric , Light Rouge ]. Majority of the game you will be receiving Warrior items more then any class. I felt like every chest i opened contained Great swords and heavy armor pieces so i felt like i was being pushed towards that play style which let me tell you right now is SUPER SLOW PACED. The Lip Syncing did not match to the dialogue of the forgettable characters who you meet and disappear for no reason throughout the game with even serving you any purpose to your quest of killing a god for no reason as to why you are doing that except that your a convicted murderer who loves to kill [Kratos Syndrome]
    Expand
  87. Nov 2, 2014
    9
    Game is great.
    Its said to be a copy of Demons/Dark souls, but i like to believe its just new genre (tactical action rpg?) and its the first game of that type, while DS is creator of this genre.
    Some of its features are better than DS (graphics, controls on pc, the way story is presented), some are different (atmosphere, DS is more hopeless and dark, this is more like Diablo type of
    Game is great.
    Its said to be a copy of Demons/Dark souls, but i like to believe its just new genre (tactical action rpg?) and its the first game of that type, while DS is creator of this genre.
    Some of its features are better than DS (graphics, controls on pc, the way story is presented), some are different (atmosphere, DS is more hopeless and dark, this is more like Diablo type of evil; fighting looks like its the same, but actually its heavier in feeling, and magic is not so powerful like in DS; there are shortcuts between areas, hidden rooms and passages as in DS, level design is quite good; story is the same lame **** as in DS, its just not so obscure and hidden in item descriptions and unclear dialogues), some are slighty worse (boss design, world is smaller and less diverse, you can get lost in the same looking corridors and rooms, game is shorter).
    But overall experience is very good- game is fun, and challenging (the difficulty is lower here than it is in DS, because enemies dont respawn when you hit checkpoint, also after dying and losing your xp you can get it back using a consumable item, without risking your life, and you can bank your points in checkpoint, unlike DS). So its less frustrating, but also less rewarding than in DS. But dont you worry, its not an easy game, and you will die, maybe not so much as in DS, but still :)

    The only gripe i have is with small bugs and glitches (enemies not attacking sometimes, or disappearing/reappearing with no reason at all). And few crashes (i had 4 within 20 hours of play). Its nothing gamebreaking, more an annoyance, and should be fixed in patches. If you like DS and/or slashers- buy it.

    And dont believe "professional" reviewers. Usually they are paid off or just incompetent, i dont know whats worse. They give good score and reviews to bad, lazy and nearly unplayable games by big developers/publishers (for example Evil within), and they give low or mediocre score to great games made by smaller and unknown studios (Styx, Lords of the fallen).
    Expand
  88. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    This game gets the job done. Controls are good, combat system is good, graphics very good, decent maps. Nothing brillliant about it, but no major flaws either. Bosses are too easy. Overall, I had fun with it and I'm looking forward to the sequel. If they had came up with better bosses, longer and more interesting plot, some multiplayer capabilities - I'd give a 10. Bravo CI Games.
  89. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game I've played in a while... Its Dark Souls done Warhammer style. Each set of armour you find looks more amazing than the last and the first one you start with looks a hell of a lot better than most anything you find in Dark Souls. Dark Souls usually has you starting out looking like a complete moron and then weeks later you find something tolerable looking. In this you start out looking completely epic and then each set of armour you find is more epic than the last. The art team in this game deserves a big round of applause. All the weapons and armours are breathtaking. These guys know what they're doing.. it reminds me of Warhammer Chaos (miniatures). Combat and mechanics its just like Dark Souls.. but better. They definitely pay homage and respect to Dark Souls but they improve upon it in everyway in terms of technology and art style.
    As others have said it takes a good system, but if you've got something decent and a bit of technical know-how I'd take a risk with it. There are a lot of settings you can turn off and it still looks really really good. I have a 4K monitor and if I want to run at full resolution I turn shadows and post processing off and the game is still amazing looking. WIth all the bells and whistles (for me windowed at 1440p) the game is amazing looking. Tons of detail and amazing atmosphere.
    Expand
  90. Nov 2, 2014
    8
    I have played this game for about 18 hours now. It is a fun game, it has some technical problems, but the game is pretty fun to play. I give it about a 8 it is fun it is addicting..
  91. Mar 8, 2015
    10
    i do not understand the negativity towards this title. Yes it has the same mechanics as Dark Souls, but so what? It has its own feel and identity, as well as several unique mechanics. I am absolutely loving it!
  92. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    Lords of the Fallen is a beautiful compliment to the Demon's/Dark Souls series. The character detail is impressive and diverse, the environments are immersive, and the gameplay itself is extremely fun. It's like playing a more forgiving Dark Souls game. There are a few issues here and there, like frame rate drops and clipping, but otherwise it's a solid action RPG. I definitely recommend it.
  93. Nov 1, 2014
    3
    You know what, I was all for giving this game some praise for its design and atmospherics however the more I play of it the more it plagues me with infuriating design choices and 'difficulty'. I say difficulty in the inverted commas because most of this game's difficulty stems from cheap tricks or plain dumb spam enemies till player dead routines. Almost every boss encounter can be summedYou know what, I was all for giving this game some praise for its design and atmospherics however the more I play of it the more it plagues me with infuriating design choices and 'difficulty'. I say difficulty in the inverted commas because most of this game's difficulty stems from cheap tricks or plain dumb spam enemies till player dead routines. Almost every boss encounter can be summed up in this way:

    Boss repeats routine set of around 4 moves for first phase. Boss will do same moves but have a big death move or stun lock move for phase 2 and then phase 3 is where the minions come in. So no skill or prowess from the boss causing it to be tricky to beat, its just a case of right put extra enemies in there and be done with it, that'll make things harder. Yes it does make things harder but not because you need to use all your wits to outsmart or out manoeuvre the boss but just because there is a mob of enemies. Great...how truly inspired. I've poured easy over 100 hours into both Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2 and whilst those games, which this game clearly takes inspiration from (putting it diplomatically), were frustrating and difficult nothing compares to whats on offer here. It wouldn't be such an issue if the difficulty weren't so ham fistedly forced into the game in the most underhanded and ignorant way possible.

    The aforementioned points are so hard to look past that it really mars the game as a whole and any redeeming features are lost under a sea of stupidity. I really wanted to like this game but it just tries so hard to be hard using every cheap, dirty, gimmicky trick in the book that I just can't recommend it. It doesn't help that the game just bugs out occasionally and at one point was actually playing in slow mo making me lose to a boss which I'd already spent a significant amount of time on because of its stupid horde of enemies.

    This game just makes me sigh in frustration at all the potential on the table wasted at the hands of those lacking the skill to truly execute it.
    Expand
  94. Oct 30, 2014
    0
    Broken piece of software, Devs clearly dont know how to code.

    Endless crashes, like 2-4 times for one hour played, Horrible perfomance with my top of the line custom built gaming pc.

    The game is just a DS clone, and not a very good one, its very generic and without a single new unique gameplay mechanic.

    0/10
  95. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    I dont have words for say the bad bad bad game , this is the worst game of the year, the game fights movements is totally poor, i lose money buying this crap.
  96. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    Very impressive. It's true that this game is in the same genre as the Souls game, but it also brings its own feel and flavor, and that's much appreciated. This is a very challenging game, but it's also incredibly satisfying once you learn how to defeat a foe. It also has amazing graphics, much better than the Souls games. I look forward to the sequel.
  97. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    "Lords of the fallen" es todo lo que esperaba, es decir, un RPG de acción para explorar castillos y luchar contra monstruos que den un buen reto y es Excelente!. LOF te hace pensar en cada batalla por el riesgo que conllevan y eso lo hace un juego mas intimo. Así como Dark Souls, Lords of the Fallen, es un concepto simple pero efectivo para un videojuego: un recorrido que puedes hacer a"Lords of the fallen" es todo lo que esperaba, es decir, un RPG de acción para explorar castillos y luchar contra monstruos que den un buen reto y es Excelente!. LOF te hace pensar en cada batalla por el riesgo que conllevan y eso lo hace un juego mas intimo. Así como Dark Souls, Lords of the Fallen, es un concepto simple pero efectivo para un videojuego: un recorrido que puedes hacer a tu propio ritmo, lleno de retos (de combate) que traen mejores recompensas cada vez. Sin Embargo, Lords of the Fallen, es menos frustrante, y quizas se pueda pensar que esto lo convierta en menos satisfactorio, pero, en mi opinión, la calidad de los otros sistemas lo compensa. Quizas prefieras como yo pasar menos tiempo en dando vueltas "grinding" en los mismos 5 pasillos como en Dark Souls, para seguir explorando y consiguiendo "Loot", como en Lords Of the Fallen. Es cuestión de preferencia. Tener mas opciones es mejor para la estrategia dentro de la acción de este juego.
    Para los que quieren un buen reto, Lords of the Fallen ofrece un sistema único de dificultad: simplemente no subir de nivel a tu personaje y habilidades. Esto genera mejor "Loot" cada vez que vences a un enemigo, lo cual te ayudara a continuar adelante sin depender tanto del nivel de tu personaje. tu eliges!
    Expand
  98. Nov 14, 2014
    9
    + individual items with individual look
    + every type of weapon has individual attack moves
    + new kind of skill system with sufficient impact + nice and fresh fantasy world + good difficulty + responsive fights + intense atmosphere + good sound effects + very good graphics + beautiful animations + good default controller configuration * no quest log * no map - difficulty varies
    + individual items with individual look
    + every type of weapon has individual attack moves
    + new kind of skill system with sufficient impact
    + nice and fresh fantasy world
    + good difficulty
    + responsive fights
    + intense atmosphere
    + good sound effects
    + very good graphics
    + beautiful animations
    + good default controller configuration
    * no quest log
    * no map
    - difficulty varies
    - crashes with Nvidia Graphics (solved?)
    - other crashes
    - camera in tight areas
    - bad focus selection
    - unimportant magic spells
    Expand
  99. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    I have just bought the game for PC and I am very postively suprised. Game looks amazing and the fight system is vary good. The story from the begining is like a secound priority. I fully recomend this game for players who like Dark Souls.
  100. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    Sinceramente no me gusto, la mecánica de juego, la dinámica de los combates, espere mucho realmente es una de las peores compras que hice, no se lo recomiendo a nadie, hay otras opciones mucho mejores.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 15, 2014
    83
    Lords of the Fallen may be a simplified, easier version of Souls games, but is it necessarily a bad thing? Being an overpowered iron mountain at the end game, well, it is actually quite satisfying for a change. [Dec 2014]
  2. CD-Action
    Dec 13, 2014
    90
    I was flabbergasted by what two largely unknown studios managed to achieve. Lords of the Fallen is not just a creative take on the formula introduced by From Software, but also a game that can rival the greatest recent RPGs and looks like Monica Bellucci and Sophie Marceau from their best years. [Dec 2014, p.40]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 3, 2014
    80
    Straightforward copycat of "Souls" games achieved a success because it can reach players the Japanese series could not because it was too difficult. The game is still challenging but you won't be desperate from playing it. [Issue#247]