Madden NFL 2003 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Next Level of Online Play: Join EA SPORTS Online and play in Quick Tournaments, Two-Minute Drill mode and Mini-Camp Challenge with detailed stats. Audio Dream Team: Legendary announcer Al Michaels joins John Madden. Deepest Franchise Mode Ever: Play 30 years of Franchise mode and draftThe Next Level of Online Play: Join EA SPORTS Online and play in Quick Tournaments, Two-Minute Drill mode and Mini-Camp Challenge with detailed stats. Audio Dream Team: Legendary announcer Al Michaels joins John Madden. Deepest Franchise Mode Ever: Play 30 years of Franchise mode and draft players each season with tips from your scouts. Create the Ultimate Online Hero: Take your created player online, earn points and spend them to customize accessories. New Enhanced Game Engine: Based on the same engine used in the console versions of Madden NFL 2003. [EA Sports] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Improves upon already stunning graphics and amps game play with faster speed and such fresh gridiron moves as sidearm passing and—wahoo!—gang tackling.
  2. One of the most beautiful games I've ever had the pleaseure to oogle at...One of the most thorough and impressive games I have seen in any genre. [Nov 2002, p.116]
  3. 92
    The new play-by-play commentary (featuring Al Michaels, Madden's new booth partner on "Monday Night Football"), is superbly on target. It's also fresh and lively, compared to all those years of Pat Summerall's at-times dry delivery.
  4. It looks fantastic, it's a blast to play, and its the best football game out there, period. [Nov 2002, p.89]
  5. A huge play selection, terrific graphics, extensive gameplay modes (including the online options), and a new first-person view make Madden NFL 2003 one of the best football games available.
  6. 86
    Solid gameplay and improved online support ensure the only NFL game in town for the PC is an excellent one.
  7. It still feels like PC gamers are getting short-changed, especially since the multiplayer game is still so weak. [Nov 2002, p.114]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. JonG.
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    AMAZING! AMAZING AMAZING ABSOLUTELY FRICKIN AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! The franchise mode is so absorbing i find myslf reluctant to start again by AMAZING! AMAZING AMAZING ABSOLUTELY FRICKIN AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! The franchise mode is so absorbing i find myslf reluctant to start again by buying 2004. I still am to find out how to follow everything in franchise mode it's so deep. Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    I have an athlon 1900 and windows xp and the game runs fine.
    Any level other than rookie is NOT impossible, you have to use juke moves, spins
    I have an athlon 1900 and windows xp and the game runs fine.
    Any level other than rookie is NOT impossible, you have to use juke moves, spins and straight arm on the run to get a gain of more than 1 yard. It is intended to be as REAL as possible.
    Running Backs in the NFL do not simply run into defenders. Come on people, its supposed to be difficult!
    Top game, top commentery, top graphics! Can't wait until Madden 2004!!!!
    Expand
  3. SteelersRule
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    Just cause you guys aren't good at the game doesn't mean you should bash it...gang tackling added this year is a great addition. I Just cause you guys aren't good at the game doesn't mean you should bash it...gang tackling added this year is a great addition. I play on All-Madden level and can get over 250 yards rushing with Jerome Bettis, as well as over 150 with Kordell Stewart. Hard to break it open for long runs, but can definatley get an average of over 5 yards/carry in a game. Collapse
  4. PackersDominate
    Dec 23, 2002
    9
    Sweet Game. It is hard but that is realistic. I have a question though, does only the other team get speed bursts? I cant speed burst at all. Sweet Game. It is hard but that is realistic. I have a question though, does only the other team get speed bursts? I cant speed burst at all. I have had a few of plays where a defensive lineman runs down my running back with speed burst and it pisses me off. Expand
  5. DigiSmack
    Dec 24, 2002
    9
    Awesome game, must have for PC Football fans. Anyone who complains about this game not running or running poorly on a newer PC needs to get a Awesome game, must have for PC Football fans. Anyone who complains about this game not running or running poorly on a newer PC needs to get a clue about how things work before they blame the game. It runs fine on 3 different PCs here.. NO problems, looks great, plays fine. Give me a play creator and more LAN capablilties and it gets a 10! Expand
  6. WarrenSteelerFan
    Jan 2, 2003
    8
    Very good graphics, the training camp mode kicks major ass!!! I also like the Preseason part of Franchise mode....it's just like the Very good graphics, the training camp mode kicks major ass!!! I also like the Preseason part of Franchise mode....it's just like the real NFL!! Also, the Custom Team option is deeper than ever and just totally rocks! Expand
  7. Kyle
    Sep 4, 2002
    5
    This is a very good game when I can get it to work. Its buggy and pretty hard if you play anything higher than rookie level. Forget running This is a very good game when I can get it to work. Its buggy and pretty hard if you play anything higher than rookie level. Forget running the ball. Doesn't matter who you have. The average gain is about 1 yard. the Computer peaks at your play selection. the music is pretty stupid and caters to . . . I dont know drugheads . . . or something. Tech support is nowhere to be found. there is NO custom play making --like in the ps2 version--which is upsetting.The draft is much worse than in the previous versions--scouting provides superfluis info that is tedious and boring to mentaly compile. The create a team option is really cool--especially the team colors and custom logos. the graphics and game play is awesome--much more realistic. the comentary is better than other versions. the in game sound is very good. It is a very hard game if you are not playing on rookie level--which may just indicate a steeper learning curve and hence a deeper game. Training camp play is Very Very VERY fun and addictive. Computer AI is smarter with trades. play selection etc. OVerall it is an excelent game with a challenge for every football lover. The only reason I didnt give this a 10 is becasue it pissed me off so bad yesterday as i spent 3 hours debugging, uninstalling and reinstalling the dumb thing--oh and my total 4 yards rushing with marshal faulk. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews